We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great tour!!!”

Luxury Safari Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Elmo's Luxury Safari offers you an informative,historical and personalized experience traveling around Antigua. With over twelve years of touring experience,elmo himself will be your guide on this exciting journey, as you travel in air conditioned comfort, making stops that will give you a taste of our local culture, good cuisine, scenic views, history and more.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great tour!!!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

had a great day with elmo. very friendly and knowledgeable of the island. i highly recommend if you want to have a glimpse of the island :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kalt1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    10
    1
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great tour thanks Elmo”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Had a great day out with Elmo touring the best bits of the island. There was just the 2 of us in the a/c car so got the full special treatment. Elmo is very easy to talk to and very knowledgeable on the history of Antigua and all current matters too.

We visited the Betty's Hope sugar mill restoration project which gives a great idea of what the full working sugar mill would have been like. We also visited a nice beach, before driving through Fig Tree Drive, stopping to sample the delicious Antiguan black pineapple. We then headed down to Falmouth, Nelson's Dockyard & English Harbour which was really interesting. Elmo then took us to a restaurant for some tasty local food, which we wouldn't have found on our own.

In the afternoon we drove up to Shirley Heights for the great view back down onto the Harbour and Dockyard area. We then came back through the centre of the island to our hotel.

A very nice day out thanks Elmo.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidBoroBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“2nd Tour was wonderful”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had taken the standard tour last year and wanted to see some other sites. Elmo outdid himself. Went to St. James Fort, Parham Town, through Sea View Village (we actually found the house of Papa Sammy, the grandson of a slave, who lived to age 104 and is the subject of the history of Antigua, "To Shoot Hard Labour"), great lunch near Nelson's Dockyard, a stop for some fresh pineapple and a visit to St. George's church. Wonderful. I know he's thinking of offering a different tour for returning guests. Great job, Elmo. Worth every penny!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank evasmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very Friendly”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Elmo was our guide on our recent visit to Antigua. He was very friendly and great at remembering all our names. We found him to be knowledgable of the Island and he answered all of our questions. The Van was very comfortable as it was Air Conditioned. The tour was thoroughly enjoyed. Good Job Elmo.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aircanman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Elmo's tour - a must for every tourist”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The ever helpful Janice on the tour desk at Veranda said if we wanted to see Antigua from the Island not the sea, then this was THE tour to take - so we paid our $110 each and did just that. It was great and worth every cent which included the cost of entry into all the attractions and lunch. On the day, there were just the two of us in an air-conditioned 4 x 4 and we went to see most of the key places of natural beauty and tourist interest. We were never in the car for more than 20 minutes at a stretch, Elmo was interesting and knowledgeable and seemed to know half the people on the island. The amount of time he gave us to explore was just about perfect, particularly in places such as Betty's Hope, St John and Nelsons Dockyard. We met a number of other guests at Veranda who had also taken the tour and everyone felt the same - a really great experience and, as Janice had it, THE tour to take in Antigua.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luxury Safari Antigua also viewed

 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Luxury Safari Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing