We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A decent budget minded hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A decent budget minded hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The location of the hotel was perfect, a short drive to St John's, and off the beaten path so it was nice and peaceful.

The hotel itself was tired, needs a good overhaul. The rooms were clean and the top floor suite was really spacious. The hotel grounds were nice and the beach was perfect (expect for all the washed up jellyfish, which were taken care of every morning).

Then jellyfish came in the bay late morning and were a pain in the [--] trying to avoid them. If you go to deep bay only a 10 minute walk, it was much better (being no jellyfish) and calmer.

The food at the resort got old after 7 days the buffets had limited selection, but was okay, for the 220 dollars Canadian per night it cost both of us we weren't expecting anything great. The meals at night were much better, you always had a choice between 3 meals meat, fish or vegetarian. I tried the fish as often as I could and it was great except for the fish and chips, the fish was battered over the skin and bones, which I think is not very appetizing. I asked some of the English people there and they said it was normal for them. yeah maybe for them but not for Canadians.

Speaking of English people there were way too many of them, most of them aren't that fun, there were a few couples that were great but the majority should have stayed in Europe.

But all in all the island was nice, we took the trip out to Barbuda and it was not worth the $300 American for the both of us, just another Caribbean beach and the sand is not as pink as you read about. Save your money and don't go and enjoy the day at your resort.

That is my 2 cents. take it how you want.

Room Tip: we had a good room on the top floor, a deluxe suite with 2 balconies, We liked it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sasktraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    303
    84
    46
    24
See reviews for
63
565
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Point Pleasant Beach
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I visited the Coconut Beach Club for 4 nights. We were looking for a short get-away which would provide a nice beach, good food and service; but most of all a place to relax. This was the perfect place for all of that. We were given a suite with 2 balconies overlooking the Caribbean Sea. The first night we were there we slept 11 hours due to the peacefulness of the room with the only sound being that of the waves. Food was excellent and the service was outstanding. We arranged a Circumnavigation Tour of the island and a scuba diving excursion through Frenchie who we found sitting near the pool. He goes out of his way to make sure all goes well with the tours and even checked to make sure we liked them when we returned. Highly recommend seeing him if you wish to go on any excursions. We also did the Nature Walk which was offered through the hotel (on Thurs. only). This was an interesting tour with great views. Be sure to wear good supportive walking sandals/sneakers as you will be doing some climbing.
I also went to the spa and had a Swedish Massage and Indian Head Massage. The service provided was excellent, but a little pricier than what I pay at home. I would highly recommend it.
This resort is small and there was never a problem finding a beach chair or getting to eat when you want to at dinner time. We travel each year to a different island with an all-inclusive offer and have never been as pleased as we were with this trip. Yes, the mosquitoes are a pain, but the hotel does do it's best to keep it under control by spraying ever other day. Just remember to bring the Deet with you. The resort is a bit dated, but for us it gave more of the island charm. We truly do hope that someday we will be able to return to this fine resort. Do not hesitate to come here, unless you are looking for a place which has a party atmosphere.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the Caribbean Sea so it all depends on your own personal preference whether you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank specedtcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

A great place to stay if you are looking for complete relaxation in a very beautiful surroundings. This hotel is small but I find that refreshing as you treated as an individual guest and feel very welcome.
The rooms are basic but cleaned to a high standard every day. The bar is great with amazing and very happy staff serving delicious cocktails from 10am!

The food in a restaurant is really good, I have always been weary with it comes to all inclusive as I am not a fan of recycled food, but this is something different. Each day the food is fresh and displays great variety, as you can imagine there is lots of fish on the menu but it also caters for other meat eaters and vegetarian. The dinner each evening is a la carte, which is a breath of fresh air! the food is amazing I have to say and something that I just wasn’t expecting.

The beach is great, secluded and clean and the sea clear and blue and very welcoming.

I would recommend this hotel to all my friends, I wanted to say BIG thank you to ALL the staff that were just great and so polite and helpful it has made our holiday and we will definitely be coming back.

Just be careful in October as we had a lot of rain!

Room Tip: Ground floor so you can walk straight onto the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daria o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

if you dont want luxury but want something akin to the Caribbean way then you must stay at this hotel. We went as a party of 4 to celebrate a 50th birthday and stayed for 10 days all inclusive. The service was brilliant without being over the top and i could quite happily name all the staff here as they were just wonderful people just happy to help.
Its a quite location mostly as there is some nearby loud music at night, beach front rooms which are tropical clean and tidy with all that you will need, Limited usage for phones etc no papers just get away and chill out. The food on the evening is worth the money as its easily 4* and most people stick with the formal dress code which is nice.
No children so you dont have to be on edge with the little ones running around so relax and let the worries of the world pass you by.
Just a lovely place to be.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trev h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I suppose that my memories of Coconut Beach are all the more poignant as I have just come in, back in Derbyshire, from 3c.whereas last week was 30c. I was last in Antigua 30 years ago, I loved it then and I loved my most recent visit. Coconut Beach Club is a bit special, just 38 rooms fronting a lovely and sheltered curving beach bordered by palm trees and leading to beautiful clear sea. The whole atmosphere is relaxed and informal with the simple and perfectly reasonable request that men wear collared shirts and long trousers for dinner. Having mentioned Dinner - the food at Coconut Beach is 4*, varied, nourishing and tasty and, at dinner, particularly well presented. Be warned, it is very easy to overeat! The dining room is simple but perfect for the tropics and within a few feet of the Bar and Terrace. Coconut Beach is 3* but its staff are 5*, lovely, friendly, caring and great fun. I can pay them no greater compliment than to say that it would be unfair to pick anyone out for special mention, nothing is too much trouble, I miss them.
The hotel grounds are well tended and lush. The rooms are fine if a little dated. Each has, at ground floor, a terrace or a veranda at first or second floor levels, each with a hammock and a couple of comfortable chairs, lovely places to be, to look at or to just listen to the sea. The whole place is just great and I would go back tomorrow with no hesitation. The island of Antigua is known for its beautiful beaches, 365 in total! Do see as much as you can - can I plug two full day trips. The Treasure Island Cruises circumnavigation of the island is memorable in so many ways, from the tiny island swimming or snorkelling, to sailing into English Harbour, a great and fun crew. The other is the Jeep Safari, an opportunity to see so many of the islands beautiful features during a fascinating glimpse of its past and present, don't miss Devils Bridge and Shirley Heights.

Room Tip: No need, they all overlook the beach and sea - perfectly positioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BirthdayBoy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Martin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. We were in the spacious room at last floor, with sea view.
Service was good.
All inclusive formula.
Very quiet, with tropical garden.
No wifi in the rooms, only common parts, too bad.
Food was good.
Good animation

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cthsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, Berkshire
Level Contributor
246 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just back from two weeks at this hotel and for once can honestly say I would definately go back one day. I was not sure what to expect having never been to such a small hotel before but having now experienced same I can only say how wonderful it is. With no TVs in the rooms the only thing to do in the evening (other than plenty of early nights) is to sit in the bar and chat! Staff were on the whole brilliant can could not fault any of the evening staff in the restaurant. Some of the breakfast staff could certainly take a tip or two from the evening brigade and learn how to smile a bit!

Food was lovely for what they offered although don't get fooled by the eating a la carte. It is a basic table d'hote menu with two choices plus veggie option along with a special "pasta" every night. What they did do though they did amazingly well.

Sea was perfect for us although there were a lot of jelly fish on the odd day. On a good dat there were only one or two. Although the beaches are all public in Antigua they are all pretty difficult to get to and this one was no exception. Good thing was that there were no hawkers going up and down the beach all day trying to sell you things. Loungers all looked as if they were 10+ years old and really could do with replacing although they were perfectly comfortable.

We took one of the Junior Suites and had no issues with the room at all. Clean and comfy all round!!

All in all a great vacation and as mentioned at the begining we will almost certainly return one day. I reckon that a good 40% of people I spoke to there had been to the hotel at least once before their current visit. This speaks volumes for the place.

Oh and did I mention they don't take kids? Bliss!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
2.2 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#2 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
8.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
12.5 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Property: Coconut Beach Club
Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing