We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Siboney Beach - perfect, look no further!”
Review of Siboney Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Siboney Beach Club
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Siboney Beach – perfect, look no further!”
Reviewed October 28, 2010

The perfect location! It’s a short drive from the airport and has a stunning beach which is fairly quiet at the Siboney Beach end and going west. The east side has a much narrower beach which houses Sandals and Rex resorts, we only ventured up that end once as we’re not a fan of big resort hotels and definitely not a fan of Sandals (see further down for more on that!).

You are greeted with stunning view when the taxi drops you off at the top of the path. All the staff are extremely welcoming and helpful. Tony is one of those guys you’d have on your ‘people I’d want at a dinner party’ list – full of interesting stories. He’s in his eighties but looks 20 years younger!

The pool and grounds are stunning – wonderful plants, flowers and wildlife. Be sure to venture to the back of the garden to see the Bananaquits feeding from the bird table. Lots of birds and little lizards came to visit us on our balcony at breakfast time too.

Our room (deluxe Beach view) was perfect. A balcony from which you could see the gardens and the beach. The kitchen has sufficient items to prepare breakfast and lunch if you want to keep the restaurant bills a bit lower (fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker). We loved our bedroom! To start with the bed is extremely comfortable and huge (and it’s not two singles pushed together). There’s a window the foot of the bed looking over the beach – needless to say we never drew the curtains at night. There is AC in the bedroom and wide opening doors and fans in the living area – we found this to be more than adequate even in the 90 degree heat.

We had planned to hire a car and see a lot of the island, but we loved our beach so much we only ventured out a few times. The sea is bright turquoise and had powdery white sand. We found ourselves spending hours on this beach admiring the view and watching the pelicans. The sunsets are stunning and every night is different. If we were out and about we made an effort to get back in time for these!

It’s worth the 15min walk down the road to Runaway Beach (turn right out of Siboney) – we walked the entire length and only saw one person. The east end of this beach is eroded but the west end is stunning.

You must visit the lady who has a fruit stall in the Antigua Village carpark (2 min walk down the beach). We had fresh melon, nectarines and pineapple every day for breakfast – the Antiguan Black Pineapple is the best I have ever tasted. She's been running her stall for 28 years now!

Coconut Beach restaurant is lovely. I had Lobster there on my birthday and it was delicious. We also went to The Beach (5 mins walk) which was good too. We tried to visit the restaurant on the pier at the Rex resort but Sandals put a stop to that – there’s some beach erosion at that end of the beach (far enough from Siboney not to worry about) so we had to cut through Sandals for a few metres to avoid wading through the sea in our clothes, we had 3 security guards on us in seconds asking us to leave. Why do people pay so much money to stay at this awful pompous place?

If you can drag yourself away, here are a few recommendations outside Siboney:
Papa Zouk for dinner if you like fish and a proper rum punch – great atmosphere and fanstastic food. They do a garlic dip that was to die for – unfortunately they would not part with the recipe!
Creole Cruises for speedboat trip to Bird Island, snorkelling and BBQ lobster – see separate review.
Shirley Heights on Sunday night for great sunset, steel band, reggae and a pretty good jerk chicken, very touristy but good all the same.
Long Bay for snorkelling right off the shore – shallow water and dozens of different type of fish.
Sylvester Scotland [--] for a sightseeing tour of the island. We didn’t actually do a tour with him, but used his taxi services several times. He also recommended Long Bay and Papa Zouk which were both great. We found some of the taxi drivers a little difficult to understand due to their strong island accent but Sylvester was easy to understand. Nice comfy air conditioner people carrier too!

If you want somewhere small and friendly in a stunning location and several restaurants in walking distance then this is the one. Why anyone would choose a huge all-inclusive resort over somewhere like this is beyond me.

I have been using Trip Advisor for years to research my holidays but never written a review (which I’m a little ashamed of), but this one made me finally put the effort in to let everyone else know how great this place is.

Anyway, you can tell for yourself – there is only one bad review in 2010 and I’m guessing 'whymilikethis' is just one of lifes moaners, everything they’ve complained about is completely untrue in our experience

Oh, final tip – take good insect repellent and wear all the time. I mistakenly thought I’d only need it at night and got eaten alive on my first day. Siboney provide plenty of spray and plug ins to keep the apartment mossie free.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tracy_nigel_surreyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    97
    25
    12
    5
See reviews for
47
173
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Putney, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary. It was our first time in Antigua but we have seen a lot of beaches and this is one of the best. The hotel is right on the beach but far enough from the Sandals and Rex resorts that it is always peaceful. There is a good restaurant/bar on site and other options are within a short walk or drive. The garden and pool are beautiful and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. This hotel is a great value for the money and we will surely return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lielais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed there for ten days, during which time we got married at sunset on the beach. The staff helped arrange everything and was always prompt, helpful, and warm. Our room had a great view of the Caribbean and was surrounded by tropical trees, flowers, and birds. It all went very smoothly and was totally non-stressful. They all gave good advice -- Tony has been in Antigua for more than 50 years and has assembled a great staff. Everyone including the housekeeping, gardening and front desk were incredibly nice to us. We really enjoyed our excursion with Miguel to Prickly Pear Island and the massage from Barbara.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caribbean_swimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Siboney is a small, low-key hotel (12 suites) on a lovely beach on Dickinson Bay. It's a 20 minute ride from the airport and 2 miles away from the capital, St. John's. A great restaurant, Coconut Grove, is on site, and several other excellent restaurants are close by. (We especially liked La Bussola.) My husband and I and our two adult daughters had two top floor suites with balconies overlooking a beautiful tropical garden. I can't say enough about the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNTravel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff by the Sea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Siboney is right on beautiful Dickenson Bay, secluded with beautiful gardens and wonderfully appointed rooms. The staff and owners are charming and helpful. It's a great value. Our favorite restaurant was Papa Zouk (a short cab ride). It's what you imagine the Carribean to be. Enjoy! Neil and Clarice

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 110verdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We recently spent 9 nights at Siboney and would recommend it highly. Our room was spacious and, most importantly, very close to their lovely beach. We spent most of our time lounging on the beach, eating great food (check out Cecelia's and La Bistro), and scuba diving. Needless to say, we spent a lot of time in the water and encountered NO STINGING CREATURES. Sadly, the reefs are ailing. However, we were still able to see the usual reef dwellers: crabs, lobsters, eagle rays, sting rays, turtles, etc. If you're looking for a quiet place on a great beach with friendly staff, in walking distance to a small store and many restaurants, this is an ideal location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bokbokbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

This was out first family vacation with our then 19 month old- we had a fantastic time! The location of the hotel is superb, the beach is beautiful and very kid friendly, our daughter loved the area as did we.
Now for the hotel- I must say we thought that the rooms would be more updated, so we were a bit let down when we got there. Yes, there is a kitchenette, it needed updating, as did all the furniture and bathrooms (but with the beach who stays in the room?). Some of the rooms we found out are updated, and Tony, the owner is going through the process of finishing up the entire hotel.
Now for all the MANY positive points- the staff were incredibly friendly & helpful, the garden was gorgeous, the beach chairs were kept exclusively for hotel guests, and no request was turned down. We asked the hotel for some baby food provisions prior to arrival, and when we got there we were not let down. The location was awesome,10 yards to the beach, and Coconut Grove restaurant where we had many great meals and drinks.
Yes- I would stay here again- but in an updated room- this place will always be a great memory for us.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dharmadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.5 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
3.6 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,258 reviews
6.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siboney Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siboney Beach Club

Property: Siboney Beach Club
Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. John's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Siboney Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, romantic, all suites hotel set in a fabulous, bird and flower filled, tropical garden, on the sheltered mile long white sand beach of Dickenson Bay. A tranquil hideaway for the discerning, independent, traveler looking for excellence in Caribbean hospitality and 'home away from home' comfort.Palms grow through the roof of the award winning Coconut Grove Restaurant where a ribbon of sand separates the dining tables from the blue Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Siboney Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siboney Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Siboney Beach Hotel
Siboney Beach Resort
Siboney Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing