We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawksbill Terrific”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
A TripAdvisor Member
“Hawksbill Terrific”
Reviewed May 2, 2004

Just returned May 1 from a week at Hawksbill. We can't wait to return. Grounds were beautiful, spread out and well kept. Many of the plantings were marked which made walking about the grounds enjoyable.
The food was better than anticipated, especially when measured against past all inclusive trips. Selections were rotated and quality was good.
The entire staff was pleasant from check in to check out.
The beaches are clean and uncrowded and offer some ok snorkeling as well.
We stayed in Beachfront Cottage with AC. Room was clean, roomy and offered a great porch with view.
The pool itself is small so if you're a pool person at heart take note. This is not a high octane 24 hour 7 day a week type of place.
If it's relaxing and quiet escape you're after consider Hawksbill. There are plenty of activities available from Ping Pong to kayaking on site at no additional charge but much more self paced and not thrust upon you. Simply stated, your activity level self imposed.
Unlike an earlier posted review, my wife and I never experienced any "Anti American" sentiments from either the staff nor any of the mostly British guests. We all seemed to enjoy the peace and quiet together.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    430
    159
    67
    72
See reviews for
125
759
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2004

Lovely setting, very nice quiet beaches, good food, comfortable rooms.
Don't expect 5 star luxury, - make sure you request a room where the veranda faces towards the sea, and one away from the pool bar.
Staff take some getting used to as their manner can be abrupt, but basically once you get to know them they are fine!
Car hire a definate must. Very pretty island with lot's of character.
Took our 15 month old baby and I would recommend it to anyone with young children although the majority of guests seem to be middle-ages plus!

Helpful?
3 Thank Shelley51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 25, 2004

Stayed at the Hawksbill Beach Hotel. This was an anti American resort. The food and service was not only terrible the staff was rude to Americans, not Europeans though.The pool was about 10 by 15 and just a dirty cement hole. Totally outdated.At dinner we had only 2 choices for dinner. Fish and chicken. Both were bad. When we asked for another loaf of bread they told us we had enough. We had to beg for ketsup.The local merchants were 24 hours of harassment. They will follow you into the water to sell T shirts, beads and drugs. Yes drugs.The man at the gas station tried to triple my fuel charge and then backed down when confronted. The taxi drivers do the same.We were with 2 other couples. One flew home early after a few days of being insulted by this dump and the other said they would never go back.Take my advice go to Aruba instead. TS

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2004

Just returned from a 2 week stay at Hawksbill. My boyfriend and I where a bit concerned to begin with, as we though we might find the resort too quite and remote. Far from it. We had a wonderful time, this is the perfect resort to unwind and relax in. Our room was very basic but adequate. We had great views of the beach and sea. We did find that we had a few little visitors during the night. Mainly a field mouse with a craving for Coffee Mate and a couple of lizards. Nothing that you wouldn't expect from a tropical hotel. We found that the ceiling fans gave off plenty of cool air and we where never too hot. Staff where at times a bit moody but on a whole we found them to be very friendly and helpfull, just have to take their attitude with a large pinch of salt.
Food in the main restaurant in the evening was fantastic, wasn't too kean on the new Italian al la carte. Lunch was our favourite with the BBQ open from 1230 till 1500hrs. The main bar in the evening closed at 11pm which we where very shocked about. But the staff do leave a plentiful supply of beer and wine behind the counter that we found on our 2nd night every one just helped themselves too. Towards the end of our stay hotel was begining to get alot busier and they extended opening hours till mid-night. Even so being an all-inclusive you would expect them to stay late alot longer. We also hired a jeep for a couple of days. Which is a fantastic and safe way to see the island. Don't use the car hire company at front of hotel. As we had a compelte nightmare with them. Instead we got reception to phone Hertz who where same cost and will deliver and collect vehicle. All in all in would say this was one of the best holidays i've ever had. You can't beat the location or landscape of this property. Breathtaking views, peaceful, relaxing.
With 4 beaches to choose from you are never without a sunlounger. Don't go here if you want a lively hotel with lots of entertainment. Do go here if you want an away from it all relaxing break.

Helpful?
4 Thank kez33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brimfield,ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2004

This was our 2nd trip to Hawksbill 3/6-3/12/04, we were previoulsy there in 2000. We were traveling with another couple and had reserved ajoining Deluxe Club rooms on 3rd beach. Our reservations were made in 10/03 and our travel agent confirmed our accomodations in the week prior to our travel.

On arrival, we were informed that there were not 2 Club rooms available on 3rd beach. We were initially upset, until they told us that we had been upgraded (at no charge to us) to the Great House. The Great House was amazing, 3 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, a huge livingroom with a wrap around veranda, a full kitchen. All set on its own private point. We felt like the rich and famous.

Since going All Inclusive, the food has improved from our last visit.
We made reservations for dinner most nights at theSea Grape, which is the smaller restaurant and we did order ala carte a few times. Where can you get lobster thermador for $20??? Yummy. The house wines were the only downfall. They were overly sweet for our taste and they served the same house wine all week, there was a wine list but most were not available and they were $$$. We ended up going into town and buying a few good bottles and bringing them to dinner which was no problem. I thought the Buffet nights were just OK but not great, if you plan to eat out/try other restauants on the island - do it on a Buffet night.

As repeat guests, we were given complimentary massages in the new Wellness Center and we were invited to a special cocktail party, we also were given a fruit basket in our room. All very nice touches.

We go to Hawksbill primarily for 4th beach. There were some times when there were not enough lounge chairs. I spoke to Richard, the new manager and suggested they add some services- more chairs and maybe a beach bar, even if its with limited hours.

Since going All Inclusive, Hawksbill is restricting access to the nude beach. It used to be that non guests of the hotel could use the beach.
Now, Hawksbill is charging a day rate or 1/2 day rate for non guests. I think it is $60 for a full day, $40 for a half day and $100 for a full day with dinner.

We went to Monserrat for a day trip on the ferry and another day did the Eco Tour with Eli and both of these were great excursions.

Helpful?
4 Thank sundoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 10, 2004

We have visited many Caribbean islands and hotels and this is the best hotel! Wonderful setting, with 4 magnificent beaches to lose yourself on. 37 acres of beautifully tended grounds-congratulations to Kendrick and his team. The management team are always evident and always working alongside the staff-'management by example'! The staff are always smiling and nothing is too much trouble. This hotel proved that you can get first-class, consistent service in the Caribbean. The food was excellent, with variety and good presentation. It was bliss to eat out under the stars. A great testament to the hotel is that a great many of the staff have over 15 years service-almost unheard of in the catering industry! Only two areas not quite up to standard: We had a standard room which was looking rather old and tired and in need of some tlc-but how long do you spend in your room? The pool was very small and also looking past it's 'sell by date'- but with all that Caribbean sea on your doorstep it wasn't a problem . I would highly recommend to anyone who wants a quiet hotel, in a splendid location with wonderful service.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 9, 2004

After a week at the very disappointing Rex Papillon on St Kitts, the Hawksbill was paradise - right from the complimentary glass of champagne on arrival. Beautiful setting, well landscaped grounds, 4 sandy beaches, and a clear, calm (most days) sea to swim in. Our "superior" garden view room was spacious, well furnished and who wants a TV and a telephone! Most importantly, it had a coffee maker and there is no more enjoyable way to start the day than sitting on the patio at 7 am with a hot cup of coffee and views across the garden and beach to the sea. Food was excellent and the wine served with dinner was good quality. For anyone interested in birds, I recommend a 3 hour trip out with Victor Joseph - he knows his stuff and I'll never forget the flock of about 100 Black-necked Stilts. Victor's details are pinned up in the trip/tour room (off the beach restaurant). Unlike other reviewers, I may not return as the world is a large place and I want to see as much of it as I can. However, it is the best Caribbean hotel we have stayed in so far and can highly recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,864 reviews
4.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.6 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,754 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Property: Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing