We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Catamaran Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$162
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$160
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$235
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Point Resort & Spa(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$164
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Village(St. John's)
$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$504
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$356
$331
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumby Bay Island(St. John's)
$1,175
Jumby Bay
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
85
55
15
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
55
15
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfalmouth harbourenglish harbourcaptain's quarterssmall private beachpigeon beachpresidential suitenelson's dockyardour ground floor roomcooking facilitiessuperior view roomantigua yacht clubexpensive yachtsnice balconiesa lovely small hotelself cateringbasic facilitieslarge fridge
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 165 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A wonderful warm welcome on arrival & exceptional hospitality throughout the whole of my stay. The owner, lovely Feona & Family, Eric, Robert & all the team went out of their way to ensure I had an enjoyable stay at the Catamaran. Nothing was too much trouble and everything came with a friendly smile! My room was spacious, very clean & tidy, having everything one needed including a fridge. The room was cleaned & the beach & gardens were tended to every day. The view from my room was stunning & I could step straight out from my verandah onto the beautiful beach with sun beds provided, it was paradise! The restaurant was closed during my stay but Sweet T's ice cream parlour & snack bar, 2 minutes up the road, served very tasty dishes with Bailey's supermarket next door to there selling everthing one needs. The Catamaran is also a good location for getting around the Island. Feona was wonderful & organised any transport needed from happily obliging Eric & taxis, but there is also a bus service which operates clean mini type buses at cheap prices & the bus stop is almost outside the hotel. English Harbour is a only short bus / taxi ride away & whilst there Trappas Bar & Restaurant is a great place to eat, although it's best to book. My second week on the island was at an expensive all inclusive hotel, where my Son was getting married & although very nice, the service & hospitality just didn't compare with the Catamaran. Feona Is an amazing lady & along with her team, it's their warmth & willingness to please that makes this hotel so very special.I will certainly choose the Catamaran again when returning to Antigua.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank June T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We identified this hotel as the place to spend some few nights after returning “on shore” from a yachting vacation, and we were happy with the choice in all respects.

“Old” classic style (which we like). Not newly renovated but clean and pleasant. Antigua is not cheap (no reason it should be), and in this context the rates at The Catamaran are fair indeed.
We had a beautiful view from the (superior) room.
Nice little beach with sun beds, kayaks and dinghies for the guests. The pool is small but a delight.
The hotel does not have any restaurant bar, but it is walking distance from a nice Italian restaurant, from a local taka-away, and from a well stocked supermarket [I would perhaps still recommend the management to keep some bottles of drinking water and other “necessities” for sales to its guests].
It is only a short/inexpensive taxi ride from English Harbor with its numerous restaurants, shops etc.
The most impressive with The Catamaran is the outstanding helpfulness and flexibility of the lady owners/managers. They are happy to answer ANY question (and if they don’t know the answer, they will phone around till they have one), and they will assist with ANYTHING you might require.
We had a late flight to Europe and requested to keep the room till 8PM (instead of noon). No problem at all (at zero charge).
As the electricity disappeared for some minutes during lunch (we didn’t even notice) the staff ran around with a wine cooler with a bottle of wine for every room.
Some 5 star hotels I have visited could learn something from these ladies.

Room Tip: PS I: For the personal service I recommend to book DIRECTLY via email (and pose any question, request etc) rather than via the international booking-webs. PS II: At Trip Advisor the location is stated as Falmouth Harbor, St John’s, Antigua. The hotel is indeed in Falmouth Harbor and (fortunately) NOT anywhere near St John’s),
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Langben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have just had a week's stay at this charming place. It is quiet, relaxed and the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms are cleaned and there is nothing nicer than to sit on the verandah with a glass of wine at sunset. This charming colonial-style property is literally on the beach and within a 2 minute walk of Cambusa, a very good Italian restaurant and the marina.This is NOT a five star, all inclusive hotel, but this is a place that allows you to feel instantly at home. There are little things that aren't perfect about the place but considering its excellent quiet location, quaint style and great staff, this place is extremely good value for money on many levels and we would happily return.

Room Tip: loved being in the beach front, but everyroom at this hotel has a great view and is steps from the beach.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank devansHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonab, Owner at The Catamaran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for positive remarks and kind words and for choosing The Catamaran Hotel and we are happy hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure ensuring that you stay was filled with relaxation and comfort.

We do hope you visit again soon.

Do stay connected with us.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First off this is not a 5 star luxury hotel and the pool is smaller than Sandals but if you want to avoid the crowds and the kind of plastic hospitality-school welcomes offered by many “top” hotel, this is the place. You will receive a truly warm welcome, from the entire team, who will go out of their way to help with anything you need.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and immaculately serviced every day.

All the staff, lead by their incomparable boss Fiona, are truly helpful and the chap who grooms the beach each morning will also climb up and get you a fresh coconut from a beach side palm.

The beach is small but with only 14 rooms in the hotel it is never crowded, it is also kept very clean and there are kayaks and sailing boats free to use.

Unless you want to totally chill you will need a car for trips around the island and to visit the bars and restaurants at the English harbour, but there is a breakfast to dinner restaurant, a good little grocery store and a roadside ice cream parlour that sells fastfood and cold beer all within 5 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Ocean front at this hotel means just that, but there is still a 2 metre trudge to the beach
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tannsfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonab, Owner at The Catamaran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your fabulous review and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Catamaran Hotel. Our goal at Catamaran is to ensure that each guest is treated like you are the only ones staying with us. Every experience and stay with us is personalize.

Thanks again for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sun and sea wishes from The Catamaran.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a part of real Antigua and was a return visit after 6 years. Little has changed thankfully. The Catamaran enjoys a beautiful setting on the calm waters of Falmouth Harbour, close to south coast attractions of Nelson's Dockyard, English Harbour and Pigeon Beach: hiring a car is almost essential. Available is sailing and kayaking right on the sandy beach in front though cloudy water means little snorkelling. Groceries and restaurants (including the modestly named Cambusa right on the waterfront) are close by. Feona runs a good ship at the Catamaran, even apologising for the mosquitoes about which one can hardly grumble (but I do recommend keeping the screen door closed as much as possible) and she looked after us on our last day with a late departure beautifully.

Room Tip: The first floor has higher ocean views but the ground floor leads from the verandah straight onto the beach. You can't lose.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SimonAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonab, Owner at The Catamaran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Our team here at Catamaran Hotel thanks you taking time to write this positive review. We are always ready to ensure that your stay with us is comfortable, relaxing and exotic. We want you think Catamaran as your exotic home away from home when staying with us.

We do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Catamaran Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews