We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”
Review of Trade Winds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trade Winds Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointed”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Our travel agent put us into this hotel, and assured us it was the best on the island. We did not even have an ocean view, breakfast was not included (altho we had been told it would be), and when we left we were double charged. I have spent two weeks already trying to get the extra charge off our credit card statement.
I complained to general manager who took the meals we had charged to the room off our bill because of the poor condition of the room and the lack of a view (we looked onto the back side of another row of units). We ended up being charged over US$1300 for two nights stay in this place. Our travel agent had told us it would be $280 per night with breakfasts.
We will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tulsagal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    92
    45
    9
    5
See reviews for
26
66
18
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I spent 3 nights in this hotel, business trip. Rather strangely located, on a hill, 15 mins walk down the public route to the nearest beach. But its location gives you very nice views from some rooms and from restaurant/sun deck. Breakfast is served till very late and is a'la carte so it means that you may wait for your food for ages. And this is the main downpoint of this venue. Food is pricey but tasty however, waiting time for food to arrive is very long. At dinner time we waited 1 hour for starters to arrive. Staff is nice and well-trained but they should hire more ppl to serve its guests. Other than that, it is "ok" hotel, a bit far from everywhere, quiet at night, and no beach location.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeStud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our property.

Even though strangely located we are 15 minutes from the city and airport. We do not advertise our hotel as beach front but we do offer a free shuttle service to and from the beach.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our food and dining atmosphere, thank you for your compliments on our staff. Note your comments on slow service will be addressed with our Food & Beverage Team.

Again thank you for choosing Trade Winds Hotel...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had a great stay..enjoyed the spectacular view and loved a drink on our balcony.Ate in the Bay House Restaurant and had lovely food with friendly service beit Breakfast,lunch or a romantic dinner.....Will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review of your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to read that you had such a good time in our hotel and will certainly take your comments for further encouragement amongst our team.

Thank again for your kind note and for sharing, we are looking forward to your next visit at Trade Winds Hotel...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed for one night on a business trip. The Trade Winds hotel is set on a hilltop and cooled by soft breezes that presumably gave rise to its name. The hotel is fairly remote and a car is essential for seeing the island but a shuttle bus can be booked for trips to the coast. The hotel is clean and the staff helpful. It consists of approximately 55 rooms that are spread around well kept gardens and a small swimming pool. There is a small business centre and a good quality restaurant that is open from 0700 til 2230 serving Caribbean and International dishes.

I stayed in a duplex junior suite which was comfortable and had useful facilities such as kettle, iron, safe and alarmclock/ CD player. My room had a little furnished patio that had marvelous views over Dickenson Bay. The only drawback of my room (No 55) is that is was right next to the restaurant and was awoken at 0600 by the cleaners and kitchen staff. The restaurant played music from 0700 until closing that could be heard in my room. This was completely at odds with the polite request for guests to keep music in the rooms at a low level and for guests to use earphones to listen to music in all outdoor areas so as not to disturb other guests who had come "to get away from it all".

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzielegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay with us and your honest feedback.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel's atmosphere and views stunning. However, we would like to apologize for the music from the restaurant and it has been noted to not play music that early or to keep volume at low level. It is very important to us that our guests have a comfortable and quiet environment for rest.

We do hope you visit us again soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nice, comfortable but not pristine. Nicely designed duplex type room. However, I was flabbergasted by the prices and do not think it is value for money although I had an enjoyable stay.

Committed, professional, friendly staff. Nicely landscaped small gardens. The view is over rated and was not brilliant from my room. Everything worked. A pedestrian experience. Not ideal for the solo female traveller.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
At the Trade Winds Hotel we value all guest feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours. We are glad your stay was comfortable and that you appreciated the level of service you received. It was nice to hear that there were many aspects of your stay that were pleasurable, however we do regret that you were less than satisfied with our price point.

We are very appreciative of your positive comments on our service, friendly staff and our gardens and hope that one day you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back....HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed at the Trade Winds Hotel for one night as I was in transit for work and the first impression was a positive one which is a rare occurrence for island hotels which aren't part of a large chain resort.
Check in was quick and easy and the staff we friendly and accommodating. The layout of the property is such that it is located on a hill which means if you happen to be booked in a lower number (single digit) suite it means you're at the bottom of the property and this is something to take into consideration with your luggage both walking to your suite (downhill) and back to the reception and restaurant/bar/pool area (uphill).
The suite itself was satisfactory but the wear and tear are showing and there is a need for some TLC in certain areas. The cleanliness was acceptable and the room provided ample space for relaxing including the balcony. The one big negative however was the shower in that it was about as effective as a bird bath and I would have had more success had I waited for it to rain and just went outside with a bar of soap. The shower spout looked like it was hanging from the wall on an angle and when the water came out of the shower head it felt more like being spit on than actually showered with anything. I was solely tempted to jump in the pool with my bar of soap but thought that wouldn't be a good idea!!
The property offers free Wi-Fi which is nice and there is a small fridge, kettle, iron/board in the room and a safe. The A/C wasn't working properly but it was fixed quickly after I reported it and the room cooled off quickly once this was taken care of.

Overall I would say that the Trade Winds is a decent hotel but what it has going in its favour with the views its lacking in the form of some creature comforts like a working shower!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the pool or reception so you don't have to hike a mile with luggage eit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share a review of your stay at Trade Winds Hotel. Feedback from our guest is essential to our business and we are pleased you took time to share comments about your stay.

Please accept our apology for poor water pressure which has been addressed and corrected. We are sorry about he broken a/c and happy to hear it was resolved quickly. Please accept our apologies for no assistance with your bags to your room, this is not the norm.

Thank you for recognizing the hotel as being beautiful, clean and that you had comfortable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

In some ways this is a very average hotel. But helpful staff, the views and a better than usual restaurant raise it up to 4 stars. The price was very reasonable, compared with other offerings on the island.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenMartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Trade Winds Hotel and for a kind review. We are very please to hear your stay and experience was comfortable.

See you again soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,829 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#6 of 15 in St. John's
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
7.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trade Winds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trade Winds Hotel

Property: Trade Winds Hotel
Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. John's
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trade Winds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trade Winds Hotel is located in the St. John's Antigua neighborhood, close to Dickenson Bay Beach, Fort James and Runaway Bay Beach. Nearby points of interest also include Cedar Valley Golf Club, and we are 15 minutes from V.C. Bird International Airport. Resort Features. Trade Winds Hotel's Restaurant; the Bay House serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. A poolside bar and a bar/lounge are open for drinks. Room Service is available during limited hours. Recreational amenities include an outdoor pool. This 4.0-star property has a business center and offers small meeting rooms audio-visual equipment, and business services. Complimentary Hi Speed WiFi Internet access is available throughout the property. This St. John's property has event spaces consisting of banquet facilities and conference/meeting rooms. Wedding services,Cocktail Receptions, concierge services and tour assistance are available. Guest parking is complimentary. Additional property amenities include laundry facilities. Guest Rooms. 50 air conditioned guestrooms at Trade Winds Hotel feature CD Players and Coffee/Tea making facilities. All accommodations have balconies. Bathroom feature shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, hair dryers. Rooms also include safes, mini fridge, Iron and Board and ceiling fans. Housekeeping is offered daily and guests may request wake-up calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Trade Winds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trade Winds St Johns
Hotel Trade Winds
Trade Winds Hotel Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing