We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Honeymoon spot in the Caribbean...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
andreajoan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Honeymoon spot in the Caribbean...”
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Great place to honeymoon, we met so many other couples who werre married the same day as us! The staff was very pleasent and attentive. Food service was general quick and always good! We did not have a bad meal there. I would recommend the restaurants where you can order vs the buffet though. We went to one dinner buffett and it was ok, i expected more but it was in no means bad. Breakfast buffetts on the other hand are really good, anything you could imagine... Marios, wonderful, everything. Okay Corral, Fajitas and steak were amazing. Barefoot for lunch on the beach! Midnight snacks at Cricketers! I ate so much and was so full all week the food was just great! They have quite a number of pools and the beaches are beautiful as well. If you can get a butler, do it. Well worth it at this resort, room service is only included in the butlered rooms... We were in the concierge level suite that includes a fully stocked bar, that they restock every day with anything you have opened, even if it is not gone! They offer sailing, snorkeling, scuba diving... there is a lot to do if you dont want to just sit around and relax. There is always bands playing after dinner in 2 spots and then dancing late night! Just a really nice place! I want to go back for our first anniversay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,926
    1,678
    601
    334
    252
See reviews for
160
5,622
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,784)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Everything about this place is simply the best. We had a wonderful time! We stayed in the newer Mediterranean side and it was all we expected and more. The room was very clean, the food was delicious, the grounds were clean and the staff were very friendly and accommodating, especially Allison and Mr. King. We rented a car and drove around the entire island, we recommend this. Try to see as many beaches as you can, all are awesome. This was our first time staying at a Sandals resort and we will definitely stay at another.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnyfl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Hi everyone,
just got back from a week in at the sandals antigua and had to write a few words.
firstly like many of you i am sure i was reading trip advisor almost everyday before i left getting worried about my choice of going to the sandals in antigua reading so many reviews...i was not at all dissapointed. from the moment we arrived everything was perfect.
we stayed in one of the grand lux beachfront concierge rooms on the carribean side (also stayed in med village for a few nights so please read on!) and liked the room. yes the med village side is newer but has no charm. the carribean side is lush and gorgeous and the room we had was 10 meters from the beach with spectacular views of the sunset. yes the rooms are older then on the med side but they are super comfortable and great. the bed is huge and comfy and the mini bar is awesoem and restocked everyday no problem. (i have read alot of people didn't get theirs restocked and can't comment as we had no problems on this front.)
the food is great, really great the only problem is choosing where to eat on a daily basis.
the service is PERFECT. eveything was fast and the staff are incredibly polite and it shows that they all went to the american school of customer service.
all of the resort bars are stocked with good spirits (not local, other than the rum) so there is absolte vodka, johnny walker black label etc)
the beach, WOW. don't know what else to say. i generally expect that companies touch up the photos on their websites but the sand really is that white and the water really is that clear and blue. gorgeous.
the only problem we had - one of the days we were there we were hit by a tropical storm and our room started to leak, we called the concierge and within 2 hours were relaxing in our new room on the med side. (monte carlo suite)
the med village rooms are def, newer with the block being less than a year old. the real improvement is the bathrooms, much nicer on the med side, other than that i prefered the room on the carribean side as we were closer to the beach and i prefered the view. but i do understand why some people prefer the med side.
anyways that was the only issue that we had the whole week and it was taken care of quicly and easily and with a smile. we even got a letter in the room apologising profusly for the hassle of having to move rooms.
so i have to say that i am confused by the folks that had a bad time and didn't like the resort, we loved it, found everything to be perfect and really coudln't have been happier.
if we didn't already have a holiday booked somewhere else in december i would just be thinking now if i should go back to sandals antigua or try a different sandals.
for all of you who have booked and are still a little paniced please PM me with any questions and i took about 400 pics while i was there and am happy to advise!
oh one thing i would do while there, grab a bottle of champagne from your room and go down to the beach at 6pm and enjoy the sunset with your partner. we did this almost everynight and it was one of the best parts of the week and i looked forward to it everyday.
have a great time, don't panic it's awesome there and i am jealous of all of you reading this who are about to go to gorgeous antigua.
have fun!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We arrived at Sandals Grande Antigua on 19th Aug 2009, we were met by our concierge "Mitty" she is along with all the other staff we are going to mention later an assett to Sandals!!!!. We were upgraded to a Portifino Junior suite (7105) it was a realy lovely rom with a luxury bathroom which had a his and hers handbasin a massive walk in rainfall shower and a jacuzzi we were also so very fortunate as this room was on the ground floor which had the benefit of a large sun terrace with 2 large very comfortable sun loungers.Our first trip was to look around the resort and we called into the Cricketers for an afternoon drink, the staff very friendly, then we booked for Kimonos which was an experience not to be missed ...wish they had these evenings in the Northumberland town where we live, another night we went to Eleanors again good food and service. Our favourite eating place for breakfast and evening meal was "Marios" we could not fault at all the quality and choice of food . The staff their were second to none, will name later in the review .On our last evening Stacia from Marios arranged for our table to be decorated with beautiful fresh flowers, had our photograph taken, and when I ordered dessert " it came with the plate decorated with hearts and flowers and the words " IT IS SO VERY HARD TO SAY GOODBYE", I was speechless along with my husbandI .... what a wonderful end to our last evening meal at Sandals Grand Antigua. We also enjoyed the bar at Bay Side where Althea who is real character , she even remembered our son who stayed their in January 2009 ..A wonderful person., had many a cocktail during the day in her company. Bare foot on the beach was also a great place to eat, we went their for lunch along with Bay Side. The main pool was fab, we would have a drink and float along on the pool loungers relax....relax..relax... We also met Ivan Silk the Executive Chef who was a fantastic person and definetly an assett to Sandals, he was so knowledgable about not only the food side of things which you would expect but also other aspects of Sandals Grande Antigua I would also like to say that the beaches were fab and cleaned every morning. Finaly our THANK YOU!! to all the staff for making our holiday sooooo special and to the following who certainly exceeded this, they were like family to us. .they were lovely, helpful caring people.

MITTY ............................... RECEPTION NOTHING WAS A CHORE TO HER

IVAN SILK ............................. EXECUTIVE CHEF A WONDERFUL PERSON WITH A LOVELY PERSONALITY , A DEF ASSETT TO SANDALS

STACIA ...... ............................WAITRESS ..... MARIOS AND THE CRICKETERS ..... THIS YOUNG LADY EXCEEDED ALL THAT WE WERE HOPING FOR ON OUR HOLIDAY WE WOULD LOVE TO HAVE PUT HER IN OUR CAS AND BROUGHT HER BACK TO THE UK, A TRUE AND DEDICATED MEMEBER OF STAFF.

MARCIA.... WAITRESS ....MARIOS AND THE CRICKETERS.. MARCIA WAS ALWAYS A PLEASURE TO SEE WHEN WE WENT FOR BEAKFAST OF EVENING MEAL, A CARING PERSON WITH A LOVELY SMILE

EVOLENE ....WAITRESS..... MARIOS... WHAT A CHARACTER SHE NEVER STOPPED SMILIMG AND MADE US FEEL VERY WELCOME, SHE HAS A CONTAGIOUS LAUGH WHICH WE WILL NOT FORGET.

GORON...WAITRESS....MARIOS. GORON WAS A LOVELY YOUNG LADY AND EVEN THOUGH HER LITTLE BOY WAS IN HOSPITAL SHE STILL WOULD GIVE YOU ONE OF HER WONDERFUL SMILES, AND HAVE TIME TO HAVE A FEW WORDS WITH US, (HOPE HE IS OUT OF HOSPITAL NOW)

VIRUS.... CHAMBERMAID... WE GOT ON VERY WELL WITH VIRUS AND NOTHING WAS A PROBLEM TO HER.

COSMIN....WAITRESS....CRICKETERS. I AM SURE HER FACE LIT UP WHEN SHE SAW US,

MEESHA...WAITRESS...CRICKETERS.... MEESHA WAS A VERY DEDICATED MEMBER OF STAFF, SHE ALWAYS KNEW WHAT WE WERE DRIKING, AND IT WAS ALWAYS A PLEASURE TO SEE HER WHEN WE WENT FOR A DRINK, SHE HAS A LOVELY PERSONALITY AND AN ASSETT TO SANDALS, WE WISH HER WELL


FINALY WE CAN SAY THAT OUR FIRST VISIT TO SANDALS GRANDE ANTIGUA AND HOPE WILL NOT BE OUR LAST WAS OUT OF THIS WORLD, I CANNOT SEE HOW SOME HOLIDAY MAKERS CAN LEAVE POOR FEEDBACK ,ALL I CAN SAY IS THAT THEY MUST BE VERY, VERY HARD TO PLEASE AS WE HAVE VISITED MANY COUNTRIES INCLUDING, HAWAII, SINGAPORE, NEWZEALAND, BALI, THAILAND AND MOST EUROPEAN COUNTRIES STAYING IN 5 STAR HOTELS, CAN I SAY THAT SANDALS GRANDE ANTIGUA SURPASSES ALL OF THETHE TRAINIG OF THE STAFF IS SECOND TO NONE AS EVERYONE WE FOUND WAS COURTEOUS, KNOWLEDGABLE, HELPFULL AND MUCH MORE. DEF ADVISE ANYONE OF ANY AGE TO VISIT. I HOPE THIS REVIEW MAY BE HELPFUL TO WOULD BE TRAVELLERS TO SANDALS GRANDE ANTIGUA.SE, WE COULD NOT FAULT IN ANY WAY.

JOAN AND DEREK (AGED 64 YEARS YOUNG
LOTS OF LOVE
)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCDEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Arrival to sandals was nice, greeted with champagne and a small snack. As we had tried out the butler service for the 1st time, our butler also greeted us and showed us to our room...
The room, the MV Penthouse - if you can ever treat yourself to this experience, man is it worth it! I know many people say the room doesnt matter and you're their for the beach/pool, but having a huge room, bathroom, living room, patio, jacuzzi tub and rainfall shower sure doesnt hurt!! We both loved the room, there was a stocked mini fridge with juices, soda, water, white wine, champage, and beer. And the bar was stocked with vodka, whiskey, rum, gin. A Sandals attendant came by everyday to refill whatever was getting low.

The beach - my fave place to hangout, so quiet and relaxing, yes there are vendors there, but nothing that was annoying to us really.

The pool - very nice, not as loud/party as the sandal grande st lucia pool was, which I liked. You have to pay by the day to rent the cabanas, they were actually pretty full the week we were there, we didnt try them, but noticed other couples had rented one for the week.

Food - Enjoyed it, favorite food was Eleanor's I think, but everything was good and enough variety that you won't get sick of it in a week or so. We also had the room service option throuhg butler service, but there were several times that our orders were incorrect and no one ever returned with the correct items, we didnt complain, but it was annoying. Surprisingly the room service steak was pretty good!

Property - very spread out, nothing ever feels crowded, MV side is more of a "hotel" while carribean is more lush, tropical, I didnt get to see the CV rooms, but I think I am now sold on MV.

Service - The butler service was a nice addition, it did come in handy to not play the chair/umbrella game at the beach and pool. It was also nice to have our food/drinks brought to us when we were out during the day, but I don't know that we really NEEDED it. We have no problem getting up and burning some calories and getting our own drinks and food, but this was something we had been wanting to try, its nice to get pampered, but sometimes you really just want the drink and not the conversation - there is a balance of being polite and holding conversation - maybe we just had two butlers that were pretty chatty though! It wasnt annoying and we didnt want to be rude, so we went along with it, they were both very nice to us and great listeners. The female was a much better butler and listener than the male though. He tended to forget what we asked for, not call us back, and have to ask for things more than once. Again - we didnt get upset, just went with the flow.

Would we get butler service again? We would pay to stay in the penthouse again, but having the butler was not a make or break for us - the excellent room was the better part of it for us, the butler was a nice to have.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PackLitely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

First and Foremost this trip would not of been as much fun if it was not for the employees at Sandals. The Playmakers Jessie,Antonio,Liz,Manuel made our expierence enjoyable. They always made sure we were having a good time. Stootch also one of the Playmakers made sure we were on the dance floor shaking our butts. She even showed us how to dance calypso. Shantel the bartender was amazing and by far our faviorite employee there. Her smile and her professionalism was great. Always ready to provide us with new drinks. Sheriele from Mario's was very friendly and curteous. Dean from watersports made sure we were provided services with a smile and made sure we went snorkeling and sailed us to St. Johns. Andre and Sherman also in watersports were two very outgoing and great boys. Jeffrey also from watersports took his own time to sit with us and talk and provide us with information regarding the resort. His personality and profressionalism was great.Sheneka from the front desk made us feel very comfortable from the momment we arrived. Alvin always had a smile on his face, always very friendly. Annmarie manager for the playmakers was very rude during the resort employee talent competition. She should set and example for her employees.
Now to speak of the resort. NOT WHAT WE EXPECTED. Not very clean. For 3 days we smelled something fishy in our room area and informed front desk.FINALLY on the third day they found an old Lobster dinner laying around. Empty cups layed on the floor till next day. Dirty wet towels layed on the floor for two days. Not impressed with the pools. The tiles in pool had mildew. We had to ask for the pool to be cleaned before getting in because bugs and leaves from night before was in there. We were not impressed with the food. . We were both dissapointed with the resort. Would not recommend for the amount of money we spent for our hooneymoon. And to top it all off the AC was not functioning properly neither was the toilet.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agonzNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Here is the email we recently wrote to Sandals guest services.... Our response from their office was anything less then acceptable.

Recently my husband and I spent our Honeymoon vacation at your Sandals Grande Antigua Resort. Our stay was May 17 through May 24. During this time we experienced some situations that we would like to share with you. We called your customer service line on May 26 and were instructed by Kimberly that we needed to put of experiences in writing. In order to help us do that and organize our thoughts we will number the situations for you. Below are the events we experienced during our stay:

1.) When we first arrived at Grand Antigua we were asked to set our bags down by the entrance and have a seat. Being our first time at a Sandals resort we were not sure what we needed to do, but were instructed by a staff member that everything would be taken care of for us. Shortly after someone came around and collected our check-in paper work. They returned with our key with no instructions. We continued to sit and wait. In the meantime a second group of guests had arrived. Oddly they were all escorted to their rooms before us. Then finally when other members of the group we had shared a taxi with were being escorted to their room we finally spoke up and asked who would be taking us to our room. Since we had been waiting over 40 minutes we were getting a little antsy. When we asked we received a response of “ Oh you should be with us.” This response indicated that we were being overlooked or we were not as important as other guests seemed to be. After our request we were finally taken to our room.

2.) Upon arrival to our room (618) we were shocked to see the condition of the room. We were told we were receiving one of the nicer rooms with the concierge package and wet bar service. The room we were taken to looked like a poorly up kept motel room, similar to a remote motel. We both decided that we would not stay there for one night. My husband went down to talk to the front desk to try and get the situation worked out. They told him there was nothing they could do for him and he would need to talk to the concierge. When he arrived at the concierge he was again told there was nothing that they could do for him. Upon his insistence they instructed him to come back in 20 minutes and there might be something that they could do. We both went back together after the requested time had pasted. When we returned, Allison, the concierge told us that she was going to move our room for us. Allison took us to the new room and showed it to us. We were much happier with the condition of the new room (825) and grateful to have the room we felt we originally requested. We moved our bags from the old room and returned the room key for 618 to Allison.

3.) When we arrived we had two beach towels in our room. We decided to take a dip in the pool below our room. After this we sat down and read through all the Resorts materials from dining information, to tour arrangements, to towel pick-up. In the literature we read that we could pick up towels pool side or at the water sports area. After reading this we decided that we would keep the towels in our room for our ventures down to the pool beneath us but when we went to the main pool or the beach we would pick up towels at the specified location. To us this just seemed more logical. When we went to the water sports area on Monday to pick up two beach towels we were told we could not have the towels. We were told that they would only give us towels if we exchanged them. No where had we heard or read such a thing. It felt like we were being incriminated for stealing towels when we just were trying to make life a little easier for ourselves. Finally after our continued persistence the water sports representative gave us two towels, but she made sure to tell us that we HAD to bring the towels back AS SOON as we were done with them. It felt like she thought we were thieves who were going to run away with the towels, not a very comfortable situation for people who were on their first day of vacation.

4.) After a morning and afternoon at the pool we started to get a little hungry but we wanted to get out of the sun and heat and enjoy the comfort of our room. We decided we wanted to get a pizza to go from the pizzeria at the resort. We went to the counter to order and requested a Veggie pizza to go. We were told that because it was 2 p.m. we could not have a pizza to go. Only after 3 p.m. were we allowed to take a pizza. They referred to the time before 3 p.m. as their rush hour. Although we were a little distraught by this rule we decided to make the best of the situation and have a seat and wait for the pizza. We were then told we could not sit down because it had just rained and none of the seats were clean, we would have to wait 20 minutes to sit down. So we stood there a little confused and asked the staff member if she really meant that we could not take a pizza to go or have a seat to enjoy the pizza there. She responded, not in so many words, that this was correct we would have to wait to sit and that was all she could do for us. We decided to leave because we felt unwelcome at the pizzeria.

5.) Next we went to visit the concierge office as we wanted to make dinner reservations for the week. We were helped by Monique who made our dinner reservations. After making the reservations we asked Monique about the possibility of room service. She simply said, “No, we do not have room service.” Literally 3 seconds later the staff member sitting next to her said, “Yes, we do have room service. It costs $50 a day to get.” We felt very uncomfortable with this situation. Was Monique trying to insinuate we could not afford the $50 a day or that we were not good enough for the resorts room service? We left knowing that we could get room service but no one told us how to get it. We were interested in having some breakfasts in bed a few mornings but obviously we did not seem worthy of this service.

6.) Piggybacking of the above situation, we had paid for the honeymoon package with our room. Our travel agent had requested our wedding invitation which we sent to her and she received confirmation that your hotel had received the information. Well two days passed and nothing was mentioned to us about the breakfast in bed that came along with the honeymoon package. We spoke with a manager, Wesley, about this situation. Although Wesley was helpful and the situation did get rectified it felt as though the hotel staff thought we were lying and our name were not on the honeymoon list that the sales office had. It was very uncomfortable. It just seemed like everyone thought we were trying to take advantage in this situation when we were just trying to get what we had paid for originally. Also, although the request was made for us to have the breakfast in bed no one really told us what we needed to do to make this happen. We finally decided to just call room service and place an order. We just crossed our fingers that this was the way we were suppose to take care of our request.

7.) Again piggybacking on the above situation when we did finally get our breakfast in bed we must say the breakfast was anything but desirable. We placed an order for the continental breakfast that was said to have the following items included:
• Toast
• Fresh Fruit
• Danishes
• Cold Cereal
• Milk
• Juice
• Coffee
Well what we received was nothing like what we thought. We had about 5 pieces of sliced wheat toast, a stale Danish, a shot glass of cranberry juice, milk, two small cereals, and coffee. We had no fresh fruit as requested. Additionally to accompany the toast we received we had one packet of jelly and one packet of butter, not enough to eat one whole piece of toast????? We were very unsatisfied with this breakfast to say the least and ended up having to go to the breakfast buffet at Mario’s to feel satisfied.

8.) Monday evening my husband had arranged to surprise me with the candle light dinner on the beach. He had arranged this pervious to our trip with the travel agent, so everything was already paid for. Walking down to the beach with our host, we decided to buy a bottle of wine. We spent an extra $30 to have a nice quality wine with our dinner. We arrived before the other two couples who also had their dinner on the beach that evening. We arrived 20 minutes and 30 minutes before the couples respectively. Dinner started off great. The food was excellent and the server was very friendly. After the salad was finished and cleared we were so excited to try the dinner. Well we waited about 20 minutes and saw two dinner plates headed down our way, they passed us and went to another couple. Another 20 minutes passed and again two dinner plates were headed our way…. Again passing us for the other couple. Finally after about 50 minutes of waiting our server came over and told us that our food should be out shortly. She indicated that the cook had said he was very backed up with orders and could not get to ours. That is very odd considering we were the first to arrive and we had put in our order at 9:30 a.m.. We were very disheartened because we would have thought that spending an extra two hundred dollars would have finally made us a priority, but unfortunately once again we were overlooked. Once our meals were finally ready the manager, Carl, brought our dinner to us. When he arrived he apologized and told us he would have a higher manager contact us in the morning (which never happened). During our conversation with Carl he told us that he thought the service and standards at Sandals Antigua were not as good as they should be. Do you see the same problem with this comment that two guest might have????

9.) In our new room (825) we had the mini wet bar included. We were told that this was something that was refilled daily. Well unfortunately once again we were overlooked. For two days in a row we did not receive the restocking service. On both days we did receive room service so the miss stocking was not something we created. On the second day my husband did call the concierge office to ask about why we had been skipped. They told us that they were still delivering and we should be restocked by 5 p.m. that day. We went down to the pool to be out of the room until 5 p.m. to make sure anyone would have time to fill the bar. When we returned to our room we found that the bar had still not been restocked. Thinking that someone may have been busy and they might work a little pass 5 we decided to get ready for dinner before contacting anyone again about the situation. When we contacted the concierge a little after 6 p.m. we were told it was too late and our bar would not be restocked. We were so confused. We were persistent that we at least needed two waters for the evening because the tap water had a very funny taste. The concierge made it seem like we were requesting she move a mountain, but finally after remaining persistent she finally brought us the water. Once again we felt very overlooked and uncomfortable at your resort.

10.) On Tuesday we decided to participate in one of the activities your entertainment office held. We were the third runners-up in the kissing contest. Since we had not participated in anything up until this point we did not receive the player cards we needed to receive our activities points. We were told by a staff member to stop by the entertainment office a little later to pick up our cards. When we stopped by a gentleman who did not normally work in the office took down our information for the cards and said he would have them sent up to our room. As well during this time my husband and I decided to sign-up for the couples game show that was suppose to take place later that night. We did call to make sure we had been signed up and our player’s card request was received, because the gentleman did not work in the office we just wanted to make sure the right people received the request. The people we spoke to on the phone indicated we had been signed up for the game show and the cards would be sent to our room shortly. We never received the cards and the following situation will detail our experience or lack there of with the game show.

11.) On Tuesday night my husband and I were really looking forward to being a part of the couples game show, even if that just meant sitting in the audience. It sounded like a fun event. It was set to be held in the Caribbean Grove Courtyard at 9:30 p.m.. After dinner my husband and I decided to make our way over to the Courtyard to get a seat. We probably arrived at 8:15 p.m. and found a great seat. We had a few rounds of drinks and were enjoying our time and really looking forward to the game show. At around 8:45 the entertainment staff indicated that the game show would now be taking place outside of Cricketers pub. Because we were so excited about the event we hurried over to that location. We sat around and waited for the event. Well 9:30 came and went. We were really confused we had not heard any announcement or seen anything that would indicate the event was canceled or moved. So about 10 p.m. we decided to head back over to the courtyard, where to our dismay we saw the game show was in progress. Although it may seem silly we were again very disappointed. As I mentioned we were really excited to just be a part of this event from start to finish even if it just meant we were a part of the audience. We did notice a few other couples this evening who were experiencing the same situation. It just seemed that the entertainment office did not have their information together and thus your guests had to suffer because they were not well informed.

12.) I am sorry that I may sound a little harsh but the check-out at this resort was appalling. We were told that bags were to be set outside the door of our room for pick-up at 10 a.m. and check-out was at 11 a.m.. We had our bags outside by 9 a.m. to be sure they were taken and we headed down to check-out at 10:45 a.m.. We waited in line for about 45 minutes to check-out. This was the most absurd thing I have every experienced. Generally there is a choice for an express check-out if you are just planning to put everything you spent on the credit card on file. Unfortunately your resort must not think highly of your guests’ time as 45 minutes in a check-out line is completely unnecessary.

These are a highlight or should I say “low”-lights of the experiences we can remember, but in all honesty the resort staff and accommodations at your Sandals Grande Antigua is sub par. Most staff members’ attitude was anything less than pleasant. I am not sure if because we pay upfront and are told no tipping is allowed we deserve to be treated like a common nuisance. One particular instance of the sub par service was at check-in we realized everything was refered to by my maiden last name although all the reservations were booked under my husbands last name. Even though we told them at check-in we were not Mr. & Mrs. Louk but instead Mr. & Mrs. Marinelli, it was not changed until we spoke with a manager. It just goes to show our comfort and happiness was not the first priority of any of your staff members.

Along with your staff members the quality of your accommodations on the Caribbean side (which we discovered during our stay is the ugly step-sister to your Mediterranean side at the resort) were less than comfortable or enjoyable. Our bathroom was dirty and fixtures were falling off in the shower. It was not what I expect when I pay over $5000.

Although some attempts were made to make our stay more enjoyable (giving us the things we paid for free, i.e., giving us free OPENED bottles of wine at dinner) there was just a lack of concern for our happiness as this was suppose to be a once in a life time experience for my husband and I. I can honestly say we will never forget our honeymoon and not for the right reasons.

Any communication from your office would be much appreciated. Knowing that Sandals motto is, “Impeccable Quality and Superb Service is our Standard” and that you had two guests have an experience completely opposite of this motto we would hope your company will take action to rectify this matter.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tspice01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,846 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
622 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,321 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,284 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A European Hotel in the Six-Star, all-suite Mediterranean Village •Exotic Rondoval with private plunge pool and butler service •1,400 square foot Mediterranean villa with private plunge pool and butler service•Houses the East Caribbean's largest pool (1 of 6) •Offers 9 dining options and 8 bars including an English pub •Voted "World's Most Romantic Resort" 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa
Sandals Grande Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Sandals Antigua
Hotel Sandals Grande Antigua
Sandals Grand Antigua
Antigua Sandals
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing