We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Terrible Holiday in a lovely place but very very poor hotel”
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
witham essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Terrible Holiday in a lovely place but very very poor hotel”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I dont really know where to start but i will keep it brief.
Good points flight with Virgin home
Bad points. Beach left unclean for 4 days until several guests complained to non existant managerment. Room furniture very old and tatty,Example bed side locker broken and drawers broken. Filth under the bed. Windows not clean. Food at breakfast most days had run out and had to wait ages for top up. Fried eggs that i ordered are still be done i would presume..
Restaurant Area not kept clean during breakfast and the same at lunch time. Evening meal very small but well served. Staff in Resterant very friendly but clearly under staffed. We were told we had to purchase drinking water at reception with an inflated price which being an all inclusive hotel did not make sense of it being so. We later discovered we could get a bottle topped up at the bar. As for being a 3 star i would not rate this hotel a star. 1 other point the guests we met were lovely.We were told by management that all upgrade monies were being spent at their sister hotel which she was very bemused by. Adds up now with my review does it not.

Mick & Elaine Essex

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mick twohig t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    303
    84
    46
    24
See reviews for
63
565
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was mine and my wife's third visit to Antigua, the first two visits were at Cocobay and the third would have been at Cocobay had Virgin not cancelled our holiday due to renovation works. So we ended up at Coconut Beach, sister hotel to Cocobay. In our two weeks there we met some wonderful people who made 14 days bearable as 7 to 10 days would have been enough. The hotel is really clean the rooms are spotless and spacious (pay the extra and have a ground floor room which is directly on the beach) all meals are excellent especially the evening meals.

All of the staff are pleasant and helpful especially Brent, Shakeel, Bernadette and Clifton.

Can highly recommend Eli's Eco tour which is totally different, and find time to do the nature walk around the local area with Verne. We also hired the small speed boat which anchors just off the beach. Dave (Sunny Prince) the driver was excellent and gave us a real thrill for two hours.

Take a walk to Deep bay and Fort Barrington as there is not much else to do! The hotel is very isolated and anything else is a taxi ride away. If you want total peace and quiet this is the place to go. Please don't be put off by this review, it was just not for us.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor as this is directly onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete9009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I read a lot of reviews on here before booking - I pretty much echo the same.

The good - Evening meal is excellent, though the portions are small. As you can eat loads at lunch, this didn't necessarily matter!

Lunch selection is better than breakfast - they ran out of jam for three days, which although was brought to their attention took ages to be replaced. There is always someone on hand to pour water or coffee.

The beach is beautiful and secluded. The sea can be a little rough though, and we did have an invasion of jelly fish.

Cat trip round the island booked via Frenchie, who hangs out by the bench at the inifinity pool - a fantastic way to spend a day. A few of us went on this trip, and all came back as holiday friends!

Had a massage in the wellness cottage - not cheap, but staring out to turquoise sea whilst being pummeled was worth it!

The bad - Maintenance on the room was not great, however, as the only time you spend there is to sleep, it was ok. The air-conditioning unit was horrendous though - the one in our room had rusted through on the vents and it sounded like a train coming out of a tunnel. Having to look at it made me feel sick, as it's right on the balcony.

The staff - whilst they are polite, with a couple of exceptions I would not say they are friendly. Yes, every thank you given is returned with a, "You're welcome," but there were no smiles, no how are you etc. They seemed more interested to have a headphone in whilst it was quite than chatting - each to their own, but I find it rude.

All in all a relaxing week, with just a couple of minor quibbles

Room Tip: Ground floor would lead straight out to beach - All are sea view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I purchased this deal for $828 from Living Social. 828 for the resort and 1200 for flights is a $2,000 trip for 4 nights. What a complete RIP-OFF. I don't even know where to begin with the complaints. Maybe I should start with the few compliments that aren't laced with negativity. Carl- who I guess handles maintenance and whatever else they need at the resort, he's wonderful. He drops everything and comes to assist you and he doesn't leave until the problem is addressed. Bernadette who is part of the kitchen/waitstaff--she's very helpful and attentive. There was also a nice male bartender, can't remember his name. But the remaining review will not be so kind. The bartenders are NEVER where they belong (tending the bar). They're too busy in the dining area socializing, entertained by their phones, whatever else they have to do rather than serving drinks. What resort doesn't serve strawberry daquiri??? We found that strange.
The FOOD...Mind you--This was supposed to be an "all inclusive" package. The breakfast was buffet. I'm talking closer to a continental breakfast. There was eggs, bacon, some fruit, different breads. Nothing else. The juice glasses were those little kid size glasses--and there was only a choice of orange or some red juice (I don't think it was cranberry). I was afraid to even taste the milk and I'm a dairy lover--but it looked curdled and I was afraid. If you can get past the FLIES, you might be able to get an okay breakfast. You have to eat breakfast- because lunch isn't until noon. Then there's something called tea time at 4pm with some sandwiches (sandwich halves actually in a fly proof container) and some tea. Dinner was always something gross in small portions. For it to be an all inclusive resort--the food seemed to be rationed and unavailable. I've never seen anything like that before.

The ROOM was outdated. Our first room didn't have hot water and the floors were disgusting (shoe prints, hair, bugs). Carl moved us into another room within an hour. That room was better...however- it still wasn't CLEAN. My boyfriend kept finding gray hairs on everything. I was mortified because there were ants in the bathroom and flies in the room.

The room was on the beach. That was actually beautiful. The beach area was clean and their were chairs available, but you better camp out at 6am to reserve them or you're S.O.L.

Transportation from airport to resort was an expensive taxi. Transportation into town was by taxi. All of it was expensive. We spent more money on cab fare then we did on anything else. On the last day, I reminded the front desk that I was promised complimentary transportation to the airport and the agent wasn't so happy about that. Good thing I had my email as proof. We couldn't afford another expensive taxi ride.
The best part of the trip was the boat ride with this guy Dave. He's not a part of the resort, I guess he just cruises all the resorts. For $100 USD, we got to check out the island with him and go to a local place to eat. That was the BEST meal we had that entire trip.
I forgot to mention that our first room had a microwave and our second room did not. So we asked the front desk about it, then housekeeping brought us a microwave. That was nice- even though we actually paid for whatever that first room was supposed to provide us. I'm finding out that we actually downgraded when we switched rooms but I don't care- I can't be on vacation taking showers in cold water and living in filth- even it's for 4 days.
I feel like we were ripped off because the island is actually beautiful. We just didn't enjoy it the way we should because the resort was horrible. It's a fairly quiet place with NO ENTERTAINMENT, so if you want just simple relaxation on the beach, this is the resort for you. I heard that a shuttle left once a day for town, but of course it costs as much as a taxi so why bother. Oh did I mention the pool??? The pool is just a joke. I think I got in the pool once.
Good luck going up and down those 3 wooden stairs to get to the beach...If you are obese or disabled, there is nothing to accomodate you.
We will NEVER GO BACK TO THE COCONUT BEACH CLUB. This resort was a poor representation of Antigua. The service was horrible. The wait staff was too busy carrying on their own conversations. If you need to go to the front desk, as obnoxious as it is--you must RING THE BELL to get service because there's never anyone there to help. You almost feel like a nuisance looking for the bartender, the waitstaff, the front desk agent...Do not waste your money going to this place, every day I wished I could get a refund.

Room Tip: Go to another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Iponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

fantastic.been many places all over the world...and this for me is one of the best.its a samll hotel...no kids...and most important quiet and peaceful. was there for 12 nightsand loved it from the outset. dont expect grand furnishings...the rooms are lovely and comfoortable...we had a basic room....and all you coould need. the patio opened onto the beach..idillic.the food was good and plentiful....buffet breakfast and lunch...and mainly a la carte in the evening.
drinks are fine...the wine is lovely...very drinkable.the staff are very obliging and helpful.all in all a totally relaxing experience...will be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanaspinall33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We travelled as a couple and stayed for 10 nights at Coconut Beach Club in Antigua. We chose this hotel because of it's size and the fact that all rooms face the beach and the reviews that appeared on Trip Advisor were all pretty positive. Cost was also a factor and this seemed to be good value for money. Before beginning this review it is worth mentioning that our experience of this hotel was echoed by quite a few of the guests that stayed with us at the same time.

Arrival: - Nice touch with the cold towels to wipe our heads after a long flight and warm transfer from the airport.

Reception: - Very helpful staff - Helped with checking us in to our flight on the final day.

Room: Very basic, but this was fine. Cleaned to a high standard each day - Towels replenished each day also. Maid continually forgot to fill up the consumables - Tea Bags, Coffee etc. We had to get these directly from the restaurant.

Beach: Appeared to suffer greatly from lots of plastic rubbish being washed up. Beach was cleaned by the hotel staff, but quite often the rubbish would be raked into piles and then not removed from the sand - I believe this was mentioned to the Manager who seemed to have a word and the beach was nigh on spotless for the last few days of our holiday. The beach loungers are filthy and should be cleaned and serviced - Not sure this has ever happened, and the Manager's response to our comment about this was that "we didn't expect September to be as busy as it was" ... We spent a few days at Deep Bay - and the loungers and beach there were spotless in comparison.
There were two kayaks on the beach for general use, but no more water sports were available.

Restaurant:

Breakfast: - A bit of a joke really - Advertised start time was 0730 and lots of people were down ready at this time. Rarely was the breakfast ready at this time, and when it was, parts of the breakfast available had run out before 0750 and staff had to be asked on a number of occasions and by a number of guests to replenish the stock.

Lunch: - Better than breakfast and pretty good varied food on offer. Service was better here too - in fact the vast majority of the staff in the bar / restaurant worked hard to be courteous and efficient.

Dinner: - Best meal of the day without doubt. Clifton and his team ran a tight ship and the food was exceptional and varied. Service here was the best that we received throughout the whole of our trip.

Bar: - Again a highlight of the stay - We are not big drinkers, but Jahilda, Sharon etc kept us going with some excellent cocktails and some friendly chat. It would have been nice to be able to get bottled water as part of the All Inclusive, but bottles could and were refilled at the bar with little fuss.

All in all, this holiday was good value for money and the location isn't bad being just around the corner from St Johns. I would however hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends who were looking for a holiday in Antigua which is a shame because it has the potential to be so much better. There are lots of little things, that if put right would make this a much more desirable location to holiday. Antigua is beautiful and we took part in some fabulous excursions and met some great people - Guests and Hotel Staff. Others who have stayed at the sister hotel of Cocobay mentioned that actually this would be a better place to stay. We may well try this place the next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank volcanoclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having had such a lovely fortnight at The Coconut Beach Club last year we decided to re-visit. We were not disappointed! The staff were so welcoming and little has changed. Yet again we were impressed with the service and varied menu in the restaurant - thank you Clifton and all the staff!
We will almost certainly go again next year - the first time we have ever been to the same hotel twice, let alone hopefully a third time. Jahilda and Brent make the best cocktails - always with a smile!
Than you all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,829 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
612 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,263 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#9 of 15 in St. John's
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Property: Coconut Beach Club
Address: POB 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing