We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, with some things to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue Waters Antigua
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very good, with some things to improve”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I staid here with my wife and in-lass for one week, and overall we had a very good time.
There are lots of hotels in Antigua, some with a bigger beach, but they are in more remote locations in the south. The beach at BE is small, but never crowded, and there are plenty of watersports on offer, included a free snorkling trip to a nearby reef. Location is very good, as the north east of the island has all you need: restaurants, supermarkets, the Capital St John's and the airport. If you want to go down to English Harbour is 45 mins maximum.
Now the things to improve:
- the beachfront 'deluxe' rooms are dated and not very luxurious... the general manager told us they plan to fenovate them this summer, so watch this space (the hotel has already been renovated in many other areas);
- the price of the buffet lunch/dinner is way overpriced for the quality of food ($50). We generally had lunch choosing from the bar menu. You'd pay the same at their Cove reastaurant, where the food is much better.

Overall we'd go back again, as we had all we need from our week at blue waters, but hopefully the rooms will have been refurbished by next year.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TALENTINO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,349
    316
    78
    45
    21
See reviews for
398
989
41
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were scheduled to stay at Blue Waters for 4 nights & left after 2! Unless you are staying at Cove Suites, they couldn't care less about you. The "deluxe" room looked like a roadside motel. The rooms are very dates, the bathrooms are creepy, tiny shower, rusted fixtures. We begged to be moved 3 times! When I politely asked a guy at the front desk to see if there was a better room, he looked at me like he wanted to kill me, so incredibly rude! My husband finally offered to upgrade us, in an effort to save our short vacation & they told us they would come and get us in 30 minutes to show us the overpriced Cove suites and never came. The food is horrible, service is poor, pool areas are depressing, and overall a terrible experience at an overpriced hotel. Luckily, we were able to get a room at Carlisle Bay, which was superb! Blue Waters is the worst hotel experience we've ever had, and we've been to over 20 countries! They should be ashamed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BeckyN157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest
We sincerely apologise to you that we did not meet the expectations of your holiday. We do pride ourselves on our high standards and quality service delivery.
We are not in the business of excuses and to this end I would have been very keen to have gotten the opportunity towards finding a suitable solution for your concerns whilst you were still on property had I been aware of your concerns.
This experience is not indicative of the standard to which we normally conduct our business. Again heartfelt apologies to you both in the matter.
Personal regards,
Andy Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the Blue Waters Resort Apr 7-14.
We stayed in a beachfront room overlooking the beautiful sea.
All the staff were great - very accommodating & courteous and the food was excellent.
A great place to go for a week of r&r.
We took a day tour of the island with Pelican Tours. We chose the personal tour & Alvin our guide was excellent. He was a wealth of information on the island's history.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyboopOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Antigua very soon!

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Excellent holiday in Cove Suites which are part of Blue Waters, Antigua. We have just spent 2 weeks at the Cove Suites and found it difficult to fault.

There are always some problems but the team sort them out immediately with good grace. The whole experience was exactly what you want from a first-class hotel. We were beautifully looked after with excellent facilities by a wonderful team. The Cove Suites benefit from a concierge service that is second to none. You have your own mobile phone to contact them whenever you need help and they will arrange anything for you. The room (1E) was superb with lovely views and easy access to the infinity pool. It was spotlessly clean and maintenance was excellent. Infrastructure is brilliantly thought out with on resort back up power generation making regular Caribbean power failures immaterial.

Apart from the obvious benefits Blue Waters offers, by far the best feature is the staff. They are simply amazing with nothing being too much of a problem - operating on feet, rebuilding complex sunglasses, simply not a problem.

The food is outstanding and Roger is only too happy to sort out any special dietary requirements with good grace and panache. Vincent's entire team are outstanding.

So was there anything not 100%. There can be some noise from upper storey accommodation if you are on the ground floor at the Cove Suites. The bath is not long enough for a soak.

Lets put everything into perspective. We have holidayed in the Caribbean for over 30 years and never returned to the same place. I would be very surprised if we do not return to the Cove Suites at Blue Waters.

Keep doing what you are doing! Well done.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Sally,

It was such a pleasure to read your review and I'm delighted to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us here at Blue Waters.

I will of course pass on your kind comments to our team here and hope that you will indeed return to see us again soon.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent 8 days in a Deluxe Beachfront room at the Blue Waters Resort. Looking out from our balcony over the fragrant Hibiscus, through the swaying palm trees to the deep blue sea beyond we knew we had found the perfect slice of paradise for our restful week.

Every member of staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome, from the ground staff to the bar staff to the restaurant staff. It makes such a difference when the staff make an effort, and many larger resorts could learn a thing or two from the management here. On day one we keep repeating our room number at the bar and restaurant, only to be greeted by the smiling staff with our names - a personal touch that was very welcoming.

We only ate at the Palms restaurant, but by and large we were delighted with the food. The breakfast and lunch buffets were superb, and afternoon tea after a day on the beach was a treat. The a la carte dinners were well cooked, but got a little "samey" by the end of the week - probably our fault for not trying the Cove which gets rave reviews.

The beach is small, but charming and never felt too crowded. The pools were perhaps a little on the small side, but to be honest they were hardly used when we were there - why swin in a pond when the ocean is on your doorstep. Bar service on the beach was excellent, and cool face-towels in the morning and sorbets in the afternoon on the beach was a nice touch.

The bedroom was excellent - comfy bed, lovely balcony and spotlessly clean. We would recomend an upper floor for a better view and greater privacy. They room are mostly north facing so don't expect sun on your balcony, but again if you want sun there are better places to be.

Can I think of any negatives? The bathroom was on the small size for the room, and could do with a little updating.

We had a great time, would highly recommend it and are already planning our return to this slice of paradise.

Room Tip: Upper floors give better views and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamR682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear William,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a positive and delightful review. It's such a pleasure to know you enjoyed your holiday with us and I will certainly pass your regards onto the team here.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Antigua again very soon.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff were so polite, interested in you and courteous, they couldn't do enough for us. The food was excellent, the hillside room lovel. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Loved the first floor hillside room, nice and quiet, sea view, very roomy. But be aware it is a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PamZ761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Pam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at Blue Waters and are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is landscaped very nicely and isn't the usual uniform block of concrete with beautiful plants everywhere. We were able to find quiet areas that felt quite private in the grounds of the hotel although we stayed at the pool of our villa the last part of the holiday once we realised there was a bar and cold drinks served all day there.

If you are looking for a big beach, you won't find it here. Don't let that put you off though because the three smaller sections of beach are lovely and cosy. And Antigua is so small that you can drive to the other side of the island in about half an hour.

We hired a car from Pineapple car hire, (not the company recommended by the woman at the activities desk but Pineapple were offering sat nav and were marginally cheaper).
So even if you don't love where you are staying, it is easy to get to amazing places with nearly deserted beaches.

My favourite spots were Half Moon Beach on south east - spectacular...I mean REALLY spectacular. Although be very careful in the water, both my husband and I got rolled in the same wave. It is the atlantic side so expect rougher water but still warm. There is a small van that sells drinks nearby and nothing else.

Also try to get to Darkwood, again only about 6 people in total on the whole of the beach. The water was amazing.

My favourite spot was the Ffryes beach. There are two parts to it - I prefer the larger south beach which was again totally empty and you can park your car right at it. You will find Dennis' cafe and bar here. The other smaller north beach is busier with lots of sun beds and shades etc from the Cocobay resort (where i would possibly stay next time for the beach alone)
You can hire loungers on the larger beach too but there were only about 2 other people on the beach and no one had loungers in use.

The gym was fine. The food was fine. The Cove restaurant probably the best. At the main restaurant 'The Palm' there were a couple of grumpy waitresses but this was the exception as all the other staff seemed genuinely warm hearted and hospitable.

Didn't have any major problems with mosquitoes.

Hope this helps, feel free to ask any questions. I don't like writing massive essays on a place but there's always something not covered.

Room Tip: We like the cove suites villa 1 (I would avoid ground floor if you want more privacy) and booked a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gf0rce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review with us, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Antigua.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,258 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,681 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Property: Blue Waters Antigua
Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Waters Antigua 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing