We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location, Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
St Martin
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good location, Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. We were in the spacious room at last floor, with sea view.
Service was good.
All inclusive formula.
Very quiet, with tropical garden.
No wifi in the rooms, only common parts, too bad.
Food was good.
Good animation

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cthsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    302
    84
    46
    24
See reviews for
63
563
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, Berkshire
Level Contributor
189 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just back from two weeks at this hotel and for once can honestly say I would definately go back one day. I was not sure what to expect having never been to such a small hotel before but having now experienced same I can only say how wonderful it is. With no TVs in the rooms the only thing to do in the evening (other than plenty of early nights) is to sit in the bar and chat! Staff were on the whole brilliant can could not fault any of the evening staff in the restaurant. Some of the breakfast staff could certainly take a tip or two from the evening brigade and learn how to smile a bit!

Food was lovely for what they offered although don't get fooled by the eating a la carte. It is a basic table d'hote menu with two choices plus veggie option along with a special "pasta" every night. What they did do though they did amazingly well.

Sea was perfect for us although there were a lot of jelly fish on the odd day. On a good dat there were only one or two. Although the beaches are all public in Antigua they are all pretty difficult to get to and this one was no exception. Good thing was that there were no hawkers going up and down the beach all day trying to sell you things. Loungers all looked as if they were 10+ years old and really could do with replacing although they were perfectly comfortable.

We took one of the Junior Suites and had no issues with the room at all. Clean and comfy all round!!

All in all a great vacation and as mentioned at the begining we will almost certainly return one day. I reckon that a good 40% of people I spoke to there had been to the hotel at least once before their current visit. This speaks volumes for the place.

Oh and did I mention they don't take kids? Bliss!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanford le hope
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

just returned from coconut beach and its a great place to relax and enjoy the beauty of this place,the birdlife is great having the added bonus of a lake on your doorstep,the sea is warm the beach is great never busy,our room was superb with great views,and the food in the hotel is superb,dont forget to take a snorkel and please don't take a fishing rod this hotel has fish on the menu every day no need to catch fish its a pleasure for most people just to watch them in there natural environment,the staff are brilliant my only complaint would be the litter in the ocean and surrounding areas outside the hotel as the island is beautiful and needs to sort this problem,cant say enough good things about this holiday,thanks coconut beach see you again one day xx

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foxes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Having had a pretty horrendous experience in Greece in August (Red Tower Hotel, Lefkas, if you are wondering) it was lovely to be reminded of what a small, relatively cheap hotel can achieve when its staff care about what they are doing.
One doesn't expect luxury from a hotel like this but with food, for example, you do expect some care, some love, fresh ingredients etc. you do expect the hotel to take some pride in its appearance, you expect the hotel management to participate in the concept that their guests are paying them handsomely to be there, unlike Thomson Holidays and aforementioned hotel in
Greece.

The hotel is a lovely spot, great staff, clean, bit tired in places yes, but that's not a bar to enjoyment. What tends to happen in "budget" hotels is that the whole edifice of the place degenerates into an attitude that the customer doesn't deserve much and shouldn't expect it. Well not here and the idea of value for money is fully realised. Well done all. My son and I enjoyed it greatly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is perfect for couples like us, who want a small, simple hotel with excellent service. If you want night life and entertainment, book something else. If you want to relax, chill out and enjoy beautiful beaches, warm sea, lovely food and cocktails, this is for you.

The hotel rooms are a bit tired but immaculately clean, and situated right on the beach.
The Staff are just wonderful, they are the best we have encountered, they cannot do enough for you, they really are a credit to the hotel and the management.

We loved it and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
5 Thank JulieW688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A great little hotel only 38 rooms so you all get to know each other. The hotel is right on the beach, which can be a little choppy sometimes, but just walk through the hotel next door and you will find a fantastic little bay,beautiful in all ways.
We met some great people especially Susan and Simon,who we spent a great day out on a tour of the island. All in all a great holiday and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you want peace and quiet with good food this is the place to go. Rooms older but clean. The staff makes up for the outdating of the rooms. All inclusive is the way to go for great food, good drinks. Beach Bar right on the water and live steel drum band on Sunday.
All rooms are Ocean Front. Unfortunately during my stay there were quite a bit of jelly fish in the water which deterred me from getting in the water. Catamaran/snorkeling cruises pick you up at the beach for days outings. I can not say enough about how friendly the staff is. If you are a looking for a facility that offers a lot of frills, this is probably not the place for you but if you want quiet times with a special person, highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: If any disabilites ask for ground floor suite. We were located on 3rd floot with stairs to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charmaine281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 1,646 reviews
2.2 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 2,905 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,032 reviews
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Property: Coconut Beach Club
Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. John's
#6 Family Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing