We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally relaxing winter getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Waters Antigua
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Totally relaxing winter getaway”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed at Blue Waters with a friend for a week before Xmas and can’t recommend it highly enough. The service is fantastic and everyone is so friendly and can’t do enough to help you. The check in accompanied by a welcome drink is very relaxed and much appreciated after a long haul flight. We opted for a twin hillside room rather than upgrade to a sea view room –but ended up having a sea view anyway, and the hillside rooms are further away from the restaurants/bar and so are more secluded. The hotel is so well laid out with extensive gardens, 3 small beaches, several swimming pools and beautiful gardens that even if it’s busy there is plenty of space for everyone and you can find a private spot to sunbathe in. We had one of the small beaches to ourselves much of the time as many people prefer to be by the pool/bar area, and for those who want to stay in the shade, there are numerous shaded areas.

We opted not to go all inclusive and were glad we made this choice, as the breakfast choice is so extensive and high quality that we didn’t need lunch. Afternoon tea at 4pm was enough to keep us full until dinner. The hotel will organize taxis if you want to travel into St Johns or around the island, although it’s very hard to tear yourself away from Blue Waters. We planned to visit the spa but just couldn’t bring ourselves to leave the beach, although the spa did look lovely and well worth a visit. My only niggle would be that the bathroom felt dated and could do with an update, and the water pressure and temperature in the shower wasn't great - but the room itself was spacious and had a hairdryer, iron - and plenty of clothes hangers which is often overlooked in hotels.

We came away for a relaxing break from work and winter in the UK and felt that we made a great choice and got very good value for money. Blue Waters is a fantastic hotel which I can’t recommend strongly enough for the high standards of service and friendliness of all its staff, the quality of the food, and the well thought out layout of the hotel and gardens.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parkinson70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of Blue Waters, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,394
    323
    81
    45
    21
See reviews for
419
1,011
42
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chillaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Perfect setting for a Caribbean dream holiday. Blue water, palm trees, sandy beaches! The hotel was immaculate with beautiful decor throughout. Very well appointed bedrooms. The all-inclusive rates meant that we could fully indulge in all the choices of menus and drinks - very generous portions and the mini bar was always full! The staff were all so friendly and helpful. Conclusion - perfect in every respect!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 413HIGHBARN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and the all-inclusive menu.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Returned from BW on 3rd January and I must say we had a lovely time the staff were brilliant from Andre in the Palms to Pearl in Veronicas they made our stay brilliant. The only down side was our room we had a Deluxe Beachfront it certainly wasn't up to the standard to which I would expect from a 4-5 star hotel the bathroom was the biggest let down, it always looked grubby I have taken some pictures and I will add them. Such a shame as everything else was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Betty-Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was really lovely, nice rooms, great pools, pretty beaches and very relaxing. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Good restaurants and a nice breakfast as well, although the cost of dini at the hotel was a bit high. Decent fitness center as well.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bklynwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review.

We hope to welcome you back to Blue Waters very soon.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spend 2 weeks staying within the Cove suites, and have a outstanding stay. Just as well because we got married here in the first week.
Excellent Service / Staff
Excellent Accomodation
Excellent Food
Excellent Location
Need I say any more. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can afford it....Pick the Cove suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globle-Executive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Blue Waters in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just returned from a 7 day all-inclusive holiday at Blue Waters over Christmas. The hotel is nestled in a gorgeous secluded bay with stunning views in which ever direction you look. The hotel grounds are also immaculate with a selection of beautifully designed pools with their own bars. All the staff were incredibly friendly, smiling and greeting you wherever you walked. We had a small mix up on arrival with our rooms but these issues were addressed promptly without complaint. The food also was delicious and beautifully cooked. All in all very difficult to fault. It felt like a different world and I wished I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Well, I don't think I can add much to the reviews that have already been written other than to say we had the most amazing holiday & wedding. The scenery was beautiful and was a perfect setting. The pictures (courtesy of Jason Pickering) were wondering - which I was surprised at as I normally look awful in pictures. The ladies in the spa (especially Gwen) were great - Gwen did my hair and make up on the day and made a stunning job. Mandie and Tamara were always on hand and help out throughout the holiday so many thanks to them also. Pearl in the lobby bar always had a smile and Caroline at the pool bar was making us the most fiery ginger beer - not for the faint hearted. Also many thanks to Paulette who was wonderful when I wasn't well, making sure I was OK and organising everything so that we didn't have to worry.

I was impressed with the management team here - not only are they very friendly but they actually help out! I even saw the General Manager clearing up some glasses from a table which is quite unusual. They are very accessible and genuinely want to know if you are having issues so that they can take the necessary action and ensure that you have the best time.

If I'm honest I was a bit disappointed with the room that we had (it was a Superior Beachfront) but it was tired and dated. However we saw some of the other rooms (the Cove Suites and the Pelican Suites) which had recently been renoved and they were wonderful. Another plus was that the WiFi was pretty good throughout - I was even able to pick this up in the bedroom and by the pool.

One of the highlights of the holiday was the Sunset cruise that we took straight after the wedding - all I can say is WOW!! It was all arranged through the hotel and we were lucky enough to have a 100-capacity catamaran, a crew of 6 and us (me still with my wedding dress on). After this we topped the day off with diner in the wedding gazebo, complete with iPod docking station so you can play some nice, romantic music whilst you eat.

All in all a wonderful holiday - we can't wait to go back. We made some amazing friends too while we were there and they too helped to make our wedding and holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ovended
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWTeam, General Manager at Blue Waters Antigua, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you for writing such a positive review and for choosing to spend your special day here at Blue Waters.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,

The Blue Waters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
11.2 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
579 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,013 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,296 reviews
5.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,333 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Antigua

Property: Blue Waters Antigua
Address: Soldier's Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Waters Antigua 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the North West Corner of Antigua where crystal clear waters lap onto secluded white sand beaches, Blue Waters Resort offers an island paradise. From your personal welcome, complete with cooled scented towel and rum punch, you will realise you are our valued guest. Featuring small secluded beach coves, seven freshwater pools and 17 acres of lush tropical gardens, Blue Waters provides the ideal setting for relaxing days by the pool or on the beach, cocktail in hand, or for reading a good book in the shade of the swaying palm trees. Having gently evolved and constantly improved over 50 years we offer a range of luxuriously appointed rooms to meet the needs of our guests, from hillside rooms in a garden setting to beachside rooms with renowned spectacular ocean views. For the more active guest we offer complimentary watersports, tennis and a newly refurbished gym. Our recently opened Elemis Spa and Hair Salon with its stunning ocean views provides a perfect setting for a pampering treatment or as part of a wedding package. Finish the day off dining at one of our 3 restaurants, each with a different ambience to suit your mood. Our staff is ready and waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Waters Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Blue Waters St Johns
Hotel Blue Waters
Blue Waters Hotel Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing