We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This resort lives up to it's reputation. We stayed here for two weeks April/06/13 to April/20/13. Everything was exactly how it is advertised, pictures and all. We had an excellent vacation. Everything was perfect. We ate at all eleven eateries, all were scrumptious. Drinks were all top quality. Hats off to Rosetta for keeping our room spotless. Hats off too Sheryl and her team at the Red Lane Spa....we went twice!!! I never had anything quite like their massages...Wow!!! Hats off to Lattoya at the main pool bar on Carb side. She had your drinks served by the time you made it down to the bar...awesome memory that girl!!! The whole team at this resort works together to keep everything in excellent running order. We would diffently stay here again. Would also like to mention our horseback ride with Sundance on the beach....this was also an excellent first time experience for us. We took the Shopping tour twice, the Sunset cruise, and the 360 land tour all through Sandals' Island Route, again, all went well. In conclusion, we had an excellent, excellent vacation at Sandals Grande Antigua.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank handpsimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,781
    1,621
    590
    330
    245
See reviews for
152
5,427
22
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,725)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This was our third stay at a Sandals Resort and it didn't disappoint. From our transfer at the airport to our final day, everything was first class. We stayed at the Mediterranean Village. Our check in was leisurely and set the tone for the week. We were given champagne and appetizers while we waited for our room, which was great! Our room on the fourth floor had an amazing view of the resort and the ocean, including wonderful sunsets. Wish our patio would've been bigger, though. The king bed was comfortable and the bathroom was huge. The fridge was fully stocked and maintained well all week. The housekeeping was thorough, never intrusive, always done well. Every staff member we met was wonderful, particularly Latoya at the smaller pool.

From reading prior reviews, we knew to book our restaurants when we checked in. No problems there. Kimonos was fun, but we had to wait about an hour for our table to fill. Food was pretty tasty. Eleanor's was great for my husband, who had a wonderful filet. But my lobster was cold with no drawn butter to warm it up. Disappointing. Wonderful atmosphere by the beach, though. OK Corral was very tasty with quick service. Barefoot was great, too. Very good meals. Mario's had the best breakfast, with more selections at the buffet, only one bird and no cats! Mario's also served us a fantastic dinner on our last night. Superb! Great pizzas at Napoli's. The beach party was a lot of fun. We got there early and found seats with people we had met on our first day. We didn't wait long at the buffet, and the entertainment was great fun. The crowd was drawn into all the fun. The Welcome Back dinner was also very nice. Well done, Sandals! suggestion: let guests know in advance about the dress suggestions for the White night at the disco, the Caribbean beach party, etc..

My husband enjoyed scuba twice. Scheduling dives took patience, though. The desk staff is on Caribbean time! Yoga was great. Seating around the pool is difficult if you hope to have an umbrella or shade and no butler. We just went to the pool later and looked for seats that were open, often removing towels if the seats hadn't been used recently. We think people just don't take care of the towels when they leave! Suggestion: more seating and more umbrellas.

The landscaping and grounds were fabulous! Beautiful and well-maintained. The pools and hot tubs were wonderful.

We toured the island one afternoon with a private taxi and loved seeing the views at Shirley Heights. So glad we did that.

We met a wide variety of fun people and look forward to our next Sandals stay.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Sandals Grand Antigua on Saturday, 4/20/13. I don't typically stay at All Inclusive or even large resorts. My husband and I are very committed to eating a plant base diet without added salt, oil or sugar. I contacted Donavan Dobson via email prior to our stay and he assured me they could accomodate our requests. He did not let us down. Donavan met with us when we arrived and even had us meet with the head chef, Amit. Amit was very good about writing down all of our specific concerns and even went to the store to make sure his restraunts would be able to accomodate us. He went above the call of duty by making dinner reservations for us. Every time we sat down for a meal, the chef at that particular restraunt would come meet with us and make sure the meal they planned would meet our requirements. They were willing and able to prepare anything we asked for.

Service everywhere we went was great, but I would like to send a special thank you to:
Vittorio at Marios and the Chef (sorry I didn't get his name)
Chef Julieanne at Bayside,
and a special appreciation to Chef Nigel at Eleanor's who went out of his way to create
2 special dinners as well as preparing us a boxed lunch for our long trip home.

Our room was spacious ad beautiful. The beach is spectacular. We were able to have beach chairs and a cabana at the beach every day, but we are early birds and would put our towels on the chairs at the beach and take a walk before breakfast every day. While the pool was beautiful, we loved the sun, sand and beach and spent every day at the ocean. Jamie at the water sports shop was great and we especially enjoyed the trip he took us on the hobby cat. We went snorkeling a couple of times and really liked that as well.

Thank you to the entire staff at Sandals for making our vacation feel like a 2nd Honeymoon with every detail taken care of. If you are considering this resort, I highly recommend you book it. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We were in a Penthouse Suite overlooking the pool and with great ocean views. The walk to the Ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank organictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

It took me a while to get time to write this review. I am a travel professional
and I thought the Sandals brand was generic. Wrong! I was in the main
building on the concierge level and the view was fantastic. The room was
large and beautiful and spotless. The food was fabulous and I can totally
recommend this hotel to any couple young or old. I can sell this property
with complete confidence and know that everybody will love this resort.
Transfers to hotel were efficient even if customs took forever. It seems that
all the planes land at the same time. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: For the views, I would not pick anything under concierge level and I loved the Italian village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveld803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I had the most amazing time at the Sandals Grande Antigua Resort. The food, drinks, and sun were all amazing! The resort is lovely and the staff was very attentive. This was our first Sandals experience and we were not disappointed. We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Awesome time! Weather could have been better but, we can't blame anyone about that. Resort is amazing, beautiful... staff are very nice. Entertainment staff are crazy amazing, fun... Emmanuel, Antinio, DJ Shorty and Kevin to name a few.... WHOOP WHOOP
Restaurants are great, pool is awesome, beach is so soft and water is so warm.
The ride from the airport is quick, check in was real quick... There is NO reason I would not return. Didn't want to leave...

People who complain, do not know how to be polite and ask for things with a smile... your portions are too small? really... order another - it's included... you don't like your drink, really? order another... you don't like the restaurant meal? really... stop by the buffet for food... people really are lazy and spoiled and don't appreciate you are on an island - these people work 6 days a week 10-12 hour days... if you are nice, they are nice... easy!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have visited Sandals Resorts 15 times including all in St Lucia, most in Jamaica and have been to Antigua on 6 occasions. All of the resorts are very good and have their own personality if that makes sense.

Antigua is a beautiful resort with the flora and fauna in the Caribbean side and the elegantly appointed suites in the Mediterranean side. We have stayed throughout the resort and there will be a place for you depending on whether you want a lively or quiet time. Favourite spot for quietness is the Anthurium Buildings in Sunset Bluff. Liveliest area is the swim up bar in the Caribbean side next to the beach volleyball court.

The restaurants offer a great range and are likely to suit whatever taste you have. Our favourites are Eleanors in the Caribbean side and Marios in the Med side.

The setting is one of the best we have ever been to and a big bonus is the 20 minute airport transfer to Dickenson Bay with its white powdered sand and beautiful picturesque sunsets that can leave you breathless.

It doesn't matter what type of staff you come across from the excellent manager Gerald Christ who sets the vision and tone throughout, to the gardeners, cleaning ladies, bar staff and waitresses they couldn't be more friendly and helpful in ensuring that your vacation is exactly as you want it to be. Nothing is too much trouble for them and is always carries out with a big smile.

All in all this is our favourite Sandals Resort that we have seen evolving since out first visit in 1993 and in the hands of the outstanding management team and staff I'm confident that it will continue to go from strength to strength. Cannot wait for our next visit and another unforgettable Sandals Experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LSASScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,794 reviews
3.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,215 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
942 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,224 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
3,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A European Hotel in the Six-Star, all-suite Mediterranean Village •Exotic Rondoval with private plunge pool and butler service •1,400 square foot Mediterranean villa with private plunge pool and butler service•Houses the East Caribbean's largest pool (1 of 6) •Offers 9 dining options and 8 bars including an English pub •Voted "World's Most Romantic Resort" 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa
Sandals Antigua
Hotel Sandals Grande Antigua
Sandals Grand Antigua
Antigua Sandals
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing