We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$235
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Anchorage Inn(St. John's)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$160
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Point Resort & Spa(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$160
$156
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Village(St. John's)
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$356
$331
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumby Bay Island(St. John's)
$1,175
Jumby Bay
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,166)
Filter reviews
7,166 results
Traveler rating
4,132
1,787
639
336
272
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,132
1,787
639
336
272
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaribbean sideok corralbutler servicedrunken duckmediterranean villagemain poolswim up barmediterranean poolour honeymooncourtyard bistrosushi barde parisred lane spaclub levelcaribbean grovepiano barbutler suite
Filter
Updating list...
3,802 - 3,807 of 7,166 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My fiancee and I originally intended to get married before we left for Antigua, but after talking to the wedding planner at Sandals, we decided to get married at the resort. It was awesome! We opted for the free, included wedding package (we stayed over 7 days, so it was free). We also met another couple once we were onsite, and they had just had the same wedding package and raved about it. Can't say enough about how wonderful the wedding planner and staff treated us. Because of a reschedule of one of our activities, we needed to reschedule our wedding - no problem.

The food, for the most part, was excellent. The food at Bayside wasn't anything to write home about (the sushi was mediocre, nothing special). But Barefoot was awesome for dinner, and Mario's was the best for breakfast.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, all smiles with few exceptions. We had a room with the butler service, and they made the stay so much more special. They brought us drinks and food on the beach, reserved our chairs each morning, made our dinner reservations (and changes) as well as romantic items in the room (roses pedals in the bath, and the bed made up with more). If you can afford it, do the butler service!

Our only complaint was scheduling and coordination. They messed up one of our activities twice, and we had to reschedule the wedding because of it (otherwise the review would be a 5 star). They also screwed up schedules because of a large group wanting to be seated at the same time.

If you are looking for a romantic, all inclusive resort, Sandals Antigua is a very good choice!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just back from 10 days at this resort. We are not beach people but spent nearly all of each day on the fabulous beach - Dickenson Bay !! It's a nice island --people very friendly and I always felt safe - even going into St. John's on my own !! OK there are not enough sunbeds with shade and certainly not enough sunbeds around the small pools that are dotted around the resort but the location and welcome makes up for that. We've been twice to Sandals before - in St Lucia -probably the foods was better there but I want to go to Antigua again !!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgieMallorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to a Sandals property in Antigua on February 19 Tuesday night. We both really wanted to love it because of good things we read and heard. I gave it a rating of 3 circles because of a few things. Let me start with the good things:
The welcome from staff - pulled up and was greeted by 2 staff members with bright smiles. One gave us a cool towel to cool off with, the other walked us in and handed us a champagne- like drink that was delicious. We were asked to sit and relax while the staffer retrieved our information. While waiting (only a few short minutes) we were given a tasting of appetizers!
The views- from hotel and our room-spectacular views of the ocean!
Pool - was a lot fun
Diving - my husband enjoyed his 5 diving trips
Short ride to/from airport
Best meal at Kimonos restaurant
Grounds - are beautiful
Very relaxing
Variety of drinks - drink of the day was fun
Things I didn't like-
A/C and fan didn't work properly on the first night-both needed to be completely replaced and we were never offered a new room or upgrade. We slept in a very warm room on first night. All was replaced the next day and found out later, that the worker who did not notice broken A/C was taken to task for that.
Lighting in bathroom not good.
Beach is public! Vendors up and down beach, most were very polite. A group that was renting jet skis on our end had arguments with other vendors every day and used foul language. Plus on two days we could smell marijuana coming from there group! It made me uncomfortable.
Food was decent-small portions- our best meal was in Kimonos-great chef-Eric!!

Most staffers were pleasant and the grounds of hotel were pretty. Don't know if we will re-visit. We want to try other Sandals and compare.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrsg42699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We'd never been to a Sandals, and our only AI experience was with Palace Resorts in Mexico - so they were the benchmark for our Feb. visit to Sandals Antigua. Sandals makes an incredible first impression - set on 27 acres, it is absolutely beautifully laid out. The buildings are all tucked in among carefully landscaped areas, with well lit paths and fake "rocks" that play gentle music. The beachfront firepits/couches are a lovely place to sit before or after dinner and the overall impression of the physical property is spectacular. The staff were almost all friendly, professional and responsive - we had one or two bartenders and one waitress who seemed unhappy to be there, but we must have encountered dozens of housekeeping, servers, grounds and bar staff during our time there and they were all courteous and pleasant. Our room (Venetian oceanview concierge) was lovely and wanted for nothing - big bathroom, comfortable bed, tiny balcony but certainly big enough to sit out for a while in the late afternoon. Housekeeping service was very good, and the bar was replenished everyday with sodas, water, beer, and wine (we didn't really use the spirits). Food was a bit of a disappointment - the buffets at breakfast and lunch were great - enormous choice so if you wanted something different every day you could do that- plus additional outlets like the Cafe de Paris and Courtyard for snacks and treats. Dinner however let us down -- each restaurant serves only about 4 entrees, so the choice is limited and may not suit all tastes. We never had a bad meal, but didn't ever walk away saying "wow"! either. This would be one of only two areas in which Sandals didn't meet our "AI benchmark"....the other was a lack of shade at the pools and at the beach. The clientele seemed to skew to an over 50 crowd, with about 20% being the younger wedding/honeymoon crowd....the former always seemed to be looking for shade and there just isn't enough provided at Sandals. Reservations for dinner are hard to get -- we tried on the day we arrived and were not able to book for nights 1, 2 and 3...but don't let this put you off, as the food was of equivalent quality at the reservation and non-reservation restaurants; the non-reserves are easy to get into. Overall, a very enjoyable, relaxing week; we'd probably try another Sandals and see if they can earn our fifth star by having better dinner options!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieCVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Having spent very enjoyable 10 days at Grand Pineapple Antigua with very friendly staff we moved to the Sandals Grand for our last week which we remember as being upmarket. When we arrived by taxi at reception we waited there with a lot of discussion going on behind reception eventually one of staff said we had come to the wrong reception and he would take us to the Caribbean reception, he was friendly and give us a lot of history about the hotel. We got our room which was a Garden Bungalow to say it was dark is an understatement we had to put all the lights on in the room at any time of the day. We had a lovely looking four post bed only trouble was there was a wooden plank long each side of the bed which you banged your leg on getting in or out of bed.
Because of my wife having a dietary problem we asked to speak to a chef. Antony the Chef said he would organise where we would eat and inform the chefs of the restaurants about my wives problem, which he did and we would like to thank him for that. We would have felt like second class citizens because we did not a butler to reserve our sunbeds and book our restaurants for us. We all paid good money to stay why should there be any difference. All the restaurant food was excellent and well presented. I am surprised they do not seat you as they do in the Barefoot at lunch take room number and give you a rough time. In the evening they could give you a vibrator like they do in American restaurants and you could go and have a drink.
Most disappointed, supposed to be the most Romance place on earth according to its advertising. It is supposed to be above a star rated hotel. We have been to a lot better 5 Star hotels in the world. Holes in the table linen and dirty mark from previous eaters do not impress. Also the sheets on the bed did not fit properly so you were on the mattress most of the time. It really is two hotels in one, them and us if you’re rich and pay for a suite with your butler your OK. If not you’ll enjoy it but don’t expect the service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews