We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place,beautiful grounds,hotel needs revamp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed September 22, 2003

my partner and our 6 yr old daughter and myself stayed at the ra from end jun 2003 till 9th july.we had booked early on the all inclusive deal (glad too as otherwise would of been v.expensive).as we were getting married there this really was somthing we had carefully planned and saved for.food was great,our fav was andes(resturant on the beach)the views were amazing and it was great to feed the birds and fish while we ate.the staff here were also great.barringtons was another story but i shall get to that in a minute.if you are planning to get married here,my advice to you is if you have any special requirments like your own music to be played like we did,make sure you drum it into margerets head(she is the wedding coordinator)we did but she still managed to forget to bring our music out,so our ceromony was quiter than we had planned.we wanted our music played and reminded them but still they forgot! liandred(another wedding helper was great though,wished id asked her instead!,she would of remembered!)all in all though our wedding at the ra was beautiful,the gazebo was nicely decorated,the bouquet pretty and the photographer we recomend very highly,she was fab!!!although we had a few problems before the ceromony(like my hair which was done by the hairdresser fell down,cash was refunded though! and our music issue)id recomend getting married there as the location is truly beautiful. -going back to info on barringtons resturant!!!....well,you have to book,fair enough!so after our wedding we had been booked in.they wouldnt let my husband in as he had open toed shoes on!how ridiculous,so our wedding party of 8 people had to eat in the buffet lagoon cafe on our wedding eve!i must say though the staff in the lagoon were superb,and made a real effort to make our evening special. staff in the hotel,at the bar and at reception could be rude and incompetant,we found that by being patient and tipping,we got served with more curtosy.they wont rush!-but this is the carribean.TONY on the beach, organises some wicked boat trips,the sunset cruise and triple destination is one not to be missed.dont listen to the reps about not taking trips with people on the beach,if you want somthing livelier than the boring hotel nightlife,and belive me it is v.boring and it isnt worth getting dressed up for!- GO WITH TONY AND HIS CREW AND PARTY instead!i know it will cost you but you will have serious fun!if you want to have your hair braided,go to iris who sits under the tree on the beach she is such a lovely lady and has a beautiful singing voice,she sang to our 6 yr old for hours while she had her hair done,it was very relaxing to hear and kept brooke from fidgeting.please say hello to her from debbie,mick and brooke from us,we will always warmly remember her.another character is SANGA!he works very hard around the pool and beach,he cannot speak as he has no voice box but we made friends with him immeaditly,a real sweetie.my daughter brooke still misses him like mad!.all in all the ra was good value for what you pay,some staff are lovely,some are rude.and dont expect the actual rooms to be luxury,even the oceanview ones(our shower was rubbish,the ceiling leaked and towls were a nightmare to get hold of!)but the view,grounds,beach and gardens are amazing.we would definatly go back to antigua but to another hotel,although if that one was going at a very cheap rate id jump on the plane now!

  • Stayed: June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chiball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
There are newer reviews for Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 396 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
215
Reviewed September 19, 2003

When I read the reviews on this website before holidaying in Antigua, I hoped that the people commenting would all be proved a bunch of moaners. I'll keep my review brief, because unfortunately the others are all pretty accurate!

The beach is the best thing about this hotel, and we never had trouble finding sunbeds around the well-presented grounds. Our hotel room was spotlessly clean, but the bathroom was in need of attention.

Shirley Heights was one of the highlights of our holiday, but if you like lively night-life, stay away from the Royal Antiguan. The casino comprises of slot-machines only, and the hotel is pretty isolated, so we were forced into many 'early nights' (not always a bad thing!)

Overall, I would say that the name of the hotel is far grander than the reality.

  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nottingham, England
1
Reviewed September 18, 2003

My friend and I stayed at the Royal Antiguan 3rd - 11th Sept 2003. The hotel is shabby, in desperate need of investment. The pool is dirty, with rough concrete under the water so you end up with many cuts and scratches, so be careful. The staff are rude, badly trained and no customer service exists. I only met 2 nice staff whilst staying there. The food is mediocre and very expensive - at least 4 times more expensive than other places in St Johns. It is also expensive to get out of the resort in taxi's - so try to share with others to keep the cost down. The only good thing is the beach which is beautiful. However, you will be hassled to buy trips, which are more expensive than properly organised trips - so be aware. Also I was propositioned on the beach with the person exposing himself! If you are female you will be hassled. All inclusive does not include a whole host of things, so make sure you have taken a fair amount of money with you. The best thing to do is not go all inclusive and then get out of the hotel on the properly organised boat trips, which are fantastic. You are away all day and are given free drinks and a barbecue for lunch. The island is beautiful and well worth exploring.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
UK
12
Reviewed September 15, 2003

Hi Readers, Before we left for Antigua, my Husband and I, both read some positive and negative reviews about the Royal Antiguan, which did worry us, but we went with an open mind, hoping to make the best out of our holiday. The airport is about 15-20 minutes away from the hotel. As we checked in, we were welcomed with the Local Rum Punch. It was very hot, but nice. I personally could not wait to see the room, as i read some bad reviews about it! By the way, the receptionist upgraded us to the Bay View Room,as it was our anniversary and we asked for it!! So, make sure that you ask for an upgrade too...no harm in asking, you might get lucky and get an upgrade! The room was of an average standard with two double beds, a TV that did not work ( got it replaced after a long discussion with the receptionist), the bathroom had some rust here and there ( IT SERIOUSLY NEEDED MAINTENANCE) and there were no towels at all in the room. The was no safe in the room, so we had to use the reception safe at a cost of $3.00 a day. The beach was lovely and the swimming pool area was good too. We spent most our times on the beach, so we did not bother re-upgrading our room to a deluxe one. After all, if i was expecting a five star hotel room, then i suppose i should have paid for one. My husband really enjoyed all the watersports available on the beach. There are lots of vendors who would hassle you while you are trying to just relax on the beach, but a polite:'NO THANK YOU' would be enough for them to understand that you are not interested. There is Mr Piper who is the Foot Reflexologist, he is actually very good, so try him. MAKE SURE THAT YOU GO ON AN ALL-INCLUSIVE PACKAGE! The Lagoon Restaurant was my favourite, as it had different types of buffets. Andes Restaurant facing the sea was ok ( not my personal favourite)- because of the number of cats over there & i also spotted lizards, so we did not go back there again for dinner! We went there for lunch most of the times, but that was ok. The beach grill was nice too. Barringtons was nice, we went there twice. The service was overall good. If there is any divers out there, make sure that you check for The certification of the diving master who you go with as not all the Diving school over there are registered with padi (avoid deep bay Divers) and it can be quite risky!!! Sightseeing was brilliant, although shopping was not good at all which was a disappointment. Overall, we both had a good time and we would probably go to other parts of the Carribean and see what they are like.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore, Maryland
1
Reviewed September 5, 2003

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2003

4  Thank Mohamed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wilmington, DE
14
Reviewed August 22, 2003

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,879 reviews
3.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
1.1 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#9 of 16 in St. John's
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,336 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort

Address: Five Islands, Deep Bay, St. John's, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range: $150 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Hotel St. John`s
Grand Royal Antiguan Beach Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing