We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Place... for our Wedding”
Review of Jumby Bay Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jumby Bay Island
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Got married here 1-1-08. Best experience ever. they thought of everything... flower, cake, photographer, makeup and hair, and arranged our private candle light dinner on the beach. I sun bathed while my wedding planner did all the work. They sent the chef and the pastry chef to us to help us select a menu and cake. They made our wedding a dream. Very special place. Our room was beautiful, private, quiet, and spotless with cool additional outside shower. The bed was amazing, feather bed and down comforter. The beach was never crowed, and the staff on the beach anticipated your needs (frozen fruit, cookies, and drinks) before you even knew you had a need, delivering it to you while sunning. The food was so abundant and delouse, something for everyone. The truly have raised the bar so to speak, I don't know that any other place will compare.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 645 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

The only problem with Jumby Bay is that it will ruin your chance of happiness at any other holiday destination. It really is that good! The welcome we received was overwhelmingly warm. The food was out of this world. And the resort itself is simply stunning! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Courtyard suites are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

How sorry we were to have to leave this magical place with such sweet, peaceful energy; kind and thoughtful staff; and beauty everywhere!

We will try to hold on to the sights (turquoise water and giant starfish), sounds (lull of the ocean/chirp of the crickets), smells (Jumby creams and lotions in the bathroom/“white night” barbeque), and tastes (Jumby Jamborie - a delicious, refreshing shake) of this magnificent resort for as long as we can.

We were spoiled in every way, from the champagne that greeted us, to our gorgeous ocean-view suite with pool (and outdoor bathtub), to the surprise snacks and luscious meals, to the warm and welcoming staff. It took a little while to get used to being pampered … but not too long!!

One of the highlights was being present while an ancient looking Hawksbill turtle emerged from the ocean to dig a nest and deposit her eggs – we helped the friendly island biologist count them -124 in all! It was a night we will never forget.

But there is much about Jumby we'll never forget, including Chef Giovanni's red snapper, our bike rides around the island, and Rita, Melinda and Trudy's beautiful smiles. There should be a rating on this site beyond "Excellent" so guests can give it to Jumby Bay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night on the way home from another Rosewood hotel as our flights home didn’t quite match up – rather than spend 8 hours at the airport we had one night and one full sun bathing day here instead. Def the way to do it!
From the moment we stepped onto the ferry we were treated like royalty – small touches that can cost very little but make all the difference when travelling. We were offered drinks immediately and met by the manager on arrival to the island. Someone checked us in while we had our drink and then showed us round the resort on a golf cart. ( It was the same when we left )

The room was really something else with an out door shower and tub. We were both really impressed as we had just come from Little Dix Bay we didn't think here could be better, but it was. The bathroom was really big with a wet room type shower, double sink, vanity area and closet space. The bed was decorated with petals and a chilled bottle of champagne as they knew we were honeymooners. There is an outside space with table, chairs and sunbeds which sadly we didn’t get time to use.

The pool area was really nice, great views but we spent all our time on the lovely, soft white sandy beach.

Rosewood resorts, in my opinion, seem to have their beaches sorted. Again lots of beds, floats and parasols. Each bed had 2 towels and the beach bar is right in the middle so never more than 2 mins stroll way. The sea is not as crystal clear as at Little Dix Bay but still clean. There were over 100 star fish that we could see in the shallow waters. I have never seen anything like it. A great experience.

Again the food was really very good. We only had 2 lunches, 1 breakfast and 1 dinner but they were as good as Little Dix Bay.

Having been to both resorts I think it’s fair to say the beach/sea at LDB is better but the bar/beach service is better at Jumby Bay. The actual resort comparison is not as cut and dry – JB is much more impressive but still seemed welcoming and laid back, LDB is nice, more authentic caribbean looking and perhaps a touch more relaxing.
The staff in both places make it for me.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frogmella2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I went with my daughter who is 15. We were a bit worried as our past experiences in the Caribbean were not so good. We've been in different resorts like Four Seasons in Nevis , Ocean club in Paradise Islan. From the very first moment of our arrival to Jumby Bay, we were welcome by Rita, and since then, I had the best feeling .
I will summarize by saying that Jumby Bay is a fantastic All inclusive hotel for someone who needs to relax and enjoy nature. All the staff makes you feel at home with their friendly hospitality. Everything is first class. I would go back no doubts!!
Well done to the management!!

Room Tip: The ones which have been refurbished. The pool suite villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank marcyUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place is absolutely amazing, I highly recommend it. I've been here twice and each time gets better, if that's even possible.

The location itself is beautiful, the property is amazing and has all of the amenities you could want. The suites with their own pools are a very nice touch.

The staff is top notch and they provide five star service. I highly recommend the spa, the hot stone massage is to die for.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cchecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The only downside to visiting Jumby Bay is the arrival at and departure from Antigua's airport. The Immigration officers were perhaps the grumpiest, slowest and unfriendly bureaucrats I have ever run into. And the American Airlines check-in person wasn't far behind. Makes you wonder which is the true face of Antigua, because the staff at Jumby Bay shines! Everyone at the resort makes you feel welcome and special. The quality of the service provided is impeccable. They even thought of such small touches as putting a lens cleaning kit by the sunglasses I left in our room when we went to dinner. The accommodations are also five star. We stayed in a courtyard suite. The room was enormous, airy, bright, spotless and comfortable. There is a constantly replenished minibar/fridge, a large flat screen TV and a Nespresso machine. The bathrooms had two sinks and two showers (one indoor and another outdoor). Bed was king size and very cozy. Food was consistently excellent, though perhaps not super "gourmet." The fancy Estate House restaurant was best when it was not busy and the Verandah serves a pleasant three meals a day. Our favorite for lunch though was the Pool Grille by the beautiful infinity pool; it served simple and delicious food in generous portions. The White Night barbecue style dinner right on the beach was another highlight of our stay. We are not into water sports, but there seemed to be a good variety available. As other reviewers have mentioned the beach is beautiful to look at, but not really up to snuff for really enjoyable wading or swimming. There is simply too much seaweed and the bottom is somewhat slimy. We spent just one morning there and thereafter retreated to the infinity pool for the rest of our stay. So if a great beach is a must for you, maybe Jumby isn't. In short, Jumby is a lovely place to relax and be pampered. It is truly all inclusive; our only "extra" came at the overpriced gift shop. So yes.....Jumby Bay is a paradise, but a paved paradise. By that I mean that the grounds are perhaps too manicured and unnatural. It is true that there are no cars on the island and that bikes are provided, but we found that there was nonetheless a lot of "traffic." Housekeeping used mini trucks, golf carts were omnipresent and pedestrians non-existant. Granted that it was perhaps to hot to walk around, but that may be because there was little shade along the paved "paths" (mini roads). We did the short walk to Pasture Bay, the other beach on the island, and the only souls we saw were the groundskeepers (with their carts and mini trucks). By the way, the Pasture Bay beach is less attractive than the main Jumby Bay one, so you can skip the hot trek altogether. Best to stay within the paradisiacal confines of the main resort area and shuffle from your suite to the pool/bar to the restaurants.....and repeat for a few days. You will be loath to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank exmarsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,913 reviews
6.9 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
633 reviews
10 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#4 of 7 in Saint Mary's
994 reviews
9 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,344 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumby Bay Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumby Bay Island

Address: Jumby Bay Island | P.O. Box 243, St. John's, Antigua (Formerly Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#4 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: $1,720 - $4,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumby Bay Island 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300-acre private island located just two miles off the coast of Antigua, Jumby Bay Island casts a spell of serene enchantment. A naturalist's haven that plays host to a variety of wildlife amidst the tropical foliage and pristine, white sand beaches, this all-inclusive hideaway is recognized world-wide as a private island resort paradise. With 40 luxurious resort rooms and suites, and a host of privately owned residences, Jumby Bay's exemplary hospitality is something that has long been lauded by the Caribbean's most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jumby Bay Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumby Bay, a Rosewood Hotel St. John`s
Jumby Bay Antigua
Jumby Bay Island Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing