We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great relaxing holiday”
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“great relaxing holiday”
Reviewed March 27, 2006

Spent two weeks at the coconut beach hotel, what can i say, on arrival after a long flight we were checked in qickly and we were soon taken to our room which had a wonderful view of the sea . the accomadation was comfortable certainly not the worst weve stayed in, clean and the air conditioning was very effective we didnt use it much . the staff were extremly friendly and helpful (bit to helpful when it came to topping up the drinks but we didnt complain) .The food was plentiful and well presented the evening meal served al a carte and was delicious. the whole experience was great relaxing and laid back. all the guests were of much the same mind as we were and we heard noone complaining ( which is unusual as you always get one!!) the entertainment was very low key but to be honest we were usually in bed by 11.30 at the latest as we wanted to make the most of the days and we were shattered .we did a few excursions but the best was the jeep trip it took us over the island and the guide Elmo was very funny and infomative kayaked through the mangrove swap and managed to fall in but no harm done. Overall this holiday was great relaxing good food good accomadation and the beach lovely but the sea a little restless at times so beware .PS NO CHILDREN

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    303
    84
    46
    24
See reviews for
63
565
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 28, 2006

My partner and I have been lucky enough to have two fantastic holidays at Coconut Beach. We returned in February one year from our first holiday, the staff recognised us and we were greeted with handshakes and hugs! If you are looking for a quiet holiday, superb food (both quality and quantity) and a long sandy beach with very few people, this could be the place for you. All rooms are beach front, and yes, they could do with updating but this does not matter as most of your time will be spend enjoying the beach / pool areas. Saying this, the rooms are all very spacious and clean.
The beach is tidal and can be very windy, not a problem for us but you will not find completely flat water here, it is, at times, quite wavy and can have an undertow, I think that this may be part of the reason it is not suitable for under 12's (another reason we love it!!).
We cannot wait to return to Coconut Beach and wish that we could keep this little gem to ourselves!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 15, 2006

If you are considering this hotel I would advise that you do not necessarily have to pay for an upgraded room. If you are unable to climb some stairs then you might want to request a ground floor room on booking. We paid for an upgrade and now realise it was unnecessary as all rooms are sea facing, not exactly the same size/configuration, but good sizes. We know, we tried three of them. This used to be a self catering hotel before being taken over and is now an "all-inclusive" hotel. The ground floor and first floor apartments are fitted with kitchens and dining areas. The third floor apartments do not have kitchens (not required in an all-inclusive) and have great views over the trees to the sea, but according to the brochure there is no upgrade necessary for this room - only for Deluxe Room and Junior Suites.

This is a small hotel for those wishing a relaxing holiday. The food and service is acceptable. On the whole we enjoyed our holiday at this hotel, but it didn't look good when we arrived as the room allocated to us had one of the hotel's water pumps adjacent to the bedroom wall and we couldn't sleep for the noise. After having being told that there was not another room available, we were given another room and the staff accepted that they had a faulty pump.

The majority of the staff is friendly and helpful. After repeated requests though to have the volume of the computerised music lowered during breakfast and lunch, one member of staff actually dealt with this request and for the remainder of our holiday it was pleasant background music enabling conversation. However, on the day of our departure the music was raised again.

You may have read a previous report that due to the narrowness of the beach at this hotel during strong winds/tides, the beach becomes impossible to lie on - we can confirm this.

Since earlier reports in 2005, I think a few improvements have been made. Don't be put off going to this hotel, just make sure that you make them aware if things aren't as they should be - they are still learning.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 10, 2006

Calm, peaceful and relaxing. The room was much bigger than expected, clean and welcoming when we got there after the long journey. Beach was empty except for the hotel guests, no problem with sun loungers, but maybe more sunshades would be useful and welcome.
Quality of the food was good and there was plenty of it. It was nice to see a hotel trying to set standards of no shorts and t-shirts in the evenings, although the menus were set and the choice was sometimes limited. Staff were always happy and friendly. Definitely go there again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2005

Visited Coconut Beach last month, for one week.

Of the Caribbean hotels I have stayed in, it is the smallest, and on reflection perhaps too small for us as you see the same people every day. We took our 16 year old son, and there was only one other teenager staying there during our week.

It was lovely to be on a beach and have it almost to yourself.

What they say about the towels is accurate; they need a good treatment with Glo-White!

During our stay we visited the sister hotel, Coco Bay Resort (or something like that!) and it knocked spots off the CBH for views and facilities. But there was a different atmosphere, not as laid-back as our hotel. Didn't get to look at the rooms unfortunately.

Another point about CBH is that it is a way from St John's, so a car is useful. And anyway, it would be a shame not to see some of this very pretty island while you're there.

The food was unexciting most of the time, and the staff were keen to clear up as early as possible, so if you fancy a late breakfast, you risk going without.

The staff were ok, friendly and helpful.

If you prefer a small, intimate hotel, with limited facilities, but a fab beach and peace and quiet, this could be the one for you. The best thing about our stay was being on the ground-floor within spitting distance of the beach, wonderful!

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
19 Thank loveoftravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2005

We have just returned from a short stay at Coconut Beach Club. We had read the reviews and were not sure what to expect although it hasbeen offered by British Airways holidays. We thought it good value for money. It certainly was! The accommodation was clean and had all the amenieties we needed. Some parts could do with renewing, but lets face it we are in the Caribbean and we didn't travel all this way to stay in our room all day. Breakfast and lunch was buffet style with a fair choice, plenty of fruit and salad as well as hot food. Dinner was al la carte and some buffet days' with an English Chef creating English style meals with a hint of the Caribbean, which was very well presented.
All the staff were extremelly helpful and friendly. The beach was a public beach but was very pleasant and very quiet. The sunchairs had to be moved onto the beach eveyday as the tide came right in at times. The pool area was quite small. The pool itself always looked dirty(althought it was clean) as the colour of the bottom of the pool wasn't the usual blue.
We have stayed on five Caribbean islands and we wouldn't expect the same quality as hotels in Europe. This one was above average in our experience and we didn't feel caged in as in some other hotels.
We hired a car and drove around the island which was good fun with no road signs! We found some fantastic beaches and had a lovely time. This hotel is a good get away for anyone wanting peace and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank JaneLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Property: Coconut Beach Club
Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing