We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Caribbean Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Caribbean Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our review is long overdue. Service is impeccable. Food - excellent. Thank you to Seon, Jenny, Jasmine, Melinda and Darren. Your personalities and professionalism show through. We shall be back. Our experience -- you treated us like family and also gave us our space. We were in the new beachfront suites - gorgeous. What a wonderful holiday!!!! The spa is an oasis. For romantics, it is. White night (barbecue) is so romantic and elegant. Thank you again and again. Everyone should stay here. Your property is the best. Jumby Bay provides you with much more than you pay. Loved it!

Room Tip: New Beachfront Suites Only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I5678910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    56
    15
    16
    14
See reviews for
115
314
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

No other resort has a better staff. Every person smiles, is interested in you, and is thoroughly professional. They all love working at Jumby Bay and they make each guest feel special.
It is so safe you do not need keys to your room. A private launch takes you to this 300 acre
landscaped island. The accommodations are tasteful with top of the line appointments.
It is probably the best small resort in the Americas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Prior to booking our honeymoon, we had researched pretty much every hotel in the Caribbean... but the reviews on here sealed the deal. We were slightly worried that we had built up our expectations so high that Jumby surely couldn't meet them. Quite the opposite... it blew them away! Jumby Bay is perfect in EVERY possible way - there are hundreds of white-sand picture-postcard resorts out there but Jumby is different - every member of staff goes out of their way to make you feel so special from the moment you step into the airport until the moment you leave. Melinda is exceptional and welcomes you with fantastic energy and warmth.The beach staff - Jenny, Omar, Franka, Patel etc - were not only incredibly attentive but so personable and great fun, supplying us with delicious bespoke cocktails to our tastes and even throwing a spontaneous small beach party for us all for a fellow guest’s birthday. We already miss Jenny and her wonderful infectious hearty laugh and will come back to hear that alone! When Jenny noticed my husband (whom she affectionately called 'The Doc' within 5 minutes of meeting him) had sunburn after a long day on the beach she made sure fresh aloe was picked and sent to the villa that evening. It's these little touches that set Jumby apart and make every penny worthwhile. The food at the Estate House was the best (hot chocolate fondant with a melting middle was to die for). Beach massage at the spa (by Sharon) was blissful. They were building some new villas by the rondavel rooms but the construction wasn't noisy. Go for a beach suite though if you can. We met some wonderful people, both staff and guests, and we will certainly be back! Don't hesitate for a moment, just book it. But beware, once you've been, nowhere will live up to it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Legallyblonde81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East House
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I wrote a full review following our first visit, so this is just an update. We wondered if we would be bored as it was our 3rd visit, but we probably loved Jumby Bay more than ever. It is a beautiful resort and every member of staff simply can't do enough to ensure that your stay is everything that you want it to be. For example, heading off to the watersports centre I said that I'd come to do my daily windsurf. Everything was laid out on the beach waiting for me, including the correct sized life jacket - where else would that happen?! The food in the Estate restaurant had been changed, and we really enjoyed it this time, whereas it was probably a slight negative before. In summary, the weather is superb, we have now been in February, April and November, the beach is exceptional, lovely white sand and lots of space. It is not a place for snorkelling or night life, but if you are looking for outstanding quality and tip top service then this is the place. Beats Sandy Lane hands down.

Room Tip: We have now stayed in a courtyard suite and a pool suite. The location of the pool suites is probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I go away once a year without our kids. We've been doing this for 11 years. We have been to many islands and Jumby Bay was the best one yet! As soon as you leave the airport you are greeted by a Jumby Bay Staff member and whisked away in a private car to the Jumby bay ferry dock. The dock has covered seating and magazines while you wait. The view is also beautiful. After a 7 min boat ride to the island we were immediately greeted by Melinda and staff. So friendly and nice.....we were at ease right away! We were given a drink, brief tour and taken directly to our room. We made our dinner reservations at our room. We arrived on a Thurs and enjoyed the Sunset cruise(Only on Thurs). Great meeting other guests, drinking cocktails and appetizers while watching an amazing sunset. We highly recommend the Estate House Restaurant. The atmosphere and decor is amazing as well as the food and service. Seon is an awesome bartender and makes the best Expresso Martini! We rode our bikes all over the island including right up to our standard spot on the beach everyday. We had awesome service on the beach as well(Franka thank you!) The Infinity pool was awesome and the staff at the pool restaurant is excellent! Overall, we cannot ay enough good things about Jumby Bay! They just go over the top and make sure your every need and comfort is met. Oh, don't forget to bring white clothing for White Night(Sunday Night Beach BBQ) I would like to give special thanks to the staff, they really make this place special! Thank you......Darren, Amanda, Franka, Seon, Melinda, Melissa Kimberly & Carol! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jim_phoenixvillepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Best beach vacation ever...and I have been to a lot of beaches.

Most beautiful crescent shaped beach I have seen. Better than Little Dix. The water is as pretty as Bora Bora....and a lot closer to the USA.

Best trained staff of any resort I have visited. Each employee really does seem to care that you are there.

It's expensive, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Pay more and opt for the Courtyard suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim_Waco_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our second time to Antiqua, but this was the BEST. First time was Carlisle Bay which is nice but Jumby Bay blows it away! The rooms facing the beach are beautiful, i miss the outdoor shower! The beach is stunning, white sand, calm waters, and if you go...save the starfish that sometimes get brought up on the beach from the tide, throw them back in!! The food i thought was fine. Breakfast was great, no complaints from me for lunch...the fish tacos are killer! and being from NY im hesitant to order pizza...i put a twist on it chorizo sausage, it was great! The estate house for dinner IS STUNNING and Claudio the chef is amazing, Dinner was fantastic every night at the estate house. THe Verandah for dinner doesnt compare, its good but plain. The employees are FANTASTIC....beach bar...jeannie, omar, franca are the best, they made my birthday extremely enjoyable, we had a blast on the beach! But everyone there is great. Definately put this on your bucket list...awesome !!!!

Room Tip: from what i hear they are all nice....we had beachside...great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank iris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
6.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#2 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,464 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort

Property: Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Address: Jumby Bay Island | P.O. Box 243, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#2 Family Hotel in St. John's
#4 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300-acre private island located just two miles off the coast of Antigua, Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort casts a spell of serene enchantment. A naturalist's haven that plays host to a variety of wildlife a midst the tropical foliage and pristine, white sand beaches, this all-inclusive hideaway is recognized world-wide as a private island resort paradise. With 40 luxurious resort rooms and suites, and a host of privately owned residences, Jumby Bay's exemplary hospitality is something that has long been lauded by the Caribbean's most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumby Bay, a Rosewood Hotel St. John`s
Jumby Bay Antigua
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing