We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of paradise.”
Review of Antigua Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antigua Village
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A slice of paradise.”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was our first visit to Antigua Village Beach Resort and having read some of the reviews we were a bit worried about what to expect, however, we were pleasantly surprised. The resort is directly on Dickenson Bay beach which is a superb sandy beach. There is a lovely clean swimming pool with loungers and the most beautiful gardens we have seen in this type of apartment complex. We stayed in a studio in the garden area and we are so pleased we were in the garden area as it was by far the quietest part of the resort. During our stay there we heard lots of complaints from people staying in the poolside apartments about the noise coming from Sandals and the small restaurant on the other side of the resort, however, we could not hear anything from where we were. Almost all the rooms in the garden area have sea views from their patios which was a bonus we were not expecting, as it is not advertised on the website - perhaps it should be.
The only disadvantage we found with having a studio was having everything in one room, so we could hear the fridge switching on and off during the night and when friends dropped by we had to entertain them in the living room/bedroom - not very convenient.
We had such a good holiday, we hope to return very soon, so we took a look at some of the other apartments and decided we would definitely spend a few extra dollars and rent a suite, which has a separate bedroom and a proper living room area instead of a studio. The best suite we looked at was suite 46A which is really close to the sea and is so well furnished and decorated and only a few steps from the beach, we would love to stay there next time.
There are restaurants on either side of the complex and an English style pub just across the road, but we mostly dined on the patio which was lovely.
This is a very friendly resort and they have a free drinks evening each week where guests can meet one another. We made lots of friends while we were there, some of them timeshare guests who have been visiting for many years and we hope we may meet some of them again next time we visit. We would thoroughly recommend this beach resort.

Room Tip: Garden area rooms are the quietest, most with sea views from the patios and some very close to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunloverforever52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    94
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
34
94
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Visited the ABV in Sept/Oct which is the quiet season in Antigua - and it was quiet !. We exchanged through RCI (apartment 19B) which was clean and tidy and with all the normal amenities but did look tired and in need of make-over. The maids visited daily and kept the room spotless - towels and linen changed twice a week. The ladies in reception were very helpful and answered all our questions.

As I said earlier, the resort at the time of year was very quiet with only a handful of people around, other than the weekly rum punch party no other events were organised. However, with Sandals next door we got our daily 'fix' of music - regardless of whether we wanted it !

Dickenson Bay is a lovely area, beach vendors do try to sell their wares - but a polite no thanks gets no further intrusion.

I recommend a car hire - 3 days will cover the whole island - but be aware of the lack of roadsigns and lots of pot-holes (all part of the Island charm).. Note - the Island is drive an the left (great for UK visitors)

Restaurants - Coconut Grove is really nice and next door, across the road Putters is good value for money, further afield on the north of the island try Ocean cafe - really good and worth a taxi ride.

There is a large Supermarket (1st Choice) approx 3/4 mile away - 20 minute walk and a taxi ride back with all of your provisions.

Other than trying to visit as many beaches as possible I would recommend visiting English harbour and St Johns (dont go when there is a cruise ship in). Also take the Wadadli catamaran trip around the island a full day of fun. A do not miss the Sunday evening party at Shirley Heights - great food and music.

If you are visiting between June - October there is a little known trip to go turtle watching on a small island. This is run by the EAG (Environmental Awareness Group) which are based in the Museum - Friday evenings really educational and different, We got to see a hawkbill turtle lay her eggs :-)

To sum up - quiet friendly location, functional apartment in need of a make over - would we return Yes - but there are so many other places to explore in the Caribbean !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This place was a nice mellow resort. We got it as an exchange for a timeshare so I can't say anything about the price. The rooms were clean and comfy although a tad outdated. Because it was off season there were only 3-4 other couples here although we felt that was a bonus because it was nice and quiet. U can occasionally hear the music from sandals which is next door but we did not mind much. One negative was the snorkeling. The vis could not have been more than 3 feet. We were told that is normal for this part of the island.
Overall it was a nice place to spend a week w someone but if u are looking for a spring break crazy house go to sandals next door.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Antigua is one of the greatest islands to visit . Her people are warm and friendly . I have stayed at Antigua Village going on 6 years always weeks 9 and 10 its just a super place . Next door to Sandals . Two minutes from one of the best resteraunts on the island Coconut Grove . Ten minutes from St Johns which offers excellent shopping and five minutes from one of several large supermarkets which carries everything you would want in the way of Wine , Beer , Meat and General Groceries .

Room Tip: My room is on ground floor area faces swimming pool . Any room in the place is good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dennis45_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalre, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were at Antigua Village for two weeks in February. We always like to stay in a self-catering apartment with one bedroom close to the beach with restaurants within walking distance. We got all of that at Antigua Village. Apartment 46B was excellent as other reviewers have reported (thanks!) and everyone was very keen to book it for next year! The grounds are beautifully kept, the strip of beach a bit narrow but good for swimming. The village shop was good for essentials but the huge First Choice supermarket is just 5 mins busride away on the road to St Johns. You are aware that the huge Sandals resort is next door. They take up most of the Dickenson Bay beach and can be noisy. Their keen-eyed security guards make sure that only Sandals guests are allowed on their grounds! Antigua Village has many guests who come back year after year - maybe we will too!

Room Tip: 46B is an apartment with flowery balcony overlooking garden and beach. 46A is on the ground floor. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family and I booked a one bedroom unit (45B) from 6/2 to 6/9. We did an exchange from HGVC to RCI, so I can't really comment on value. The accommodations were sufficient, with a nice, but small, well appointed kitchen. The unit only has one wall-mounted AC unit which would NOT cool the whole unit. It made the bedroom very cold, but even with the door wide open and ceiling fans on high, sleeping in the living area on the pull out sofa was not pleasant for my teenage sons. They ended up crashing at the foot of our bed for half of the week.

The room was clean, and housekeeping did a good job every day. Do NOT leave food out or you will find a family of very small ants on the counters. This is a tropical location, so I did not expect a bug-free room. But keep the unit clean and free of things that attract bugs and it was fine.

It is on the second floor, and a small flight of stairs and about 50 yards to the ocean. We could see the water from our room. Very nice, even though they consider this block "Garden view".

The pool is small, but plenty big for the amount of guests and water was very clean.

The two or three ladies in the lobby were not overly friendly, but were by no means rude.

There were several restaurants within walking distance and we enjoyed meals at most of them.

To sum up, I would stay again and plan to. The days were all in the 90's and I would probably look for perhaps a studio, or another unit with better AC units.

Room Tip: The restaurant on the one side (called Peppers and Lime) when we were there, had a live band followe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CockeyeBBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad WI
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Spent a week there last year and our stay was very comfortable. Room was cleaned every day and pool was just outside the door. Hotel bordered the beach which was very convenient. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue64TrinidadWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.4 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,829 reviews
0.4 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
2.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#6 of 15 in St. John's
341 reviews
6.8 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigua Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua Village

Property: Antigua Village
Address: PO Box 649, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigua Village 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antigua Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigua Village Hotel St. John`s
Antigua Village St Johns
Antigua Village Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing