We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue Waters Antigua
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Waters Hotel for a week in September. Most of the week was for a holiday and on the Friday our daughter got married. You could not wish for a better setting for a wedding. The weather makes or breaks a holiday and we were fortunate to have brilliant weather all week. The hotel cannot be faulted. We opted for the bed and breakfast package which gave us the freedom to choose where and when we would eat. All staff were kind, happy, courteous and always smiling. The whole place was clean and tidy all the time. Whenever we had a question there was always the answer.
The food was excellent. The chef catered for the special dietry needs we asked for without hesitation. One thing we had that we have never had before was a turn down service at the end of the day before we went to bed. Absolute pleasure.
September is a quiet time of the year and we felt like we had our own private hotel but there was no cut back in the service provided in spite of the few numbers.
For anyone planning a wedding in the sun, there can be no better place. Mandy, the wedding co-ordinator had everything under control and the whole wedding went without a hitch. It was beautiful. We had a fabulous holiday free from the stress of wondering if the wedding will be OK. It was. One of the best things about a wedding in the Blue Waters Hotel is the personal touch. The wedding was made to be special, no conveyor belt service here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and that your daughter had a wonderful wedding with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were looking for a quite sophisticated location in the Caribbean and certainly found it at Blue Waters. The setting was perfect and the accommodation in tune with the surroundings. What was most impressive was that the whole hotel was kept to an immaculate standard.

It was just the place to unwind and relax. Gwen, Karen and all of the staff were just the right blend of friendly and unobtrusive. The food was excellent and the afternoon tea was a welcomed colonial distraction in the afternoon.

We have recommended Blue Waters to our friends as a top destination for a getaway.

Room Tip: Suites were a little more expensive but well worth it for the privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Declan031262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed spending your wedding anniversary at Blue Waters.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Blue Waters in July for our honeymoon and loved every second of it. The whole holiday was amazing. The resort is beautiful and we found no reason to want to leave it! We had a deluxe beachfront room which had a beautiful view of the sea. The chambermaids were excellent very attentive and the room was always spotless. The food was amazing, too good if anything as we ate too much! All the restaurants were delicious but The Cove was our particular favourite the views are second to none. All of the staff were brilliant and they would go out of their way to do anything for you. We love love loved it here and really hope we can return. Thank you Bluewaters for making our honeymoon so special.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateandMike220612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon at Blue Waters.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in November/December 2012 for 7 nights,in a Delxe Beachfront room on All Inclusive.
Without a doubt, this is one of the best places I have stayed. The staff are wonderful, and can't do enough for you, yet at the same time, they aren't in-your-face.
The rooms were of a good size, though the bathroom was a bit small for 2 women sharing. However, everything was clean, and decorated in Caribbean style.
The grounds were absolutely stunning, with nice manicured gardens, and some lovely pool areas.
Meals were always something to look forward to here. The Cove was my particular favourite, especially for the view. Plus, the lobster was amazing. Bartleys was also good, serving more Caribbean cuisine. Even the Palms restaurant was very good for buffet food. Afternoon tea was always a delight here.
The entertainment was very good. There was a steel band, and a local singer in the bar some evenings.
Watersports guys were all very friendly, especially Ryan, who was always smiling, and kindly took me on a hobie cat ride on my last day.
I'm very much looking forward to returning to Blue Waters again this November. It's got a laid back luxury style, and is a true gem in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amyp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and that you were pleased with the resort's facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Best Hotel in the Caribbean region
Best Hotel in the Caribbean region
Best Hotel in the Caribbean region
Best Hotel in the Caribbean region
Best Hotel in the Caribbean region
Best Hotel in the Caribbean region
Best Hotel in the Caribbean region
Best Hotel in the Caribbean region





Room Tip: Perfect design
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anasmhds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I previously reviewed this hotel last year following a brief stay with my daughter and hoped to return with my wife this year which we were lucky enough to do for 5 nights arriving 25th August.

We stayed in a superior hillside room which is the cheapest available..In many other hotels it would be classed as an ocean view. The room was spacious, had a vast amount of wardrobe and drawer space and a very large bathroom. The balcony was also large with plenty of space for a sunlounger couple of chairs and a table. However if you spend lots of time in your room you are really missing out on some wonderful facilities.

Blue Waters is a stress-busting resort. The grounds. the views and the beach are beautiful but what they have that is truly unique is a sincere. dedicated and truly warm team of staff.It is perhaps unfair to single some out but the trio of bar staff of Pearl Carolyn and Pearl will be well remembered by all guests. The amount of returning guests is testament to their efforts.

So with so much going for it why have i not given 5 stars overall ? There is a weakness but it can be so easily rectified. I have never stayed at a hotel that has the same lunch menu 6 days a week (on Sundays there is a sunday roast). This is very boring and there is no good reason reason why there could not be more variety. A similar problem arises in the evening when each of the two restaurants seems to have the same menu each day.

Maybe not a problem if you are staying two or three nights but repetitive otherwise. The other solution of course is to stay B and B and eat elsewhere some of the time.

(A better solution would be for the mgmt and.or the chef to introduce some more variety - ideally with more caribbean dishes to choose from).

I would recommend that guests stay B and B rather than All inclusive,Unless you are a really big drinker and eater the maths just doesnt make it economic (and it frees you to seek more variety from restaurants outside the hotel).

There is also confusion as to what is and what isnt included in the All Inclusive tariff. A $6 glass of wine isnt but an $8 cocktail is. A Mojito made with Bacardi may be included but with a different rum not so. Amazingly sparkling water has to be paid for in addition.

Its just too confusing and lists of drinks (eg wine menu) do not indicate in any way which are free and which are an additional charge. In my own case this caused some irritation but to the hotel's credit the duty manager, Paulette listened to my gripes and resolved the situation to our satisfaction more or less immediately so that relaxaion mode could be resumed asap.

My advice is to avoid the hassle go B and B pay for your drinks and then you know where you are.(and will prob save over AI cost anyway).

Finally on the subject of drinks let Pearl Tramaine and Carolyn make you their special drinks and you will not be sorry. If Michelin stars could be awarded to bar staff .....

So in conclusion you should definitely stay at this hotel. It is a unique experience and you will meet some wonderful people and enjoy superb surroundings notably a wonderful beach and a beautiful blue sea. I hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Having been very happy in their cheapest room you have no great worries on this front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your return stay to Blue Waters.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've been travelling to the Caribbean three to four times a year for the past 20 years,i hadn't been to Antigua for a few years but stayed here for 4 days recently with the other half,we chose the Blue Waters after Trip Advisor reviews which were generally very good.
After getting delayed for 6 hours on a Liat Flight (shock !) we didn't arrive at the hotel till 2 in the morning but got a very pleasant welcome at reception and were taken to our room in,what I can only describe as a golf buggy.
We were cream crackered and went straight to bed exhausted and had the best sleep ever,the bed was amazing and the room was cracking,spotlessly clean,large with a huge bathroom,lovely soft towels,great selection of toiletries,a huge walk in shower and separate bath,it was kept very clean during our stay .
Breakfast in the morning was delicious,buffet style with everything you could imagine on offer in a restaurant with great views of the sea.
Overall we were thoroughly impressed with the hotel during our stay,the beach is lovely or there are many pools you can choose from,in the evenings you can eat at one of the restaurants (all the food we had was very good) ,there is a nice bar area or if you want it takes 20 mins taxi to go to the capital St Johns.
Yes Blue Waters isn't cheap (what 5 star hotel is !!?) but you get what you pay for in life,we loved the hotel ,really couldn't fault it but what makes it stand above all others was the staff,everyone we met (probably 20 odd people) were genuinely friendly,helpful and couldn't do enough for you,i can honestly say that after 20 years travelling they were the nicest hotel workers I have met and it is the best hotel I have ever stayed in,fact !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AliFantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Blue Waters, and were pleased with the resort's facilities and hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
11.2 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
631 reviews
10.4 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
489 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,341 reviews
5.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,344 reviews
10.8 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#3 of 7 in Saint Mary's
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $321 - $1,430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Waters Antigua 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing