We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“shocking” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
A TripAdvisor Member
“shocking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2005

I stayed in this hotel. The rooms were shocking, we was but next door to two men from Bristol who complained about the weather, food and everything else all night, at one stage they aruged that the beach sloped into the sea too much. The walls are paper thin.

The hotel is a cesspool that should be flatened and made into something useful like a crazy golf course

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    418
    151
    65
    70
See reviews for
120
736
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2005

Just returned from a one week stay at this hotel after being transferred there not by choice by a mickey mouse holiday company known as Virgin Holidays.

The resort is supposedly a 3.5 star resort but i would barely rate it as a 2 star. The rooms are old, shabby and often dirty. We stayed in a superior seaview room which was supposed to overlook the beach but overlooked the volleyball nets. The rooms have no air conditioning and are cooled by a pathetic excuse for a ceiling fan. The temperature within the rooms was unbareable and we didn't manage to get one good nights sleep. We had a multitude of insects sleeping with us within the room such as lizards, frogs and mosquitos, just what you need with a three year old child!

The hotel facilities and grounds are dated and dangerous. Do not visit here if you have children there is absolutely nothing for them to do and the multitude of steps makes a lot of areas almost inaccessible including the main restaurant.

The only good thing i can say about this hotel is that the food was acceptable although repetetive.

The beaches are very dissapointing, the main beach within the hotel is very narrow and rocky. Watch out for the jelly fish, a number of swimmers were stung whilst we were there.

All i can say is that after visiting 3 and 4 star resorts across the world i believe this hotel requires serious attention to bring things up to date and offer its guests the facilities they have paid for, very dissapointing.

WOULD NOT RETURN, only with a bulldozer!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2005

Just returned from this hotel, it wasnt as advertised...a very small pool not big enough to take more than 2 strokes, the rooms were not as booked, we were put in a back room which was dirty and a health hazard. How can these resorts get away with this?. The staff although pleasant enough were not interested in our well being and were more interested in getting tips.

Beware if going in next few months - the suggestion is that they may be 'renovating'

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2005

My wife and I have recently returned from our fifth holiday at Hawksbill in the last six years and can not contemplate going anywhere different next year - why bother looking elsewhere when you have found the perfect holiday resort already?

Plenty of reviewers have already given full accounts of the friendly staff, the relaxing atmosphere and the beautiful surroundings and I have nothing to add to that - they are all correct; what always delights us, though, is the variety of wildlife to be found in the Hawksbill grounds.

Apart from the herd of goats (and/or sheep?) that regularly escape from a neighbouring farm to graze along beach 4, we have encountered two pigs snuffling amongst the plants (also escapees), mongooses, ghost crabs, geckos, tree frogs (mostly heard!), tarantulas, butterflies, crabs, hermit crabs and spectacular displays of bats flitting through the verandas at the back of the two story buildings. As the sun goes down the pelicans swoop and glide low over the Caribbean and, during the day, you can lie around watching humming birds, fly catchers, Carib grackles, doves, gulls, finches (?), an egret, a crane and, of course, the occasional 'yellow bird'.

The snorkelling at Hawksbill is not spectacular but there are plenty of fish to keep you interested an a day to day basis; apart from the usual damsels, sergeant majors, wrasse, tangs, surgeons, red snappers, pipe/tube fish (?), parrot fish and butterfly fish, we have also encountered puffers, juvenile barracuda, octopus and squid swimming in a line - all within twenty metres of the shore.

If you do decide to visit Hawksbill on the strength of this (and other) recommendations, make sure you always take your camera with you - stuck on our fridge at the moment is a picture of a red shelled crab which lives near the lunch area holding a piece of bread and a chip (fry) in each claw and a photo of a newly hatched turtle finding its way to the sea.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2005

Having spent 2 wonderful weeks for our 20th wedding anniversary at the Hawksbill before moving onto St Lucia, I can thoroughly recommend this resort if you are looking for a fairly quiet intimate holiday.

We had a lovely beach bungalow overlooking Honeymoon beach, staring straight at the Hawksbill itself. A wonderful sight and a joy to sit and watch as the sun went down each evening, complete with air con, (a must in August) and fridge for your drinks and fruit. The towels however are quite worn and in short supply, we we constantly missing some and had to find the maid many times to replenish stocks which was a bit of a pain at times.

As stated many times before, the beaches are wonderful, and I feel are the main draw to this resort, especially Honeymoon beach and Eden (naturist) beach. We spent the latter part of our holiday on Eden beach which at times we had all to ourselves...paradise indeed. The only small downside was on one day a certain man known to Hawksbill staff who appears in his boat and likes to "show off" his assets to the ladies, which I found unnerving as my husband was snorkling and I was alone at the time. I did report this to the staff there, who actually appear to know him!

The food was a mixture of English/Carribean and plenty of it, well presented and your wine glass was never empty, I have never known mine to be so full ALL of the time, it was a bottomless glass. The rose is particularly good. Excellent breakfasts that could easily keep you going all day long, wonderful fresh cooked omlettes with all manor of fillings made to order, and after that you didn't really need lunch, but...we made the effort, if only to have the Hawksbill special cocktail, which became my favourite, though I really think they should invest in a second or even third blender, as sometimes the one and only blender they had was being used in the kitchen!

The entertainment was very low key so this is not the place to come if you want nightly fire eaters and limbo dancers, though I did feel that the entertainment could have had a different variety the second week instead of the same thing.

Do the Extreme Circumnav tour with Adventure Antigua look at ----- a brilliant day at US150 pp, yes you might think pricy, but worth every penny, swimming and feeding the stingrays was the highlight for me.

I know this is not an adults only resort but one of the main factors for us upon choosing this resort was that it would be fairly child free but the second week was infilled with children, and a childrens club appeared, due to the relocation from another resort. This was the main reason for us escaping to Eden beach for the second week. Saying that, we had a lovely time there and would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank CarolDowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2005

We've just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable two weeks at the Hawksbill - and are thinking of going again. It's a great place for a relaxing break.

The hotel itself is three star plus - and may need a bit of updating here and there - but it's got a beautiful setting and great atmosphere.

Unlike some other Caribbean hotels we have visited, we found every one of the staff to be friendly and helpful. The manager walks the job most days and talks to guests to get their feedback. Again, that doesn't seem to happen too often elsewhere.

We found the food and service very good. In addition to the main restaurant, you now have the option of eating in the seafront reastaurant three evenings a week. The meals there were very well presented. Breakfast was a bit like an Alfred Hitchcock movie, due to all the birds swooping inches from your face - but that's the Caribbean.

You need to consider carefully the room you book. Having called in at the hotel last year we didn't fancy the garden rooms as they looked a bit on the small side and some had limited privacy as the balconies front the walkways. So we booked a room in the upper floor of one of the main blocks. It was very spacious, but had no air conditioning. We read that some reviewers thought it unnecessary, but in late August we sweltered for a few nights before upgrading to a room on Honeymoon Cove. It had very effective AC and a great view. It was well worth the $35US a night extra cost.

The four (public) beaches fronting the hotel are very good. The Eden beach (for naturists) is lovely. However, our enjoyment of it was blunted by the unacceptable behaviour of a local man on a few occasions.

In the first week of our holiday there seemed to be mainly adult guests, but in week two there was a sudden influx of families with very young children. A kids club was opened. They had booked another hotel which had closed for refurbishment. Frankly, we had wanted to avoid a family hotel and this will be a factor in deciding whether we return.

The night time entertainment is a bit hit and miss; but was good fun most nights and it was easy to strike up new friendships.

But it's worth remembering that this hotel is in a very quiet location. If it's a buzzing nightlife you are after, you won't find it here.

But as a place to relax for a week or two it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2005

For our first trip to the Caribbean, we feel we truly struck gold!

This hotel, set in the loveliest of surroundings and staffed by some of the friendliest and most helpful people we have had the pleasure to meet, fulfilled all our expectations.

Special thanks to Agatha ("friend for life"), David, Foster, Millie, Marlon who all contributed to making our stay a memorable one - it must be said, however, that all the Hawksbill staff are a credit to themselves and the management. Richard you have a magnificent team!

This was our first experience of "all inclusive" and it did not disappoint - the quality and variety of the meals was extremely good - especially "the catch of the day" which we partook of regularly!

Accommodation-wise, the beach club rooms, overlooking "Honeymoon Beach" were excellent.

All 4 beaches were top class but our favourite was Eden Beach - truly a desert island experience!

The round the island catamaran trip was worth the money and, looking at the other resorts/hotels, it helped to reinforce our choice - Hawksbill simply stood out!

The entertainment was low-key but of a good standard - if you are looking for an action-packed nightlife, then this resort will not be for you but if you are looking for a truly relaxing, rejuvenating experience in a stunning setting and amongst the most welcoming of people - then book now!

We will certainly be returning to this jewel of the Caribbean.

PS Regards to new friends - the Brown family (Barbara, Colin and Lesley)Get the Pina Coladas ready for next time!
To Wyn and Jan - for providing us with a story we will use for years to come! (you know what we mean!)

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank JeanneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
4.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.6 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Property: Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, West Indies, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing