We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Halcyon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our 9th visit to Antigua,our 7th stay at Halcyon Cove. Says it all really!

Travelled as a family ,daughters aged 9 and 11 on an all-inclusive holiday , august 2013
Stayed in poolside room,plenty of room for kingsize bed (really comfy)and two single beds( see my previous review for photo)

The hotel is a bit dated and tired in places yes,but then it is one of the older resorts in Antigua.
It is also very reasonably priced!

Im surprised about comments of cleanliness being poor, we had no issues at all.
The room was cleaned every day to a standard i cannot fault.
The pool was cleaned and tested every morning
Food areas were clean

Im a bit of a fussy eater,like my kids,but had no problems with the food offered
Warri Pier should be used more though.

Best beach on the island? Quite possibly
White sand,warm sea
Went kayaking ( free with AI at the watersports hut ) many times, mostly to go and see the turtle living by the rocks at the end of the beach
Went on a snorkelling trip to a coral reef with the kids ,and Ken at watersports hut. Very reasonable price and we all loved it,they were very helpful getting my youngest into the sea

Best hotel staff ? Most definitely
Fantastic people,cant fault anyone
Very friendly genuine people who made us feel so welcome once again.
Really miss them all

Halcyon Cove is a simple hotel,blessed with its position and its people.
It is not perfect, but we love it.

We hope to return again soon,to our paradise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

981 - 987 of 2,108 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visited during off peak season at the end of September and beginning of October 2013.
This is the perfect time to visit if you want an almost quite, private, secluded hotel and beach.

Hotel: 3* at best
A good, basic hotel that does need renovation though apparently it recently had one. Overall the gardens are well maintained and the hotel is very clean.

Room: 3/5
Recommend that you request pool view rooms and on the 1st floor; rooms are available either on ground or 1st floor. We had a connected room though not requested; please note that if you have fairly loud neighbours you will be able to hear them. The website accurately reflects what is provided in the rooms; basic and comfortable. The mattress is very soft. The water in the room was inconsistent i.e. sometimes brown. Do NOT drink the tap water.

Pool: 3/5
The pool is of reasonable size whilst the resort is empty but when at half or full capacity it would not be sufficient. Not regularly cleaned and in the afternoon there were bugs floating in the pool.

WiFi: 4/5
Best signal is in reception otherwise reasonably good around the resort including the Warri Pier Restaurant. Room had average connection.

Beach: 5/5
White, soft sand that is cleaned every morning; turquoise, warm sea. On the same beach as Sandals but at half the price. Please note that there are jelly fish the further out you go. As the beach is on the North West part of the Island the Caribbean sea is calmer.

Beach Activities: 3/5
Kayaks (1 & 2 person) and catamaran’s available. For motorised sports please check with the local vendors working on the beach and haggle the prices. You can easily knock off 10-20 US Dollars per person. Booking through the hotel is far more expensive. You can learn to sail with ‘Ken’ for 20 US Dollars for 30 minutes. The most disturbing information was that they charge 25 US dollars for ‘rescue’ for hotel guests i.e. if no wind and you need to be escorted back to shore.

Staff: 5/5
Excellent staff and an asset to the resort. Always friendly and going out of their way to help and make your stay memorable.

Housekeeping: 3/5
Had to ask almost every day for towels for 2 people and shampoo’s and conditioners. Housekeeper was confrontational and average i.e. level of cleaning and changing sheets varied.

Food: 4/5
As off peak season, the food offered was limited though sufficient. Freshly prepared and most evening meals were very good on the Pier. No Buffet dinner. BBQ lunches are almost the same every day but very good and again freshly prepared.

Drinks: 3/5
Very sweet syrups used, no fresh ingredients for soft drinks or cocktails. Staff did their best to accommodate. Large selection of alcohol but no branded drinks included. Very expensive otherwise.

Entertainment: 1/5
Out of the 10 days stay only 2 evenings had live music. Manager’s welcome drinks party did not take place.

Value: 3/5
For the same price you could go to more luxurious resorts i.e. Mexico but it depends what you are looking for.

Location: 4/5
Based in Dickenson Bay and certainly one of the best beaches on the Island. Most ‘tourist’ locations can be visited within 30-45 minutes by Taxi.

Miscellaneous:
Transport : Depending on length of stay it may be worth renting a car (20 US Dollars to register) as taxi’s are fairly expensive. Taxi from Airport is 16 US Dollars. For regular use of taxi’s its worth negotiating and arranging a taxi driver. Bus’s are cheap though not very efficient.

Money: US Dollars are accepted everywhere. Smaller shops will provide change in Caribbean Dollars.

People: please note that Antiguan’s are generally more direct in the way they speak, some at the resort took this as rudeness whereas it’s actually their way of life and speaking to the point. Please give benefit of the doubt.

Insect Repellent: definitely recommended and do request the hotel to spray your room every night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CustomerStandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here as part of a sponsored trip so I really had no say in the accommodation choice.

Pros:
The Beach is AWESOME! Clear, warm water and long expanse of beach
Staff is very friendly.
Best grilled talipia for lunch.
WIFI is very fast in the lobby and even at the beach.

Cons:
Even though the hotel had supposedly been refurbished just before we checked in it is still VERY run down in many areas. Public areas like outside of the rooms are grimy and walkways cracked and unpainted. I would not stay here again even for free.
Room was kept clean daily but furnishings were below par and the bathroom was dated and very old.
No ironing boards in room.
Food selection was bare minimum, not very tasty and drinks were only local brands.

Overall we made the best of it but I was very ready to come home after 5 days!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IslandBabe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Halcyon atmosphere and staff were excellent and friendly, positioned right on the beach was ideal the guy manning the boat activities was very helpful and offered to take the children on the kayak because they really wanted to have a go and im not a great swimmer. the food could have been a bit more exciting but the breakfasts, bbq nights and the desserts were fantastic. the beaches were beautiful but we did see jelly fish and sometimes people leave their food rubbish on the beach attracting the red ants but every few days it appears to be dealt with. The nearby sandals is often the down point only because in the evening they have a lot of entertainment lights and lively atmosphere where as halcyon is much quieter and the entertainment isn't always entertaining. Halcyon could do with some well deserved upgrades and maintenance but all in all it was great. The children really loved the pool too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natkayeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Me and my girlfriend have just got back from our holiday at Halcyon Cove and we both agree that the place was fantastic!

Room- Perfect for what we wanted, the balcony looked over the sea and the whole complex is right on the beach. We never ran into any problems whatsoever and the maids do a great job every day.

Staff- These guys were ace! Everybody is so friendly and they all go out of their way to make you feel welcome. From the chefs to the entertainment guys, we couldn't fault any of them (even if we wanted to!). We'd especially like to thank Fenton, Errol, Dolston, Margretta & Eggbert for making the trip a memorable one!

Beach- I've been to this beach before so I knew what to expect, but again, fantastic. The Warri Pier is great in the daytime and in the evening too! The water is crystal clear and the hotel beach bar is just over your shoulder. There are a handful of beach traders, we don't mind them because we love chatting to the locals but if they do bother you, just be clear that you're not interested and they'll leave you alone.

Food- The food is really nice, a good selection of meats and it's always really tasty. On Saturday nights there is a beach barbecue which is so good!


Overall we loved our trip here and we would definitely go again. The staff are brilliant and the whole feel of the place is a welcoming one. Thank you to everybody there who made our trip as great as it was, it won't be the last time you see us! :)

Room Tip: Definitely go sea view, you won't regret it! Also, take insect repellent (the mosquitos are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We are not worldly travellers, but we have been to Europe and I have spent 24 years in the armed forces traveling to many countries. Our experience of halcyon cove and Antigua leaves a warm glow in our hearts, not least because we have friends who live there but because it fulfilled every expectation of our honeymoon. Flights and transfers were as expected and once we arrived at the hotel the staff there were so friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble, but we did not feel crowded. Information was readily available and attention to detail was evident. Meals were an experience we both enjoyed, and the beach bar and area were fantastic. Trips to other areas are easily accomplished with the on site taxi service, who are always friendly and available. Finally we have to thank the entertainments staff, especially "Fenton" who insisted there were no alligators on site haha.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sepesvinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days over labor day weekend 2013. When I checked in, the first thing I noticed was there was hardly anyone else staying there. Seriously! Along with maybe a handful of people, this resort was completely empty. I stayed at a beachfront hotel room with a beautiful view (and a steal of a price!). Very quiet during the day. Almost eerily quiet at night. If you are coming here expecting lots of choices in terms of food and activities, forget about it. With the exception of dinner (which was always delicious), the food is always the same, day after day. Don't expect much variety. Night life? Nope. Just the crickets chirping. Maybe it's because I went in September when business is slow. I don't know. All I do know is this is if you want peace and quiet, come here. If you want to party and dance every night, go somewhere else. While this is an all-inclusive resort, its bare basics when it comes to drinks. No mini bar in hotel room. No bottled water. Local alcohol only. Premium vodka/wine/whiskey/beer costs extra. Avoid booking an excursion at the hotel activity desk. They mark up all their prices by $25 as a finder's fee for the hotel. Book them on the beach instead where prices are much more negotiable. I traveled to Barbuda for a day cruise through Tropical Tours for $125 and had a blast! Beautiful sister island! Got to see the pink sand beach too. Overall, I enjoyed staying here, but was somewhat disappointed in the quiet atmosphere. I was hoping for a little more energy. A final word of CAUTION: on the beach right in front of the hotel, there is a guy who roams back and forth along the ocean every day called Manny Jones. This guy is a true hustler. He carries a bag and book of receipts to make himself look like an authentic tour guide. Stay away from him. He will try to sell you anything and everything (with a 200% markup) so he can get your money. I made a big mistake of giving him a deposit for a nightlife trip, only to find out later the club I was going to closed down 6 months ago! Then when he picked me up that night, it wasn't even him. It was two other guys in a dark car with tinted windows. Needless to say, I didn't get inside. Then he still tried to convince me to go with him to this club (when I had already found it it closed down). You have been warned. Stay away from him. This guy is not to be trusted.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are beautiful, but smaller than typical rooms. Highest room is on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paymon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,913 reviews
7.3 mi away
Starfish Jolly Beach Resort
4.6 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#9 of 16 in St. John's
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#6 of 16 in St. John's
357 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $153 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing