We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trade Winds”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Trade Winds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trade Winds Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Antigua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Trade Winds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed here only for about 4 days after having a ghastly experience at an Inn (refused to stay more than the night at the Inn - it was that bad). Trade Winds rooms are LOVELY! The rooms are clean, spacious, the linen top notch, bathroom nice (only wished the water pressure was better!). Maid service did a good job cleaning up every day and putting in fresh towels daily. Overall I would stay here again due to the comfort level of the bed and the cleanliness of the rooms. I didn't explore the rest of the hotel. Just needed a room for a few days but I must say that the restaurant prices (for Breakfast) was a tad bit on the high side (I didn't try it because of that). I totally recommend tho.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nekisha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    91
    44
    9
    5
See reviews for
26
66
17
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tintagel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had the most memorable birthday Breakfast overlooking the sea with fabulous fresh fruit and also a tasty, interesting and beautifully cooked hot Breakfast from a very creative selection. We also returned for a Lunch and a couple of evening meals. All excellent and such a romantic setting; friends of ours were married here and had their honeymoon here after their first visit the previous year and what an incredible setting for their wedding with fantastic food and service, overseen by the most efficient and caring Cheryl. The staff cannot be faulted and this is a place that we would love to stay on our next visit to Antigua....the hotel shuttle bus to the beach is a great bonus and we just loved every visit we made here. We are in the business ourselves in the UK on a MUCH smaller scale but consequently are very picky....Thank you Trade Winds you did not disappoint. PS Eggs Benedict ...mmmmm ..the best I have tasted.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivienne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seatang, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to write such kind and positive comments on your experience at our Bay House Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

I didn't stay very long, but the stay was nice. The rooms are clean comfortable and great that there is tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Carrying a heavy case wasn't ideal as there are a lot of stairs, but the porter was on hand to help.

I loved having an "upstairs" to go to bed! My only bug-bear would be the position of the air conditioning unit, which being VERY efficient and cooled the room quickly, blew right across the bed and I woke up in the night frozen!! So I used the lower fan settings, which emitted a "beeping" noise every hour or so, which kept waking me up....

The breakfast was fantastic, I highly recommend the full english and the smoothies!

Wish I had a longer stay to explore a bit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jammydodger0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seatang, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
We thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us and do apologise for the beeping a/c. We shall have our Maintenance do a thorough check of these rooms to correct this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit Lancy, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

I arrived after a long trip from London. The hotel has breath-taking views, it is very clean, modern, with air conditing and fans in every room. Staff is quite helpful, always ready to help with a big smile.
The breakfast is very good. I have dinner twice in their restaurant and the food was excellent.
The only disanvantage of the hotel is that being very close to the beach, the 10-minute walk for returning is very challenging, since the road going up is hard (but fortunately short).

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms at the same level where the cafeteria is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoMiHevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seatang, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to write these positive comments. We have since introduced a complimentary beach shuttle service which is on a Request basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

Excellent in many respects. Room clean, comfortable and great view. All the staff very attentive, pleasant and helpful. The restaurant has great food and service. A great place to unwind and relax.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seatang, General Manager at Trade Winds Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to write these very positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Trade Winds Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksia Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Excellent reception staff. very clean and roomy with large private balcony. Great food and service. Every request was met with a smile and a solution. Want to go back already

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehorrorthehorror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Far too many resort hotels provide services that are simply not required by independent travellers; the independent Trade Winds Hotel gives dependable personal service and combines a first-rate restaurant with beautifully appointed air-conditioned rooms at a price that makes independent travel between the islands a sensible reality - a really winning combination

Room Tip: The staff will helpfully recommend within a stated budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesFRICS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
2.3 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#8 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trade Winds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trade Winds Hotel

Property: Trade Winds Hotel
Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. John's
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trade Winds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trade Winds Hotel is located in the St. John's Antigua neighborhood, close to Dickenson Bay Beach, Fort James and Runaway Bay Beach. Nearby points of interest also include Cedar Valley Golf Club, and we are 15 minutes from V.C. Bird International Airport. Resort Features. Trade Winds Hotel's Restaurant; the Bay House serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. A poolside bar and a bar/lounge are open for drinks. Room Service is available during limited hours. Recreational amenities include an outdoor pool. This 4.0-star property has a business center and offers small meeting rooms audio-visual equipment, and business services. Complimentary Hi Speed WiFi Internet access is available throughout the property. This St. John's property has event spaces consisting of banquet facilities and conference/meeting rooms. Wedding services,Cocktail Receptions, concierge services and tour assistance are available. Guest parking is complimentary. Additional property amenities include laundry facilities. Guest Rooms. 50 air conditioned guestrooms at Trade Winds Hotel feature CD Players and Coffee/Tea making facilities. All accommodations have balconies. Bathroom feature shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, hair dryers. Rooms also include safes, mini fridge, Iron and Board and ceiling fans. Housekeeping is offered daily and guests may request wake-up calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trade Winds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trade Winds St Johns
Hotel Trade Winds
Trade Winds Hotel Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing