We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The quietest, most peaceful and relaxing holiday in years.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galley Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galley Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The quietest, most peaceful and relaxing holiday in years.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

We have just returned from an amazing recuperative week at Galley Bay. We stayed in a premium beachfront suite, on the upstairs floor. Views of the sea were beautiful from the room balcony, the room was large and well appointed, and we loved the vaulted ceiling. The bed was so comfy that we actually stripped back the sheets on our last day in order to find out the manufacturer of the mattress!

Essentially the hotel was everything we expected from it's website, and tripadvisor reviews, and more. We were very lucky with the weather, and had a week of sunny skies and warm sea. Only on one day was the sea too rough to swim in - the rest of the time it was very calm. Be aware that there is a steep dropoff a few yards into the sea, which can make it a task to get out of the sea if the breakers are a little rough.

The pool was never crowded, and there were plenty of comfortable loungers. As there were no children allowed under 16, and no music playing; there was a real sense of peace around the pool. The bar is only a few yards from the pool - I loved the cocktail 'Galley Bay Special' and would spend the afternoon drinking cocktails on my lounger.

The food quality was excellent; completely unlike mid-range all-inclusives that you may have experienced. The menu is a la carte and cooked to order. Two restaurants are included, however, if you want to eat at the third restaurant, 'Ismay's, there is a supplement. We ate there once, and whilst the atmosphere was upmarket and romantic, the other restaurants are so good that I don't believe that it's necessary to pay extra. Gaughin's restaurant at the far end of the beach was our favourite spot. Each table is housed under it's own palapa, facing the sea. Be aware that there are no fans, and the restaurant is entirely outdoors, so on a calm humid evening, there were a lot of biting bugs around. Every day there would be a fresh fish special as well as the regular grill fare on the lunch & evening menus. A 'must' was the barbeque evening at the main restaurant 'Seagrape'. There was an entire suckling pig, as well as fresh fish & meat grilled on the barbeque. Fantastic quality.

The all-inclusive bar contains all the premium-brand drinks you would be familiar with - I enjoyed finishing the evening with a glass of Baileys! There was also unlimited champagne by the glass.

We had a treatment at the spa during the week. The spa is beautiful inside - the outside does not do it justice. The massage was excellent, although the prices are probably a little high - we took advantage of the 10% 'happy hour' discount that was offered.

The staff were all excellent. They are very proud of the fact that Galley Bay has a large percentage of return guests. They are incredibly friendly and jolly. We'd particularly like to mention Mike, Heather and the duty manager Ian.

We only left the resort on one day, and that was to take the Antigua Adventure Eco Tour. This is a full day out on a boat, including lunch and several snorkelling stops. The tour is based around showing the flora and fauna around the Antiguan coast. The guides were all extremely knowledgeable, educated (Nicola had a degree in marine biology) and personable and it was well worth the day out.

This is an amazing resort for a chance to recharge your batteries. It was exactly what we were looking for. An opportunity to lie by the pool and read a book; enjoy a beautiful beach, and indulge in good food. You will only be disappointed if you book the hotel, not having done your research, and are wanting pool volleyball/disco's/loud music by the pool etc. There are plenty of lesser hotels in Antigua that can cater to this!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 35Argyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,500
    489
    135
    39
    25
See reviews for
163
2,593
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK & Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

Just returned from a 1 week stay at Galley Bay. Other reviews are not exagerated - this is a lovely relaxing and friendly hotel with many returning guests (says a lot!). Staff are all excellent and go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. Nothing is too much trouble. Food is excellent and the English head chef does a great job. Unusually for an All-Inclusive hotel, there is only breakfast that is buffet style, but even then all the hot food is cooked to order with a daily special pancakes. Lunch and Dinner meals are of a high quality and plenty of choice.

Rooms have fridges which are NOT stocked daily as they are doing their bit for recycling, which is a big problem on the Island. Bottled water could be bought at reception, although most people just re-filled their bottles at the bar. This seemed strange at first in an All Inclusive resort but a short stroll to the bar was not difficult to do.

We arrived just after heavy rains and the mosquitos are not very forgiving so make sure you take some extra strong insect repellent! Lots of people were complaining so the hotel were just about to do some 'fogging' of the grounds to help the problem. Unfortunately for us they started as we left but we would definitely return. I can recommend if you want a relaxing time and like good food and some social networking if you choose. Avoid if you want pool parties and a rowdy time!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaycee1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

I travelled to Antigua in September with my partner. It was the first time to the island for both of us and we were very much looking forward to a well deserved two week holiday.

After having intially booked our holiday at The Beach Club, Antigua we read the reviews on Galley Bay and decided to pay a little bit extra and upgrade to Galley Bay. We were not disappointed.

On arrival we were given rum punch (go easy on the punch, I lost my partner for a whole afternoon as a result of overindulgence!) and champagne followed by cold towels which was very welcoming after a long journey. After a brief check in we were shown around the resort and taken to our room. The first view of the beach is one to treasure as it simply takes your breath away.

We had paid for a superior beachfront room and were very pleased to be upgraded to a Deluxe. The Deluxe rooms were very well appointed and spacious. Needless to say the walk in closet was an added bonus to someone who does not travel light!

Half way through our stay we were offered a further upgrade to the Premium Suite which we accepted without hesitation. The Suites are nothing short of amazing. They have everything you could possibly need and the bath tub is to die for! If you can afford that bit extra I would recommend booking a suite just purely to experience the luxury that comes with it.

As a fussy eater, I was worried about going all inclusive in the Carribean but was pleasantly surprised with what I found. There was not one lunch time or evening meal when I could not find something I liked on the menu and in fact there was more than one thing which I sometimes cannot even find in the UK! Food was cooked to perfection and the presentation was immaculate. Even the barbeque buffet night (on Thursdays) was 5*.

My favourite part of the resort has got to be the beach. It is clean and the sand is white. I wanted to be able to relax without being surrounded by other people and that is exactly what I got. There were many days when my partner and I were the only people on the beach. It is also very good for long walks when the sun gets too hot!

I would like to say a big thank you to Kerry, Sadi and Mike who were wonderful members of staff. They made our stay that extra bit special what with Kerry and her singing, Mike and his talks about the food and Sadi with our discussions about shoes (a girl after my own heart!)

All in all our holiday was amazing and Galley Bay has been the most delightful place to stay. There is nothing I could fault with the hotel and my partner and I are already planning to return next year. I look forward to the staff 'welcoming us home'.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

This was our fourth time to Galley Bay in five years.

This won't be a lengthy review as we endorse all of the positive things others have said and would recommend Gallery Bay to any of our friends who are looking for a relaxing holiday.

There are two things that we would warn against; 1/ The food and drink are excellent so, prepare to gain weight and 2/ Galley Bay is a very difficult place to leave.

Anyway, already booked again for next September; we cannot wait.

Gary & Tracey Cooper

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

This is the most beautiful, comfortable place we have ever travelled to! We don't know how they do it, but they have balanced the natural beauty of this island location, with the greatest comforts visitors could ever dream of. We enjoyed six wonderful days with the sounds of only the waves, the birds, the tree frogs, and people laughing! Ah, this is truly a magical place, and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cagray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Galley Bay Resort on Antigua was such a great resort. The setting, food and staff were wonderful. One of the most relaxing places to stay. The beach was wonderful. Sailing lessons were great. Eventhough we experienced two days of hurricane Earl we felt safe and secure. The staff handled the hurricane with utmost care. We would recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing sun filled vacation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudiSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Superb location, exceptional a-la-carte food, great service and friendly staff – just a few of the things that make Galley Bay a great resort.

We stayed at Galley Bay from 16 September to 01 October 2010; first week in a deluxe room (No. 63), second week in a premium suite (No. 40). We have unusually high standards and, having read the tripadvisor reviews before travelling, had very high expectations. Two weeks after the holiday we still reminisce in surprise at the ease at which Galley Bay exceeds these. Basically, it’s a ‘well oiled machine’ with a generous dose of personable flair.

Location: set on the west Coast of Antigua on an amazing long stretch of beach (fantastic sand quality) over-looking the turquoise waters of the Caribbean sea. During our first week the sea was strong with high waves (great fun!); during the second week it was blissfully calm and crystal clear. We watched 3 picturesque sunsets too!

Service: overall service was fantastic. The hotel’s Guest Services has a solution for any issue! Every time we asked for something to be done, it was (and done quickly). At the bar and in the restaurants, service was excellent.

Staff: the staff at the resort excelled, in particular: Kerry for her friendly welcoming personality where nothing was too much; Sadi for affability (and appreciation for and knowledge of shoes!); and Mike, for his daily lunch explanations and local insight. Customer care is clearly high on the agenda here! Another nice touch is that almost everyone will say hello to you in passing!

Rooms: both of our rooms were well appointed, clean and maintained. The premium suites are simply fantastic. Beds are large and comfortable; bathrooms are well equipped.

Facilities: everything we could possibly want was here. Have a look at Galley Bay’s website – it tells you all you need to know (e.g. about the non-motorised water sports, spa, gym, tennis courts, etc)! Evening entertainment is spot on (some great small local bands are used).

Food: a wide array of food to cater for all tastes, served with remarkable quality (far higher than you would expect for an all-inclusive, with some dishes being comparable to Michelin-star quality). Breakfast was served 7am to 10 am; lunch 12pm to 5pm; afternoon tea and cakes at 4pm; hors d’oeuvres at 6pm; and dinner 7pm to 10pm.

Hotel grounds: immaculate. Well kept gardens, beautiful lagoon, bird sanctuary, clean beach and sea and well placed pristine restaurants. Galley Bay is thoughtfully designed with attention to detail. It’s the perfect size, ensuring that nowhere seems crowded (we were regularly the only two on the beach or at the bar ordering cocktails). I even found myself commenting on the quality and appropriateness of the resort’s furniture and décor!

Some tips: 1. Go easy on the rum punch! Be adventurous with the cocktails, they are incredible. Even the non-alcoholic smoothies are a delight. 2. Sample the chef’s specials (usually Antiguan based) – delicious! 3. Stay as long as you can (you really won’t want to leave)! 4. If you want anything, just ask, and ‘you got it’. 5. Fancy some bar-nuts – if you ask the staff will give you your own pot of mixed salted nuts! 6. Try the Cajun fries at lunch! 6. Lookout for and enjoy the wildlife, it can be entertaining!

Overall: Would we stay again? Yes – we will be repeat visitors to Galley Bay, with our first return trip around the same time next year. It is far too long to wait; so we treat every day waiting to return as one day closer! It is certainly worthy of being a 4.5 star resort.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SH1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galley Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galley Bay Resort

Property: Galley Bay Resort
Address: Galley Bay Beach Rd, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galley Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galley Bay Hotel St. John`s
Galley Bay Antigua
Galley Bay St Johns
Antigua Galley Bay
Galley Bay Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing