We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your welcome you really are” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
bristol
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Your welcome you really are”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent twelve days at Hawksbill in October 2012. The staff are incredible nothing is too much trouble and they are so smiley. Once you stay here you become one of the family. We met people who have been coming back to the hotel time and time again, we met one couple who have been coming to Antigua since 1979 and stayed 47 times and have stayed at Hawksbill 16 times.

A nice touch is that beach towels are supplied which saves on your luggage allowance. There are a number of water sports available and the two lads who work there are real characters.

Sylvia gives a guided tour around the garden once a week and explains all the different flora and fauna; she is an encyclopeadia of medical uses for the plants.

We were celebrating our anniversary and were spoilt by Kuoni and Hawksbill which was a great surprise.

If you enjoy bird wathching you will see a great variety including humming birds and Frigate birds.

The trip to Bird Island was a good day out if you like boats and there is an opportunity to snorkel to a reef and a very good barbeque is served up.

Breakfast had plenty of choice including full English but expect very crispy bacon. Lunch is good with hamburgers hot dogs from the grill and there is usually fish and or chicken. You can get other dishes from the menu.

Dinner is either buffet or waitress service depending on the day. Sometimes we thought they scrimped on the meat at dinner but we always seemed to have enough.

The waiters make sure your glass is always full with good quality drinks.

The managers cocktail should not be missed as it is really good fun and is not a sales ploy. At the function there was four musicians (getting on in years) who played traditional music which was really good.

On Saturday nights there is a reggae band which is absolutely brilliant.

The setting is stunning, there really are four beaches and the fourth is naturist, the only one on the island. During our first week there was only one other couple on this magnificent beach.

In the last few days the numbers had risen to about 12.

The lease is being renewed and the lawyers are still debating the finer points we were told. Consequently some modernisation is necessary. This is not a five star hotel and doesn't pretend to be.

The downside was the mosquitoes and sand flies so take plenty of insect repellent. Oh and the tree frogs which start croaking as it gets dark and croak all through the night.

If you are looking for a holiday away from it all (only one TV) and with really friendly laid back people this is the place for you but if it's brash holiday camp type of place go somewhere else,

Although we didn't read about it anywhere before we went free WIFI is available.

If you decide to go the staff will ensure you have a great time.

Room Tip: The rooms on Honeymoon cove had a good location but is further from the dining areas. Our room had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peterg_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    417
    151
    65
    69
See reviews for
120
735
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent 10 days at the quaint resort in the beach club room which had an amazing view of the Royal Palm Beach. The staff throughout our stay have been polite, helpful, happy and attentive.

Food have been good quality and plentiful with a BBQ, buffet and set menu on different days and a good selection of drinks all day. The four beaches are lovely and quiet the sea can be rocky in places. Everyday is peaceful and relaxing. The evening entertainment is traditional and fitting with the atmosphere.

If you want a peaceful, charming, relaxing holiday with a traditional Antiguan feel then this is the best place to be.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

From arrvial to departure everyone was so helpful at Hawksbill. The private beaches are quiet. Lovely food. They were so helpful in arranging the wedding, organising the photograph, flowers , location, paperwork and licence. Even delayed the wedding time as it was so hot!! Can not wait to go back....x (we travelled in June 2010).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HLVP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just like an earlier review, we returned to Hawksbill to celebrate our 25th anniversary - we got married there in August 1987. We were delighted to find that all the special aspects of Hawksbill that we found all those yrs ago were still there on our return - it really was like stepping back in time! The grounds were beautifully kept, food was great and beaches fantastic. The staff were the absolute jewel in the crown. Everyone was SO helpful in every department of the hotel and we were so grateful to the reception staff for calmly and cheerfully sorting out phone calls home when our mobile didn't work!! Our thanks to all there for making our stay so special. The entertainment was great especially band nights and the quieter evenings gave us the chance to get to know some really lovely other guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank claire f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We had quite a bit of rain . The tree frogs very loud x staff are nice. Food ok beaches are nice .rooms are ok clean it's not a 5 star hotel . One thing is good u don't have people selling stuff on the beach Xx

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank debbie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaxted
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I returned to the Hawksbill in September to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. We actually got married at the Hawksbill in September 1987, and a memorable wedding it was too.

The hotel hasn't changed all that much; the only noticeable change was the addition of the beachfront Club Suites that are located on both the Royal and Honeymoon beaches. From what we could see the only difference between them and the normal Beachfront Rooms was the addition of air-conditioning. We certainly needed that, but I think the additional cost of about £350 per week is a mite excessive.

It was also nice that September is a quiet month, so there were only about a dozen guests for our first week, with approximately double that in our second. We aren't normally "mixers" on holiday, but it was really good to meet the other guests and share drinks and meals with them.

There are two main reasons why the Hawksbill is such a popular hotel; one is the actual location and the second are the staff members who are really terrific. The complex has four beaches (including the rudi-nudi one), and although the hurricane of '95 caused major changes to the depth of entry, the beaches are all clean and well looked after. Water sports are available with the usual windsurfing, sailing, canoeing and the jetskis. This is all run by the resorts version of Delboy, ie Sean, who is always smiling and happy to help in any way he can.

Food at the resort is good and varied. I don't believe we had the same evening menu for the whole of the two weeks we were there. Breakfasts are good, with omelettes made to order and served with the usual bacon, sausages, beans, tomatoes etc. You can't beat a full English to start another strenuous day on the sunbeds?? Bar staff were prompt and the drinks were "wholesome".

The resort does have a pool, but it's not very big and more of a splashpool really. It is located close to the beachbar and beach restaurant so its ideally placed for those that want to chill out with a sunbed, a good book and a constant supply of drinks.

By the way, there is a good library of books at the resort so you shouldn't have to weigh yourselves down lugging books all the way from the UK to Antigua. There should be something for everybody in the library, and other languages are catered for as well.

One tip, from my research before booking, I noticed the ridiculously high charges added for transfers. My recommendation; get a cab. Taxis in Antigua work to a Government issued price list, so in the case of the Hawksbill its a USD 20 or an ECD 53 charge from the airport to the hotel, and that covers upto 4 people. Just go to the Taxi Despatcher at the airport and they fill in a form for you to give to your cabbie. Very organised and much cheaper than the normal transfers where you could be stopping at a number of hotels en-route to yours.

Entertainment at the Hawksbill is minimal, and bear in mind that the only television at the resort is down near the beach bar . It was though nice to be cut off from the world for 2 weeks. On Monday, they have a group of 4 guys who play a variety of instruments, some made by themselves. Wednesday is the Halcyon Steel Band, who actually played at our wedding 25yrs ago. The band does have 110 members and have been one of the top steel bands in the Caribbean for the past 10 years. They only send 6 of their group along and they are excellent. Then on Saturday its the Axis Band. They play all sorts of well known stuff, and have an excellent lead singer. With his voice, he could walk onto the X-Factor and wipe the floor with most of the competition in our humble opinion.

For those of you that are into cigarettes and alcohol, we would recommend booking the shuttle bus that runs 3 times a week, and takes you down to Heritage Quay, where the cruise boats dock. There are a couple of good shops, but we liked Ferrara's the best. The owner knows his stuff, and is open to a deal. Superking cigarettes were approximately half the price of the Duty Free shop at Gatwick Airport, ie 2x200 cartons came to about £25 as opposed to £53 in Gatwick. My search was for Pusser's Rum; this was the stuff given to the British Navy on a daily basis until interfering politicians decided to cut back. A 54% proof 70cl bottle in Ferrara's was about £9, a 15-yr old bottle was about £25. Absolute nectar and worth every penny. Try a shot in the winter when you come home cold and wet from work. You can't beat it.

Would we go back to the Hawksbill - you bet we will. We like the idea of a quiet, lazy holiday where the only activity to perfect is the turning of pages on a good book. I can honestly say that we have never been to a holiday complex where the staff have been better, and the beaches so abundant. During our two weeks, some guests were transferred to Hawksbill from other resorts (in particular Jolly Beach), and were overjoyed at the improvement.

Rex Resorts have just signed a new 50-year lease for the entire property, so they may now be encouraged to invest some money in renovations. The property is a bit tired in places but it was still one of the best holidays we have had for many years. We're sure you won't be dissappointed.

Tony & Mandy

Room Tip: Our room was No.141 which overlooks Honeymoon Bay. The sunsets in the evening are to die for, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank diamondtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at Hawksbill for 1 night it was a fantastic stay on arriving it was time for dinner it was very palatable variety to choose from. Waking up to hear the splashing of the waves was beautiful the beach was excellent I cant wait to return I would recommend Hawksbill to all my friends I would like to say thank you to all the staff for making my stay a very memorable one

Room Tip: Garden bungalows are suited for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blackcherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.6 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
4.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.6 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Property: Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, West Indies, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing