We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Realxing, good value stay in Antigua.”
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Realxing, good value stay in Antigua.”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have very mixed feelings about my stay at this hotel, but I leave having had an absolutely fantastic, relaxing two weeks in Antigua that I will never forget. I chose the hotel based on a combination of price and the reviews on this site. If you have taken the time to read the previous reviews, you will know that this is not a five star hotel. Neither is it the traditional eat all you can resort. However, if you are content with this, and are just looking for a quiet, relaxed, and happy time away from it all, then this is the place for you.

Positives:

Price - One of the cheapest all inclusive hotels on the island (that we could find anyway!)

Rooms - Large and comfortable. After reading reviews on this site, we specifically asked for a ground floor room with a double bed. We were not disappointed. Our room had a patio door leading to veranda accommodating two chairs and a delightful hammock. A short piece of grass/sand separated our veranda from the beach. It was wonderful to sit in the shade and read. It was also useful when we had two days of rain!

Food - Breakfast was a buffet, which initially I found to be plentiful, but after two weeks became a little monotonous (see below), albeit still very tasty!

Lunch is also a buffet. The food choices were varied each day. You could argue that the soup and other carb-heavy dishes were unnecessary, but it didn’t stop me from sampling and over indulging in it all.

Dinner was a la carte on all but two days a week. As far as the food was concerned, this was by far the highlight. Every night there was a meat, fish and vegetarian and pasta option. It was clearly evident that a great amount of thought went into the menu, and an equal amount of skill went into the preparation of it. We stayed for two weeks, but never once saw the same evening menu. Each evening was a delight!

Drinks -Some of the cocktails were delicious (we recommend the Pina Colada!). Drinks are available from late morning until 11pm, which was more than sufficient for us. If you want 24 hour drinking however, this probably isn’t the place for you.

Location - As far as we were concerned, it was perfect. The hotel has its own beach which felt very safe and secure. We hired a car for three days to explore the island and we were very glad we did!. Antigua’s capital St Johns is a 5 to 10 minute drive away. Deep Bay is a 20 minute walk from the hotel and well worth the walk. We read the review of those that had their belongings stolen and were shocked. Our experience of deep bay was one of pure uninterrupted relaxation. I think for the two day that we were there, we only saw a few others. And it’s not a small beach!!!

Staff - Most of the staff were very friendly and obliging. The cool towel and rum punch on arrival was exactly how we would have asked to start to our holiday.

Atmosphere - Perfect. Relaxing and calm. Couldn’t ask for anything more.


Negatives:

Room - We had extremely heavy rain for two of the days of our stay. We knew this was a risk due to the time of year that we chose to visit. However unfortunately, on the second day of the topical storm, the ceiling leaked and we had to move the bed slightly so that the bed didnt get wet. This only lasted for an evening, but was enough to cause some concern during the other (albeit short) periods of rain for the remainder of our stay I found the patio door to the veranda heavy and difficult to move, however my partner did not have an issue with this. The bathroom facilities were fine but the shower occasionally went cold during “peak” hours. Whilst it was not an issue for us, the rooms are in need of refurbishment/decoration (including the bathroom). The air conditioning work perfectly in the room (we had it set to 18degC constantly).

Staff - We contacted reception about the leak in our room (other rooms had problems too). We didn't get the ceiling fixed, but this turned out not to be a problem as the amount of rain we subsequently had meant it eventually it dried out. We had to ask twice before we finally received assistance moving the bed out of the way of the othe potential leak points. When the ceiling eventually dried out, we again asked to get the bed moved back into the original position but no one ever came to help us. This wasn’t a real issue, but we thought worth mentioning,

Staff - Waiting and Bar staff were normally very friendly but there were a few who seemed to be not too happy with their jobs. I would like to emphasise however that they all remained courteous.

Food - Other reviewers have commented on the size of the evening meal portions. I have to agree that whilst delicious, the portion sizes were not satisfactory. Portions sizes aside, the starters and main courses were delicious, but I felt the desserts were on the poor side and could benefit from a little more imagination.

Drinks - There was a limited selection of cocktails and the house wines (one red, one white) was not good at all. I like to drink wine with my meals but after two nights of wine I decided to miss it out.

***

Conclusion - If you want a relaxing, quiet, children free and rum punched fuelled experience away from it all (as we did!), then this is the place for you. If you want five star all you can eat (whenever you want it) luxury, then get your wallet out and go somewhere else!

Room Tip: Ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Namrogeht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    303
    84
    46
    24
See reviews for
63
565
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hauppauge, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Spent 4 nights with a junior suite on the 2nd floor. Our room had a kitchen, which was really silly, since we did the AI (Groupon special) besides the stove did function and it was a dorm sized fridge. Room was dated and in need of some repairs but who goes there to spend time inside. Evidently Hurricaine Sandy spent some time there and they had an abundance of flies and no see em's due to all the rain. I purchased a can of bug spray at the front desk (14.00) and used most of it those 4 days. They fogged every other day with a blower that smelled like it was fuel they were pumping out. Not really effective. Beach was pretty but chairs are worn. 2 of the 4 days the waters were full of jelly fish - now i know they can't control that but made it hard to think of swimming. Pool was pretty nice with a a beautiful view.
Now food: most meals were buffet and if that is what you like then your in heaven! Dinner was the only true possibility of al a carte meals. Although you could (1 day) get a burger or fish sandwhich for lunch. Those that we had were delicious. No top shelf liquor not even a brand I've ever seen before.... but if the staff really was wonderful. They attempted to please and entertain. They were always pleasant and approachable. The Steel Drum Band they had one night was entertaining. Not a place I would ever recommend for family's - too quite for that. (and that's why we chose it) I had one of the best massages in the wellness cottage there ever!
This is a sleepy little place that with some TLC really would shine to a much better rating. Well worth the money we paid but you know that old say.....

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor rooms are much more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My partner and I stayed there during October half term. Small hotel, right on beach. We had a ground floor deluxe suite (one bedroomed apartment- 104), as my partner is an early bird. All patio doors have sea views which is wonderful. A dove type bird took up residence in the outside lamp and it was lovely watching the male and female taking turns to egg sit. Can anyone let me know if the eggs hatch hatched yet? The hammock was extremely comfortable, which prompted my partner to purchase one!. Hermit crabs, geckos and mongooses appear to parole this hotel, which would not be to everyone's taste, but we found this added to the appeal of this peaceful hotel in the centre of nowhere. No midnigh tvigil to secure a sunlounger, there are plenty; enough for everyone.
A shuttle bus goes into St. Johns daily for 10 dollars return, however, there needs to be at least four people, taxis fare slightly higher.
Food was excellent, and even cooked more simple food products if requested. Waiter service takes place five times a week.
Walking on the beach was magical as you could be the ones there, unfortunately, the Sandy storm brought on shore, jelly fish (beautiful and fasinating creatures, but dying, as they could not swim back to the deeper sea if they touched sand) and debris. A hotel maintance team ensured the immediate area was cleaned daily.
If you want to do very little go for this little hotel, as its promotes peace and tranquility. I'm going to research prices for February half term, getting withdrawal symptoms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sandranicklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was a small value for money all inclusive 10 day holiday.
The buffet breakfast was fine, plenty of choice of breakfast cereals, fresh fruit and cooked items. If requested at the time eggs could be in any manner imaginable.
Lunch was buffet style, with water, wine and beverages served at the table. A lighter sandwich option might be good for lunch.
Afternoon tea was adequate.
Dinner was excellent, with a good choice of well prepared, well presented food. Waiter/waitress service. Again choice of wine and drinks served at the table.
Our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the beach. It was cleaned and made up every day to a good standard.
The all inclusive bar was well stocked with local alcoholic drinks, with a large variety of cocktails available over and above those on the published bar cocktail menu. One or two cocktails were not available, but to the bar staffs credit, they explained that a certain ingredient wasn't available e.g. fresh mint.
The beach was excellent with assistance bathing in the warm sea. I always take a telescopic fishing rod on holiday, and float fishing from the beach with a small hook and a small piece of bread enabled the capture of various species up to about 12 inches in length.
The pool was a reasonable size for the hotel.
My wife slipped down a gap between the decking and a palm tree close to the dining room, the staff were very concerned and offered to take my wife to hospital for an x ray, which she declined. They covered the hole with a large flower pot.
We hired a car for a couple of days which in my opinion was sufficient to explore the island.
The weather was perfect for a beach holiday, watching the clouds bubble up during the day. It rained heavily during the early hours of the morning on many nights.
Overall a good holiday, plenty of food and drink, and of course fine sunny days reaching about 30 degrees.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Burt_Thatcherher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I were looking for quiet week on the beach with nothing to do and this is exactly what CBC offered. We booked a Jnr Suite through Virgin Holidays and I had requested a ground floor room, were delighted to be given a Deluxe Suite on the ground floor (Rm 109), steps away from the beach. Room was a good size, seperate bedroom, clean, air-con good(quiet), ceiling fan in bedroom, reasonable bathroom with a powerful shower and plenty of hot water, small fridge, coffee maker and kettle with a supply of tea and coffee. However the kitchen is dated and unneccessary and has no other equipment although does have an enormous cooker! In general the furntiure is dated and the bed mattress a bit too soft. There is a pump or generating room next door which kept coming on and off disturbed our sleep some nights.We were told that there are discussions about future upgrading but it seems to be a case of investment versus return for a resort with only 38 rooms.

Beach is nice and quiet and secluded, sunbeds are bit old and worn and there could be a few more sunshades, there is the usual practice of people getting up at 6am to reserve "their" space. Sand flies are a nuisance, it seemed more so than mosquitoes and insect repellent a must. Beware as well, walking from room down to beach there are a few areas with metal wires poking through the sand, understand this is meant to stop errosion!

Pool is not very attractive from the outside, there is no where to lounge around apart from sitting at the bar in wet swimmers, but once your in its lovely, nice for the evening sun with a drink. Shame about the infinity view, it always had a wooden bench in the way.

As mentioned by others food is very good and the staff are great, although we thought the Sunday BBQ and steelband a bit of let down. There is no other evening entertainment and after dinner most poeple went back to their rooms.

Bar area is a bit small with limited seating and as it is built on a wooden deck above the sand be aware of sand flies while sitting there. Shuts at 11pm. They will refill your water bottles here.

CBC suited what we wanted at the time, but probably wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Ground floor room if you like a quick early morning swim before breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank whygothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We got an all-inclusive deal on Groupon.com for this specific hotel and we had a great time. My favorite part of the trip was a free tour that we received with the local Medicine Man as we hiked and learned a lot about the local vegetation. The food at the Coconut Beach Club was delicious the majority of the time and the different items on the menu always provided a great variety for our meals. The staff was incredibly helpful and always joked around with us and went above and beyond to help us. The amenities were very clean and they cleaned each room daily which was great! The pool on the property was beautiful and provided such a great opportunity to relax and enjoy the atmosphere. The beach was great too but there were a lot of smaller waves at times (the water was usually not calm). The main negative aspects were the overabundance of local birds always near our food/restaurant and the breakfast provided every morning. I understand that birds are inevitable in nature but there were literally 20-30 little birdies lingering right next to our food and where we were sitting. I also struggled with the breakfast because the eggs were super watery and the diversity in food options for the morning were not there. However, it was a great experience overall and i highly recommend it :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsAlexanderRamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coseley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Recently returned from this lovely, relaxing place. Nothing but good to say about the food, particularly the evening meals. Excellent staff, always a smile and a pleasant word. Lots of like-minded people made for excellent company whilst gripped by the tropical storm. You do get bitten, but sensible precautions limit the discomfort. Definitely a very good, value for money holiday. Thanks to all who helped to make it!

Dave and Nanette.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Property: Coconut Beach Club
Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing