We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't listen to Canadians”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I went for the cricket. I read the reviews and thought "oh my God" what have I done! It was brill. the rooms did need an upgrade, they were tired. But I can honestly say I loved it. Room 202 10 yards from the beautiful beach I didn't care about cold water and how clean the grouting was! The food was lovely, the 2 meals on the pier could not be beat for location. Anyone that moans about this place should shut up pay double and go to sandals. All in all well worth it. Staff lovely and the island beautiful.

Tips:
Keep your empty water bottles from plane
Take insect repellant although I found the bites didn't itch for long
Do go on the round the island catamaran
Buy aloe Vera from the guy on the beach, good for red skin and bites
Don't read reviews from Canadians especially the French ones!

Room Tip: Pay extra for 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

921 - 927 of 2,180 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Halcyon Cove sits on one of the best beaches in Antigua and it is an excellent location.
The weather was perfect and the staff is doing the best they can with what they have to work with . The nightly entertainment was great , the staff in the dining area and bars were all friendly and accommodating. Mario, the Duty Manager was very helpful in resolving issues that I had. Thanks Mario. As previous reviewers have said this property is to say the least ,"dated" . It is in serious need of a makeover. Management needs to attend to some basic issues that won't cost a lot of money[ if they are interested in their guests comfort], starting with supplying each room with Hand Towels, Face Cloths, and a box of tissues. a spare roll of toilet tissue would also be a good idea.
Even a 3 Star hotel should have these items covered.

The Towel Hut at poolside should be open from 9am to 5pm and not just between the hours of 9am to 11 am and 3pm to 5pm.Should you want to leave the beach at 2pm and go somewhere you have to take your wet towel to your room as the towel hut is closed then. The cabanas on the beach all need to have their roofs refinished as they no longer provide enough shade due to the large holes in them . When we were there they were fixing the lights on the walkways and hallways as most of them were not working .They are working on the property but it only seems to be band aid fixes.
While I booked this hotel fully aware that it was a 3 Star property I was not prepared for what I experienced.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GUY-CAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Having visited this hotel four years ago we had a good idea what to expect and things haven't changed an awful lot. I am quite disappointed with some of the negative comments which have recently been reviewed. The big difference from four years ago was the fact that the hotel was very busy. I know this is very good for the Rex and improvements works were being carried out whilst we were there. We were lucky to be given a lovely beach room which was very comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The beach is beautiful. The beaches are public so there are a few vendors who are trying to earn a living. They are friendly and just a simple 'no thank you' if you're not interested and they are on their way. Some of them are hilarious especially the 'Aloe Vera Man'! "Big up" to him!

This hotel is a 3 star hotel at 3 star prices but 5 star service. Having travelled all around the Caribbean this is a typical 3 star hotel. If you want to upgrade go next door to Sandals but it will cost you 2 to 3 times as much again.

The food is good, the Warri Pier is worth a visit and the entertainment is the best in the Caribbean

We will return hopefully sooner than later but in the meantime good work Rex. Thank you.

Room Tip: The pool or beach front rooms are worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skevsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Well spent week here lovely staff .very helpfully jolly always smiling.beach lovely white sand blue-clear sea .food tops different daily.try cocktails Antigua smile .was lush.entertainment every night .rooms big sea views from most .pool was Luke warm nice.thanks to all staff Fenton is on go all day he crazy dude.and to heelen the little Ray of Antigua sun shine x to you all

Room Tip: Just ask for sea view .cost bit more but you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sax1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We returned 3-10-14 after 10 days at the Halcyon. This happened to be during cricket with the UK vs West Indies which made things at our resort and at all of the other resorts I presume, to be quite hectic. Once the cricket-teers left, things settled down. We stayed in a beach front room #382 upper floor with a balcony as requested. The room, bed, pillows, shower, and cleanliness all met our expectations. We do not choose all inclusive normally due to not wanting to eat at the same venue for extended periods of time but the price at the Halcyon with very good drinks and average food included was cheaper than our next choice without anything included. The regular staff was all very friendly and pleasant to talk with, the trainees need additional guidance from the senior staff.
For us, a car is always essential and was well used on this trip. Shirley Heights, Half Moon Bay, Nelson’s Dock Yard, Jolly Harbor, Jacquie O’s, Long Bay, several forts and Saturday market, were all fun.
Excellent four hour fishing trip with Captain Rivi on the Pacific Marlin out of Jolly Harbor produced five Barracuda, two King Fish, two Black Fin Tuna, and a good size Mahi Mahi, highly recommend Captain Rivi and mates!
Walk or drive to the Clouds (closed restaurant) just up the hill to the left as you leave the resort for a wonderful view.
Definitely take a snorkel trip with Splish Splash at the North end of Halcyon beach. Ashton gave us a wonderful trip to Paradise Reef. Ashton is by far, the most knowledgeable person regarding all aspects of the local ocean ecology and it was really a pleasure to be with him for a few hours. This trip was far better than the Wadadli catamaran trip to Cades reef (stiff currents with a big crowd). Ashton will not offer you a rum punch but he will educate you on things that matter if you love to snorkel as we do. Get the rum punch for free at the hotel when you return. Good luck Ashton on your six week rowing trip to the Canary Islands (you must have big ones if you know what I mean).
We found the nightly entertainment to be very entertaining. Not cheesy at all (except for Karaoke night). We really did appreciate the hard work that was put in to all of the shows. Sunday nights are quiet due to most people going to Shirley Heights.
Dinner at the Warier Pier was unremarkable; dinner at Coconut Grove was excellent.
Day trip to Montserrat was an eleven hour day with just 4.5 hour tour including lunch, but was well worth it (Jenny’s tour with ferry from Saint John’s). Be sure to bring your departure ticket, passport and a pen, you will need to fill out plenty of paperwork for immigration and customs.
We wish that we had taken a kayak to just around the corner to a couple of private beaches that we did not know were there until after our Splish Splash trip, then it was too late for us. You will hear Michael on the beach, he is selling trips Prickly Pear, wish we had done that as well but ran out of time.

Room Tip: We loved room 382 (can hear the waves). We saw several rooms that would not have been good for our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tallguyStonington_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just had two weeks at this hotel - DO NOT GO NEAR IT ! - after suffering the first THREE DAYS without any hot water at all in a very small and not nice room - indeed, the tap was hanging off the sink ! - we were moved to a better room - (a pool room.) However the hot water thing was EVENTUALLY put right. The food was quite incredible - one day absolutely lovely - the next day DREADFUL - how they did that I cant imagine. The staff were very nice and agreed with all my complaints but took an awful long time to do anything ! You must be up by 6am to get a nice sunbed on the beach - which was a really lovely beach. It really needs money spending on it to regain what I am sure it was many years ago - its a lovely situation. Breakfast was always excellent - evening meal changed dramatically as I said above - fabulous then awful the next day.

Room Tip: always book a POOL ROOM - vastly superior to the garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank highf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Enjoyable stay! A/C was actually too cold! First few days.. We finally gave in and reported it! Problem was rectified pronto. Convenience store is available on site so you can buy milk for coffee machine, etc. if need be.

Beach is lovely! Get down there early to get a beach table and chairs. Walk past Sandals, etc. to the Coconut Grove for a real rum punch! Plenty of vendors on the way to buy goodies from.

Food was good, lots of variety... Whether it was breakfast/dinner in the dining room or lunch at the beach. Just don't load up on everything every day and you won't tire of it! Props to Roxanne, Allick, Errol, Orlando, Dale and Fenton!

Try Wari Pier for an interesting dining experience, the waiting staff aren't too attentive.. Had to ask for coffee/tea after dinner, got the impression we couldn't finish our dinner and vacate the venue quick enough for them! Otherwise, the food was good, well presented when it did arrive, although appetizers soup/buns/salad were still self-service! The 'floor show' or should I say 'sea show' was quite interesting.. Several large fish and their prey showed up for a little drama! Lighting extends far enough for a good look.

Night entertainment was great! Lots of talented singers and musicians in Antigua!

Musts? Take a catamaran ride around the island (they pick you up right on the beach), take a island tour with Gary courtesy Transat Rep Marie. Check out Rhythm of Blue Art Gallery in English Harbour, have lunch at the Copper and Lumber Hotel in Nelson's Dockyard; and visit Silver Chelles and Zemi Art Gallery in historic Redcliffe Quay, St. Johns.

Would we go back again? Of course!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,944 reviews
7.3 mi away
Starfish Jolly Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,907 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#6 of 16 in St. John's
1,254 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $160 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing