We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location for doing business in Antigua” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Hotel

Heritage Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heritage Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 St. John's B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada (YOW)
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location for doing business in Antigua”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Hotel is nothing special, but the people are very nice, the room is clean, the internet is screaming fast, and the breakfast is free. Located a few steps from the cruise line terminal. I will return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seat13F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
9
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Came to your hotel after a bad experience the night before. Just want to say thank you for making my first visit to your country more memorable. Your front desk persons were very helpful and accommodating and most pleasant. Thanks again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandipal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

while the heritage hotel is nothing special, it has a great, centralized location if you are in town for business and not leisure.

i stayed at the hotel for four nights during a business trip to the island. while the hotel is not close to any beaches (you would have to take a cab at least 10 minutes), i really enjoyed the location. staying in the heritage and redcliffe quay areas, each less than a block away, i could try a number of restaurants, walk to the supermarket/convenience store (across the street), shop at the market (directly below the hotel) or numerous boutiques and get to where i needed to go relatively quickly. everything felt safe to explore as a solo female (and i do not look like a local), although i didn't walk around that much outside of the quays areas after about 8pm, since st. john's is rather poorly lit. i found the redcliffe quay, which is the older of the two, to be more charming and useful than the more commercialized heritage quay. the australia homemade ice cream is absolutely delicious and the big banana had tasty options. also, if you are a roti fan, you must try the roti king up the street from the hotel; their vegetarian option was addictive! keep in mind that few businesses are open on sundays, which can be really annoying.

the only downside to the location is that the area can be a zoo when cruise ships are in town, which is most days of the week. fortunately it clears out at night, but i still found the area to be quite noisy then (i think someone was selling pirated discs out of his truck and there was a club nearby). it seems to be the norm for the caribbean - things are generally louder and the walls are usually thinner. luckily i was not in town on a friday or saturday, but i would imagine the noise level and sleep quality for those nights would be really bad.

the hotel was basic, but my room had a wraparound balcony (with a view of the city), loads of television channels, and a good internet connection. however, they do not offer wifi in the rooms, which was a real pain, as i normally like to surf the internet, etc. via my phone. if i needed something on my phone, i had to go down to the lobby. i also found the room itself to be kept clean, although the shower was pretty gross (so i used flip flops).

there are really not many options at all for the business traveler to antigua, so unless something new opens up within the us government's per diem price range the heritage hotel may be your only option. while it is not a 4 star property, i felt safe, the location was great, their were plenty of food options nearby and the hotel staff were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank amyh12382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

This Hotel was booked for me by my client.
You would expect to see a hotel with "regular" general conditions but this place is really something. It is a building that have different separate rooms and is completely open. From the front desk, there is quite a walking distance (specially if you are coming alone to carry your luggage around) and you have to accommodate yourself. Each room have separate keys and you feel in the outdoors.
If you like this kind of independence; this place is definitively for you! but if you prefer one to one attention an pampering... stay away!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelus789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

We were put here on Valentine's Day after our Winair flight to Barbuda was cancelled. They were originally going to put us at the Amaryllis, but the managers at our resort in Barbuda requested we go somewhere "nicer". The front desk staff was incredibly helpful and kind, told us to have whatever we wanted for dinner and breakfast the next morning. He showed us to our room on the 4th floor (I think), and to the restaurant. The room was actually not as bad as I expected, air conditioning, fairly large, tiled floor, king bed. The bathroom was ok, no stopper for a bath which we wouldn't have needed anyway. There was rust in the tub, but other than that, the room was basically clean. Like a previous reviewer mentioned, very loud music well into the night/morning, I finally fell asleep about 3:30 AM and it was still going strong, sounded like it was just under the window. The restaurant was actually not bad at all, we had a 3 course lobster dinner. The taxi to take us back to the airport was waiting for us the next morning a few minutes ahead of schedule. I certainly would not choose to stay here, but I think alternative "airport hotels" would have probably have been much worse, as we've experienced in both Puerto Rico & Barbados.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJ*HL*S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. John's hotels

Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

We had to stay at the Heritage with 11 other poor souls after our flight from Antigua to London was aborted due to a pilot error.
Arriving quite late at night (10pm), we were far from impressed by the entrance and the lobby. The lady at reception did her best to provide us with a decent meal at this late hour, keeping the kitchen opened. She then sent most of us to our rooms in the annexe, down an intimidating back street. By then it was close to midnight. Bedrooms had metal doors which worried us a bit. The shower was broken and lying at the bottom of a very dirty bath. The water was brown when we turned the taps and nothing else but a bar of soap and a couple of towels were available. The room consisted of a lounge/kitchen area and a bedroom with 2 beds. Sheets were rather doubtful and we preferred to lay on the top of the bed.
The worse was an all night rave taking place some 50m away with shootings, enthusiastic DJ and music so loud than we did not sleep a wink all night. The racket stopped at around 7.30am.
By then we were all gathered, unwashed in the small lobby.The whole place was quite shabby.
The men restrooms were unavailable and had to share with the ladies. The only good point was the free internet access.

During daytime, with shops opened under the annexe and the place buzzing with tourists from cruise ships, it did not seem as bad unless you are stuck in the lobby for hours waiting for news of your flight and feeling unwanted by the new receptionist who managed to get rid of us by 2pm as the airline sent us to an other place .
The few other people in our unfortunate party, 2 of them lone women, were not terribly impressed by their room and had the same problem sleeping.
The food, kindly provided, was surprisingly honestly prepared and some of the staff very nice.
I suppose the Heritage is probably a business hotel not suitable to stranded tourists and to anyone on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MichFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

Good business hotel right in the middle of town. Spacious rooms with balcony, free and fast Internet in rooms, complimentary breakfast, The only problem is that the hotel's website does the place no justice, and the one e-mail address I found and tried was never answered.

  • Liked — fest free Internet
  • Disliked — lack of response to e-mails!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
3.4 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 1,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 2,986 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Inn
Caribbean Inn
#4 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn La Galleria
Inn La Galleria
#11 of 15 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
2.7 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
5.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel

Property: Heritage Hotel
Address: Heritage Quay, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing