We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not good enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good but not good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went with Virgin Holidays and stayed for 11 nights from 20th August, this is our third visit to Antigua an Island that we love. The last two times we went to Grand Pineapple and in the main loved it but thought we would try somewhere different this time around.

I can’t speak highly enough of Virgin and their rep here called Andre, very professional and he made himself available every day for those who needed him, probably the best Virgin rep we have ever met. The flight was excellent and the little touches of things like an ice lolly between meals made us all smile!

Coconut Beach Club is rustic and a bit quirky. It will suit over 40’s wanting a get away from it all holiday on a budget where the understanding is that you will be fed and watered to a reasonable level but not a lot else. It is not suitable in my view for children even if they are 12-17 years old as there is so little for them to do. As a result, there are very few children here anyway so finding someone to play with/get along with will be tough. The hotel guests were, during our stay, about 75% British, 20% American with one couple from Germany and one from Italy.

Coconut Beach Club has some things it does really well and some things that really aren’t so good, let me start with the good points. The customer facing staff are helpful, happy and friendly. I must pick out for special mention Rene, Chris, Jahilda, Clinton and Brent as they were the stars. The evening meal is generally exceptional (the exceptions being buffet nights on Thursday and Sunday) with some of the best flavours I have ever tasted in the Caribbean. Please be aware that it is quality not quantity, for instance one night we had the most amazing salmon fish cake on a bed of sweet potato mash and onion marmalade but the fish cake was about 8cm across and the mash beneath was about 1cm high, nothing else on the plate. I could easily have eaten two! The rooms are big and comfortable and being a small hotel everything is close at hand.

The quirky thing about the rooms is that it seems that the hotel was once a self catering place. We were on the top floor and as you walk in there is a full kitchen, cupboards, cooker hood with extractor, work tops etc but no equipment other than a small fridge and a coffee maker.

The bar area is the hub of this hotel and when the mix of guests is right the evenings of chat and banter are great, we met some lovely people. It is the people who make this hotel, staff and guests rather than anything else.

On the not so good front they really need an egg station in the morning to liven up the breakfast. As it is, the breakfast is adequate but only that. You are told that you can order fried or poached eggs however there is a real timing issue here, when do you get your toast and bacon etc? Invariably you wait 10 minutes or so for the eggs and either have cold accompaniments or you go and get your toast etc after the eggs arrive and end up with cold eggs.
At lunch again they do an adequate job and you can always find something to eat but I like a salad at lunch in this climate. There is always an array of lettuce and tomato and dressings but unless you want pie or stew for instance there is nothing to go with it. Prawns, cheese, ham or boiled eggs would have been welcome.

The beach is ok but not terribly inviting. The sea is a bit rough and the sand is more often than not churned up, the view is of the West Indies Oil Company pumping station in the distance and the various boats coming in and out of St John’s. It is perfectly useable but if you go for a 20 minute walk to Deep Bay you will immediately see that the sea is calm, the waters crystal clear and overall so inviting you have to go in! The beach has clearly suffered coastal erosion and as the beach turns into hotel grounds there is a wall of stones all held together by thick wire “fencing” that doesn’t look so good. The sunshades are in really poor condition, laying under them you can see more sky than covering. It seemed to us a very small thing they could deal with quickly and cheaply, after all they are only covered with palm leaf thatch. The shelves and concrete bases on the sun shades also need attention.

The staff in the bar area are great but they need more equipment, a small dishwasher for glasses and at least one more cocktail maker (food processor) as hand washing glasses takes too much time and one cocktail maker simply isn’t enough.

We used the tennis courts daily and they are adequate if a little tired. It would have been nice to have a path leading to the courts as the route to the gate is through fairly boggy terrain (only 20 yards or so) but if it has rained in the night it isn’t nice on your tennis shoes.

On a Saturday and Sunday evening a part boat somewhere in St John’s starts its disco and the boom boom boom can be heard clearly at CBC. If you are not a heavy sleeper or have not had sufficient alcohol you can hear the booming in the distance in your room until about 4am. Nothing the hotel can do but perhaps the local authorities could put a 1am curfew on them?

If you have booked CBC and it is your first time to Antigua please explore the island so that you can see how beautiful it really is and ensure you return to this beautiful place. As a tip, if you speak to the manageress at CBC she can sometimes get you a free day pass to Cocobay Resort, the sister hotel. The beach, snorkelling and facilities are amazing.

CBC is, I believe, a hotel with an identity crisis. It is one of the cheaper All Inclusive hotels on the island but has superb a la carte evening meals befitting a hotel a lot higher up the list. It has big rooms but no iron or ironing board. It has all the facilities for self catering but is All Inclusive. It has a beach that with some investment could be really quite nice but in its present state is just not good enough at any star rating. I think the management need to decide if this is a shabby chic exclusive haven or a cheap and cheerful hotel in the sun. At the moment it does neither for me.

If you are the type of person who will find fault easily and take pictures of all of the faults to put on Trip Advisor, don’t book here as you won’t be happy and the holiday snaps will make a long and boring album of the bits that CBC don’t have quite right.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Golfwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    303
    84
    46
    24
See reviews for
63
565
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Can't say enough about this place. Read all the recent reviews, I will agree with every word.

To add, we actually got married at the resort on the beach. I am really glad that we chose CBC for this event. The staff was wonderful working with us and my wife is deaf so that impressed me even more with how wonderful they were.

On a side note, if you are planning a wedding, chose this place. When we were in St. Johns applying for the license there was a big group from Sandals there. If you marry through Sandals they treat you like an assembly line. With CBC, it was very intimate.

We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank suade82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We purchased a day pass and while it was a great deal for the price, it was definitely mediocre. For the price we got unlimited drinks, free food, access to the pool and beach, lounge chairs and shade. The food was at 12:30 and was a buffet. It was not too good. The drinks were made very strong and they only had at most 10 options available. There were a lot of ants and flies in the area. It looked like a resort with mostly couples who kept to themselves, no music, no talking, etc.

With that being said, the resort was secluded and nice. It is a good place to get away to a peaceful environment. It is half the price of Sandals so that is a plus. Next time I would probably pay the additional $50 to stay at Sandals for the day though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony07252013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at CBC in June. The weather was lovely, sometimes the wind whipped up in the afternoon. The sea was lovely and calm in the morning which was great for our morning swim but it became a little choppy later in the day.

The hotel was a lot nicer than expected. Our room was cleaned ok and we had cleaned towels everyday. They supply Tea bags, sugar and coffee which was refilled daily so don't worry about packing your travel kettle. All rooms are sea facing and we were on he first floor. The food we found was exceptional, there was a good selection and we enjoyed every meal. The bar was a great social hub, the staff were great and after a few days they even knew your drinks..There wasn't premium brands there but the local brands tasted fine. There isn't any entertainment. Once a week on a Sunday they have a steel band which was OK so you make your own entertainment by catching up with your fellow guests but we found with the time different we were ready for bed about 10pm..Lol...

The pool was cleaned every day and was a good size to have a decent swim. The grounds were always being attended too and we were even given coconut water to drink straight from a coconut nearly every day. There was a few guests there who were returners, we would go back one day but the world is a big place! We liked the location of the hotel because you were around the next bay from St Johns and you have a short transfer ride from the airport.

We met the famous 'Frenchie' He was fine, he is very passionate about his country and wants you to have the best time possible.. We booked a catamaran trip which sailed only the west side of the island which was a great day. We have done the full 360 degree sail around the island last time we were in Antigua and I found the Atlantic side was too rough for me. The catamaran even picked us up and returned us directly from our beach so we didn't even have to go to St John's. We also arranged with Frenchie a half day trip to Shirley Heights and Nelson's Dock Yard, which is worth going to see.

We flew with Virgin and had a holiday package with them. Only met the rep once and that was when we were going home. They have started the 'Check in and Chill out' which is a great service. The queues in the airport we know from our last visit they can be very long and slow, but this time we were very lucky,only 20 minutes in the emigration line.

Overall we had a lovely relaxing holiday, just what the doctor ordered!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank danishKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our honeymoon stay at the Coconut Beach Club during the last week of June. Here's the breakdown of this paradise resort:

LOCATION:
Located approximately 25 minutes from the airport, CBC is situated away from many resorts and has its own nicely-sized beach. It is about a 5 minute drive from the capital city. It is very secluded, perfect for those seeking privacy and a quiet place to enjoy a vacation. There are only 38 rooms here, and inevitably you'll end up making friends who you'll see at every meal. Many couples here are returning couples, some of whom have been here 9 times already!

BEACH:
The water is generally calm, the sand is white, and there are plenty of lounge chairs to be enjoyed on the beach. You can take a nice walk up and down the beach, or even a morning run like I did. It is located steps away from every room.

SERVICE:
Every person who works at CBC is a delight. We were greeted with rum punch upon arrival. We were promptly escorted to our room. Everyone was more than accommodating to our needs. At the bar and in the restaurant we were always serviced within a reasonable amount of time. The waitstaff is more than willing to share their recommendations on where to go depending on the day. Frenchie, the resort's go-to guy about everything Antigua, has his "office" set up on the wooden bench near the pool. He's the one to talk to when booking tours.

FOOD:
DELICIOUS DELICIOUS DELICIOUS! A vegetarian's DREAM! Being the health-conscious people that we are, there were plenty of options for us, although this was our honeymoon, so we overlooked many things. Breakfast usually consisted of: fruits, bacon, sausage, french toast, pancakes, eggs, cereals, oatmeal, juices, breads, ham, cheese. Lunches and dinners always had the BEST SOUPS EVER! There was such an assortment of food to choose from. Can't go wrong in the food department. P.S. Pumpkin is the popular veggie in Antigua and was featured in many of our meals.

ROOM:
We had prime real estate at the resort. First floor, first room, closest to the infinity pool, bar, lounge, and restaurant. Every room has a hammock to enjoy on the patio. Floors are tiled and clean. They are mopped daily. The showers are clean, as are the toilets. Do not be afraid to walk barefoot around the rooms. (I saw the cleaning ladies cleaning barefoot.) The air conditioner worked great. The bed was comfortable. There was a small fridge for anything that needs to be stored. If you're celebrating an occasion like we were, a bottle of champagne was left for us to enjoy. Our room always had fresh flowers which was an added bonus. The closets have wooden hangers and there's a free safe in the closet as well. Our room had a table with 4 chairs as well as a small cocktail table and couch. NO TVs in the rooms! You're not here to watch TV-- although one can be found in the common area.

GROUNDS:
The natural surrounding area is plush full of trees and flowers. If you're lucky, you'll spot a mongoose darting across the sand or grass. There are coconut trees in front of the rooms. One day, one of the workers climbed all the trees and cut down the coconuts. When I asked him, he cut one open for me to enjoy. It lasted me for HOURS! YUM!

EXTRAS:
There is an infinity pool to cool off in right next to the bar.
The bartenders serve up some pretty good cocktails. Nothing top shelf, but the drinks are great.
Sign up for dinner during breakfast hours.
Fresh beach towels are given daily at the front desk.
If you have any dietary needs, the staff is accommodating. We brought our own special breakfast of oat groats which is a pain to cook, especially if you've never heard of it before which most people haven't, but the staff did their best to help us out. After 2 days we gave up and dove into the bacon! No biggie!
I CANNOT STRESS THIS ENOUGH: make sure men have long pants to wear to dinner as this is the dress code and we found out the hard way upon arrival (but hey, Frenchie to the rescue took us straight to town and we had pants!)

THINGS TO DO:
-Make sure you check out Shirley Heights on Sunday night for the party that goes down.
-Take a walk through historic Nelson's Dockyard. Don't eat there as it is over-priced-- just outside of Nelson's, there's an authentic mom and pop restaurant called Caribbean Taste. It's not hard to find (read about it on Trip Advisor).
-Take a trip to sister island Barbuda on the Excellence. It's $150pp and well worth the money. Ask Frenchie for details.
-Take a circumnavigation trip around Antigua that includes snorkeling. We used Treasure Island cruises for $120pp. Again, ask Frenchie for details.
-Find Fort Barrington on a map and visit it. Not far from CBC. 15-20 min walk from resort

Will we return again? Absolutely. :) Thanks CBC for making our honeymoon one to treasure in our memories forever.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SecretRomances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

On our second visit to Coconut Beach Club we found a few changes which have improved the resort, the pool is much nicer now. This is the place to go for rest and relaxation, its got a lovely beach, a fabulous a la carte evening menu, great staff too many to mention by name, and a bar where the drinks are served with a good measure, that's always great. There is obviously work going on to upgrade the air con and rooms. Ours was very old but worked a treat. We had a third floor room which was lovely. Our room was kept beautifully clean by Dawn. We would love to go back at some time in the future. There are many mosquitos and sand flies make sure you take loads of deet . This is a problem throughout the island and the hotel have the resort fumed every few days to try and solve the problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank evillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Where to begin, the amazing beach, the gourmet style dinners, oh the staff (love them), and just wow. We booked this on a hunch asked around and we couldn't find anyone that had been to the island. When we arrived we were greeted with rum punch and a warm welcome. Karl the bellhop was johnny on the spot with rounding up our luggage and getting us settle in. We quickly changed and headed for the beach and relaxation just took us over. Now let me point out that this place has no TV, radio, and alarm clocks it does have WIFI in the lounge area. The staff was just simply amazing we ended up becoming facebook friends with some of them, they became like family during our stay, we will really miss them and wish nothing but the best. The beach was just fabulous, it was a little wavey in the afternoon as the winds picked up but no complaints here. We never had a bad dinning experience food reviled just about any high end restaurant. Oh and it was a fun creating different drinks with Jahilda shes a champ, ask her about Princess Nexi.

We ended up becoming good friends with the other guests. We found it interesting learning about different backgrounds and just plain good conversation with our British counterparts. They were all there for the same thing just straight relaxation. It was a very quiet and subdue setting, if you are looking for a lively place this would not be the place to go. They have snorkeling and kayaks you can use.

Just a couple of quick tips. We upgraded to the third floor, loved the privacy, take an Iphone dock for music. When booking a trip with Frenchie make sure its not the party barge unless you are looking for that. Bug spray a must at night the Avon product worked wonders. Take the ferry over to Barbuda go to Princess DI beach eat at Uncle Roddys and visit the pink sand beach. Arrange cab and lunch with Captain Gregg on the Barbuda Express. It was well worth the money the most amazing beaches you will probably ever see (Conchs shells are considered weapons for carry on so pack them in checked luggage). Go to Shirley Heights, might want to take your own cab as the shuttle leaves too soon and comes back too soon the party on the mountain doesn't really get going till later. Go to Deep Bay just a little hike from the resort maybe 15mins but its well worth it.

We will be going back for an anniversary as this trip was our honeymoon. Kudos and hats off to Coconuts Beach Club. I have never written a review for anything so this should tell you something, just go you wont regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adrake79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
1.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
8.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Property: Coconut Beach Club
Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing