We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Holiday”
Review of Coconut Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coconut Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We've just returned from our 2nd visit to Coconut Beach. The first time was 7/8 years ago. There have been some alterations. A new larger swimming pool and rearranged public spaces. The bedroom block hasn't changed.
But the atmosphere was just the same - tranquil !!
The food is great, the drinks too. And the staff are welcoming and hard working and the service is excellent.
This is a 3 star hotel, so the rooms are fairly basic, but of generous size and very clean and the beds are comfortable. I slept like a log.
There is a steel band 1 night/week other than that no entertainment.

If you want a small quiet resort, where you are well treated, on a beautiful beach, then, i heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 775 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

I will begin this review by saying that this is not a 5 star resort. If you are expecting high class luxury this is not the hotel for you. However, this is a wonderful resort with excellent, personable staff and a wonderful chef. Breakfast is fairly average by food gets better with lunch and dinner.

The room itself probably does require some updating, but the beach is lovely and the grounds are beautifully manicured. There are no children at the resort (nor braying drunkards for that matter) making it a very tranquil place. We did visit the neighbouring Grand Royal Antigua resort, which resembled a scene from 28 days later - ie, it was dead!

All in all, this is a resort well worth staying in if you want to relax, this is the place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank McGirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have just returned after 2 weeks at the Coconut Beach Club and we cant say enough about the place. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday this is the place. No children No loud music just peacefull. Everything about this hotel ticks the right boxes, the rooms all look out to sea and are very large we had junior suite right on the beach. They are clean and comfortable. The staff with out exception are warm friendly and helpfull but the best thing for us was the evening meals. They have waiter service and the food is excellent 5 star. The manager mets the guests on Thursday nights for their comments and I think he got the idea after talking to everyone dont change a thing you have got it right.We had a lovely trip around the island with Captain Spencer one of the hotel drivers he was very good recommend him a fountain of knowledge will tailor trips to what you want to see. In one word GO. This place is just right to recharge your batteries. Thankyou Coconut for a great holiday we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank daffty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have just got back from a brilliant holiday staying for 9 nights at the Coconut Beach Club and can't praise the hotel enough. We totally agree with the previous review by Snooky64 and will definitely be returning in the near future. We have stayed in other hotels in the Caribbean but this is definitely one that we would highly recommend and gives good value for money.

We have found when reading reviews that a lot of the bad reviews must be taken with a pinch of salt as some people are never happy or satisfied in life. They will always find something to moan about.

The hotel was exactly what it said on the website - no children (brilliant!!), no loud music, lovely setting but above all quiet and isolated! All we wanted from a holiday was there, including good food (some to London restaurant standards), helpful and very friendly staff (too numerous to mention) and a large airy room which was spotlessly clean.

Due to the food and red wine, which was excellent, we are now on strict diets to get ready for the next visit.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room which was extremely large and even though other reviewers have said they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thebodsEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We spent a week at Coconut Beach Club in October 2011 and had a completely relaxing, stress free stay. We had a junior suite on the ground floor which was a very large room with 2 4-foot beds, sofa & chairs and bathroom. Other guests had slightly different layouts to their junior suites so I think the rooms can vary. The buildings are far from brand new but everything seemed well maintained and the room was kept spotless by the lady who came in to clean & change the sheets every day. We did find a couple of items which needed fixing (stiff patio door, sticking bathroom door) and they were fixed by a maintenance man the very next morning. We found the beds comfortable and the room was kept cool at night by the aircon (included in the price here) and ceiling fan.

Stepping out of our patio door onto the wooden deck, we had 2 comfy chairs, a wonderful hammock (we loved this) and a 10-second stroll straight onto a beautiful beach. The beach is small but very attractive, the only downside is that someone has built some rather ugly apartment blocks on the headland at one end, which don't make the beach less enjoyable but detract from what must previously have been a real sense of isolation. The water was warm and fairly calm and the sand was fine and golden, without any noticeable rocks or shells as you walked into the sea. We found there were easily enough sunbeds for everyone. There are sunshades on the beach but if you want shade you can sit under the palm trees on the lawn between the apartments and beach, or you can just sit on your own patio and still feel very close to the sea. Others have complained a lot about sand flies and mosquitoes - we didn't really have a problem but we went indoors near dusk and used Deet when we came out after dark. If you sit out as the sun goes down you're quite likely to get bitten but this is common in any other place in the Caribbean we've been to. A man came round fumigating the outside at least twice during our stay and the rooms themselves are fumigated once a week.

We found the food quality varied but was generally good. Breakfast offered the same range of options every day, but was fine. Lunch was buffet style and good quality, sometimes outstanding and sometimes not so great. Dinner was a la carte most of the week and we found the standard excellent most of the time. Staff always seemed happy to accommodate any special requests guests had. Overall we were very happy with what we ate there. The restaurant building is open-sided and this gave it a good atmosphere as you could hear & see the sea and, at night, the tree frogs and cicadas, so you really knew you were on a tropical beach.

Next to the restaurant was the small bar with seating all around where it was quite easy to strike up a conversation with other guests and we got to know a few people in this way. Most guests seemed very laid back and happy and we'd end up having conversations on the beach or in the restaurant anyway. The resort seems to make people very relaxed & sociable.

The only part of the resort I didn't think much of was the "infinity pool". It sat next to the bar, built up about 3 feet above floor level and seemed completely incongruous. There was no seating around the pool. Apparently there had been a more traditional sunken pool with seating areas around it previously, which I think would have been much better. I never saw anyone in the pool all week, although this might have been because the sea was so easily accessible.

Last, but most definitely not least, the staff at this place are absolutely amazing. I don't think I've ever encountered friendlier, more helpful staff anywhere I've stayed. Without exception they greeted you with a smile, were extremely polite, friendly and chatty and went the extra mile to help make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as they could. They really are a credit to the hotel and are what gave it the edge over most other places I've stayed.

The food may not be quite 5-star, nor perhaps the rooms themselves, but the relaxation experience is very definitely 5-star. Would I go back to this particular hotel? For a chilled-out, relaxing stay for a couple on a beautiful island, certainly. I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms let you walk straight from your room to the beach in a few seconds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Snooky64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Had a lovely two weeks at Coconut Beach. Fantastic spot, excellent food, spacious clean rooms and good service. This hotel is great for a chilled out holiday, didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jill839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

After reading reviews on tripadvisor we were looking forward to going to Coconut Beach to celebrate our 40th anniversary, never having been to the caribbean before we were expecting wonderful things. Unfortunatly, this hotel did not live up to its expectations. The sand flies and mozzies were a very big problem, so much so that we ended up staying by the pool rather than the lovely beach so as not to get bitten. Yes, the hotel is very tired. There is nowhere comfortable to sit and relax. All that is there are sunloungers on the beach and hard backed wooden dinning room chairs round the bar. Where are the soft sofas and comfy chairs to relax in ? On our balcony there were two quite nice wooden chairs with cushions but that was it. As for the hammocks on the balcony, we did not have one and had to request one which arrive the next day. This I was really looking forward to as we had seen some lovley ones on other balconlys. Ours was dirty ,old and did not look very inviting to say the least. Needless to say, it never got used. We were looking forward to a laid back and relaxing holiday but what we got was an indiffernt atitude and bad organisation, that fine line seemed to have been crossed.

The food was OK but not what I would call 5 star dining and you seemed to be frowned upon if you asked for anything different or extra. I dared to ask for a cup of tea after lunch one day in the bar and was told I should have asked in the dining area. You got the impression that some things were just too much trouble and they were done resentfuly.

If you love the sun, don't mind been biten and what to drink all day, this is the place for you, otherwise, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jilly50499502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
4.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,912 reviews
3.2 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
5.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,047 reviews
12.5 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
2.7 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#6 of 16 in St. John's
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Club

Address: Pob 1427 | Yepton Beach, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $150 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Beach Club is an affordable all inclusive resort also offering room only accommodations. We are a small, intimate and friendly and cater mainly to couples who want a quiet, restful and laid back Caribbean vacation. All rooms are beach front and include air conditioning, balcony with hammock and easy chairs, ceiling fan, fridge, bath and shower, hair dryer, coffee maker and telephone. Junior suites include dining facilities and kitchenette. Deluxe Suites have an extra bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Coconut Beach Hotel
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish
Coconut Beach Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing