We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful resort - no plastic wristbands here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“wonderful resort - no plastic wristbands here”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

All the recent reviews are right - it is a most wonderful resort for a relaxing, warm holiday especially when February in Englanf has been so cold. The staff are every bit as good as the other reports are saying, the food is well prepared and plentiful, the rooms are comfortable and clean - ( ask for the extra large bed! ) and we have stayed in the cheaper rooms twice now - they are very good.
If you like snorkelling go on the Bird Island cruise with Creole cruises. It's a fabulous and exciting trip: a stop for easy snorkelling in clear blue waters followed by fresh lobster barbecued on the beach at Bird Island and finally a stop at Maiden Island to see the colourful cushion starfish which live in the shallow waters. And for us there can be nothing more wonderful than skinny dipping amongst the Blue Tang and Butterfly fish in the coral reefs off Eden beach (the hotel's 4th beach). Clothing optional beaches may not be everyone's cup of tea but this beach is so big you can find a quiet place and be undisturbed. However if closely packed sunbeds, late night discos and little plastic ID bracelets are what you want then try the other resorts.

Room Tip: the rooms are comfortable and clean - ( ask for the extra large bed! ) and we have stayed in the che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Castaway44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    426
    155
    65
    72
See reviews for
121
746
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed Feb13 for 9 nights, in a garden bungalow. We were located on the first beach - shared with public, just down the hill from the main restaurant (breakfast / dinner) and reception.
The resort is across 4 bays with the furthest bay being 'clothing optional'...not for us! The 2nd bay is the largest bay in the resort and where most of the rooms were located and where most guests sunbathed. This is also where lunch was served either from the grill, off the menu, or both!! There is a bar here and the water sports centre too (Sean is a great guy).
We were the youngest couple here with most being retired but then we did stay here during school term! Most guests were repeat stayers. Most for a month. Apparently one wealthy American couple were on their 13th week of their stay! Most others had been there 20+ times, and one group of c16 met there every year and stayed for one month!
The resort is hilly and there are steps to get up to the restaurant so you do need to be mobile.
We found some waitresses really good and others quite poor. I don't want to have to ask for a top-up of coffee / wine / water / beer etc... But most were friendly but rushed so didn't have time to be attentive! The restaurant manageress told us each waiter has 25 place settings to deal with but I felt that was too many for the staff to smile and say hello!! We holiday in the Maldives and can't help compare the level of customer services, but where the waiters have 10 guests to look after so can spend more time and attention to their guests!
I snorkelled most days and had fun. The water depths are generally shallow so you could be 100M out but still be able to stand! Or 10m out and the water was 6' deep! But the current is predictable and easy to swim in! For a few days there was a cold front which caused a lot of waves so swimming was off limits.
This occurred on the days I did some scuba diving with Jolly Dive at Jolly Bay. They are a great dive club even though they operate out of a ramshackled shed on the beach! Chris is an amazing guy / diver and Jolly Dive are lucky to have him on their books!

Back to hawksbill bay. The restaurants are open air although undercover if you wish.
There was a permanent pleasant breeze making the 30C heat tolerable.

Would we go back to Hawksbill Bay? Yep, the very next time we want to go on holiday somewhere warm and quiet we will definitely be looking at this resort!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reeflover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had booked the Grand Pineapple back in September only to find 2 weeks before departure that it was overbooked and all they could offer us were their standard, most basic rooms. We had paid for better ones and all the reviews we read suggested the basic ones were pretty shabby. So our travel company (Tropical Sky - excellent) arranged for us to move to Hawksbill and to their best rooms, the beach front cottages on Royal Palm Beach, at no extra cost. Somewhat wary having read a few critical reviews but we needn't have worried. We landed well and truly on our feet and wouldn't have swapped for the world. It's true that the rooms do not have marble bathrooms, flat screen TVs or luxurious furnishings, but they are lovely simple wooden cottages with great charm and fit perfectly into the landscape. Everything is spotlessly clean and we certainly didn't worry about the odd bit of peeling paint - not that there was much to be honest. Very helfpul staff who dealt with any request immediately. You could not walk past a member of staff without them greeting you with a cheery hello, a smile and an enquiry of how your day was going - and that included the cleaners, the gardeners, the security people, the restaurant staff and the management. The food was good - we weren't expecting, nor did we want, fancy haute cuisine, but we got well cooked, varied and tasty dishes at every meal. Very hard to fault any of it - about the only thing we would have liked to see was fresh fruit juices rather than from cartons, even if just some freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast. They always had delicious juicy oranges sliced on the breakfast buffet so maybe juice a few? The atmosphere of the place is really laid back. It was definitely the most relaxed I have ever felt on holiday anywhere. Lots of returning guests, the majority in their fifties or older, but there were some younger couples and a few with little children, so not perhaps the place to take teenagers who want lots of other young folk round and endless loud music, but our teenage sons were quite happy as were the other two families we met with similar aged kids. So no kids clubs or teens clubs but that for us was a bonus! There is only one small pool which is really just for the tinies who would struggle in the sea, but with 4 beaches we never felt we needed a pool as well. Everyone who stays there is very sociable and you end up chatting to all sorts of people from all over. So in conclusion this place is not posh, but nor does it claim to be, and we felt very comfortable and at home there. They do enforce the dress code for dinner but that is about as formal as it gets. We would have no hesitation recommending it or returning in the future.

Room Tip: We had a 2 beach front cottages on Royal Palm Beach which were adjoining so had an interconnecting d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just got back from Hawksbill and can't wait to go back.

Really I want to say the place is horrible and don't go there as we want to be able to go there over and over again and don't want it getting so popular that its difficult to get rooms! -- But I can't its a magical place and we loved it.

The place is perfect for a relaxing holiday. I have been reading some of the comments and most of them are nearly correct. OK the food isn't 5* but then you are not paying 5* prices and everything is paid for. Our check out bill was $15 and that was taxes. The house wine was lovely and you could have as much as you wanted, the cocktails were to die for though the second week we cut back a bit!

The sea was rough some days but very calm others and jumping the waves was fabulous, wish it had been rough more often.

The watersports were all free except motorised ones and the staff couldn't do enough for you, even taking you out for a sail if you fancied one and were not a sailor. Snorkelling was great and equipment free, also kayaks, pedaloes and windsurfers. Jet skies kept breaking down but that was a plus - no noise!

The lie out beds are not the best in the world but husband tightened up the strings underneath and made a great improvement. There was no fight for them every morning, once you were settled in everyone knew which theirs were and kept to them.

The guests were lovely, lots of hello's when you arrive all pale and tired after the flight, welcome drink of bucks fizz. As we were checking out a couple arrived for their 49th visit! I think that says it all.

I am not sure how someone who was there on a day trip from a cruise ship could comment that there was a long walk to the bar - the bar was right on the beach, not 1 kilometer from it.

it was perfect for couples, friends or singles but not children. There was a steep bank down into the sea just on the edge which made for easy getting into the sea and great entertainment for the other guests when you wanted to get out. There was always a helping hand to pull you out though.

I couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gillie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was a little hesitant having read other reports on the tired appearance of this resort, but upon arrival all my doubts were instantly dispelled! There are some areas for improvement, but I list my points as follows:
1) SIMPLY OUTSTANDING EMPLOYEES - so friendly, but not overbearing
2) They remembered our names for the whole week (not sure how they do this)
3) Location is simply stunning - 4 beaches, acres of grounds - loads of space - beautifully maintained public areas
4) Food is very good - generous portions - a huge variety of cocktails/drinks on hand at all times
5) We stayed in the Beach Club Bungalows (the highest price), but it was worth it - again wonderful
6) Yes, there are chips off the paint here and there - yes some of the doors don't close without a shove - yes it could do with a repaint here and there. For me however, this added to the "quirkiness" of the place. To me it was pure colonial Caribbean
7) My only major gripe was the swimming pool - it has to be the worst pool I have ever encountered in my life - having said that when you have 4 stunning beaches, who needs a pool anyway.
8) Would I go back? - You bet - I'm already planning for November
9) Is it for everyone? No, if you are after non-stop entertainment and feel you need a TV in your room (why on earth would you??), then no - go to Sandals or Jolly Beach

I fell in love with Hawksbill - I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for sea view or beach front - the rooms at the back face onto woodland and the accompa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Algoz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was a return trip to Hawksbill after having been there for our sons wedding last May. That trip was brilliant and the wedding perfect so with the grey skies and miserable weather we have had in the UK we decided to escape it all and go back to the warm. The trip was all we could have wanted it to be.It was as if we had never left, the staff warmly greeted us back and looked after us perfectly. The resort itself is still a little tired around the edges but we understand this is all about to change now that the future of the place has been secured with a new lease. We just hope that the charm of the place does not change as well for that would not be good, it is just perfect as it is with just a freshen up needed to bring it back to it's original condition. We are already planning a further two visits there, one this year and one next. Total relaxation!!

Room Tip: There are a number of different types of room with different prices.The Beach front club bungalows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

What a great experience! Lovely small houses with 4 units in each right on the beach. Step out of your door and see paradise. I was worried when they said no AC but it was not needed. The nice room with windows had a fan a great ocean breeze. Sleep to the sound of the ocean. So nice. It's not a fancy upper crust place, it is very relaxed and cozy. Great food and drinks. (The beer is just ok) Nice staff. So beautiful to walk around. If you want a romantic, peaceful getaway, this is your place. We loved it and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean. Ours did not but it was still beautiful. You can see the ocean fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NOHillary2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
4.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.6 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,685 reviews
13.7 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
0.6 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Property: Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#9 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing