We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff excellent food great beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff excellent food great beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

As others have said the hotel needs a face lift - our room 344 was large freshly painted clean fantastic sea view and beds comfy the bathroom needed a new bath but shower was good and lots of hot water; towels were a bit slow coming but eventually turned up.However the staff and food made up for this - Dale the chef produced amazing buffet every evening and breakfast superb no complaints - lunch good too. Swimming pool clean plenty of loungers - beach fantastic but new loungers needed plenty of them but old also sun shades in need updating . All in all great value for money you could pay another £2000 and stay at Sandals but same sun ,same beach and same loungers!! other guests appeared like minded and there was a very friendly ambiance about the resort.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tricia1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    770
    355
    181
    133
See reviews for
408
955
71
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our week’s stay at the Halycon Cove. Check-in was efficient and welcoming, our room was clean, a good size, with very comfortable beds and a lovely balcony with view over the pool area towards the sea.
The location was perfect; just along the beach from Sandals, white sand, clear blue sea - but mind the “step” into the water, easier to get in at the far right hand side of the beach if you are a wuss like me. Stunning sunsets
Food was fresh, well cooked, plentiful and reasonably varied: lunch excellent with burgers, curries, fresh vegetables and salads and lovely ice cream in lots of flavours. Another plus was the coffee machine at the beach bar available all day. We had no problem booking the Warri pier for what days and times we wanted, and both evenings were a delight; hard to imagine a lovelier setting for dinner (apart from the Coconut Grove restaurant at the other end of the beach, go there for a treat)
Entertainment, although not to everyone’s taste, was lively and fun, and everything stopped at 11pm so no problem getting an early night if you wanted one.
All staff were helpful and friendly.
Only real gripes, as mentioned by previous correspondents, were the provision of towels which were not always replaced, and evening meal was a bit “school dinners”, just needing slicker service and organisation, but food was very nice
So if you want luxury and glamour, go elsewhere and pay a fortune; if you want a good value, fun, relaxed holiday in a beautiful setting I would highly recommend the Halycon Cove.

Room Tip: I think you have to pay a little extra for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueB23London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed at the Halcyon Cove for 2 beautiful weeks, mid to end February and had an amazing time. Having read some of the bad reviews I was a little nervous on my way there but I can honestly say I do not understand what all the negative remarks are about. I have stayed in a number of 5 star hotels over the last few years so I do have rather high standards and I can genuinely say this 3 star was a good one. Yes, it could do with a refurb in some areas and service was sometimes a little slow but the rest was tip top.

The best thing about this place is the location, it is located on the beach which is everything I imagined a Caribbean beach should be - white sand, turquoise water and palm trees. We were lucky enough to have a sea view. You can also walk for a mile along the beach, there's loads to see and do, the Sandals resort is just next door which proves the location is a good one!

The food is tasty and there's so much choice, especially at Breakfast and dinner. I loved the weekly BBQ down by the beach, the King Fish was amazing. The only downside is that you have to buy bottled water (most people drink the tap water but I didn't want to risk it).

Our room (350) was great - comfortable bed, good aircon, always clean. I would have liked a more modern bathroom but it did the job. Beautiful sea view and a sunny balcony.

Entertainment every night except Sunday, some great bands and lots of dancing.

Wifi is available for free pretty much everywhere, even on the beach!

We did a few trips, I'd recommend them all but the boat trip to Prickly Pear Island booked with beach seller Michael was an amazing, unforgettable experience. We also took the Excellence boat trip which sails around the island, some amazing views and great service on board the boat (if you are scared of big waves though, this isn't the trip for you!). A trip to the local town of St James is worth a look - mainly to see the cruise ships and look round the shops for a couple of hours.

Everyone raves about Shelly Heights on a Sunday, yes it is fun but not worth the hype. It's basically a little music festival with a nice view.

We also spent the day at the sister hotel called 'Hawksbill' which was a nice day out, 20 mins in a cab. Just ask reception to call them in advance and check they will accept you. You can use all the usual all inclusive facilities.

Weather was fab, it does rain occasionally but only for 15 mins then you can return to your sun lounger.

So, book this place today, you'll have a fantastic time!

Room Tip: Pick room 350 - sea view and close to everything. Some rooms don't have a balcony, make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

On arriving a little disappointed in room hotel has a rather tired look, room 393 , wasn't expecting too much from reviews read , but beds clean and very comfy , good shower, flat screen tv ,hair dryer , toiletries , coffee machine, daily room service with towels . Pool area clean and pool towels ok. Food was very good always a choice what more can you expect from a three star hotel! position on beach ideal. The gentleman in the lobby on tour desk Dwaine was so very helpful as was Orlando in the reception cocktail bar, the taxi's at hotel very good especially a Mr Cole these type of helpful people can make people's holidays run so well . Stayed 17nights from 11 th feb to the 28th could have stayed longer very relaxing. If anything hotel a little isolated although on perfect beach .

Room Tip: Our room 393 was ideal just in from reception second floor good air con and not noisy. A sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S5polly37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Halcyon Cove for an enjoyable weeks holiday in February.
Having previously stayed in 4 star resorts in Barbados and St Lucia we were a little unsure of staying at a 3 star hotel, but booking only 4 weeks before meant there was less choice of hotels and this fit our budget.

The Room
We stayed in a poolside room which we were pleased with. The Room was spacious, light and clean. We had a king sized bed which was comfortable and a single bed for our child. The Room was furnished with everything we needed, including two English plugs, decent hairdryer,flat screen tv, coffee machine and fridge. There was plenty of storage.The air con was efficient if a little noisy.The patio opened on to the swimming pool area. Yes you can hear some noise from the entertainment at night which goes on until 11,but our child was either so tired that he went to sleep anyway or he wanted to be there dancing to it.

Food
We were pleasantly surprised with the standard of the food.At breakfast there were lots of choices and the food was hot and fresh, including omelettes cooked to order.In the evenings we ate at the Arawak Terrace, at the BBQ,and at the Warri Pier for two evenings.The Warri Pier is a nice setting and we had the Lobster one evening and enjoyed it but to be honest you can walk down the beach to Coconut Grove and pay not much more than the supplement at the Warri Pier.
We ate lunch at the beach side several days and were happy with the choices, grilled fish,pasta and meatballs, fresh made wraps, ice creams etc.
Wherever we where at the hotel we never waited long to be seated or served.
The Argentinean wine went down well as did the cocktails.

Children's Meals
These do not seem to be very well advertised but are available for Dinner - you just need to pre-order from reception. This is great if you have a fussy eater.They were delivered to wherever we were eating and went down well with our child.

Pool and Beach
The pool never seemed very busy and there always seemed to be spare loungers around.
There is a beautiful beach with lovely white sand. The sun loungers with shade do go early but we always saw other ones available later on. Beach towels are supplied but are very small and we would advise you to take some yourself.
We took a canoe out and a member of staff took us out on a hobby cat because we did not have enough experience.

Staff
We found staff to be friendly and helpful.Service was generally good especially when we compared it to a couple of beach bars we went to on days out. The staff at the tour desk where helpful with information generally and booked places for us at Stingray city.

Trips Out
We hired a car at a reasonable rate from the hire car office at the hotel.There is also a taxi rank there.
Whilst it is true that there are not many road signs on the island you only needed to stop and ask and people were very helpful.The biggest hazard on the road are the speed humps.
We visited Shirley Heights for the Sunday night party but it was very crowded and we preferred visiting it for lunch after we went to see Nelsons Dockyard.
Also enjoyed a great trip to Stingray City which we all really enjoyed, and we went on to Long bay to the beach afterwards.

This hotel may not be the best on the island, but we found it good value and a good place to stay whilst visiting Antigua which has a limitless supply of great beaches.
All in all a great holiday.


Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mike6668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
We appreciate your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation at Halcyon Cove.
Looking forward to your next visit in the near future.
Thank you.

N. Chahwan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Cheap ( for the Caribbean) & cheerful (most of the time)! We stayed at Halcyon Cove for two weeks from 11-25 February & enjoyed a relaxing holiday. The strength of the hotel is its location and the people, both staff and fellow guests, who were for the most part very friendly and accommodating. Folks should remember the adage 'do as you would be done by', we found smiles, politeness and respect were reciprocated whereas rudeness brought little benefit.
Our room, 390 just up from reception, was perfectly adequate if a little scruffy. The bed was clean and comfortable and our maid changed linen, towels and toiletries/ provisions regularly. Everything worked, bathroom ( no problem with hot water or discoloration), room safe, fridge, coffee machine, flat screen TV, hair drier & air con unit which from time to time had a mind of its own and was rather noisy.
Food was adequate and plentiful with good choice, perhaps part of the problem, causing others to complain, was the visual presentation & inconsistent delegation of tasks to staff. Management might like to consider replacing the battered old serving containers with their ill fitting lids with modern bain marie and overhead lighting which keep food warm & enable the customer to view the selection of dishes on offer before making a choice. Remember people eat with their eyes first. The kitchen and waiting staff seemed to work very hard under sometimes difficult conditions. We dined on Warri Pier a couple of times but honestly didn't think the hassle of obtaining a reservation was worth it. The ambience is good but the food was the same as in the main restaurant with less choice and only the main course plated up and served at table. The pier is an under used resource which would make an excellent wedding/party venue or could be used for a quieter socialising area in the evenings.
We would recommend Pelican Tours for an interesting and informative day out visiting all the main tourist attractions on the island. Alvin, our driver, was great, very out going, well versed in the history of the island and serenaded us with his wonderful voice. All in all a special day.
One tip which may be useful. The hotel reception will change money but only cash or travellers cheques, not credit card, ( max £ 50 quoted) and changes into Eastern Caribbean Dollars. Both EC Dollars and US Dollars are widely accepted but have different exchange rates so you need to keep your wits about you when out shopping.
There is great potential here but room for improvement in overall management. Senior managers seem to be cruising leaving more junior staff to firefight and deal with dissatisfied customers. It seems as though the parent company is starving this place of the funds necessary to bring the hotel up to modern standards. A business strategy? Fill the rooms, sell it cheap, exploit trainee & loyal local staff? We thank them all for doing their best to give us a good holiday.

Room Tip: 390, garden view functioned well, was close to facilities and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FracophileYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remark and observations and pleased that you choose Halcyon Cove as your vacation destination.
We valued your business and looking forward to your next visit.
Regards.
N. Chahwan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel complex is not suitable for disabled persons. Two flights of stairs being necessary to access the restaurant. The hard of hearing will be pleased to know that the music, singing and many conversations are conducted at a very high level.

Location is as one would expect, gorgeous white sands, beautiful turquoise sea and constant warm sunshine, albeit broken up occasionally with seasonal heavy downpours. Free water sports and exercise sessions a great attraction.

Staff generally warm obliging and cooperative: With the odd exception! Management often seemed unaware of many organisational failings.

Food! Many people report the food as being good. It depends on your taste!

For a 3 star resort. I guess this is what you get.

Failings apart. We did have a very nice holiday and made many new friends.

Roger/Beri

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for a pool side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments and glad you had a nice holiday overall. We do have facilities for disable dinning at the Pier using the ramp to access and the Carib bar where lunch is served is accessible as well.
Breakfast can be served downstairs on request as usual.
Thank you for being our guest and look forward to your next visit.
Regards.
N.Chahwan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#10 of 15 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
12.6 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Property: Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing