We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The excursions were amazing. The food was great. The entertainment was amazing. The views from the room we stayed in were breathtaking. Everyone that worked at the resort did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lonewolf1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. We're happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing stay in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,160 - 3,166 of 6,878 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We are seasoned Sandals travellers so for our honeymoon decided to do a split break at Carlisle Bay and Sandals Antigua (see my Carlisle Bay review to compare).

Firstly, we did have an amazing honeymoon and loved our stay at Sandals, but for us Sandals Bahamas or Sandals Grande St Lucian were more impressive, but also by the fact that St Lucia as an island is prettier and more impressive than Antigua. Perhaps if we hadn't been to those Sandals first our review of Antigua would be different.

Pros about this hotel - large hotel, with lots to do, lots of restaurants, food choices, spirits in our room (Venetian Ocean Suite with a whirlpool bath and separate shower!, a French cafe which we loved with cakes, ice creams and fresh coffee (not seen that at the other Sandals). As honeymooners, we got little messages, bed covered in roses one evening and free bottle of bubbly too etc. They make you feel like you are on honeymoon. Also if you know Sandals the diving and snorkelling is included in your holiday - this is a major plus for us.

Cons - hotel is huge, feels quite impersonal at times and alot of the staff (not all of them) are moody and unhelpful. Gym was not air conditioned just fans or what air conditioning they had doesn't work properly - never sweated so much in our life. Beach not pretty, no real views, very busy and full of sellers, security guards at the entrance to the hotel - all a bit of a shock after Sandals St Lucia Grande with its stunning beach and views. Also oddly the beach attracted a huge amount of sea gulls and we didn't see one at Carlisle Bay! If you are not a beach person and more of a pool person, none of this will bother you and there are plenty of pools to choose from.

Ask yourself what you want from your holiday and most of my cons may not bother you or be pros for you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cornetto_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Durante il mio soggiorno ho riscontrato una grave mancanza nel servizio. Ogni qual volta lo shampoo e il bagnoschiuma finiva, non mi veniva sostituito se non su mia richiesta. Ho dovuto richiedere personalmente il trattamento honeymoon, poichè lo avevano dimenticato. Il vassoio sporco della colazione in camera è stato lasciato fuori nella veranda per 2 giorni, fino a quando io personalmente non ho richiesto la pulizia. I camerieri dei ristoranti e della pasticceria erano poco cordiali, sembravano infastiditi dalle mie richieste. I prezzi per gli extra erano altissimi, due vole i prezzi opportuni. Le serate all'aperto finivano molto presto intorno alle 22:30.Il frigorifero all'interno della stanza è stato ricaricato solo una volta durante la settimana. Il giorno prima della partenza, la cameriera che apriva il letto la sera si è presa la libertà di spostare e ammucchiare su una sedia i nostri vestiti lasciati sul letto, che avevamo ben piegato con l'intenzione di rifare la valigia per la partenza. Il giorno della partenza ho dovuto lasciare la camera alle 11:00 e mi è stato consegnato un foglio scritto in italiano (probabilmente tradotto male) in cui mi venivano dette le cose che dovevo fare prima della partenza e il posto in cui lasciare le mie valigie, in caso di partenza nel pomeriggio. Le informazioni sul foglio erano sbagliate e ho dovuto discutere con un cameriere che voleva mandarmi dall'altra parte del villaggio a lasciare le valigie.
Per concludere credo che un resort 5 stelle dove si pagano 400€ a notte, non può permettersi certe carenze.

----------------------------

During my stay I found a serious lack in the service. Whenever shampoo and bubble bath was over, I was replaced if not at my request. I had to personally request the treatment honeymoon, as they had forgotten. The dirt tray of breakfast room has been left out on the porch for 2 days, until I personally have not required cleaning. The waiters of the restaurants and pastry were very friendly, they seemed annoyed by my requests. The prices were very high for the extras, two sizes suitable prices. The outdoor evening ended very early around 22:30. The refrigerator in the room was charged only once during the week. The day before departure, the maid who opened the bed at night has taken the freedom to move and pile up on a chair our clothes left on the bed, we had neatly folded with the intention to remake the case for departure. The day of departure I had to leave the room at 11:00 and I was handed a paper written in Italian (probably badly translated) in which I've been told things I had to do before departure and the place where you can leave my bags in case of departure in the afternoon. The information on the sheet were wrong and I had to argue with a waiter who wanted to send me to the other side of the village to leave the suitcases.
To conclude I think that a 5 star resort where you pay € 400 a night, you can not afford certain deficiencies.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurizio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

We regret to hear that we did not meet quite your expectations for service and quality. We have many guests who feel the direct opposite and have boasted of our accommodations. However, as hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.

We are always looking for ways to improve our resort to exceed the expectations of our clients. Since we are in a constant state of evolving our resorts and updating our amenities, I will be sure to send your feedback to the General Manager and relevant departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

8.16.2013
We just returned from Sandals Grande Antigua ,there is not enough STARS to give this resort .
As we arrived we were greeted by DONOVAN one the directors (awesome guy), right after we met SAMSON & DELILAH (the macaws on the resort) well that just brought us back home since we have macaws as well , we then went right over to the concierge dept , all air conditioned ,champagne waiting your arrival and fast top notch service ,we were then escorted to our room within 45 min after our arrival by a true gentleman (sorry i dont remmember his name ) but he was just amazing every day he will make sure we have enough drinks , supplies in bath and he will also bring us some cookies at times :-).
The Cleaning crew thank you so much ,the rooms are always clean when we return ,Always !
We had dinner at every restaurant - Kominos , Eleanors ,barefoot by sea , OK Coral , bayside (best breakfasts ,lunches and dinners ,all buffet , thanks Butch ! (the cook behind the eggs on mornings ,YEA MAN !) Marios ,AND Drunken Duck (best place for wings) and awesome music by DJ Sporty ,i love soca and the last night before we leave he mixed the bests soca and Machel Montano songs ,was a blasts .
Emerald diamonds - thank you for making my wife so happy with the rose gold diamond ring i got her for our anniversary.
The Gift Shop is amazing , they got it all thanks to Tanya and crew .
Pastry shop - bests cakes and those homemade ice cream is to die for .yummmmmy.
The PLAY MAKERS ,(if you want to have fun this crew is here to make that happen , Shawntay, Emmanuel ,Antonio and crew are awesome and lots of fun ,they always remember your names ,they made our trip so special -Shawntay thanks for a awesome game of JENGA .
IF YOU GO MAKE SURE THEY TEACH YOU THE DOLLAR WINE .:-)
Red Spa - Thank you Thank YOU , Thank you , you guys are great , Reesa is amazing , got my bests massage ever from her , it was so good we went there 3 times in our 1 wk stay , Dolly was great as well .
This resort pay attention to every detail , One of the directors got us a cabana for a day , the employees treated us like majesty ,brought us our drinks ,food and anything we wanted .
The last night before we leave the managers had a cocktail dinner for all returning guests ,we chat with the MANGER ,Mr Courtney ,what a down to earth guy .
You can see the happiness in the workers eyes , they have so much fun in what they do and pleasing their customers ,everyone is polite from the Directors to the lawn guys ( which is to say this resort has the bests landscaping ever)
Im sorry if we missed anyone ,but we just wanted to say thank you for a wonderful and a trip that will always be in our hearts , Antigua is really a BLESSED Island ,with honest and nice people .
we have stayed in 4 sandals resorts so far and it just gets better everytime , we booked our next trip for 2014 at the GRENADA SANDALS , we cant wait !.
Thank you BUTCH (THE CHAIRMAN) for the visions you put into your resorts , you really make the Caribbean A GEM! and make couples feel right at home . Thanks Again to ALL.
WE RECOMMEND THIS RESORT 100% -10 STARS +
The Hudson's
Anitgua 114

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I just got married at Sandals Grande Antigua and we could not have asked for a better wedding/honeymoon. The island is beautiful, but what makes this resort so special are the employees. Thanks to Donovan Dobson, director of guest services, our whole group had an amazing time. We hads a total of 21 of us and Donovan was the one who went out of his way daily to ensure we were having a good time, and any time we needed anything at all, he was right there with a smile on his face. We also were lucky enough to have Sasha White as our wedding coordinator- she was absolutely a gem! Always calling us to make sure things were in order and doing all the scut work so that we could just relax and enjoy our wedding/honeymoon. I highly recommend a destination wedding here- it really reduces the stress and was just such a beautiful place to get married!
Our group had so much fun and not a single person had much to complain about. The resort is clean and the rooms are all nice- we all stayed on the Carribbean side which was nice because we were all close to one another. Every time we left the room and came back, the room was clean with fresh towels and a fully stocked bar. I don't know how they know when we leave the room- but it was pretty amazing that we always returned to a clean room. Thank you to the cleaning crew! (don't have any names because I never saw them!).
The restaurants are all pretty good- I loved Mario's the best! The appetizer bar there is amazing. We also enjoyed Eleanor's, great service, ask for Anna Marie- she will take good care of you! My husband loved his dish at OK Corral- the short ribs. You will read a lot of reviews, but my advice is try all the places! Nothing is bad, it just depends on your taste as to what you will like best. The entire group would agree with this though- the pizza at Bella Napoli was the best!!! We ate there every single day for lunch!! They are personal size pizza and every one of them was awesome so make sure you go there! At night, there was always something going on. Drunken Duck was a huge hit- the chicken wings there are awesome. Tons of music and dancing- just a great time.
If you do any of the off site tours- the one we did that we would highly recommend is the rainforest zip line! Its a whole day event from 10am until about 3 pm- but the experience is one you will never forget. Even if you are afraid of heights- try it! Nothing like swinging from tree to tree over 300 ft above the ground on a single cable :) Seriously, so much fun!! And they take pictures that are must have's !!
Overall, we were extremely happy and are already planning our next Sandals vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Congratulations! We're so happy to hear of your beautiful wedding and amazing honeymoon at Sandals Grande Antigua. We love to know that our guests have wonderful experiences with us and we're so honored to have had the chance to share your special moment with you. Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you back soon for another stellar stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at this resort from 8/3-8/10/2013. We have been to a few of the Sandals and this rates as one of our best experiences. The property felt a lot like the Whitehouse in Jamaica. We were in a walkout in the Mediterranean side. I normally would shy away from this type of accommodation opting for a higher floor. I really enjoyed the convenience and the patio was large. I am always pleasantly surprised at how quiet the rooms are when you are inside. Very well insulated. The beach is beautiful white sand and the Carribean Blue water you hope for. The one draw back is that it is a public beach and there are vendors that will approach you but are not aggressive. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Go to the Meditteranean side for the newer rooms. Also you will need a higher floor if you want a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful service, beautiful location, just amazing! We recommend this resort for couples of all ages. The food was great, especially Mario's. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The fact that so many water activities are included was also a huge plus. The beach is public but almost all of the people on it are tourists.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,913 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,048 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
856 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
3.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $572 - $1,422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A European Hotel in the Six-Star, all-suite Mediterranean Village •Exotic Rondoval with private plunge pool and butler service •1,400 square foot Mediterranean villa with private plunge pool and butler service•Houses the East Caribbean's largest pool (1 of 6) •Offers 9 dining options and 8 bars including an English pub •Voted "World's Most Romantic Resort" 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa
Sandals Grande Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Sandals Antigua
Hotel Sandals Grande Antigua
Sandals Grand Antigua
Antigua Sandals
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing