We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic Wedding Day! and holiday resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue Waters Antigua
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We arrived with our family and friends on 5th June and was greeted with a very warm welcome and friendly smile's. From the moment we entered the hotel my husband and I knew we had chosen the right place to get married and have our honeymoon in. the rooms were fantastic and even the porter's were smiling and chatting to us all the way to our room, we stayed in a deluxe beachfront villa which overlooked the gazebo where we were getting married. I have to stay Mandie our wedding co-ordinator exceeded our expectation's, right from the day we arrived she put our mind's at rest and the whole day went as planned, she was a STAR!!. and a credit to the hotel.
We also have to thank Cameron the Food & Beverages Manager of Blue Water's he was charming and couldn't do enough for us and our guest's, always eager to please with particular attention to detail. The food and service was fantastic.

All in all we would like to thank all the staff at Blue Water's for making our Wedding Day a memorable one and something that we and our guest's will remember for sometime to come.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squirrelsKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Reservations Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2010

Thank you for your kind words, we are thrilled that your wedding at Blue Waters was such a great success for you, your family and friends. We are pleased that the resort and our team exceeded your expectations and hope that you will come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,879)
There are newer reviews for Blue Waters Antigua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,465 - 1,471 of 1,879 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2010

Having just returned from a stay at Blue Waters with some friends I can positively refute some of the earlier reports of poor or indifferent service. We experience quite the opposite. A team of friendly, open and welcoming staff at every level who seemed genuinely concerned that we should enjoy our holiday.
The hotel was quite quiet when we arrived and we were delighted to find ourselves upgraded to beach view rooms with interconnecting balconies (an optional feature which can be closed off) with brillinat views over the bay which was so close you could have almost hoped over the balcony and into the sea! During our stay it became more busy.
We had booked just b and b as we prefer to sample the delights of places other than hotel restaurants and Antigua is well blessed with excellent places to eat both by day and night. We did have dinner in the hotel restaurant on our first night and while It was a perfectly pleasant meal we were struck by an inflexibility in the menu ( no option for one course) and not a large choice as it seemed to us, if you were to be reliant on the hotel for 2 weeks of dinners. It also seemed quite pricey for what it was. As a group we have no aversion to payng good money for good food, but felt the hotel restaurant was probably the least appealing part of our stay.
Breakfasts were however excellent, the beach bar served a mean cocktail (although as it came nearer to closing time at around 7.00pm the mixes became more erratic as the staff ran out of various ingredients (e.g banana for the banana daquiri) and were either unwilling, or I suspect more likely, unable to source more making the drinks quite unbalanced at times. During the day however they were brilliant.
We hired a jeep and explored the isand for much of time there. I thoroughly recommend that to any visitor. It's a beautiful place with a beach around every corner, mostly quite unspoilt and public,. Half Moon Bay, Turners, Runaway, Jabberwock, Long Bay to name but some - really lovely. excellent swimming etc. You can also get to the rainforest area around Fig Tree Drive and take in the impressive Georgian Dockyards where amongst others, Nelson was posted.
Restaurants are plentiful and nearby. amongst our favourites in St John's: Papa Zouks - Fish and a knockout rum cocktail; Hemmingway's with it's wrap around balcony overlooking the street activities and the Commisioner's Grill.
Coconut Grove is a lovely beach restaurant on Dickenson Bay.
Blue Waters is a well run, attractive quiet resort to which I would happily return, and I don't say that about many places, being relatively hard to please.
I would not wish to be there in high season as the beach is quite small and I suspect gets quite busy when the place is full but full marks to Alistair, Mandy and the team and a special mention for our lovely housekeeper, Jean, who was so uncomplaining about the small piles of piles of sand with kept appearing in our bathroom at the end of each day!
A grown up resort with good quality and not overwhelming evening entertainment including a brilliant steel band.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonCeltic_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Reservations Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

We are pleased that you had a good stay with us a Blue Waters and enjoyed the uninterrupted ocean views from your balcony. Please note that all guest comments are taken very seriously and any shortcomings will be reviewed with the team. We all hope to give you a warm welcome back some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

I have travelled to Bluewaters twice now and I have to say I do not understand some of the reviews on here.

The food is amazing with 3 restaurants to choose from, the rooms are fresh and beautiful. The beach is personal and the pools are stunning!

I could not fault the hotel and woud travel here again and again. It is the perfect place to relax and there are plenty of things to do if you fancy a day out.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone and I would also recommend not to listen to the bad reviews on here as they are not a true representation of the hotel and its wonderful facilities!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mkpink_princess_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Reservations Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

Thank you for your kind words, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us at Blue Waters, so much so that you have been twice, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

I had a week stay at bluewaters and wished I would have booked two. I read a few reviews on here and I can't disagree more!!!!!! This is one of the most wonderful places I have ever been to. The staff, location and the food made it all. Highly recommend!!!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Reservations Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Blue Waters. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back some day soon....maybe for 2 weeks next time ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Blue Waters in March for a week long vacation. We wanted a vacation where we wouldn't have to lift a finger, rest, relax and simply recharge. That is exactly what we found at Blue Waters! We found this resort through our travel agent. Our room was lovely and overlooked the water. Every day we enjoyed the very extensive buffet breakfast and then made our way to the beach. The beach is small, but we never had trouble finding chairs in the morning. Around 10am someone came around with cold towels scented with some kind of lovely oil, then came ice water, and finally someone passing around a fruit plate! There are two bars near the beach so you don't have to walk far to get your favorite drink. Lunch was at noon and was also a buffet (sometimes a BBQ). Tea time was at 4 and we really enjoyed the nice little snack before our late dinner. dinners we ordered off the menu. The meals at the three restaurants seemed very similar, so we stayed mostly in the main restaurant since we enjoyed sitting outside. I wouldn't call the food the most imaginative, but very tasty and fresh. The watersports are very nice and I should give a special nod to Owen who was very helpful in teaching us how to use the Hobie Cat. Daily excursions can be arranged and there is a schedule of planned events posted the night before. However, we hardly left the beach. We spent the entire vacation enjoying the beach, reading, eating and drinking! Total relaxation! It was wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizaSquan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Reservations Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

Another lovely review, thank you. We are thrilled that you were able to kick-back and relax with us at Blue Waters and hope that you will come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

I have just returned home from the Blue Waters Hotel and must admit that initially I was skeptical by some previous reviews; however….

My family and I were greeted upon arrival and we felt like royalty the minute we entered the hotel. Our room was bright and had direct access to a beautiful infinity pool which made life very easy especially with two children in tow. Of course it had all the gadgets that we needed; flat screen tv and dvd player; again great for the kids while we were getting ready for dinner.

The food was magnificent, we really enjoyed sitting on the terrace overlooking the water.

Housekeeping was punctual and very thorough and all the service staff could not do enough for us.

If you want a cozy, personal hotel that ticks all the boxes, make sure you stop in the Cove next time you visit Antigua.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Reservations Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

Thank you kindly for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Cove at Blue Waters and that our team and facilities exceeded your initial expecations. Come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

This was our second trip to Antigua and first time to Blue Waters. From the website I was expecting a great time. We only stayed here for 4 nights and it was enough. Small beaches, very unfriendly staff and poor food. Room was OK but for the money we paid definitely not worth this poor quality.

I know things are slow in the Caribbean but one evening we had to wait 1 hour to get our dessert and 9 hours to have bottles of water brought to our room. We were told off as we hadn't ordered the water before 1am the previous morning! Staff looked very unhappy as if they didn't want to be there. Evening entertainment was also poor. Food quality was not great, needed Gaviscon after every evening meal!!!

I would not return to this hotel and not recommend it. Galley Bay is the best hotel in Antigua and if we ever go back to Antigua we will visit Galley Bay again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jolly010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
11.2 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
593 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,020 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jumby Bay Island
Jumby Bay Island
#1 of 16 in St. John's
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,336 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,305 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $324 - $1,354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Waters Antigua 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing