We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here in december and have only just got round to writing a review. The location of the hotel is stunning, my favourite part was the beach the sand is gorgeous and there are no stones or anything to spoil it. We stayed in a concierge room in the main building with a sea view and balcony, i would definately recommend this as it was lovely to sit on the balcony with a glass of wine from the fridge. The bathroom was gorgeous with huge jacuzzi bath and double shower! the food was amazing wherever you ate, i was usually still full from breakfast at lunchtime but the evening meals were gorgeous, i would definately recommend marcos and the tepanyaki. Would return to this place tomorrow.

Room Tip: upgrade to concierge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjd0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,786
    1,622
    590
    330
    247
See reviews for
153
5,433
22
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,729)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Thomas, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

AS a return guest Sandals/Beaches. Our 1st trip to Sandals Antigua was more than we could have expected. Management,Staff, Housekeeping everyone! We recieved a call every evening from John(guest services) follow up our day and ask if any needs for next day. Thank You. My wife and I choose concierge services, no butler. This family works for a living,so butler was not needed. Read several reports om trip advisor, and must say WHAT to those with discern. beach towels are what they are figure out the resort routine and get with the program. guest services staff were great. If you are in a hurry stay home and continue the hettic pace. We have nothing but great things to say, All resort staff. went Scuba diving while there Jellyfish suck be careful. I am a proficient diver so I have been stung more than once no big deal But when staff willnot get in the water to take pictures snorkling wellthat changes things. No one wants stung by a jfish but it does happen Sea Life. Enjoyed all the food and resturants. Room awesome view awesome stayed Med. Side,Monte Carlo honeymoon suite 7420 pics on facebook will post a video on youtube

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffreyKnable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Alaska
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at Sandals Grande Antigua for 10 days for our Honeymoon. We had a great time! There were great things and things we were not so impressed with. I will review pretty much every part of the vacation as I was a little more critical as it was our honeymoon. Something that I had dreamed of for awhile now. As soon as we arrived we were met by someone with a sandals sign and were placed in a van and were on our way, it was really nice to not have to wait. We were greeted at the front desk with small snacks and champagne which was a really nice treat. We were then brought to our room where our bags were already waiting for us and were shown around.
I would like to start off saying the way you are treated definitely depends on the amount of money you are spending. Everyone there is on their honeymoon or getting married so you really are not treated special. We booked a concierge room because from the description it made it sound like it was much like a butler room, which it is not. This was the biggest disappointment for us. There was no room service which we really looking forward to being able to stay in the room if we wanted to. The concierge is the front desk so they are super busy most of the time and you are lucky is anyone even answers the phone. We used them to make a few dinner reservations which i believe everyone else does too and then we used them to make a reservation to go on the shopping tour which ended up being canceled and no one notified us at all. We visited the front desk multiple times about getting an upgrade and they told us they would notify us on that Wednesday if anything was available and we were never contacted what so ever about it. This really put a damper on things for us. My advice to anyone is that if you would like the best treatment definitely book a butler room from the start.
We stayed on the Mediterranean Side in a Venetian Oceanview Suite. The grounds of the hotel are huge and absolutely beautiful! We loved to walk around and look at everything. There is people working everyday to keep up with everything. There is a hammock that we spent some time in as well as huge chairs by the beach with firepits next to them that we sat in multiple times to watch the sunsets.
Pool is very big and has a swim up bar. Like other reviews it is true that if you do not get down there at 8-8:30 chances of getting chairs in the shade really are low. This was a major disappointment for us. Anyone with butler service gets the best chairs reserved for them everyday and half the time they don't even how up!
We had a mini bar in our room that took 2 days and 3 phone calls to be restocked the 1st time. We used the laundry service towards the end of the trip and it took 2 days to get our cloths back when it was advertized that we would get them back after 6pm that night. The cleaning time was a little off for us, they would show up at around 2 when we were usually in our room taking a break and if you missed them then you never knew when they were going to come back. We called the front desk 3 times to try to arrange them to come in the morning and that did not happen til the last 3 days. Cleaning for the most part is moping and making the bed, there was only one day where our room was cleaned really well. There were bugs all over our porch area and we called to have them sprayed and no one ever showed up.
We really enjoyed all the food! The one thing they really should tell you before you arrive through is that in most restaurants there is a dress code! Men need to have slacks and nice shoes and button up shirts. We are lucky that we just happened to go shopping for some before we left or else we would not have been able to get into half the restaurants. This was something I really did not agree with. We saw multiple couples be told they could not eat at restaurants because men had short on. People are spending enough money at the resort they should not be being told where they can and cannot eat depending on what they are wearing. We ate at every restaurant at least once. Make sure you call a few days in advance for reservations or else sometimes you are out of luck. Elinore was our favorite followed by the sushi bar and kimonos. We recommend getting the 7pm reservations rather than the 9pm. One night we ate at Elinor's at 9om and you could tell they were trying to close down. The service was by far not as good as the early service. We ate at the buffet style places a few times for lunch and they were good besides the bugs in the food. The cheese and what not that is set out had flies all over it.

One thing that no one ever addressed was the power outages. The power literally went out every day, sometimes multiple times a day and no one ever said anything about it. The first night we were there we luckily had an early dinner because the power went out for 4 hours right at the end of it. We felt really bad for those sitting there waiting for their food. No one at the hotel ever addressed them or explained what was going on.

They also sprayed something onto all the buildings for bugs without any notification. It was most definitely not something that people should have been breathing in but they did it right in the middle of the day with no notice.

The entertainment was probably the biggest disappointment for us. There was not really any night life at all. There is also the same things going on every week so if you stay longer than a week like we did you are seeing the same things over again. There was a lot of jazz and karaoke nights mostly.

We only spent any time on the beach at night once all the vendors were gone. They are everywhere trying to sell you everything! They are harassing you even when you walk near the beach, they ask you every single time you walk by that area. This kept us from going to the beach at all during the day. It was very annoying. The hotel has security but they don't say anything to them what so ever. The security was more worried about asking us to see our room cards when we were walking around.

We did the eco tour which we highly recommend as well as the zip lining that was a ton of fun! We had signed up for the shopping tour which I said before was canceled due to not enough people and we were never notified until we showed up to leave. Instead they called a cab and told us "these are the same cabs that run the tours so you should be ok". The should was not the best thing to hear. We were told there was duty free shopping and were expecting to go to a big shopping area. We arrived in the middle of town where we only saw 3 other tourist and there was nothing for shopping unless you were looking for watches, gold or diamonds. We did not feel safe in the area what so ever. We were supposed to stay there for 2 hours and ended up calling the cab back 20 minutes later. We were not impressed and do not recommend the shopping.

The last 2 days of the trip I did get really sick from the water. After a few hours we called for the nurse and found out that they have no medical staff after 11pm and that we would have to pay to have a doctor come on site. They also had no medications what so ever at the front desk and were not willing to go to the gift shop to get any. This was not the best way to end the trip.
Overall we did have a good time, it was a very relaxing honeymoon. We may visit another sandals resort in the future just not for so long.

Room Tip: For the best time get a butler room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank samanthal_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed for 7 days to celebrate our 5th Anniversary from 10/25-10/31/12. Weather was perfect (85ish). Resort staff, facilities and food were all well above average to excellent. Stingray and segway tours were great. Upgraded upon arrival which was nice. Only complaint I have were the employees at the tour desk, extremely rude and ignorant every time we dealt with them, tour guides however far exceeded expectations and were excellent. Only advice is to ask lots of questions of the staff because a lot of things you can do for "free" aren't necessarily talked about.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesdale, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I highly recommend this resort to relax and unwind. This was our goal for our 20th anniversary. Sandals was so kind to help us celebrate with flowers and champagne. We even got a room upgrade to concierge. We loved hanging out by the pool everyday, we floated in the water, read a book and enjoyed the swim up bar. The food was fabulous and we had a lot of choices. My favorite was Eleanor's. We went snorkeling one day which was fun. We also enjoyed a couples massage at the spa which was magical! Everything about our stay was perfect...I highly recommend you visit Sandals Grande Antigua for your next vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had our destination wedding at Sandals Grande Antigua our overall experience was the most memorable experience we have ever had, we would go back in a heartbeat!! Our wedding was set in a gazebo right next to the beach and our wedding coordinations were simply the best ever....we put our trust in them and they made our dreams come true!!!! The resort staff, restaurants, & beaches were amazing....10 days wasn't enough the beautiful gardens throughout the entire resort was breath taking!! We are going to highly recommend this resort to all our friends & family....we never lifted a finger nor a wallet...the memories will last a life time....we are seriously thinking of going back for our 1 year wedding anniversary!!

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms walkout to the pools are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sandals Grand Antigua in the beginning of October! It was their slow season so the resort was pretty clam and not-over populated, which was nice. When we first got there we were upgraded to a concierge room. We stayed on the Caribbean side. Even though our room didn't have an ocean view we were right across from the sand volley ball court, which my husband was happy about! The staff was so nice. We did not encounter one person who was not friendly! The ladies at the front desk were so nice and helpful and made sure to say hello every morning. The food was amazing! You won't go hungry here! Breakfast was great at Bayside and Mario's. For lunch the best place was Barefoot! Mario's serves pizza for lunch which is also really good if you want to pick it up and take it back to the pool or beach. For dinner you MUST go to the hibachi restaurant, Kimonos. It was a lot of amazing food. Go very hungry! Elenors is also a must and make sure to make reservations! We spent most of our mornings on the beach and taking advantage of all the water activities that are available. We kayaked, paddle-boarded, sailed, and went snorkeling. The resort has free snorkeling so take advantage of that instead of paying for a snorkeling excursion. The water was so clear and the beach was beautiful. I know other reviewers have said the vendors are annoying but if you politely tell them "no, thank you" they will leave you alone. After lunch we spent most of our time at the smaller swim up bar pool. It was across from our room and they had water volley ball games almost every afternoon. I would enjoy some cocktails while my husband played. There was nightly entertainment and make sure to go to the Caribbean night. They serve dinner on the beach and have live entertainment. We usually ended our night at the Criketers Pub which always had a dj.
My only suggestions would be to bring bug spray. Believe it or not but Antigua is a tropical island and there will be bugs!! Nothing crazy you won't even see them but you will notice bug bites. Just spray some bug spray on and enjoy your trip. If bugs are something that would be keeping you from going then maybe your better off staying home. Bring extra sun screen because its surprising how fast you will go through a bottle!
If we were to do the trip again I would have booked for 10 nights!! Our honeymoon was amazing, the resort exceeded my expectations, and we WILL be back again soon!

Room Tip: Stay on the Caribbean side for a more tropical feel. It was more romantic and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
3.8 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,217 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
#1 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

Property: Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Address: Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A European Hotel in the Six-Star, all-suite Mediterranean Village •Exotic Rondoval with private plunge pool and butler service •1,400 square foot Mediterranean villa with private plunge pool and butler service•Houses the East Caribbean's largest pool (1 of 6) •Offers 9 dining options and 8 bars including an English pub •Voted "World's Most Romantic Resort" 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Antigua Hotel St. John`s
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa
Sandals Antigua
Hotel Sandals Grande Antigua
Sandals Grand Antigua
Antigua Sandals
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing