We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Each time we book a new location for vacation, we feel like it's a bit of a gamble. We decided to roll the dice on the Halcyon Cove in Antigua this time and we are sure glad we did! As with most things, what works for some will not work for all but I have to say, this resort worked very well for us.
Our biggest factors when going on vacation are: clean rooms, good food, great beach. This one had it all. We were travelling with our teenage daughter, and some resorts would not allow 3 "adults" in one room but it was no problem at Halcyon. In fact, our room was huge - more than enough room for all three of us. Although I think we were considered "gardenview", we had a great ocean view. The room was very clean and cleaned spotless every day. Air conditioning worked great and kept us cool. The food was very tasty and there was no problem at all to find something to please each of us at each and every meal. (the pineapple crumble - to die for!) Beach was great! In fact, our beach was way better than the beach at the luxury resort next door. I echo other reviews that say there is not a lot of activities going on - again, this suits us just fine. We would rather seek out what we want than be bombarded. Evening entertainment was just enough for us. Beach vendors were respectful and polite - no issue there.
We did 3 excursions and would highly recommend each one. The "Best of Antigua" tour - a "private" tour (up to 4 people in a clean, comfortable SUV). Natasha was a fantastic tour guide who took us all over the island all day long and hit all the highlights, personallized to what we wanted to see ($100 each). Excellent! Also did the Stingray City - absolutely great experience and great value ($50 plus a taxi ride). A must do in our opinion, even though we are not fans of either water or fish! Finally, we did the Excellence Barbuda cruiser to the island of Barbuda for the day. 90 minute boat ride to the sister island, beach time at a couple of beaches including the famous pink sand, small boat tour to the Frigate bird sanctuary with the locals, and a great tasting lunch. ($150 per person)
We have travelled many places in the Caribbean and elsewhere and have lots to compare too. Antigua is definitely way up there on the list of places to return to.
If you are looking for a luxury accommodations and activity filled vacation, this may not be the place/resort for you. But if you are looking for a quality resort of great value, we highly recommend Halcyon Cove.

Room Tip: We were in the rear building - choose the 3rd floor for a great view! Lower 2 floors would "vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fourbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    774
    358
    182
    134
See reviews for
410
963
71
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Halcyon Rex on a Virgin holiday, on Dickenson bay. We chose this hotel as it was the cheapest we could find, on a Room only basis (we're not keen on all inclusive), that was on a beach. We had a Garden room but were lucky to get one with a sea view and close to the beach (room 359 on 2nd floor). Rooms were simply furnished, if slightly faded, with comfortable beds, functioning bath/shower,TV, fridge, tea/coffee maker, air con and large balcony. Minimal shampoos/soaps provided. Fresh towels daily and beach towels from the poolside. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the food but most people we spoke to were either B&B or all inclusive and seemed quite happy. Every Tuesday evening, there is a manager's cocktail party with nibbles and very generous amounts of rum punch and wines. Quite a sweet way to meet other guests too.

The hotel is on the quieter end of the beach and sun beds are provided. The rest of beach is taken up with Sandals (huge frontage) and some self-catering appartments. There are only really 2 restaurants on the beach - Pepperz n'Lime which does mexican food and has a lively atmosphere and Coconut Grove which is more fine dining. Both very good. There are 2 other hotels if you go outside the hotel driveway and bear slightly left, going up the hill - Opus (about 150 yards up the road) which is very nice but indoors and doesn't seem to get very busy and Bayhouse restaurant (part of Trade Winds hotel) another 400 yards further on, with a panoramic view over Dickenson Bay during the day but not much to see at night. The food was good but it was a set menu that night so we weren't able to sample their main menu. There are a couple of bars on the beach, Sneaky Petes and Tony's but, annoyingly, they only served light meals at lunch time if the cruise ships were in otherwise just drinks only.

There is a little shop called the Village Store down the side of Pepperz n'Lime which has limited supplies for food and cold drinks but there a are no other shops around. If you want a supermarket you have to take a taxi in towards St Johns and there is one en route called First Choice. Taxi fares are expensive and are set prices.

There are various boat trips one can do which are fun as well as trips inland. You can also swim with stingrays which is awesome if a little scary at first!

We both really enjoyed Antigua but it is an expensive island, for the locals as well as tourists. Going all inclusive may well work out cheaper overall but unfortunately the huge increase in all inclusive hotels is driving out the small businesses like restaurants, shops and bars who now rely on the influx of day visitors from the cruise ships to make any money. There are many beautiful beaches all round the island so wherever you decide to stay, the beach will be lovely ie white powdery sand, turquoise clear blue sea and coral reefs in various place for snorkelling.

Room Tip: The accommodation blocks consisted of ground, 1st and 2nd floors. There are no lifts and lots of st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CindersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice quiet vacation, small resort. The beach is wonderful. Food was good. Tea time was great,
No disco on site if you are looking for night life this is not the place for you.
I would suggest bringing your own towel. If you lose the one provided by the resort you are out $50.00.
This is a great place to relax and enjoy the sun....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandraK464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you're looking for an affordable, clean, no frills place, you found it. After reading some negative reviews, was very unsure of staying here, but turns our it really wasn't as bad as some people have written. Not everybody has the same expectations & opinions are personal, but remember this is a 3 star & the advertising is as stated. The property met, if not exceeded our expectations. The rooms are not "posh", but very standard & clean. Bed was comfortable, firm mattress, yes, but people would also complain if they were too "soft", so take your pick. We had clean sheets & towels every day. You could smell the nice freshness of clean when housekeepers were cleaning. Food was very decent & fresh. Property & beach kept very clean as well. Good, intimate layout. Our room area was very quiet, no noise from outside, other than birds chirping & the sound of the waves - ahhh - how peaceful....Some people complained about the variety of food & lack of activities, well, we had 3 square meals/day & went to afternoon tea, as for organized activities, yes, it lacks, but did not impact our vacation. Beach vendors weren't at all pushy - just 1 simple "no thank you" did it. Staff & service were excellent - didn't find they had their "hand out" for tips - very polite & proper people! The reviewer who claimed he saw a cockroach on the bar - really? How much did you have to drink? Anytime I see that pesky word, I worry - turned out to be unfounded!! A must do is the circumnavigation of the island on the Excellence yacht - breathtaking views! We were only only disappointed with the snorkelling, while the water is clean & clear, beneath was a bit murky, however we were told the time of year wasn`t the best, we still saw plenty of fish species & coral, but washed out. Power outages: the longest lasted about 60 seconds & wasn't everyday. Warri Pier was an excellent place to dine - we stuck to the AI menu, however, filet mignon & 1/2 lobster are offered at $41. Overall, I would recommend this resort if you`re looking for a quiet, affordable, no frills vacation. I would merely return for the excellent, friendly staff! Do not hesitate to ask any other questions, there is more to this resort than you may think or believe!

Room Tip: Gardenview room 257 - partial sea view & sounds of waves - peaceful & very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4BeachParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at Halcyon Cove in early February. There are numerous pros and cons to this resort. I'll start with the positive otherwise you might be too put off.
1. The beach is beautiful and shelves very gently for a cooling dip or safe swim.
2. The hotel rooms are very well cleaned
3. The bed was comfortable
4. The air con worked
5. An upper floor garden room also gives you a partial sea view
6. Most of the staff are very welcoming and helpful
7. You can pay one of the cab drivers an agreed price and he will take you on your own tour of the island. This enables you to get back when you want to. I would recommend Lesroy who was a delightful man who knew his island well and was a very good safe driver
8. The people selling on the beach are happy to accept a "no thank you" and offer good value for money with the products they sell
9. If you get burnt or suffer insect bites the "aloe vera man" who sells his product on the beach is the man to watch out for. It really works.
10. The pier restaurant is a very romantic place to have dinner and the food offers more variety than the buffet in the hotel.
11. The beach toilet block is regularly cleaned
12. Fenton the pool aerobics instructor and part time DJ is very entertaining and certainly gets you out of your stupor to use up some of the calories you are taking in.
13. The lunch grill and barbeque offers tasty food in a lovely location
14. Although the pool is not huge it is 4 feet across the whole area which enables all abilities to use the entire area of the pool. It never appeared crowded the whole time we were there.
15. The chineses lady who does massage and facials in the hotel is excellent
16. You get good value for your money

the downside is

1. The hotel needs a good refurb, which I we believe may be starting this year
2. The food although good does not have enough variety
3. Some of the staff look as though they would rather be anywhere else but I stress only some. the majority of the staff were approachable and helpful. What can start out as a caribbean relaxed attitude can eventually begin to feel like laziness.
4. They need more variety with the onsite shops
5. The evening entertainment can be a bit loud, but it does stop at a reasonable time. You can sit in the main lobby/bar area which is quieter in the evening


Some people refer to the arrival of cruiseliner passengers as being a disruption, They use beds which are the other side of the pier restaurant and we were there for a week before we realised what the beds were for. No disruption to us at all.

Would we recommend Halcyon Cove, if you are on a budget and want a beautiful beach and do not mind your menu being on the practical rather than fine dining end of the scale... yes we would.

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach bar will experience noise disturbance while evening entertainment is on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KTVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Large Clean Garden view Room, an extra table in the Room would have been good.
Very nice staff, drinks at the bar especially the Zombie was great, everyone should
try the ice cream.
Lovely Beach, did a lot of walking on the beach.
We had a good time at Halcyon Cove Antigua

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurasiancanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We booked this hotel to be close to a wedding at the blue waters hotel (amazing hotel) before moving to the other side of the island. We found the hotel to be VERY worn down and in need of a face lift. The food was poor with not a lot of choice as well as the seating area being very small. There is a pre book dining area but we could never get a seat. The main bar in the hotel never seemed to be open until the evenings. All drinks were served in little white plastic party cups (not good). As for the pool it was tiny for the size of the hotel, you are a lot better off going to the beach, which is very nice and very close, though there are lots of people trying to sell you stuff all day. The rooms were kept very clean and all had air con.

Room Tip: book a room near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. John's hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
#10 of 15 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,681 reviews
11.1 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
12.6 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts

Property: Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Address: Dickenson Bay | PO Box 251, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a pristine picture postcard beach front location, the Halcyon Cove by rex resorts offers the very essence of a perfect Caribbean setting. Beautiful glistening waters gently lap at the palm-fringed white sands of Dickenson Bay where guests can recline beneath the palm-frond parasols or exert some energy on a variety of water sports. International buffet breakfast and dinner cuisine is served at the Arawak Terrace restaurant or treat yourself at the Warri Pier a-la-carte restaurant featuring speciality grills and lobster in its unique setting over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Cove By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Halcyon Cove Antigua
Halcyon Cove By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish
Rex Halcyon Cove Resort
Rex Halcyon Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing