We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach”
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Nebraska
1 review
“Nice beach”
Reviewed March 5, 2007

My husband and I traveled to Antigua in January. When we arrived late at the Coconut Beach Club, there was food left in our hotel room, but it had been sitting there for hours, not safe to eat. It would have been nice if they offered fruit and bottled water. Exhausted we just went to bed. The sheets on the bed would not stay put.. We spent several sleepless night fighting to keep the bed sheets in place. The next morning we complained because the room was dirty and the coffee pot was not cleaned from the previous visitors.
The food was just okay. The bartenders were only friendly with the nightly "drinkers". The housekeeping and front desk lady's were unfriendly. They never cracked a smile.

The food was okay, not great. If it wasn't for the wonderful ocean front room we would have moved to another hotel.

This is was a very nice island, but St. Lucia is a much nicer Island and the people/hotel help much nicer!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank Nebraskagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    303
    84
    46
    24
See reviews for
63
565
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheam, Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2007

We returned from Coconut Beach Club a week ago. The hotel is very small and is in need of an overall. Our rooms were nice though with a lovely balcony overlooking the sea. The hammock was my husbands favourite bit about the whole holiday and he spent many hours just lazing in it reading his books! The rooms were cleaned to a good standard but the bedlinen and towels were more grey than white! The pool and bar areas definately let the hotel down a lot. The decking around the pool was in bad need of varnish and the pool itself was not inviting.....the bar area was tiny with only a few seats to sit on which when crowded was annoying. The area was dominated by a huge T.V. and therefore was not good for relaxing and socialising with our party (there were six of us) in the evenings. That said, the staff were absolutely lovely and we loved Zauds cocktails! She was fantastic and kept us amused with her happy songs everyday! We also thought Jihilda was great and very helpful too. Neil the restaurant manager couldn't do enough for us and want to thank him for the wonderful moulten lava pudding his did especially for us! The food overall was very good - although was too fancy for my husband being a la carte in the evenings. He did like the two buffets evening though. Entertainment was virtually nil and most people went back to their rooms after their evening meal. We took a couple of games to keep ourselves amused and by 10pm we were normally the only people around!! We hired a minibus for 3 days at a very reasonable price. We travelled around the whole island and spent an afternoon at Nelsons Dockyard which we all thoroughly enjoyed. We also went to lunch at the sister hotel Coco Bay (you need to ask reception to book that for you) - what a stunning place! Unfortunately it was already booked up as that was our first choice of accommodation in Antigua and it proved to be far superior to Coconut Court. If you are looking for a holiday where you want to laze on the beach all day, have a meal in the evening and be in bed by 10pm then this is the resort for you. Relaxation is the what this place is all about but for us it was just too low key and did not have any ambience to it. We would not book to go there again. We thought Antigua was an absolutely stunning island with white sands and aqua blue seas but for us the island lacked atmosphere and did not compare to our holiday in Barbados last year.

  • Liked — Hammock on balcony!
  • Disliked — Grey coloured bed linen and towels - loads of mosquitoes - take a good repellant
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaCheam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2007

Lovely setting although bedroom furnishings and fittings a little "tired". Staff were friendly and helpful, The restaurant manager and staff were particularly friendly and the food delicious. The bar let the hotel down, being small with inadequate seating and with a large TV cabinet in the middle. We considered the bar was not the place for a TV as it made socialising almost impossible.
The hotel was situated in a lovely area and getting around the island by taxi was easy and inexpensive. There were some lovely walks not only on the beach but in the surrounding area.
The only problem we had was the internet was "down" more times than it was working which was annoying to say the least for those who though on holiday needed access to their emails for whatever reason.
All in all and wonderful holiday and we would love to return.

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Disliked — bed rooms
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank groupcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2007

A small very friendly resort. A new chef produces gourmet meals - not a buffet as in most AI resorts, but al la carte in an intimate dining room with impeccable service. Pleasant beach with ample shade if required. Only problem is sand-fly bites - take plenty of repellant!

  • Liked — friendliness of staff and other clients
  • Disliked — sand flies
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank camphor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2007

Abstolute brilliant hotel if you want a 'fly and flop' holiday, which is just what we needed.

We stayed in first floor junior suite in the furthest block from reception/restaurant etc, (had by far the best views). Room was cleaned daily and yes, okay, towels were not bright white, but they were clean. Certain fixtures and fittings looked a bit tired, but acceptable and equivalent to it's 3* rating. Balcony had great hammock which we utilised daily, especially at dusk while sipping a sundowner cocktal and listening to the waves lap against the shore!

Beach was secluded and only ever had residents on it. The nearest people to us on the beach were normally about 30ft away, so you really did have your own space. Loungers were comfortable, although again, some were tired and needed attention. The nice thing was that they were plentiful no matter what time of day you ventured down to the beach.

Food was excellent, great breakfast and buffet lunch. Dinner menu was limited, but we always found something to eat, even if it meant venturing away from our normal 'chicken' dishes that we would have at home. You do have to book your evening meal with reception and 8pm is very popular, so get in quick if you want this time. We opted for 8.30pm and always got what we wanted to eat.

Entertainment was very low-key and laid, but quite fitting for the hotel as it has a definite 'chill' factor to it. If you are looking to party, this isn't the place as the bar normally closed just before 11pm and by 11.15pm was deserted. Not a problem as we brought some duty free on the way out and would go back to our room, grab a Vodka and go for a moonlite stroll along the beach...... bliss!

Staff were friendly, although I think to some, would seem to be rather 'offish'. I think this is just the carribean way and if you make the effort to talk to them, you certainly get a warmer response.

Overall, it was a perfect holiday, not 5* luxury (though some expect it!), but a perfect place to relax and really feel that you've escaped.

If you are going to this hotel........... we're envious!!

  • Liked — Hammock on balcony
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank globeman235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2007

My wife and myself stayed at the Coconut Beach Club in October last year, and thought the place was brilliant. If you're looking for a quiet place to relax and do very little, at the best price in Antigua, this is the hotel for you.

The deluxe room we requested on the 3rd floor was massive and very clean, and had a kitchen, lounge, bedroom and bathroom, 2 air conditioning units and 2 balconies, including an amazing hammock, as previous reviewers have mentioned. Gently swinging on the hammock reading a book was a great way to relax. There are no tv's in the rooms, so beware if this is unbearable for you, though the tv would usually be on in the bar so you could still catch up on the news (and the football scores). The lady who cleaned the room did an excellent job, and was very friendly, and would also entertain you with her singing, free of charge!

You always got a friendly welcome at the bar, and were encouraged to get drunk at all times! The food provided was excellent. A great choice of hot and cold breakfasts, fruit, cereal, toast etc. We often had so much for breakfast we didn't need lunch! In the evening the meals are a la carte (expect Saturdays when it's a BBQ, and Tuesdays when it's a buffet after the managers cocktail party by the pool) and are first class. I can be a fussy eater but there was always something on the menu that I could eat, and it was always of an excellent standard, as were the waiting staff. Neil was always there with a warm welcome to show you to your table. A point to note though, you need to book the time you want to eat in the big book at the reception in the morning, this is so everyone doesn't arrive at the same time.

The hotel is right on the beach, literally a few yards away, and it's a nice size, and is generally only used by the hotel guests. The bar staff would occasionally patrol the beach with drinks to save you from getting up to go to the bar! Just another great bonus.

We went to Antigua to get married and the hotel offered a package to take us through the whole process effortlessly. One of the managers, Nolda, along with her assistant Bonnie, took us to the relevant registry office and high court to get our documents sorted before the wedding, and made sure everything went smoothly on the day. She also helped us out after the wedding, picking up our certified wedding certificate from the High court on her way to work, and making sure our wedding photographs arrived on time. We are very grateful to Nolda and Bonnie (who also was one of our witnesses!) and also my best man on the day Selwyn, who would always stop for a chat when he saw us (and to climb a tree and cut us down a coconut!) and he even made us a wedding gift!! I've never experienced such kind hotel staff, and they made our stay in Antigua, and our wedding, completely memorable.

  • Liked — Food, hammock, room and the staff.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank davydoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2007

I stayed here in aug 05 and absolultley loved it!

check in was very efficient and quick and the staff were so friendly we upgraded the room and it was fantastic beautiful beach views from the balcony,clean,comfortable room which had alot of space,nice clean bathroom,dining table and kitchen area. The hammock on the balcony was a great touch and was fantastic to lie on in the warm eveing and read!

the pool area was great - nice and quite,good sunbeds and the bar opposite! beach again was lovley and secluded.

food was fantastic - lovley breakfast,sausages,bacon,eggs,muffins,pastries,fruit - just about everything!
lunch was usualy buffett salad and different fish and meat
Dinner - this really was absolutly brilliant!! ala carte food at its best!! really didnt xpect it to be as good as it was!

drinks again were great - good choice - loved the mango crush!!! lots of cocktails and the barmen were great!

staff were very friendly and happy to help - the only thing we had an issue with all holiday was one of the lunch staff making the most disgusting snorting noise as we ate!!

i would go back here without a doubt - if its relaxation u r looking for this is the place!!

  • Liked — food and the pool!
  • Disliked — loved it all
  • Tips/Secrets — just enjoy it!!!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jetsetterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,862 reviews
8.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
630 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,296 reviews
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Property: Coconut Beach Club
Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing