We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
St. John's
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,301)
Filter reviews
8,301 results
Traveler rating
4,713
2,083
779
407
319
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,713
2,083
779
407
319
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ok corral caribbean side drunken duck butler service mediterranean village main pool sushi bar cafe de paris bayside restaurant club level red lane spa caribbean grove piano bar mediterranean pool our honeymoon swim up bar butler suite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 8,301 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First thing first overall the atmosphere was great. The resort was gorgeous and the workers are very friendly. However There was absolutely No Caribbean food what so ever, very disappointing to only have mediocre food and very little food portions. They have three restaurants that I did enjoy which was Mario’s, Eleanor and a hibachi restaurant, the The Ok Coral was horrible. The beach is gorgeous, I got some great keepsake pieces made from the locals, very friendly people. I was expecting so much more than what I got here, I compared this place to Montego Bay all inclusive and it does not compare even a little bit. Hands down Jamaica all inclusive was everything you could have wanted. For $4000 I expected more, our room was a garden side grand luxe poolside supposedly. It’s old and horrible, the air conditioner was very weak, it was not cold at all, The couch was outdated from the early 80’s, there was Cobwebs in the corners of our bed. There are water stains in the bathroom where the water leaked in the roof. So much dust on the lamps and also hair in the shower. Our curtains were beyond wrinkled, I have never seen this in any hotel I’ve been too. Our ceiling fan was much better than the air, this is the older side of sandals and it needs to be updated, the area rug in the floor it’s very dirty, unsanitary, old and disgusting. I requested little add on for our anniversary as I normally do when I book hotels for our special day.
First time we didn’t get anything on our door, bed or room, Aruba and Jamaica we got fruit, flowers, door sign welcoming for our anniversary, we got nothing here. This place is not worth the money and I will not be returning nor do I recommend it!! Spend your hard earn money somewhere else. If you wants nasty cats all around the resort and restaurants coming up for food, I’m not a cat lover it’s actually disgusting to have the cat up against your leg when you’re trying to enjoy your dinner or even coming out to sit on your patio. They are coming up from everywhere. Also please avoid any rooms in 608-615 ’s they are in the back of resort, meaning there’s no views. You’re walking to your room running into workers because they take the back way going and coming for work. I can’t tell you how many times we ran into each other just coming out our room door. It’s was very unpleasant being so isolated in the back with little to no scenery. You want to make sure when you book a garden view room you don’t get these room numbers or check to see if your room is right outside the pool at least you get some type of scenery. Beautiful people but the older side of sandals not so beautiful. Unless you’re spending over $4000 to stay at the more expensive rooms which is the newer side of sandals. Do your research and also look on their Facebook page, read the comments, they are not active on their Facebook page, they have not made a post since December 2018. No attention to detail in the older rooms all the attention and focus is in the new Mediterranean rooms, the more expensive rooms even though you paid almost 4 grand including flights. Not worth the money

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5  Thank Virgo-Scorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnRedhead, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your review of Sandals Grande Antigua. We were surprised by your review as it seems your time with us did not meet your expectations. In regards to your meals, Our menus offer a wide selection of entrees as we cater to guests from many nationalities. This being said, we absolutely do have local dishes available and we were confused by this statement. We regret if some of the meals served was not to your liking or if the portions felt small to you. We recognize that opinions will be subjective in nature where food is concerned and we wish to point out that all meals are unlimited and included, so all guests are free to explore the menu and dine as often as they wish

In regards to the state of your room, our housekeeping personnel are known to take pride in maintaining the cleanliness of our rooms and we very regularly receive many compliments regarding the décor, cleanliness and in general the hard work of the staff in ensuring our standards are maintained. It would be most unusual if a room check was not done prior to an arrival, hence we are truly surprised by your comments and pictures and wish to clarify that this does not reflect the Sandals standard that we have come to be known for. While we always perform renovations and redesigns to ensure that we provide the highest standard of luxury and comfort, our process is an on-going one. To avoid a complete shutdown of service, we work in sections until each area is updated. We encourage you to visit us again in the future and experience the improvements currently being planned.

In regards to the cats, our open air concept makes it difficult to prevent them from accessing the resort grounds as they are usually drawn to our friendly guests who frequently feed them treats. We apologize if their presence caused you any undue stress and please note that we always comply with all health and safety standards. Nonetheless, should you have any lingering concerns, we invite you to please share them with us at customersupport@sandals.com with details of your reservation and we would be happy to discuss them with you. We remain committed to ensuring that Sandals' reputation reflects the excellent standards that we advertise and hope that in spite of the unusual circumstance surrounding this visit, you will consider Sandals Resorts again when planning future Caribbean vacations. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back as our valued returning guests in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hats off to Wendell, Moleen, and Shawn our butlers. You guys really made the stay extra special. It was our first time getting the butler service and I don't think we will ever book one with out. Totally makes the stay be something special.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aberodr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnRedhead, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for sharing your review of Sandals Grande Antigua with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that your butlers contributed to making your experience even more perfect! We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to one of our resorts again in the not so distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I are here for our 25th wedding anniversary. We came to soy our second night. It was so good we ate here 3 nights out of our 7 night stay. The 3rd visit was our last night at the resort and still our best meal. George, Joven and Jessica are some of the best sushi chefs we’ve come across. “6” stars for sure!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND Soy and it was a pleasure getting know the staff!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank dawnmX361OE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnRedhead, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for sharing your Sandals Grande Antigua review with us! It was a pleasure to read your review as it seems we were able to meet all of your expectations for this trip. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed our gourmet dining options along with our other amenities. Providing variety for our valued guests is among our goals and we love knowing when everyone is satisfied! We appreciate your review and are also looking forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had always wanted to stay in a Rondoval room on the beach so we booked it but I was a little disappointed because you could not enjoy the view due to the public beach you could not open the windows. I should have done a little more research before booking. Besides that everything else was wonderful. Our butlers were fantastic and catered to our requests. Next time we will go for a higher floor where we can enjoy the view and listen to ocean.

Room tip: Go for a higher floor
Date of stay: April 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mytyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnRedhead, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your review of Sandals Grande Antigua. We were very happy to read your review as it seems we were successful in our endeavor to provide you with an unforgettable vacation, filled with memories that you will cherish for years to come. We remain dedicated to offering a service where we go above and beyond for our guests and we very much appreciate your positive words. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A bit delayed , but we had a great week for our Wedding/Honeymoon in July 2019. We had an awesome "Butler
Honeymoon BeachFront Room" Wendell made the week special and was always on top of things. Beautiful and clean beach area with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. He had our hut, chairs and drinks ready each morning.
The food was good but we thought the food at the St Lucia Sandals was better overall. We went to the Sushi
Rest twice even though the AC was not working. The wedding planners , spa staff and photographers went out of their way to make our wedding special. We never left the resort which was just fine with us. No need unless you did an excursion. The rooms were comfortable but nothing spectacular but the location made it ideal. Pools and bars were the usual Sandals variety. The entertainment was not as good as several other resorts we have been too. More low key and limited. Overall, it was an excellent place for our wedding even though we did it solo!

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank toothdoc1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews