We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Go There!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Do Not Go There!!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Like some of the others, we had the ''pleasure'' of having to stay there on the night of 25th when our BA aircraft developed a technical fault. we had stayed here in the early 90's when it was a Ramada resort and it was lovely, well now....

The resort looks shut most of the time, we arrived at 2am in the morning, after a time we were given a room that looked towards a hill and no balcony. The room was stale and damp but at least the bed was clean. When we woke up we went for a walk pre breakfast. The beach, though still lovely from our memories was now a quiet closed up beach bar and a closed beach side restaurant. The pool looked the same except there were a few frogs swimming around!

The hotel appared to only have a handfull of guests (my estimate 30) when about 100 of us were sent there, so breakfast was limited as they were not prepared. The food looked ok but then it went down hill, lunch was awful, a very limited buffett, all greasy, no real salad to speak of, the evening meal just as bad.

The male receptionist on the evening of our departure tried to keep us informed but alot of people were unhappy. We could not sign any drinks to our room ( a strange system) cash only or a credit card for every single drink you ask for!!

This hotel needs investing in if it is to survive which I doubt

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Travel-The-World62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    90
    68
    72
    114
See reviews for
47
86
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boussens, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I, along with five other unfortunate travelers, were taken by bus there by LIAT when there was yet another LIAT airplane failure.

First, one can tell that the place used to be exceptional but has fallen on difficult times. The grounds were unkempt, the lobby was uncared for, there were rooms off the lobby that were blocked off and complete shambles.

The key card system did not work so whenever you wanted to get into your room, you had to go to the lobby and they would call security who would eventually show up to let you into your room. The in-room safe did not work, the room felt like no one had been in there in months and there was NO HOT WATER.

The pool was dirty, there was even a hermit crab swimming in the pool.

The front desk and the restaurant and the bar had no cash so we had to wait for over an hour while the staff pooled there money together to make change!

It's obvious the management ran out of money to take care of the resort a few years ago. I've stayed at some pretty nice places and some dumps but this is the worse than the dumps because it used to be a proud place that has been completely neglected.

Avoid unless you want a horror story to tell when you get home.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. John's hotels

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend on my way through Antigua. It looked great on the website and appeared to have everything I needed - a great beach, waterside bar/restaurant, pool, great rooms and nice grounds.

In reality it was awful and I couldn't wait to leave. It is a big hotel and without many guests (there were 6 when I was there), it feels really eerie. The pool was closed, there were no sunloungers laid out, and the area had a really derelict feel. The beach was absolutely deserted (sounds great in theory, but eerie in practice!) and the waterside restaurant was boarded up. There were only a couple of sunloungers on the beach, which were being policed by an elderly security guard from the hotel. There are two good things about this place: 1) the restaurant staff were lovely and 2) there is free internet access from 2 computers in the reception.

I got the feeling that this hotel is used for delayed flights staying one night only, and conferences during the week when out of season.

I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ECL100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chobham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We arrived for just one night as our plane back to Gatwick developed a mechanical problem. Thanks BA!
About 75 of us were bussed to the Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort.
Arriving at 2 in the morning I didn't discover until the next morning what a neglected and run down hotel it was .
I could not believe it was still open and supposedly running as a 3 star hotel, I am afraid I wouldn't give it one star!!
I think it should be condemned and the whole resort re developed.
The location is nice and the beach is lovely. It has a a lot of potential .
Please please don't come here. Food awful, unhelpful and very slow service. Peeling paintwork.
Lifts that didn't work. I could go on and on and I was only there for 24 hours.!
hope you find this useful.

Room Tip: Bad view from our room on 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We got dumped here by BA for 24 hours (another story). The hotel is isolated, feels partially derelict ( a row of empty shops, boarded up buildings, overgrown play area) and is really shabby. It is also dirty and mosquito ridden (pools of stagnant, filthy water in the foyer where fountains clearly haven't worked for a long time). Our room had a fridge unti but no fridge, a glass and a couple of disposable cups - luxury or what?! The bed linen was too small for the bed, the towels threadbare, the room not very clean. Other than the poor receptionist, who tried her best to deal with dozens of irate, stranded BA passengers, the few others were surly, unhelpful and insolent. The hotel must focus on low budget all-inclusives as they were incapable of selling a drink via signing against the room. Avoid at all costs - I had better accommodation as a backpacker.

Room Tip: Just don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a very nice 3 star hotel so if you go don't expect 5 stars. The hotel properly and the beach are beautiful but the hotel has been neglected for a long time and they are just starting to pick up so there are very few people still at the resort. Mostly older couples in their 50 and 60. But it looks like they are having a good time. They go there for peace and quite and its exactly what you get.
There is so little people that you know them all and they know you. If this is what you like go for it, its a perfect place for that. Have in mind that there are no shops on site (but the town is very short taxi or bus ride away). There is no entertainment of any sort, and there is nothing to eat between meals. Food is fine, not the best, not too many choices. Really good fish everyday.
Staff is very friendly, rooms are large and clean.
We went there to see the island so we didn't spent much time at the hotel as there is not much to do but to enjoy the beach (which is amazing)and the sun. If that's all you need then it is a place for you.

Room Tip: Choose ocean view as the mountain has no balcony and not a nice view. But I think you can risk it an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went with a group of 18 other friends and acquaintances, so we were our own entertainment, which gave us something to do after supper besides sit at the bar. The staff and the beach are second to none. Our group consensus was that it was like going to your cottage but not having to cook or clean. Most of the food was pretty good considering that the cuisine was mostly Carribean, which doesn't always have the best red meat, but their fish was always tasty.
The beach was the place to be, as the bay calms the ocean waves, and the sand is great. There's an old fort to climb to and if it's calm enough,snorkeling. Papa Les provided us with activities during the day like volleyball. Lunch is served at the beach bar, and the greatest variety of food, as it's a menu. Everything was good to eat here.
The pool was nice, but not designed for a resort - it's 8 feet deep, except for the swim-up bar, so you can't move around the pool with your drink or do any activities. But great for some exercise.
The rooms were fine, but mosquitoes were a problem for some at night, even if you kept your windows closed.
On one night, supper was served in the Barrington Room and that was the best food of the week, the pork tenderloin got excellent reviews. The only reason to rate food less than excellent was the repetitiveness of breakfast and supper for the most part.

Room Tip: Get a lagoon view, the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank formerly-roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,862 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#10 of 15 in St. John's
1,176 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.3 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort

Property: Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort
Address: Five Islands, Deep Bay, St. John's, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Hotel St. John`s
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing