We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff make this sweet place even more special”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The staff make this sweet place even more special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

A couple girlfriends and I got a deal on a travel site to come here and were beyond pleasantly surprised. It was lovely and we had an amazing trip.
The staff was incredibly sweet. One of my friends got sick (too much sun) and they brought her tea, soup and fruit. They were amazing.
The room was clean and spacious. The food was very good. It sounds silly, but this place has AMAZING soups. There is a different one every day and they are all worth trying.
The staff will go above and beyond to make you happy. And the beach is gorgeous. We were all so happy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maya Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    303
    84
    46
    24
See reviews for
63
565
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Cute little gem nestled in a beautiful beach in Antigua. Very relaxing place. Great place to go for some rest and relaxation! The staff was wonderful- they always had recommendations and were happy to make your stay more enjoyable. I do have to say though, coming from NY, things are A LOT slower down here. Once you become accustomed to this fact, your stay will become more enjoyable! The beach was beautiful and the water very warm. If you have any excursions in mind, make sure to meet up with Frenchie! He helped us book a deep sea fishing excursion and a trip on a catamaran; we had a blast! The bartenders were great- they were not light handed on any drinks that is for sure! Overall, very good for the price. No wireless access in the rooms is a bit of a burden, but there is wireless in the lounge area and on one side of the bar. If you've never been to Antigua before, make sure you bring enough $USD- for whatever reason it is the currency of choice on the island and you will get much better deals when you deal in $USD then if you deal in the local Eastern Carribean dollar. Tourism is the heart of Antigua's economy and for that reason everybody down here is very nice to tourists unlike other beach destinations. We had a blast and would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are great as you have easy access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brennan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I came here with my girlfriend, and we had a wonderful time. The food was nice, the drinks were plentiful, the staff friendly, and the weather was superb!

The clientele are slightly older, although we did meet some younger people, and we headed to the bars of St Johns a few times for a livlier time.

Antigua is a beautiful island, and you won't go far wrong staying here, as long as you don't mind a more subdued atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LimeyMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a small quiet hotel where people mostly sun bathe, read, swim, relax, eat and drink. If you are looking for night life and noisy excitement this is not the place for you.

We had a standard room which opened onto the small strip of garden before the beach. The room was spacious with more storage space than we needed. The bathroom was adequate but needs a rubber bath mat to make showering safer. (I fell over). Both bedroom and bathroom were cleaned daily and we were very happy with the standard.

The food provided on our all inclusive deal was extremely good and made this hotel quite exceptional. We stayed two weeks and the menus were not repeated. In the case of the fish cakes I regretted this.

The bar is a focal point for meeting other guests and making friends. It is also the place for accessing free Wi-Fi. Copious amounts of rum certainly add to this conviviality. It is worth noting that although the bar is open from mid-morning till 11 at night I only saw one person drunk during the whole of the time and he was not bad just a little unpleasant.

It is very pleasant to cool off in the attractive pool and step out into the bar area and meet people and have a drink.

The staff here as in the restaurant are very friendly and helpful and, as many people have already said, make the holiday.

The beach is public as are all beaches in Antigua but as Coconut Beach is the only hotel it is used almost exclusively by guests and is therefore mostly empty. It is cleaned everyday by the excellent maintenance staff who look after the extensive gardens. There are two tennis courts which were frequently in use during our stay.

For those interested in watching boats the cruise ships pass quite close to the beach on their way into the harbour at St John's. It provides an extra focal point in the morning and evening.

For those interested in bird watching we saw 52 species in and around the hotel.

The down side of Antigua, not just this hotel, from my point of view is the sand flies which are a great nuisance. If you react to these bites be well prepared before you come with insect repellent and use it all the time. Sun tan lotion with insect repellent worked for me during the day and DEET at night. If you are susceptible bring antihistamines.

Room Tip: I liked the standard room because it opened directly onto the beach area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mothersday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband & I celebrated our 10 year anniversary. We have a 6 year old daughter and had not been out of the country together in 5 years. I was a little nervous because it was a Living Social Deal and because our work schedules are so demanding I really didn't spend as much time reading up on reviews. I must say now after meeting Roselle, Clifton (ask him for the Pina Colada), Jahilda (ask her for the Sunny Days), Samantha, Cotton and Ms. Bernadette we were absolutely overwhelmed with how much they took care of not only us but all the guests during our visit.

We had a junior suite on the second floor with quiet AC, NO T.V., NO Radio...you simply don't need it if your are looking to truly relax. We had a sofa, two chairs, kitchen table that seated 4. Coffee/Tea, Mini refrigerator, fresh flowers, a safe to secure your personal items, & closet with drawers. We enjoyed the hammock on the patio as well as sitting in the lounge chairs on the patio to read and watch the cruise ships pass by. We woke up every morning to the beautiful sound of the ocean waves. Plainly put our suite was simple, clean, quiet and just right for the two of us.

We received 3 meals and tea time daily. It was such a nice variety: soups, salads,toast, muffins, fresh juices, coffee, tea, eggs, bacon, sausage, fresh tomatoes, fresh pineapple, fresh canteloupe/honeydew melons, bananas, apples, assorted cheeses, jams, pastas, fish, chicken, beef, pancakes, unlimited house wines, ribs, steamed vegetables, steamed rice, calamari...I wrote all these items down so that I would not forget, but there were so many other dishes. All was excellent.
I was even more impressed with how friendly the guests were with each other. My husband & I met a couple who were staying for 3 weeks, we would have loved to do that, lol! There was another couple who had been there 19 times!

We were able to FaceTime our daughter every night (near the lounge) before dinner and never had any problems with the Wi-Fi connection. We could also visit the computer room to surf the internet if necessary but we had our Ipad and laptop which we could connect to their Wi-Fi in the lounge area as well.
The only time we left the resort was Sunday to see Shirley Heights. We met Mr. Frenchie and he arranged a personal taxi for us and this guy was great. Our driver gave us a 1 hour tour and we saw a pineapple farm, he took us on the Nelson Dockyard, he showed us where Montserrat and Mount Obama were located and it's history. He took us up to Shirley Heights where we enjoyed the steel band, barbeque and we met even more people. Our driver took such care of us, he even found us in the crowd ( it get's crowded) to make sure we were o.k. I was simply blown away at how patient and kind our driver treated us.

We enjoyed relaxing on the beach during the day and walking through the beautiful turquoise waters. It was mid-December and the water temperature was perfect.
The only negative that was beyond the staff's control were the mosquito's and sand flies. I forgot to pack insect repellant so I rubbed listerine on my legs. It helped a little. We didn't hang out late at night so we can't elaborate.

Thank you so much CBC for a wonderful stay...we will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Other reviews are not worth repeating, only endorsing regarding this Hotel. We were a little undecided on how to rate, but in terms of Hotel itself, staff, fantastic food and cleanliness, this Hotel is officially underrated! Definitely would recommend it to anyone.

If there is a downside, it was due to factors the Hotel cannot control and according to guests that have visited many times, unusual factors for the time of our visit. It is north facing, so at this time of year, it suffers from a wind off the Sea. A bay just 15 minutes walk away was calm by comparison. And, despite tropical strength insect repellents we were constantly bitten by flies on the beach and in the evening to the point of being uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMEAGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We chose CBC because we stayed there last year and were so impressed. We had to holiday late this year so early December it was. The place is just great; we had a suite on the top floor, which to be honest was way too large for just the two of us and a balcony each! We had a kitchen, lounge area/2nd bedroom, bathroom. Both of the large rooms had AC. (Note; the junior suites on the centre floor will all have new almost silent AC for 2013).

The food as before is fabulous and the service is excellent and always with a smile. All of the staff are very courteous, friendly and very helpful. They really do an excellent team job.

Due to the time of year, the beach was a little windy at time and the sea is not quite a warm as in the summer, but this did not detract from what is a great place to stay. Shelter can be found on the lawn adjacent to the accommodation block and the swimming pool is always available.

We are looking forward to booking our next holiday at CBC, probably next summer.

Room Tip: Junior suites for me next time - large enough and quiet AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaun845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Property: Coconut Beach Club
Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing