We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blue Waters Antigua
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed June 28, 2007

My husband, myself and our soon to be 14 year old son stayed for just one week at Blue Waters in May. The whole experience was paradise, and exceeded our expectations.
In fact I wanted to stay and work in Antigua, but had to return to England to work!!!
The food was very good and though we all are vegetarians we didn't go hungry.
The all inclusive package was great and I especially enjoyed the cold towels and iced water served on the beach each day!
All the staff were friendly and the whole place was so clean.
We all agreed that we should return again very soon.

  • Liked — The whole place!
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Theatremanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,369
    318
    78
    45
    21
See reviews for
403
1,001
41
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2007

This resort is a real gem, on first inspection i thought it was maybe to small and could be crowded but after the second day we discovered it really isn't. There is plenty of space for everyone, the service on the beach and around the pools is great cold towels, fruit and drinks brought to you and almost always with a smile.
The 2 restaurants are both lovely and good wine lists with nice glasses unlike some all inclusive resorts. We had a beachfront deluxe room which i think is the smallest but it was big enough with a mini bar and nice verada with seaviews. Room service was very good and restocking of the mini bar was great to.
The arrival welcome is amazing, very welcoming and the evening entertainment for a small hotel is great and its also very friendly helped as its full of mainly British honeymoon and middle age couples. Its not particually geared for children or larger parties although the staff were very friendly with the children.
The only minor downside is the beach area is limited and to get a good spot you would have to reserve your space! the watersports was great and the staff very friendly there to. For the first time ever on holiday we did not leave the resort! so they must be doing something right, however with this type of holiday 7-10 days max is def enough. Would highly recommend this to all couples of all ages really.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dillojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Stayed here for 10 days in June 2007. Room was beachside deluxe in upper level of 600 block. Good seaview, large terrace. Clean and tidy, bedding changed every 2nd day. Good selection of food both in main and Vyvians(?) restaurant. All Inclusive was excellent as we dont like to be tied to meal selection or worry about extras. The staff were generally great to fantastic. A couple of little service delays but its the Carribbean so things have a slower pace.
Downsides - perhaps 10 days was too long, quite a few wedding parties taking over parts of the resort. Otherwise good.
Would we come back probably not but thats our choice, we prefer heading east rather than west from UK.

  • Liked — View from balconey
  • Disliked — Entrance stairs
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_Stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2007

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for 1 week in March 07, left one day before the world cricket cups opening match. The hotel itself is very tranquil, and the staff are friendly if you take the time to chat with them. The food was good, we went all inclusive, but ate out quite a bit also....Try Le Bistro absolutely lovely food. All in all it was one of the most relaxing holidays I and my partner have ever had, can honestly say didn't want to come home. If you are looking for nightlife, this really isn't the hotel for you, but venture out and you can find anything you are looking for. Whilst there we hired a sailing boat for the day just the two of us, had lunch, and at sunset dropped anchor to watch the sun go down.....was excellent and the people who owned the boat (Pippa & Brian) were just terrific, nothing was too much trouble for them. If you are thinking of doing this you will find there leaflet in the lobby at the hotel "Miramar". Well I hope this review is of some help, and if you are going to be staying at Blue Waters I'm sure you will not be dissapointed.

  • Liked — The very large bathroom
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Amelia-Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2007

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary in style at this magnificent hotel. The service was impeccable! We were pampered with cold wash cloths and fresh fruit skewers by the pool to warm wash cloths after dessert at dinner. All inclusive was the way to go. We had one problem on arrival which was quickly rectified. We were then sent flowers the next day to apologize for any inconvenience. Majority of the staff were friendly and helpful. There were a few who didn't smile a lot, but given the long hours the workers put in, I couldn't blame them for not wanting to smile all the time. I highly recommend this resort for romantic occassions as well as families. I witnessed families there with small children and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or tolerable of them. I was amazed at the great courtesy everyone received, families or couples. I wouldn't recommend this place for singles. Definitely not a pick up joint.

  • Liked — Excellent views
  • Disliked — some of the menu items
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bacmom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2007

as a travel agent I use whats posted on trip advisor as help in choosing places I haven't personally seen for my clients. So I decided it was time to post my own review.

The Blue Waters was my first 3 night getaway since having a baby 5 months ago. It exceeded my expectations in terms of service and atmosphere.

The service was fantastic, everyone was friendly, helpful and always willing to go the extra mile. The food was wonderful we ate at both the Palms and Vyviannes.

Our room was spotless, anything we needed our maid was more than happy to provide.

I would say the only disappointment for some people would be that the beach is small, it is not a "walking" beach. However it is very clean and the water is cyrstal clear.

While I did not take my kids on this trip (this was a mommy getaway!) We did see several families with small children and they all seemed to really enjoy their stay. I don't know that children older than 5 might not get bored as there isn't a kids club and not much else to do besides play in the pool or on the beach.

We met several honeymoon couples that were loving their stay and we did witness one wedding while we were there. The wedding was beautiful.

I would highly recommend this resort to anyone wanting wonderful service, great accommodations and a relaxing, lowkey vacation.

  • Liked — service, food, accommodations
  • Disliked — small beach
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vttravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gret notley, essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

Bluewaters was highly recommended by a friend who in her "e-mail" to me was" we couldn't fault it". It was our first visit to the Caribbean and we certainly will be returning. It is a beautifully secluded hotel with the right number of rooms, and all with a view. The servivce was excellent. The housekeepers even knocked on your door in the evening with the next day newsletter and an offer "to turn down the bed". Talk about feel spoiled. It was our 24th wedding anniversary while there so we had a champagne breakfast delivered to the room. There was good entertainment-no disco music thank goodness. If i was going to make a comment it would be that the beach was a little small to do any serious walking . There could have been a few more sun umbrellas on the beach as well but these last two comments are certainly an aside as Bluewaters has certainly got it "right" with regards quality, staff, food, drinks and service. Best to go all inclusive though.

  • Liked — less than 100 rooms
  • Disliked — beach rather small
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank triumphowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,295 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
613 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
9.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,265 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
3,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Property: Blue Waters Antigua
Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Waters Antigua 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing