We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Loft style suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trade Winds Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trade Winds Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loft style suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

My room was on the last block of buildings on property. Offered great views ☆☆☆ and close to restaurant which served large portions ☆☆☆. But not sure I loved the loft styled bedroom upstairs while Tv was downstairs ☆☆. Would be good for more than 1 person sharing the room if the sofa was a futon. No writing desk in the room ☆

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickster246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review of your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that your stay was relaxing and comfortable. Our guests' comfort is very important to our success and we will take all your suggestions under consideration.

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us at Trade Winds Hotel, see you again soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    80
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
24
56
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint George's, Saint George, Grenada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just returned from a 2-day workshop my organisation hosted there last week. The service from the staff was excellent. Nothing was a bother for them to do to assist in making sure the event was a success. Nice, clean, spacious rooms. Satellite TV had a wealth of channel choices.

Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanB8346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us. It is very important that all our guests are always comfortable and relaxed when staying with us and your review is evidence that we are accomplishing these goals. Many thanks as well for your wonderful comments about our staff as they are the driving force behind our successes.

Thank you for choosing the Trade Winds Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Let me start by saying that a business colleague who stayed in this hotel recommended it to me. I was simply in transit for half a day waiting for a night flight back to the UK. I emailed these guys and asked whether i could take a lunch and swim in their hotel. When I arrived i was treated like royalty - basically the hotel was at my disposal. I had a great seafood lunch in their deck restaurant with sensational views out onto Nevis & St Kitts... took a dip in their pool and caught up with some work via their wifi. They even offered me a shower in a vacant room at no charge. The reception staff and concierge couldn't do enough. Next time I will stay for a night or two.
Oh yeas, while you are there don't forget to partake in a Hurricane cocktail...
Thanks Trade Winds!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brettskiesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review on your experience at our hotel. We do understand how frustrating layovers can be and we are happy that we were able to provide you with a relaxing and comfortable space to rejuvenate before the next leg of your travel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon, best wishes from Our Team...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Let it be said, don't choose this hotel for the rooms.
They are not worth more than a 3 star hotel, small, tv from the 80'ies (although good chain selection), and bad lighting. Bathrooms worn down also.

When that is said, you encounter extremely friendly staff. Staid here 4 times and no matter who is there, they are always super helpful.

The Bayhouse restaurant in connection with the hotel, has breathtaking views. Take time to enjoy your breakfast here (also if not a staying at the hotel!).

The Internet is free and works perfectly every time, with decent speed rates.
No fitness center and small pool.
Worth recommending, but definitely a little overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stoffert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you found the amenities in our rooms under par. Many thanks for your wonderful comments about our staff as they are the driving force behind our successes.

Thank you for choosing the Trade Winds Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was not totally impressed with the Trade Winds Hotel. There are both positives and negatives to this hotel. I understand that peoples opinions will vary with their various experiences. The views are breath taking, the staff was lovely, the food was nice, but for my liking, I find that the rooms were small, the bed was not comfortable at all, and it was quite costly for what I felt I got.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DD_Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Many thanks for your review of Trade Winds Hotel. We are sorry to hear that your stay wasn't all comfortable, please accept our sincerest apologies. We are very appreciative of the kind compliments of our staff and service received, thank you!

HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Set up atop a hill the first thing I have to say is that the Tradewinds and the views do really make this place special. That is more or less where it ends. Don't get me wrong, the food is OK, the service is friendly and Caribbean casual and the rooms are spacious. The hotel is also fairly exclusive (not through price I add, probably through the fact that it isn't a package hotel) and devoid of the usual Clampit family from East Kent enjoying the spoils of some comp claim.
The main downfall of the Tradewinds is that it is a little dated throughout and also a little basic. The pool area is nice but suffers from some disrepair and feels a little rough around the edges, nothing major though. The rooms are basic and have that slight disinfectant smell.
Another downfall is the proximity to the beach. The bus runs you down there and it is a nice beach but the drop off feels a little edgy. I am sure the place is safe as houses but you just don't get that welcome feeling when wandering around.
Overall though I like the Tradewinds but not sure I could recommend it over other accommodation on the island, it isn't at the luxury end of the market but offers a pleasant enough environment to just relax and unwind.

Room Tip: Aim for something at the very top of the hill near reception, don't take a room down the bottom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road Town, Tortola
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

With regard to PD18's comments I have to say that all the staff at Tradewinds are amazing. Myself and my colleagues have had to stay on business at Tradewinds for lengthy periods of time over the last 4 years. The staff have always been friendly and made us feel at home when we have been working under severe stress. It has made what could be quite difficult times away from family and friends bearable. Finally I think it is very wrong to name individual staff in reviews when it would be sufficient to make general statements about departments without naming particular staff if a guest has a complaint.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Many thanks for your amazing review about your stay at Trade Winds Hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that your stays with us have always been comfortable and stress free and we're extremely appreciative of the wonderful comments about our staff.

It is very important that our guests are always comfortable and relaxed when staying with us and your review is evidence that we are accomplishing these goals...THANK YOU!

We look forward to seeing you again in soon...HAPPY TRAVELS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 1,664 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#6 of 16 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Sunset Lane
The Villas at Sunset Lane
#5 of 16 in St. John's
5.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
2.4 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 2,948 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#8 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trade Winds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trade Winds Hotel

Property: Trade Winds Hotel
Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. John's
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trade Winds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trade Winds Hotel is located in the St. John's Antigua neighborhood, close to Dickenson Bay Beach, Fort James and Runaway Bay Beach. Nearby points of interest also include Cedar Valley Golf Club, and we are 15 minutes from V.C. Bird International Airport. Resort Features. Trade Winds Hotel's Restaurant; the Bay House serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. A poolside bar and a bar/lounge are open for drinks. Room Service is available during limited hours. Recreational amenities include an outdoor pool. This 4.0-star property has a business center and offers small meeting rooms audio-visual equipment, and business services. Complimentary Hi Speed WiFi Internet access is available throughout the property. This St. John's property has event spaces consisting of banquet facilities and conference/meeting rooms. Wedding services,Cocktail Receptions, concierge services and tour assistance are available. Guest parking is complimentary. Additional property amenities include laundry facilities. Guest Rooms. 50 air conditioned guestrooms at Trade Winds Hotel feature CD Players and Coffee/Tea making facilities. All accommodations have balconies. Bathroom feature shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, hair dryers. Rooms also include safes, mini fridge, Iron and Board and ceiling fans. Housekeeping is offered daily and guests may request wake-up calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Trade Winds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trade Winds St Johns
Hotel Trade Winds
Trade Winds Hotel Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing