We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to perfect”
Review of Jumby Bay Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jumby Bay Island
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2007

We like to find a warm spot each January and have traveled to many very nice island resorts…big and small. We've just returned from Jumby Bay and enjoyed our 5 quick days. I had some reservations about booking JB after reading some reviews on this board; but, on we went. I can understand a few negatives; however, I felt they were outweighed by positives.
*Staff is outstanding! They are truly the most friendly and accommodating in the entire Caribbean. They make the place special.
*Rooms (we were in an Oceanview Courtyard Suite in the 30's). Nice room, never used the outdoor tub…just seemed buggy to me in this enclosed outdoor space. Nice view and close to the beach, but I'd request the same room in the 20's. There were a few families with small children.
*Air conditioning was sufficient for us. Now, this was in Jan/Feb, so the humidity wasn't a big problem (being from the South, we are accustomed to that anyway) and there was a nice breeze each night.
*Food was better than expected. Usually chose the catch of the day…always good. The Estate House had better choices and a better wine list. JB is all-inclusive, so choosing from the wine list is an extra. Their house wines were fine.
*There were buffets at breakfast and lunch…or order from the menu. The buffet selections changed slightly each day and always fresh.
*The birds around (and in) the buffet were a topic in these reviews…maybe JB read the comments and took heed, because almost every dish had a cover. I've seen these beautiful birds at every island we've been to …not a biggie to us.
*Tennis courts looked very nice; the exercise room was air conditioned with music choices and top of the line equipment; computer room…only OK…only one computer worked, but the room was cool and never a wait. The pool is somewhat well hidden and was like having your own private pool…only used it once; and the massages were in-room and wonderful. Ask for Su Hua, the famous therapist at JB…you'll be glad you did.
*The water at the main beach is very clear and calm. Downside…virtually NO live coral, saw one fish, lots of seaweed/grass under water making the sand a fine, squishy feeling. There are so many huge starfish you have to be careful not to step on them. Conch washed up on the beach as well…everyone just throws them back in. The beach staff does a nice job of grooming the beach early each morning. Plenty of thatch umbrellas, floats and chairs with terry covers and towels available.
*Yes, you do have airplane noise! The Antigua airport (which was very typical of most island airports, if not even nicer, btw) is slightly visible from JB. Big jets from BA and Virgin do make their way right overhead and it can be loud. Other smaller planes are not as noticeable….that said, it doesn't last but a few seconds and wasn't a deal breaker for us.
*Getting to JB was easy transportation-wise. Direct flights whenever possible are key for us. The pick up and launch to Jumby was a breeze. Have a rum punch and relax!
Overall, we liked Jumby Bay. I'd place it up with Peter Island, Little Dix and Biras Creek…but definitely a smaller more secluded feel.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank day1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 650 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2007

I was shocked to read that some people had a negative experience at Jumby Bay. I just got back from the island with my husband and it was such an incredible vacation. I feel that it is important to write this because we had such a pleasant stay there. I have travelled all over the Caribbean to islands including St. Barth's, St. Croix, St. Maarten, St. John, St. Thomas, Barbuda, St. Lucia, among many others. Jumby Bay was breathtaking and the service was excellent from the moment we were whisked from the airport to the Ferry. When we were greeted at the dock and taken by golf cart to our rondavel, we were so happy to see the beautiful room (complete with an enormous outdoor patio shower, gorgeous decor, and blasting ac- which was by the way... not at all a problem- not loud, not dripping- I have no idea what others were talking about). We rode our bikes on the quaint little paths along the island the whole stay and we really enjoyed the restaurants as well... although we particularly enjoyed dining at the Veranda (the more casual of the restaurants) situated at the beach. It was such a romantic vacation- I could not recommend it enough. We hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank jumbybayfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2007

We should have listened to our hotel when they warned us about Jumby Bay Resort. You have to access the hotel on an island by a water taxi and we were told "they will leave you stranded on the dock for hours." That's exactly what happened. We got there a few hours early and a Jumby Bay hotel employee accosted us asking "What are you doing here?" We said we had 7pm dinner reservations which she continued to deny. Finally after calling the hotel on her cell, she confirmed our reservation but said that we would have to wait until 6 p.m. to board the boat! What were we going to do for two and a half hours in the middle of nowhere, graze with the goats? Wasn't there a bar where we could have cocktails before dinner? This is hospitality? As my friend Martha said, "This was a total disappointment." Instead, the five star resort Carlisle Bay on the southern tip of the island was exquisite.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
12  Thank mosttraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2006

We booked this resort at short notice on advice of our trusted travel agent. Having read a few negative reviews on this site immediately prior to departure we were a little nervous. In the event we need not have worried.

The resort really is an island paradise. Understated excellence and style are the order of the day. The staff are very friendly, attentive without being intrusive and great company over a few slow cocktails. The rooms (we got to look at a couple) are clean, stylish and simple. Think rustic but not cheap. Another reviewer mentioned noisy air con but hey there are ceiling fans and they remain cool overnight without having to pollute the environment.

The food is consistently of high standard. We've had worse in Michelin starred restaurants.

The island itself is beautiful: pristine beaches, quiet and with turqoise sea and plenty of wildlife. The bikes are fun (if a little basic) and its well worth making the effort to explore the whole site. There's a pool but we didn't bother having the real thing just across the la\wn.

Leave the kids at home (we did) as this is not really a family resort and have a week of self indulgence! We certainly intend to go back!!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank UKMartinV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2006

We stayed at Jumby Bay for 10 days in November 2006. We got married there, and also had four guests in two additional rooms.
An excellent hotel! The staff are terrific, and refer to you by name. The beach and other surroundings are beautiful. The food is excellent, though there is really no choice of restaurant - one or the other is open, but not both. The bar at the estate house is terrific - Raffles comes to the Caribbean, and the staff could not have been nicer.
Air conditioning is a bit of a problem. There is no glass in the windows, just shutters. Our air con unit dripped all the time and made a big pool of water on the floor. Jumby Buggies could be more available, particularly when dining at the far-away estate house. They tried to charge us for airport transfers even though our reservations said they were included. Apparently their policy on this has now changed, and they do charge for airport transfers.
But on the whole, an excellent resort. Great surroundings, terrific staff, very good food. We would go back.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Gkirkup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2006

Just returned from 7 nights at Jumby bay.

Great location, very chilled out, never felt crowded, very friendly staff and very much in line with the majority of previous reviews. We travelled with our 20-month-old son who was very welcomed by all at the Hotel, in fact spoilt by all the attention!

A few minor issues.

The A/C in the rooms is not the greatest but it was just sufficient to slightly chill the room if you closed all the shutters (there is no glass in the windows or doors just shutters with Mosquito nets) A previous reviewer commented, this is the Caribbean, Its Hot! It was nice to get acclimatized rather than walk out of a refrigerated room into the heat each time anyway.

There are two restaurants at this resort and most evening meals are at the Estate House, with a couple of buffet nights thrown in for a change of scenery each week at the Verandah. We’re not fans of buffets so preferred the Estate House evenings.
The Estate House restaurant is a great setting and the food was adequate but could certainly be improved upon for this type of resort. However we thought the house wines and service were great.

The Jumby Bay Ferry operates a fairly strict hourly schedule so if you do eat out on the main island (check out The Pavilion, near the airport) we found ourselves clock watching a little. Also watch out for the apparent mark up on cabs that pick you up from the Ferry, a 2min cab ride to local restaurants cost 15-18USD each way.

We hired a car for 87USD / day, well worth it if you want to travel around the island at your own pace rather than 3 hours in a cab for 120USD.

All in all, a great and very relaxing Holiday.

Stayed: November 2006
9  Thank ihffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2006

Jumby Bay was an extremely nice all inclusive. We prefer all inclusives as you don't have to worry about money while you are there. I felt the property was 4 1/2 stars based on the Trip Advisor rating.

My wife and I stayed for a week in October and the weather was ideal. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the resort as there was an equal distribution of honeymooners and vacationers. Everyone was great and there wasn't any stuffiness.

Dinner was primo and they had a nice selection of seafood ranging from lobster to shrimp. Breakfast and lunch were typical for the Caribbean and it was very tasty. I would recommend a "cool me off" from the bar. It's a phenomenal fruity gin drink that allowed me to stray from my normal gin and tonics.

The island is amazing and inspires you to work harder to one day retire somewhere similiar. Complaints about the airplanes are a joke. If you can't stand 30 seconds of noise each day bring some ear plugs.

Depending on the time of year, I could see where the resort could get quite crowded. Children are allowed so if that bothers you this would not be the resort for you. The kids didn't bother us and made for good entertainment in the water.

All in all, Jumby Bay is one of the finer resorts in the Caribe. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
12  Thank wareagle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,927 reviews
10 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,064 reviews
10.8 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#4 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,359 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,363 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumby Bay Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumby Bay Island

Address: Jumby Bay Island | P.O. Box 243, St. John's, Antigua (Formerly Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#4 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $1,716 - $4,089 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumby Bay Island 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300-acre private island located just two miles off the coast of Antigua, Jumby Bay Island casts a spell of serene enchantment. A naturalist's haven that plays host to a variety of wildlife amidst the tropical foliage and pristine, white sand beaches, this all-inclusive hideaway is recognized world-wide as a private island resort paradise. With 40 luxurious resort rooms and suites, and a host of privately owned residences, Jumby Bay's exemplary hospitality is something that has long been lauded by the Caribbean's most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jumby Bay Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumby Bay, a Rosewood Hotel St. John`s
Jumby Bay Antigua
Jumby Bay Island Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing