We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coconut delight”
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have just returned from 10 glorious days at the Coconut Beach club 1-11th March. Having been there a long time ago we think that the changes to the bar area etc are great. The staff are exceptional from the Manager to the gardners but one member of staff derserves a special mention Renee. This young lady always had a great smile for you, was never too busy to have a conversation and took great pride in her job.
Yes the rooms need a bit of up-dating but please don't change the huge beds, they are so comfortable and our huge one in 205A was so good for out backs( comes to us in later life). The food was very good especially the Evening meals which were so tasty and gave us the chance to taste food that we would otherwise not tried. The bread pudding and Rum and Raisen icecream were delicious.
People do tend to sit around the bar and at times it seemed as if a game of musical chairs was taking place, but there are plenty of charirs and table away from this area. We were lucky enough to get to see Englands last one day game ehich added to our great holiday especially as we had a large group of Englands most avid followers staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view at no added cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimb0b86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 775 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

We visited the CBC between the 12th and 25th February. From the arrival at reception with a welcoming rum punch through to checking out, the staff and I mean all the staff, were friendly and helpful.
The location is as near idyllic as you could hope for and the rooms, although a little dated are clean and freshly decorated. We were on the second floor and had a great view, although all rooms have a sea view.
The food was always of a high standard with plenty of choice and with a la carte five days out of seven a pleasant change to normal all inclusive hotels.
Whilst there it was our wedding anniversary (25th) and we were given a complimentary bottle of champagne with dinner, a nice touch that was much appreciated.
The beach was always clean and the sea crystal clear, although it did get a bit windy most afternoons so you could feel a bit sand blasted.If so a walk away is deep bay, a beautiful unspoilt beach, very sheltered so very little wind.
For the trips you should see Frenchie, he's there everyday and even if you don't get your trips from him, he'll still pass the time of day with you. A word of warning the round the island catamaran trip can (did) get very choppy, so if prone to seasickness maybe avoid.
We chatted to many couples, quite a few who had been before and never heard a bad word about the place.
Sundays is steel band night and as one of our fellow guests said "it was brilliant".
All in all a thoroughly enjoyable relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank The-Wicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Just arrived back from a lovely relaxed one week stay at coconut beach. Plus points for us were the location of the rooms which were literally on the beach. Something you'd pay a fortune for at other hotels. We enjoyed the meals, breakfasts had a good variety of foods and a station for eggs/ omelettes. Most evening meals were a la carte which added to the ambience and food was above average quality. We never experienced any difficulty with booking a time slot that suited us. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and greatly added to the atmosphere of the hotel. If we had to look for any negatives they would include the mosquito problem which was unlike anything else we have experienced in Antigua. We were lucky and avoided any bites but were smeared in 100% deet! so be prepared. Rooms were clean and comfortable but a little tired but we were hardly in it anyway. Finally the beach which is lovely did seem a little more exposed to the elements than other bays, however we may have been a little unlucky with the weather the week we went. All in all a very relaxed stay, in pleasant surroundings with good food, good company and nice atmosphere. In terms of the money we paid this was good value for money.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank ann6714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Seems to be favoured by mostly middle aged couples who reserve their lounger before breakfast and get to know each other at the bar


Good points

Room opens right out onto the beach only a few steps away
Nice protected beach in pretty bay with good swimming
Clean pool
Food that is plentiful and edible
Staff mostly friendly
Access to kayaks, snorkels, tennis racquets etc


Bad points

suffered from mosquitos and surprised by lack of netting on big windows
Fitted sheets too small for beds and "pinged" off when you lay down on them. Not replaced with flat sheets despite requests.
Rooms a bit tired and could do with a bit of a refurb and only reasonably clean rather than spotless

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms for direct beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JaneDSuffolk_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with two friends and although everyone else was part of a couple the asmosphere was very friendly. As this is a small hotel, you soon got to know people and everyone chats and is very friendly. The staff at the hotel are all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nicely furnished and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. A criticism I would have is that the door to the room had a large gap at the bottom which made it easy for the mosquitos to get in. We had a ground floor room with sliding doors on to a patio with two relaxing chairs and a hammock. The beach was 10 meters from our patio and it was lovely to hear the waves at night.

The beach is beautiful, soft sand and clear blue sea and there is no other hotel on it, so it is mainly used by Coconut Beach guests. The infinity swimming pool is very clean and was never busy whilst I was there. There are two canoes and a small boat with a sail for guest use. The only television is in the communal lounge. Once a week you can go on a guided walk with the Medicine Man who gives you a commentary on local plants. The hotel organises shuttle taxis to Shirley Heights on Sunday nights to see a Steel Band and daily taxis to St Johns (both for for a charge). You can also book excusions via reception or with Frenchie who visits the hotel on a regular basis.

The restaurant was excellent with a good selection for breakfast, we really enjoyed the fresh fruit and the freshly made omelettes. Lunch and dinner were also excellent, with the waiters and waitresses being very attentive and constantly topping up your drinks (wine, water or drinks from the bar).

I would advise people to take plenty of mosquito repellent and room spray as they are a real problem once the sunsets.
The hotel has a tranquil feel to it and was a lovely place to spend a holiday in Antigua. The gardens were filled with pink and yellow flowers and well maintained.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms all face the beach which is approx 10 meters away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank McJaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I will preface this review by stating that I just visited the resort for one day while our cruise ship was in port. The resort is very small and quiet with plenty of loungers and shade to enjoy the beach and they provided clean towels. However, that is where the "good" about this resort ends. Non motorized sports are included with the day pass but they only have a kayak and small sailboat (please note, that they will not let you use the sailboat unless you are an "experienced" sailor). The drinks were very small (maybe 5 oz); however, you would not want larger drinks than that as they were almost undrinkable.... in fact... several of the drinks WERE undrinkable. All of the liquor was POOR quality / bottom shelf. Lunch was just ok. The pool is small and does not appear to be heated as it was chilly the day we were at the resort.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bethany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Rooms are simple but clean. Phone in room useless.The beds gave us no problems.
Unlike others we did not consider the food to be that great but that is a subjective view. For what you pay it is good value. The staff are not all smiley smiley despite our frequent attempts to engage with them. The reception ladies were very pleasant and helpful. Taxis are hit and miss. We booked one via the hotel and he was an absolute menace. Taking his time and even stopping to get some food with a running commentary calling out to his friends and spitting out of the window.
The hotel has a lot to give. Apart from brief visits to reception the Manager did not seem happy to pass the time with any guests.
People do come back here to enjoy the great beach. Yes the sunbeds are a little tacky but still in the main quite serviceable. Thet are not dirty just well worn but who lies on them without a towel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blazeboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,902 reviews
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,037 reviews
12.5 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
2.7 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#6 of 16 in St. John's
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Address: Pob 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $150 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing