We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This beautiful little resort needs some TLC as the rooms are dated. The owners should invest some funds to fix the little huts at the beach and do some updates to the rooms. We didn't go to Antigua to spend time in the room so were satisfied that the room was spacious and clean. Remember this is a 3 star hotel although the food is far better than the 4 star on the other side of the island where we stayed previously, that being said the staff more than make up for it.
Many thanks to our bar staff Alek, Austin, Doulston and Heleen who always look after you. Special thanks to Alek and Austin for truly amazing service, great conversation and lots of laughs. I miss you already! Austin, karaoke and Bob Marley are awaiting you.
The food is amazing thanks to Dale our chef, I will truly miss the best fish ever. Roxanne will look after you in the restaurant and make sure that you have everything you need. Lunch and dinner offer a good variety of food, chicken, fish, burgers, and plenty of side dishes there is something for everyone.
The beach is perfect, sandy, mostly calm, lots of lounge chairs. The cruise ships have day excursions to this beach and the yellow shirt staff can be a little rude as they would like to take your spot at times insisting that you go to the other side of the beach. Hold your ground you are entitled to remain where you are.
Fenton and Errol do a great job with the activities and entertainment. Entertainment could be a steel band, singers or karaoke singers....
Devon and the general manager checked on us regularly to ensure we were okay.
Housekeeping do an amazing job keeping your room very clean. The water was a little brownish yellow at times in our room however doesn't seem to have hurt us. We had a little trouble with our safe however someone was there to fix it and make sure all was well.

The beach vendors are patient and a simple good morning and a polite no thank you will provide you with a peaceful day. They are not pushy or annoying. If booking a trip...go to Michael, he's the best! Prickly Pear Adventure was the best! Shirley Heights on a Sunday is absolutely the best thing you could do.

Looking forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Pool view ground floor is perfect, you have partial ocean view from your room. Rooms in the 220'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LAMSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

911 - 917 of 2,085 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed at the resort from 2nd to 10th jan 2014.

On arrival the resort looked ok, big open foyer. No welcome drink on arrival which is a bit poor. A nice porter carried our bags to room 260, in a 3 story block at the back, nice view of the beach which was a plus. The paveing around the resort is a bit worn in places and very slippery when wet.

The room was clean, very spacious with a balcony. The bathroom was also a good size, over shower bath with a curtain! Bit retro! The safe and aircon both worked fine for us and the queen size bed was super comfy. The bedding was clean and light.

So, the food...! Breakfast is an American type buffet served in the terrace that over looks the lobby, the sea and quite a lot of car park. There was quite a good choice, but the queue for toast was a pain. (two normal 2 slice toasters you would have a home don't quite cut it)

Lunch: is served in the beach bar. Barbequed fish and chicken and cheeseburgers and random stuff. All edible if a but repetitive. After 5 days we went along the beach and brought our own lunch.

Dinner: rubbish. Badly cooked repetitive food everyday, again we went out to eat.

The Warri Pier; (a la carte) you can eat here twice a week. Its not 'a la carte' by any means but the food is better. Starter: pay or help yourself to soup. Main: a decent selection but steak or lobster are extra. Dessert: buffet

The location of the hotel is good, Dickenson Bay is probably the busiest beach on the Island. Lovely clear warm water and soft sand. Loads of beach touts, but a polite no thank you and they leave you alone. Jet skis are available for hire, so lots of them wizzing about. Also sandals along the beach have lots of watersports for there guests so to sea can be busy.

Evening entertainment was ok, fireman, steel band, karaoke etc. Nothing else to do unless you take a taxi into St Johns.

To Summarise: If you just need a base and don't pay to much money to get away this is ok.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scemma04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Bear in mind this is a three star property which has the best beach call Dickenson Bay and to be honest the staff work so hard its unbelievable. Its a fifteen minutes ride from the airport and once you get to the hotel its more that sure you will realize the buildings were built in the seventies but just given a new look with some paint. i cant fault the room because the people there have no control over re building the place the owners need to fix the place up to match the lovely staff that work there. The restaurant is airy where we have breakfast but as everything else i guess the restaurant guy in charge dont look around the juice dispenser has issues and the same cloth on for breakfast is the same for dinner time and it has same spots, coffee machine also only gives hot water hit or miss, its the little things like this that we see everyday that we wonder if no ones sees. The guy that makes the eggs at breakfast needs to smile as well. Its the little things that matters all the girls in the restaurant are lovely. Be prepared to wait at the bar for drinks only the beach bar during the day and at nights the one in the foyer opens but still closes early, please put more personnel in the bar for better service. The food is ok but its not fair to guest to have same menu served at the buffet restaurant on the semi al a carte we feel cheated and the meals are to repetitive. Unlike some recent reviews we have been able to get room towels and beach towels and our room was cleaned every single day by lovely smiling ladies. The reception staff is brilliant and we were able to exchange money there as a matter of fact when we checked in a lovely lady Normaline was very kind to us and a young man Patrick took us to the room he explained everything to us and welcomed us he is a Trainee. The entertainment was not bad, there is a fire show which is awesome. The entertaiment people needs to get better lighting for the shows. We really love the hotel we had somes issues with safe, hot water and air con and Mario the duty manager had them sorted in record time, he is fantastic, he talks to guest and he is so understanding he represents his job well. If you have a problem while you are there ask for him. Check out is at 11am and it seems as if you have to follow the rule because as i sat in the lobby on day i heard one of the reception ladies Debbie being very angry at one of the guest, she had an attitude with them. I hope some of the management takes a page from the staff and be nice. Again its a pity the little things cant be seen before the guest sees.

Room Tip: rooms by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derreck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks and constructive comments so improvements can be made the way forward. Our customer service is our number one priority and we do believe in delivering a variety of choices on our menus.
Thank you again and looking forward to your next visit.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

If there was a 3.5 option here I would have given it. The place didn't quite reach 4 but I think it could. The hotel starts off on the back foot since the rooms are poor. I'm sure there are some modernised and nicer rooms in the hotel but I can only judge based on what I'm given. And I'm pretty sure what I was given was the lowest end! It's not that the room was dirty or anything, it was actually as clean as it could possibly be given the level of maintenance. The cleaners were nice and friendly people who can only do the best with what they're given. I think these rooms date from the 80s from the general design and the look from outside but I've not actually verified this. It's clear that the room had been updated from the 80s somewhere in the 90s (since there was now a little noisy fridge in the place where the large 80s tv used to be) but it's been downhill again since then. The room certainly needs another update (or complete refurb) to be even at a 3 star level. I've stayed in hostels that had a better overall standard of room. But at least the bed was comfortable! People who really care about the level of room should take heed of this because they will be disappointed, even with the amount of warning you get from trip advisor beforehand. I can't imagine how disappointed the people who don't read trip advisor (are there any??) might be when they arrive here.

Apart from that down point the resort itself was nice. The other guests staying there were also nice. There's a large mix of different nationalities here but it seemed to be dominated by Canadians and British. Halcyon advertise a dress code for the restaurant in their hotels but you're informed on arrival that it's a bit more relaxed. This is a good thing! But some people take that 'relaxed' thing a bit too far and appear to be eating in the shorts and t shirt they were wearing on the beach during the day. I'm not really sure why this even needs mentioned but it was an interesting observation. Basically, there's no enforcing of any kind of dress code at dinner.

The staff were by and large extremely pleasant. They did seem to be hugely overworked though and it wasn't uncommon to go for almost a whole meal without a drink. This didn't really annoy me because I could see the chaos all around as the place was clearly a bit understaffed at peak times. For my whole stay the staff were either extremely nice and friendly (the animation guys especially...sorry I don't remember names) or completely indifferent to me (this is ok!). I only experienced one bit of rudeness from a member of the bar staff but given how often I interacted with the bar staff this is pretty insignificant. So overall, the staff and the service level save this hotel. This is a great job from the staff here because they need to overcome the horrible level of the rooms and they do achieve it in the end.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thewelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMrexresorts, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks and observations which we will correct immediately.There is a renovation program in place the near future.We anticipate on your next visit you will notice the difference.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

As a frequent traveller to the Caribbean this place was by far the worst we have stayed in. Service in restaurants was very poor food was appalling with very limited variety.Not enough staff to cope with guests,in the restaurant you would have to wait to be allocated a table that was only half set, the menu had a very limited choice.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank LittleGorgeous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrexresortsanu, General Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

We are very sorry to hear that you received a poor service in the restaurant, we train our staff to deliver an excellent service and attend to every guest needs.Our buffets feature an ample variety of different items to suit every palate.
If any item you desire not available, just requested and the chef will be more then happy to accommodate you.
In any restaurant when tables are not available at times the guests might have to wait a few minutes to set the allocated table with basic flatware, glassware and during the course of the meal it will be replenished.
I hope this minor issues will not deter you from visiting us again in the near future as we always go beyond the call of duty to please our guests.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My family and I came here over Christmas and New Year and paid an absolute fortune for that very reason, however, apart from the beautiful island, gorgeous beach and sea, I am bitterly disappointed in what the hotel has to offer.
For the first four days, the room was cleaned, bath towels taken away and by 8pm they were still not replaced needing phone calls to chase this up!
The beach towels are meant to be given from a mini hut between 9-11am and 3 and 5pm! You are lucky to catch someone there at 9:30 and if and when someone does arrive, there will be no towels or they will have run out within ten minutes.
The food is of poor quality and the same stuff is rotated every two or three days. As a vegeterian I have very little choice and to say its an island where fruit should be in an abundance, you are lucky to get anything other than melon morning, afternoon and night. The hotel is dated and I believe their philosophy is get as many people in whether you can cope or not and give them the lowest quality cheapest food and produce you can. The staff are wonderful and do what they can with VERY limited resources! You get harassed by the occasional beach seller (Bug Eddie) to get them drinks from the all inclusive bar, and get to the point of complaining about this to staff who will not think of challenging them. There is never any management around to complain to. I have just seen a review from 2011 complaining of this very thing and surprise surprise it has still not been addressed! People like him ruin people's holidays!
The rooms are very basic and often the water is cold or tepid and often runs a dirt brown colour which I am assured is safe????
I have stayed in many different resorts in Antigua before, Cuba, Jamaica, St Lucia and Aruba so know what I'm talking about and these have ranged between 3 and 5 star!
The island is beautiful yes, but this resort is not!!!
It needs a managers presence and a massive overhaul as the basics are not being addressed!
People who give their holiday 5 star reviews must be talking about the island and holiday generally speaking, NOT ABOUT THIS RESORT WHICH IS WHAT THIS REVIEW IS!
I have spoken with Mario (Hotel manager) about my concerns and to be fair to him, he was fantastic . He listened, apologised and explained why the things I complained about had happened and said he was sorry he hadn't been able to change what had happened and arranged for us to keep the room on as had a late flight ! It was a small gesture but gratefully received but many reviews say the same thing and I'm not sure how much longer this hotel will be in the present owners hands! Maybe thus is why there's no cash being spent !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotfuzz1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrexresortsanu, Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay us. We sincerely apologize that the holiday was not to your satisfaction We have taken your comments very seriously and will definitely address some of the issues highlighted.
Regarding your comments on food being rotated, this is not the case. All food left over for any given day is discarded. Our products are always freshly prepared and cooked everyday. Tropical fruits can sometimes be scarce on the island as Antigua is not an agricultural based island and therefore have to depend on supply from neighboring islands. Our dependence on the supply which can sometimes be a bit challenging can affect our daily supply of tropical fruits. It would have been helpful if you had informed that you were vegetarian. Our chef would have gladly prepared meals to suit your taste as we have done in the past for persons with similar preferences.
We thank for your comments regarding how wonderful the staff and been and would certainly address your comment regarding the beach selling vendors and the issue with towels.
All my managers including myself are available at anytime to fulfill our guest needs at anytime.
I anticipate your visit in the near future to show you the improvements that will be taking place.
Thank you and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very typical carribbean resort but with a very good service. Food is good with great staff. Rooms could do with modernising and the bathrooms definitely need a makeover but the rooms are cleaned every day and sheets are changed. Beach is to die for

Room Tip: Beach facing room is a definite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmrexresortsanu, Manager at Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments and we are in process of upgrading our products and maintain it.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,888 reviews
7.3 mi away
Starfish Jolly Beach Resort
4.6 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#10 of 16 in St. John's
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#7 of 16 in St. John's
350 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $147 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing