We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Island, OK resort”
Review of Antigua Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antigua Village
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Island, OK resort”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We just returned from a week at the Antigua Village Beach Club. The accomodations were OK but the ants were disgusting !!!! Rows of them daily all over the counters,bathroom, bed, kitchen, etc.... We read about them prior to leaving and bought our own ant cups but they didn't work. Housekeeping staff sprayed too but nasty, gross ants got worst afterwards.
The resot itself is a little outdated and doesn't really have anything to offer. No bar nor restaurant other than the 2 on the beach. We happened to have room 8V which is the back parking lot that abutts Sandals resort. VERY LOUD MUSIC until 3am sometimes... No very restful at all if you need sleep. The local bar too was quite noisey too. Our excursions were great and the only 2 taxi drivers that were not rude were the drivers to both Antigua paddles and the Antigua rainforest zipline. Both tours I would greatly recommend to do.
After being at quite a few other islands for vacation we never did get the SAFE feeling about the island at all. We were told in multiple letters to lock everything up, don't leave a beach bag, etc.. which did not give us a warm and fuzzy feeling at all.
Overall, I came back extremely tired but I can say that I went to Antigua and will check that one off my bucket list. Never to return....

Room Tip: DO not get a room near the parking lot... Get one on the totally opposite side of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    94
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
33
94
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I just got back from this resort. We booked the place last minute and in person. We needed 3 rooms and they were kind enough to show us what they had available by taking us through a tour of the rooms and letting us select what we prefered. They did not rush us and since it would be our home for 4 night we took some time. We picked 3 ocean front spots all ajoining. 2 side by side one on the second floor. Since the rooms were open and we were unexpected we asked if they could give us a discount and they reduced the price 10%. They were all 1 bedroom suites. They were all spacious and clean. The quality of the furnishing were different but all were acceptable. We stayed in 25V and 26V and 25? was on the second floor on 25V. Some units had BBQ grills but if your unit did not have one there were none available. The beach was nice and the pool was clean and quiet. It was in a courtyard not on the beach. There was a restaurant right next door that would be a good lunch spot. There were people selling fresh produce and other stuff but they kept to themselfs and were nice. There is a very small store that is well stocked with the most pleasent people working there.

We had dinner 2 times at LeBistro, the food and service was very good. Food was a good value but the wine list was a bit of a rip off. There also is a nice Italian restaurant just down the street that is right on the water. Very pretty and food was good. They also had a not on the water pizza section that looked fine.

We found out later that we could use our time share to book the property. We also found out that the time share rooms were not as nice or well positioned as owner rented rooms. The place was a great value, I think our rooms were around a $180 a piece. One thing to note I got a lot of bug bites but never felt my self getting bit. I should have sprayed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockTorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

My mom, daughter and I stayed here only for 2 nights as we were traveling from Montserrat to the US. After the near emptiness of Montserrat, Antigua felt like being back in a big city. It was a bit of a shock to the system to have so many neighbours and what seemed like a lot of rules. And also to read that we have to lock doors and be aware of strangers! There was none of that on Montserrat.

But having said all that, if we had gone straight to Antigua from London, it would have been paradise. The beach was stunning, the water heavenly, the pool great fun for kids who find the sea 'too salty'. There are beach bars for food and drink. The staff are all nice and friendly. And there are signs meant to keep people from milling around on the beach hassling tourists, though inevitably there are some. Unfortunately these people milling around upset my mother. I would like to go back just with my daughter and bring a few friends. It seems like a lovely place and we just weren't in the right mind frame, and didn't give it enough of a chance. I would like to explore more of the island.

Also while we were there we did take a trip to the other side of the island for some Scuba diving with "Extreme Marine". It was excellent diving, a great boat and a very safe and competent dive master.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good to us! (didn't try the restaurant or fitness centre)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella Guru A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We returned to Antigua Village, thanks to last's year's enjoyable holiday in the Antiguan sun!
We asked for and got the same room as last year (39B) which was comfortable, clean and well appointed.
We noticed that since last year there has been a lot of work done within the resort. New paths were being laid, beach front fences painted. The gardens were in beautiful condition despite Antigua's recent lack of rain.
I found the free WiFi throughout the resort a godsend as I was able to use my wife's IPad to undertake some important work while sitting on the beach and sipping a beer!!!

Room Tip: Although no real noise problems,rooms in the garden side are quieter and away from Sandals's poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StowawayEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This resort was very clean an the people we very nice. It's right on the beach witch is very beautiful. The room we had was the view of the pool an was wonderful. An on one night they have a get togather with drinks an hordervers Grrrreat. But the only downfall is its not al inclusive like were use to but very nice for family's that like to cook.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank felecia3346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilkeston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We had an amazing 3 weeks at Antigua Village Dickenson Bay and plan to return in Sep. thx to everyone for making this one our best holidays for years.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daymyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed here in July 2009 for our honeymoon. We loved it very much. It was not crowded & the beach, at times, felt like it was all your own. A contrast to the crowded beaches next door at Sandals. The people in Antigua are very cordial & nice. They even did our laundry for us! We upgraded for a small fee to a larger villa & we had an amazing view of the ocean. It was relaxing, we cooked, we rested, we lounged on the beach. Everything we wanted in a vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationthupas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.4 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
0.2 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#8 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
6.8 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigua Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua Village

Property: Antigua Village
Address: PO Box 649, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigua Village 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antigua Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigua Village Hotel St. John`s
Antigua Village St Johns
Antigua Village Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing