We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Waters Antigua
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Clara, California
119
Reviewed August 25, 2005

I just returned from 9 days at Blue Waters with my husband. We stayed in an Ocean view room at the end of the resort just steps away from the beach. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very spacious too.
The gardens are beautiful and the grounds are well kept and clean.
The electricity went out 4 days for a few hours at a time and when we checked out the hotel manager compensated us to our liking. The staff and management were very accomodating!
The small private beach was my favorite since some days nobody but me and my husband were on this beach. They even came down from the bar a few times to take our drink order.
The Palm restaurant was beautiful, open air type place. The lighting was very romantic and you can hear the crickets and treefrogs at night while dining. The food was good and variety was ok. We opted not to do the all inclusive since we enjoy trying other restaurants on the island, which we did and glad because not to far away there were at least 3 we really liked in Dickenson Bay.
I plan to recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

Stayed: August 2005
19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,807 - 1,813 of 1,913 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2005

We have recently returned from our 2 week holiday at the wonderful Blue Waters resort. We really couldn't have wished for a better place to spend our honeymoon. It was great to come to a resort like Blue Waters and relax after the build-up to the wedding.

Blue Waters is about a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport and St John's on Antigua's north coast. As there are apparently no coaches on the island, the transfers from the airport to the hotel are by taxi and can be a bit of a free-for-all. However, don't let this first view of the island put you off. On arrival at Blue Waters, you are greeted by a member of reception and given a complimentary drink. The concierge then gives you a brief tour of the hotel as he takes your luggage to your room.

We stayed in room 106 which is a Deluxe Beachfront room directly overlooking the sea. I did request a room in Block 100 via email with the hotel after readin tripadvisor. The room was lovely had a king size bed, flat-screen tv, radio alarm, safe and was of good size. Block 100 is the only block that appears to have been refurbished at present, but some other blocks are due to refurbished in Sept 2005 when the hotel closes for a short period. Room service is available and re-stocking of the mini-bar service is included for free on the all-inclusive package. You need to complete a form and hang it on your door so they know what to replace, but this is no hardship.

Blue Waters has two restaurants. Palm Restaurant is the main restaurant used for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It overlooks one of the pools and is more open-air than Vyviens. The food was outstanding and very varied with a good selection each night. Vyviens is an a-la-carte air conditioned restaurant open on evenings only and we only ate there once. It was very nice, but we preferred the atmosphere in the Palm Restaurant. You do need to make reservations each night, again no hardship and it probably is one of the reasons why you get such good service. There is also a dress code, but this is only for women to look smart casual and men to wear collared shirts and long pants (3/4 length are fine). It didn't bother us at all, although some Americans seemed to take offence! As honeymooners, we also received a champagne breakfast on our balcony on one morning. This is ordered in advance and was really enjoyed.

There are three bars at Blue Waters. Two pool bars (although only one was open most of the time due to the hotel only being half full - off season) and one evening bar which has entertainment. All the staff at Blue Waters were very polite and courteous (including the reception staff, who seem to get a bad deal on these reviews), although some staff went out of their way to be friendly and chatty. This was particularly apparent of the bar staff who were more than happy to have a joke and a chat between serving guests (particularly Carolyn and Diana). They are also very knowledgeable on the island and it's attractions. Entertainment in the evening is varied with different artists each night with different music styles, but they do tend to play the same songs!!!

The beaches are small, but they were not crowded at all. However, the hotel was only about half full when we stayed there. There are 3 pools (one adults only) and these have ample sun loungers.

Other facilities include a beauty salon (we didn't use it), tennis courts, gym, games room. All were good additions to the resort. There was one wedding in the gazebo while we were there which seemed to be well organised.

One tip we received is that it is cheaper to book a B&B holiday through an agent, etc and upgrade to all-inclusive when you arrive at hotel.

All in all, Blue Waters is a fabulous, informal, relaxed resort where the staff really go out of their way to ensure that you have a great holiday. I am sure we will return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank WelshDragon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cornwall, England
114
Reviewed August 2, 2005

We have recently returned from our wonderful wedding at Blue Waters. The whole event was held very professionally, Blue Waters only allows one wedding a day, so you are made to feel very special. The accomodation, facilities, restaurants and staff are all of 5 star standard. We will be going back to this corner of paradise very soon

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2005

We stayed at Blue Waters for our honeymoon and we had a fantastic time. We requested the block 100 (based on the reviews) before we arrived via the internet and by telephone, but when we arrived we were allocated a different block; after a quick word with reception they soon had us back in block 100 (room 111) and we were delighted. This block of rooms have been refurbed throughout and provide a modern walk-in shower, white linen, modern furniture, LCD TVs and remote air con etc. But the main benefit that is so great about these rooms are the views over the beach & sea, (which makes waiting for your wife to get ready quite bearable). The mini bar was stocked daily if you remembered to put out your order and the rooms were always cleaned superbly and always done by 3pm at the latest. We spent our first week during the day on the decked area, just by the beach bar and the swimming pool, then the second week on the beach. You could always get a place on either and even though I was normally up by 8pm, even if you didn't put your towels down then and went to breakfast first, there were still always beds available. The sea was sometimes a bit murky but other days beautiful turquoise and we did have the odd jellyfish but just ask the jet ski man to remove them and he will! The food was very good in both the restaurants, i will agree with a a couple of other reviews that if you have lobster you dont want it covered in cheese (and they did seem to love a bit of cheese) and medium rare came more medium, but on the whole Viviens and Palm you couldn't fault. Lunches were very good as well, you have the choice of either burgers, baguettes around the pool or a more substantial menu in Palm. Entertainment was ok, they had a band most evenings, but we met such a great group of people over the two weeks we made our own entertainment (Hi to everyone we met, Chris & Natalie here)! and the goups we were with were normally the last to leave in the evening, bar shut about 11.45pm. Shirley Heights is a must and its worth getting up there for the BBQ and sunset and we we went on the Wadidli Catemeran round the island (speak to Elvis on the beach for all your trips) which is worth it, if you don't get sea-sick.

All in all we had a fantastic honeymoon which was made by the people we met, a great hotel with good staff and two weeks of sunshine. We have stayed in similar class hotels all over the Carribean and I would certainly recommend BW. Enjoy!!!! (if you have any questions please feel free to email me)

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank chrischarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2005

When you think it can't get any better, you stay at a hotel like Blue Waters, Antigua! We were there from 7/15-22,2005 when Emily was to the north/west of us. Despite the threat of thunderstorms daily, the weather was beautiful.........as was this pick for us. We've been to around 6 islands in the Caribbean and Bahamas, staying in the best hotels/resorts. Blue Waters is up there with the world's finest. Our room, in the 100 block, had the most splendid ocean views. We fell asleep to the sounds of crickets and surf....and greeted the morning with light streaming in and waves upon the shore just yards from our room. The hotel is 77 rooms, 20+ acres of beautifullly manicured grounds replete with hibiscus, palms, etc.....aesthetically designed where every angle is picture perfect......You wouldn't say I'm at all biased? The food at the hotel, as well on this island itself, is wholesome, beautifully presented, good sized portions and sumptuous. Fine dining is very important to us, and New York has nothing over this 15x20 island.Our favorites included: Vyvien's( the hotel's Air Conditioned restaurant), reservations necessary, Coconut Grove, Le Bistro, and The Beach. We could write an entire critique on restaurants alone.
Re: service, we have no complaints. Whenever we asked for anything, the staff responded quickly. They were very accomodating.....We also met a driver who took care of our transport needs, since we didn't rent a car.
Since our stay is off-season, the beach, though very small, suited our needs. It was not overly crowded. There are also 3 pools, so there are options. You could also go beach hopping without a problem, should you want to snorkel or sunbathe elsewhere.

We loved The Blue Waters, and will definitely return to holiday. We were very comfortable there and had everything we need when on vacation.......For us, it was rest and relaxation, something we both crave after our stressful work lives.

Stern/Ragno
New York

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank linnie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2005

We have just returned from our stay at Blue Waters in the Caribbean. This hotel is moderately sized and this gives the staff the opportunity to attend to details and pamper its' guests. We adored our junior suite facing the water and the food in both restuarants was outstanding. The beaches were equipped with comfortable lounges and ample shade, if needed. The water is a mix of the Caribbean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean which provides
a beautiful background for the well tended gardens, gazebos and three pools. If peace and quiet are important to you, this hotel provides that. However, there many chances for outings, exercise, evening entertainment and shopping in nearby St. John. About 90% of the other guests were British, so there is a decidedly British atmosphere. We have visited ten islands in the Caribbean and this was, by far, the most enjoyable trip of them all. We will defintely be returning.

16  Thank bfs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2005

Spent a week here on our honeymoon (and another week at the Inn at English Harbour). The hotel is generally excellent with a beautiful beach, large, clean rooms and friendly staff. The hotel grounds are beautiful and very well maintained.

Re: The review of June 16, 2005 with complaints about the rooms - we stayed in room 303 and had no complaints - large, clean room (with working a/c)

Its not a complaint about the hotel, but I suspect if I had stayed a second week I might have started to feel a little restless as there is nothing within walking distance of the resort. I had been expecting this however and it probably say's more about me than the hotel.

All in all a fantastic holiday

PS - Its a fantastic place to learn to sail (with a very safe, consistent wind)

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Craig123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
11.2 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
633 reviews
10.4 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
492 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,342 reviews
10.8 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#4 of 7 in Saint Mary's
994 reviews
5.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $321 - $1,431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Waters Antigua 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing