We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this resort Feb 2-9
Was not happy with first room 525. Room outdated. Bedspread not clean!!!!did not want to unpack. Thought we'd made a big mistake coming here! Bathroom had facet that was not attached properly. Tub so old and worn that it looked dirty,rusty,mouldy. We felt uncomfortable having shower. Complained immediately, was told they were full and to check next day. Would give it a 1 star.
Did not unpack. Unfortunately overview of resort looked dated!

Was moved on the 5th to 393 near lobby. Fantastic. Room was brighter. Bathroom updated. Linens new/clean ! finally unpacked.
Our overview of the resort changed drastically once we were happy with accommodations. Would give it a 4 star.
Beautiful resort. Most of staff amazing. Food was great. Lots of choice. Chef Dale great job ! Lisa amazing at omelets always had a smile. Great worker. Bernadette was a great server. Dolsten and Orlando fantastic bartenders. Really enjoyed our time in the boat with Ashton and Sherika. Learned a lot about Antigua. Had a wonderful tour in SUV with Gary as our guide
Beach beautiful !
Would recommend resort and would return only if got updated bathroom. It's a shame that they are still having guests staying in rooms that should NOT be used.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    754
    351
    180
    131
See reviews for
401
937
69
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I have been to Antigua quite a few times now, and usually stay at the paradise which is Blue Waters. However, on this occasion, paradise was full, and Halcyon Cove is just around the corner (and much cheaper) I think it's safe to say that in future, i'll stick with what i know.
Upon arriving late afternoon after an 8 hour flight from London, I was not impressed at the welcome I received. No nice rum punch and cool face wipes and I had to wait nearly an hour for my room. During this hour, i attempted to get a rum punch from the bar in the lobby....but the bar was closed (opens at 6pm)

When I finally got to my room, i was pleasantly surprised (I later found out we had been upgraded from a lead-in category to a pool view) The room was a very good size, with a patio/terrace, and practically on the beach. The beds were a little hard, but that wasn't a problem. I did find there was minimal lighting in the room...it definitely could've been brighter. Other than that, the bedroom was ok.
The bathroom, however, was a different story. There were no shelves for toilettries and the bathroom itself was very dingey. The shower looked like it could be good, but lots of the little jets were blocked, meaning water trickled out. Being female with long hair, washing it took forever. Also, the water was brown...eeew. I did make staff aware of this, though nothing was done about it.
Next stop was the beach....Dickenson Bay. Absolutely beautiful beach, with some really friendly vendors...They weren't too much hassle. As soon as i told them i knew quite a few locals and didnt need any of the junk they were selling, the either left me alone, or became quite good friends to chat to throughout the day. All in all, absolutely no complaints about the beach.
Onto the restaurants..Gaaahhhhh. Breakfast was like the whole hotel descending on the breakfast room at the same time. No staff to see us to a table. We would have to ask for a coffee about 3 times and it generally wasnt very nice. We later found that breakfast was also available by the pool bar, so we gave that a go. Marginally better, but only as there weren't so many people there! That changed at lunchtime though. Nowhere to sit as there aren't enough spaces, a salad bar consisting of lettuce and beetroot, and a hot buffet consisting of pasta or burgers and hot dogs.
After speaking with one of the duty managers (i think mario....lovely guy!) about all of my little complaints, more salad dishes materialised, and we were offered a complimentary dinner at Warri Pier. This was a very nice gesture, and the dinner itself was superb, with a beautiful setting.
I did encounter a few rude staff....one or two at the pool bar, and one in particular in housekeeping.
The grounds of the hotel are ok. They do need maintaining more, lots of cracks in pathways, paint needed on walls etc.
A nice touch was on departure and having a late flight, Mario had arranged us another room we could move to until we left after checking out.
All in all, my holiday was only OK. I wouldn't return, and will definitely be sticking with what i know. But if you're after something cheap, and arent planning on spending much time at the hotel, then this will be fine.

Room Tip: Try to get a pool or oceanview room, they are much bigger, and if you overlook the beach, it's l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. John's hotels

Fonthill, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We have been to this resort 4 times now! If you need a five star resort with something on the go all the time, and ice sculptures at the buffet, the Halcyon will not be for you. But...if you would like a smaller, friendly, relaxing resort in a great location, we can recommend it! The resort is older and different areas have been updated each time we've arrived. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean, if a little tired looking. We had booked a garden room, but were given one on the third floor (no elevators!), which, although not ocean front, had a (limited) ocean view-very lovely at sunset. The buffet restaurant is large and open air. The ala carte restaurant is built at the end of a short pier, over the water, and is very romantic-old creaky wooden floors, white gingerbread trim in the window openings, and the most beautiful view, both in the daytime and after dark, as the lights come on around the bay. A new chef arrived at Halcyon a year ago, and the food is now tastier, more varied and more interesting than previously- excellent soups and desserts! New, to us at least, this year- breakfast served not only in the buffet restaurant, but also outside at the beachside restaurant- wonderful! The frontline staff are very friendly- we enjoy seeing our favourites when we return each time. The beach is great-usually fairly calm and long enough for a good walk. There is some entertainment each evening, often local bands or dance troupes, but nothing too elaborate, with the exception of the Fire Man performance!
At the risk of becoming one of those couples who have been "going to the same resort for 28 years in a row", we would love to return to the Halcyon, and probably will!

Room Tip: We had booked a garden room (least expensive option) but were given room 350, which had a (limited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

It was late when we arrived and had to wait for someone to check us in (about 1 hour and it was around midnight). The temperature was very hot and we were not even offered a bottle of water. The room was extremely hot! The air conditioner could not keep the room cool day or night. Cleaning stuff was left in the shower and made it very slick! I actually fell! The food was ok but, nothing great.

Room Tip: The catamaran that meets at Sandals (same beach area) is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyhass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

So I booked here for what I thought was cheap for this island, but would I spend the money again, probably not. I have stayed in a lot worse and a lot better places for less. It is a short distance from the airport which was nice, upon check in we were one of the first small buses there so that was good, we received our keys, front desk was not extremely helpful but maybe because it was late. Upon getting to our room we were in the very back 700's I believe third floor all stairs, at first I was like hey it will be good for us, but when it was 30+ degrees not so fun lol, the only good thing about this room was our view from our balcony, it was perfect, everything else in the room was 2 star at best, shower was old and trickled water, sing was short and falling apart, the room was probably not one of the upgraded ones, the air conditioner is what pushed us over the top though it sounded like a jet plain taking off, so I went back to the lobby spoke with the manager and apparently they were full and could not move us... I have heard that before, so I had to come back the next day. The next day I went back 3 or 4 times waiting around with our bags packed and the room wasn't ready, at last after spending my day in the lobby they moved us right beside the lobby! Worst spot ever for a light sleeper, you could hear every maid or person walk in and out of the lobby, I am pretty sure our room was one of the only few without a view as well, I told the manager and he stated it was all they had. Food at this resort was ok for all inclusive I never had anything bad, except the a la carte was a joke don't waste your time! It was impossible to make a reservation and once in it was the same food as the buffet. Pool was closed on and off when we were there, beach chairs were not usually available and if they were it was on the wrong side, where cruise ship people tried to charge you for using them. The view and beach were nice, if you are looking our I found the left side to be less of a drop. Bartenders were all good. Complaint staff wise would be ackmund I think his name was the nighttime manager, he was incredibly rude. It was 12:00 and the resort was shut down and lobby was empty and I was having a smoke while speaking with a friend back home, and he rudely chased me out as I stepped into the front turn about out from under the roof he told me I had to go to the otherside of the parking lot, I was outside! He then told me to quite smoking and continued watching tv. All in all if you fight for the right room, use this resort as a home base because there is nothing to do, rare to have entertainment, or games.

Room Tip: No complaints from people staying pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend spent 10 days here from the 29 January and I read all the reviews here before booking and wasn't put off thinking that a lot of the chatter was probably unjust however after spending 10 days in this hotel I would definitely not return here as our experience was marred by several negative things that are actually important when booking an all inclusive holiday. I have holidayed all inclusive al over the world including Egypt and the Dominican Republic where reputation is critical sometimes of the food but this hotel served by far the worst meals ever I have encountered. Firstly I've never had to book a time to eat at an all inclusive restaurant then stand there watching 2 staff running around trying to seat the huge queue flowing out the door as we all stand there hungry. Seriously understaffed and over booked and when you eventually get to you food it was cold, unappetising, lacking in imagination and trying to get a smile out of the chefs was a non starter. The lunches served at the beach everyday were acceptable however. Quite often the food would run out so you'd have to stand there as your other food got even colder waiting for more to come out, and 3 toasters for over 100 people waiting for breakfast was a joke.
Several times I attempted to use the on site shop only to find it close as I chased the reception staff for whoever was supposed to be working there.
Trying to get a sun bed in the morning was a joke, if you're not up at 5:30 and putting your towel on a sun bed you might as well give up, I'm not a fan of hotels that do not enforce a no reserving sun bed policy as most of the time these beds were empty until people could be bothered turning up to use them sometimes even after 11am. The beach bar was filled with staff who really looked like they wanted to be somewhere else, even after tipping them they couldn't raise a smile.
Our room although acceptable (346) was situated next to what I can only presume a staff quarters and stunk of weed constantly and complaints fell on deaf ears...would be interested to see if anyone else who stayed in that room had the same problem.
Overall a lovely location, sadly let down by what I was told by several different people that the owner who doesn't live on the island just can't be bothered putting any money back in to the hotel.
I was aware it was a little run down...not a problem, but service is everything in a hotel and plainly the management haven't a clue how to run a hotel properly. Very sad

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveBoatCaptain75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Ensure you have your wrist band otherwise no drinks! Get to dinner early or there could be a queue for a table. After dinner have a digestif in the beach bar and listen to the fairly dull music. Go to bed early so you can grab a beach lounger, that has shade, at no later than 6.30 am. Although you might be better staying up and grabbing a chair at midnight. Despite what others have said, the beach is silky white with only a slight drop (12 inches) into the sea. Sunset is amazing – on a clear evening catch the green flash when the sun finally disappears. However, I do not believe that I will collect my “platinum” wristband that reflects a further visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterRjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
7.2 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#9 of 15 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,610 reviews
12.4 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Property: Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing