We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our third time and we still love the place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
southampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Our third time and we still love the place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

As we have been before, so we knew what to expect and as before the same friendly greeting from all the staff, a few new faces this time, some trainees as well. To ALL the staff "keep up the good work and keep on doing what you do", it is appreciated, by us.

We have found where ever we holiday / vacation that if you engage with the staff, then they will engage with you. If however if you treat the staff like something from off the bottom of your shoe (believe me I have seen this happen at various places), then you deserve the short shrift you get back from any staff member.

This time we found that Wifi had been introduced to the hotel it worked okay for the first week, then after a whole hotel power outage it was intermittant after that.

The demographic whils staying ranged from a few younger couples, some on honeymoon, who had been resited to Hawksbill from the Halcyon cove (as this was undergoing reburb) to retirees, so a mixture of ages.

Axis the band and the halcyon steel orchestra were the main entertainers throughout our stay, there was also a good keyboard player Sorry I forget his name.

This year Antigua is suffering from a drought, the island has two water desalination plants, that produce fresh water from salt water, however getting the water around the island seems to be the problem. water lorrys deliver to the hotels and dependant on how much is needed and the capacity of each lorry, it is a bit hit and miss as to when the water is delivered. During our 14 nights we encountered (at our bungalow, not sure about anyone else), 3 mornings where there was no water. Slightly uncomfortable not being able to wash in the mornings, a bit more unpleasant was the inability to flush the loos. To compound the water issue, there was a leaking / burst water pipe within the hotel complex. Chatting to a tour guide it is not unusual for the islands water supply to be cut at different times of the day dependant on which side of the island you are.

The hotel complex has an age old ongoing land lease issue, so rex resorts are seemingly unwilling to invest heavily in the hotel at the moment, there is however a reactive maintenance programme in place, whilst we stayed The sea grape grill area had replacement servery area, one of the honeymoon cove suites also had a replacement A/C unit changed out. Our room fridge went "belly up" and lost all is gas charge one evening, after ringing reception within half an hour the mainterance guy had come round, assertained that it was unrepairable and got us a repalcement fitted, you cant ask more than that for service.

John, the current manager has aspirations to have A/C ifitted in ALL the rooms, a plumbing system and electrical service all upgraded/ repaired/replaced to make fit for purpose. I wish John luck with this and hope it happens soon. I hope he sticks with the just ONE TV on site, thats what makes this hotel a holiday (only my personal view). I hope that when all this investment happens rex resorts dont throw the prices sky high. The hotel currently has a good percentage of returnees and I would hate to see the hotel lose trade with a big price increase, which could result in staff positions in jeopardy.

All four beaches are still as good as ever, yes they are all PUBLIC beaches, It don't say they are private, so you can expect locals/ horse riders (royal palm beach) / cruise visitors (dependant on season) to be there too, however with four beaches there is plenty of room. Yes, some of the beach loungers on eden beach are a bit passed their sell buy date and some maybe not fit for purpose anymore, I counted 52 loungers just on eden beach alone, with the usage whilst we were staying of around six couples. Yes there were one or two locals who engaged conversation, but where not rude, lewd or pushy, did we feel safe - yes of course.

Whilst we holidayed, the murderer Avie Howell had escaped from prison, it did appear that there was an increased security presence at the hotel, until he was found and shot dead.

Even out of main season the hotel gardeners and beach cleaners are busy keeping the whole area tidy.

This time of year Mozzies, sand flies and biting ants are prevalent, we did not bother with deet or anything else this time even though we bought them with us, yes we got bitten, although not severely.We have tried all before and it appeared that the more stuff we tried the more we would get bitten. I think it is just the luck of the draw.

I read of someone moaning that the grass was being cut at 6AM, when does the reviewer suggest the lawn is cut, during the day, when people want to use the area with the sun loungers and quietly read, during the evening where there is a good chance that all the MOZZIES will get disturbed, get annoyed and bite(especially at a time when they are most active).!!!!!

As a recommend, if you fancy getting off your sunlounger, do the Antigua adventure extreme tour well worth the trip and knowledgable crew. Best bit for us was sting ray city (best done when there is not a cruise boat on the island as the sting ray city part of the trip can be busy).
What was interesting was seeing "Sandals" resort from the speedboat looking at the beach. Denise(my wife) and I looked at each other and just said together "No, not for us" thank god we are at Hawksbill !!

A trip into St Johns is a must to see life as a local as well as a tourist,all within a short walking distance.

Some of the rooms within the hotel have a kettle, for us Brits, who like a cuppa in the morning (suggestion - take your own t-bags) and some of the rooms have a coffee maker, for the American/Canadian market,who I believe generally prefere coffee in the mornings. I am sure that if your required appliance is not in your room then the reception will be only too pleased to assist you, if asked.

All in all we had another, lovely, relaxing holiday, met some lovely guests, were served by some lovely staff, read loads and chilled out.


Each time I write a review I say "Do you research", rather than moan about your holiday afterwards, this way maybe a more positive holiday experience can be had by all.

Room Tip: Honeymoon cove room 131 overlooks seagrape beach, does not get too much sun on the balcony. All fitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DaveHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your review on trip advisor.

We were pleased that you found our service team to be friendly and efficient. They are quite dedicated to the task and are a great asset to Hawksbill which is echoed by many guests.

Our unique location featuring four beaches with bungalow type accommodations dotting the shoreline is definitely a favourite for our numerous repeaters.

We do apologise for the mentioned days without water resulting from the islandwide drought.
Water is purchased daily but occasionally there may be a delay in the delivery which can result in low water pressure for a short period throughout the day. at present, the water pressure is back to normal.

Your reccommendation of potential customers doing a complete review of the product before confirming their next holiday destination is rather wise. Ones expectations and likes should be the guide and those chosing to come to Hawksbill will be guaranteed a tranquil atmosphere with cozy n clean accommodations complimented with efficient and friendly service staff.

Thank you, once again for sharing your review and we look forward to a return visit in the near future.

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    420
    153
    65
    72
See reviews for
120
740
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Well, after our experiences last year we thought long and hard about returning this year. In last year's review I mentioned how I'd saved an elderly chap at the Antigua Zip Line Centre while his wife stood by sobbing (I think it may have been laughter!) but, this year, he developed a serious case of trapped wind (to the extent that his feet were barely touching the floor) and so couldn't return. Nevertheless, we decided to give the resort another chance, especially as friends from the States were visiting.

I am so pleased that we did. It wasn't perfect, there are still issues to be addressed but I had the impression that the Manager actually did care about addressing them. And we saw enough improvements to know that we will return again. Once more, the staff were the jewel in the crown; Jeremine, Brenda, David, William, (and all of the others) all went way over and above what could reasonably be expected in order to make our holiday special. A drought (and island wide water restrictions) made things slightly awkward at times but we all seemed to cope. It's lovely to have a shower but, hey, the Caribbean is on the doorstep! The grounds, once more, were beautifully kept and a delight to walk through, full marks to the Grounds team.

As peple say repeatedly, it isn't the Sandals experience, the food isn't Cordon Bleu, there are still issues with the infrastructure but we had a most delightful, relaxing and stress free stay among friends. And that's exactly what we went for, it delivered.

It won't suit everybody, if you want a more 'refined' type of holiday or have very high expectations of your resort, this isn't for you. But if you want a wonderfully relaxing holiday among people thatc are about your stay, then this is perfect.

A couple of small gripes! There sued to be a 'party' once a week for returning guests; iot made you feel that your return was valued. That didn't happen during either of the weeks we were there and it was missed. And I would love to see mosquito netting above the beds.It would be a relatively low cost but, being quite phobic about mozzies, it would help me sleep a whole lot easier!

So, congratulations to the manager and his team, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john430smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your review on tripadvisor.

Our service team is definitely our biggest asset and we are pleased that you were very much satisfied with their service efforts. Our team shows genuine dedication and they do not hesitate to go the extra mile in order to please our guests.

Our Landscaping team is the newest change to Hawksbill and are doing a fabulous job with the upkeep of the Resorts grounds. They are knowledgeable in the field and their work is noticeable.

Unfortunately, Antigua is experiencing a serious drought which results in stringent water rationing procedures. Our present supply comes from the purchasing of water from a private water making plant on island. Fortunately though, the upcoming weather forecast will change the 'dry spell' and water conditions will be back to normal soon.

Your suggestion for using a bedroom net to protect from the mosquitoes while sleeping is acknowledged.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and we look forward to a return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here from June 6 thru June 13 and it wasn't long enough. From the minute we entered the lobby we felt relaxed.The resort is older but very beautiful and spacious.The beaches are fantastic,food was delicious,staff was great! I don't have anything negative to say about the resort,it is exactly what we wanted for a vacation. We were looking for a tranquil,low key beautiful resort that we could be ourselves at and we found it. Thank you to the staff and the fine people we met that made our vacation fun. As soon as we can we will be back for a longer period of time,so as Dave would say leave the light on for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
The Hawksbill by rex resorts would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and as a result have provided a beautiful summary of Hawksbill. The unique location featuring four beaches, cozy n clean accommodations which dot the shoreline, the relaxing and tranquil atmosphere, the friendly & efficient service staff and the tasty food & cocktails. (A great experience indeed)

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and we definitely look forward to a return visit in the near future allowing us another opportunity to making your vacation memorable.


Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

If you are into chromium and plastic, like dressing for dinner, enjoy fine food, lavish entertainment, finely decorated plush rooms, starched white linen, crisp fresh towels and the odd butler, then don't bother going to Hawksbill. If on the other hand you like nice people, beautiful beaches, a lovely tropical setting, a sanctuary of peace, an oasis of calm, combined with friendly accommodating service, and you are not bothered about the accoutrements of modern day living then Hawksbill is the place for you. Its a place to relax, go slow - chill out. You won't want to leave!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coorojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on tripadvisor.

We are pleaased that you have enjoyed your vacation experience at Hawksbill. As you rightly stated, we offer a very tranquil tropical atmosphere with bungalows dotting the shoreline of our four beaches. Our dedicated and friendly service staff compliments the whole vacation experience making it an unforgettable one..

Once again thank you for the feedback, we appreciated having you with us and definitely look forward to a return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We visited for 10 days in June and had an enjoyable and relaxing holiday. We did not have the best room (a side Garden Bungalow) but we only used it for sleeping and it was good value. There are drought restrictions at the moment and this resulted in quite frequent and unannounced 'no water' which was inconvenient. The plumbing meant that large volumes of water were lost through running cistern's and if they sorted those out then the tankered water would last much longer. Wi-fi was a bit hit and miss. There were only about a third of the rooms occupied and 50$ for a five hour late check out is just money grabbing... That end's the negative comments.
The complex is beautiful and the beaches and snorkelling excellent. Staff were friendly and genuine. The food and drinks were very good but surely an all inclusive could stretch to include bottled water.....
Before going to Hawksbill make sure you read the label - it is quiet and laid back which suited us and many other returning guests. It may not be for everyone if you are looking for 'action' then look elsewhere.
We hope to return to unwind again in the future.

Room Tip: Front row Garden Bungalows are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacationn experience on tripadvisor.

Your comments in regards to: the drought in Antigua, the toilet plumbing, inconsistent WIFI and the late departure charge is duly noted. We will continue to address issues where necessary in order to improve our service product.

We were pleased that you enjoyed our unique location featuring four beaches, our friendly service staff, our food & beverage and our overall tranquil atmosphere. Hawksbill indeed offers a true Caribbean experience which encourages guests to return yearly. Our team is very dedicated and committed to meet and exceed guests expectations.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback and we definitely look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

I was put here by my travel agents after my initial choice hotel was changed last minute. On arrival into the room i was taken back at the old furniture, old layout, no TV, no welcome bottle of water etc, it had very little, but as i was only passing for 48 hours i didn't bother too much.
Well, within one day i had completely changed my mind. What a lovely place, what great beaches, lovely staff, great food, and a very pleasant 45-65 year old british clientel .

I'm seriously considering a proper holiday here, i just ended up so relaxed, no nee for TV, but we did have the world cup on and live cricket so all the comforts if you really need them.

One word of warning though - The guys on the beach looking after the activity stuff were ripping people off and telling them they had to pay for use when it was all inclusive, so be warned about this and hopefully the hotel will read the report and get rid of them.

But do be put off, the 4 beaches are great and the whole back to basics feel of the place was great.

( maybe clean the shower heads a bit guys and put a bottle of water in the rooms, it was hot you know. )

Room Tip: I had a chalet on the beach, so i would pay for oneof these, they are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil499485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your review on trip advisor.

We take note of the room furniture and the layout. Hawksbill has a no TV's in any of its room categories as the concept. A TV room is available at the guest services area at Sea Grapes restaurant.

Upon arrival, our receptionist offers cold towels and a choice of champagne, fruit punch or water as a welcome beverage. Water is provided at the bar and dining room outlets, however we do not stock mini refrigerators in room with bottles of water.

We appreciate your kind comments pertaining to our four beaches, service staff and tasty cuisine.

Hawksbill is know for its repeat clientele, actually the highest ratio of repeaters in Antigua.

Our non-motorized water sports and snorkeling are part of the all inclusive package, however if one requires motorized sports (skiiing, jet skiis etc.) or sailing lessonsthere is a charge for such.

Once again, thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us and look forward to seeing you once more in the near future.


Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Arrived at Resort on Fri 30th May 2014 to be checked into Room 116 adjacent to Beach and Sea. What a wonderful place to stay with excellent meals and exemplary staff to match. Nothing was too much trouble and with four great beaches to use there is no shortage of sun traps to rest and enjoy. A special mention to Sean who looks after boat trips as he was so kind in trying to get us to go on the activities but we wanted to use our time relaxing but maybe next time. You will love this place so enjoy !

Room Tip: Go for rooms around beach for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthantsJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hbaanu, General Manager at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
The Hawksbill by rex resorts team would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience on trip advisor.

Our goal is to ensure that all our guests are given a memorable experience through our unique location featuring four beaches, our cozy accommodations dotting the shoreline, our friendly and efficient service team and our tasty cuisine in a simple tranquil atmosphere.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your vacation and definitely look forward to having you with us in the near future.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback.


Sincerely,

John
General Manager
Hawksbill by rex resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
4.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.6 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
13.7 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
0.6 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Property: Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, West Indies, Hotwire, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing