We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for peace and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for peace and quiet”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Travelled first two weeks of November 2012. It's a very quiet resort with the most beautiful beaches on the island including the only nudist beach which is always quiet, so don't be shy, lose those bikini lines! Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We were only a handful that were first time visitors to the resort and if it weren't for all the other places we want to visit we would be going back, and may well do for our wedding anniversary. Mosquitos are a problem though so I would advise going well prepared and bring a mozzy net ( u can buy tent style ones that u fit over the bed as the ceilings are high and have no hooks) and plenty of bug spray and deet. Don't expect 5* accommodation because its not, a bit shabby but clean and usable- it's a base to sleep and rest, but the hotel has comfortable seating up in the main building with a bar in the evening. The food was good, it's the first time we've ever been catered for and we were impressed. The evening entertainment is a bit dodgy but make the best of it and we had a lot of fun working out which tune was being played on the steel drums. Also I did promise I would dance if they played 'Tainted Love' but no such luck ha ha! Also keep an eye out for the AMAZING PENGUINS.

Room Tip: Go for an even number and you should get a sea view. Try not to get an end room as the roosters are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pippatong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    430
    157
    67
    72
See reviews for
123
758
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was our first trip to Antigua and the Hawksbill resort. As a number of reviewers have said the Garden Cottage Rooms are very basic and are badly in need of upgrading to warrant the 3* rating. However the hotel facilities, food and friendliness of all the staff far outweigh the shabby appearance of the rooms. The evening entertainment during dinner on 3 nights was a welcome addition.
The hotel organises taxi's to Shirley Heights (for the Sunday evening party) and to St John's 3 days per week for those who like to get out and about. Car hire is a good way to see the island and although signposting is not especially good the locals are all very willing to point you in the right direction with a friendly smile.
Having sailed around the island by catermeran I can say that the Hawksbill beach is one of the least crowded and most attractive, with a long sweep of sand and lots of shade. The hotel could do with providing additional sunbeds as these were in short supply - especially when guests insist on putting towels on them at 7am and then not using them, or drag them over to their cottage frontage to reserve them for the week!
It is a good indication of the popularity of the hotel that many guests come back every year.
All in all a great place to relax for the week or to use as a base to explore the Island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blaze70_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Hawksbill is a lovely and relaxing place to watch the days go by.
All the garden cottage rooms are a stones through away from the beach meaning you can be unwinding the second you arrive.

The staff are all excellent and very helpful it seemed like they would do anything they could to keep everyone happy. The food was plentiful and varied, the BBQ Grill at lunch was by far however the highlight.
The bar staff were great at mixing drinks and keeping them topped up and unlike European hotels the alcohol wasn't watered down.

The hotel does need a fresh coat of paint and it's a warm climate so guess what there are Mosquito's however some of the reviews on here are very unfair - it's graded a 3* which is probably too low however for the price and what you get for that it's excellent - just look at the other all inclusive hotel cost's on the Island and you'll soon work that out.

I ignored negative reviews and I'm glad we did as the holiday was perfect.

The beaches are to die for,,,

Room Tip: Our Garden Cottage was a stones throw from the beautiful beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I found the welcome and the staff at this hotel great, but the hotel it's self a little tired some of the sunbeds were broken and were just left. The room in need of good lighting over a mirror and in the shower area. It was a very relaxing holiday and just what it said on the tin. It just needs a bit of TLC. Also very much a couples place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I had difficulty in deciding what rating to give this hotel. we had a lovely relaxing time in an outstanding location. the beaches are great and the staff very friendly. the resort has many happy returners who come year after year. however the resort is looking rather shabby, with the garden bungalows very basic but clean and adequate. we had a very large double bed. the food was good but not exceptional, rather too English at times and i was disappointed with the lack of local fruit availible particularly with the pineapple being under ripe.however the place has a very homely feel and makes its guests very welcome. if you are looking for a modern hotel with all the bells and whistles this isn't it however if you like a smaller, friendlier place and can look past the flaws then Hawksbill is for you.

Room Tip: we asked for a double bed on booking other wise you are likely to get 2 large beds. only the beach c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Only regret we had was we were only there for a week, wish it had been two! For an experience hire a car and try to drive around the Island, not for the faint hearted. The resort itself is maybe a little tired in places, a lick of paint in places would not have gone amiss, however, We have stayed in considerably worse places. The staff by and large were super especially David in the Bar, one was a bit miserable but we all have bad days. I can be a bit difficult over food, don't like this and that, but no trouble here found something at every meal, more often than not a choice! We are already making plans for a return trip next year, for two weeks. If I had to pick one thing I didn't enjoy then I would have to pick the minority of moaning Brits who got right up my nose!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have also just returned from Hawksbill and enjoyed my two weeks. It was quite surreal reading the last review because having been six times myself I had decided it was time for another very honest review. I fully endorse the previous report with some observations, I thought that the standard of catering has lost something, this may have been because this was the first time I had been outside the peak season Feb/Mar. On our arrival this occasion we were two of a total thirty nine other guests so this could be a reason. The staff almost without exception are only too happy to ensure your stay is the best it could possibly be, and I have to agree with the previous reviewer that the staff are being badly let down by Rex Resorts in the lack of investment. I understand that there are some legal issues getting in the way which concern the lease which the sooner they are resolved the better for all parties, because this is a fabulous location and with careful investment would provide another star and make it more popular and justify an increase in price.
With the necessary improvements and the existing staff who are the heart and lifeblood of Hawksbill this would certainly make for a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jollyboy1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,846 reviews
4.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.6 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,738 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 15 in St. John's
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Property: Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing