We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly service, good location, nice food...”

Coconut Grove Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 102 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unfriendly service, good location, nice food...”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had breakfast and a cocktail here. Food was simple and tasted good but both times I came here, the staff were mostly disinterested. There is however a lovely view of the bay!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    254
    144
    39
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious Caribean and fusion cuisine!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The location on the beach, with a veranda overlooking the bay is just great. The menu is nice Carribean/Fusion, with star quality. For breakfast, dinner of a drink: highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DutchAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutry, Switzerland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Restaurant closed, Bar open :-)”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have been in the Hotel Siboney Beach Club the first week of september 2013, a hotel proposed to us by Karibik Reisen (powered by Wildlie Expeditions Intl.), which was an excellent choice, not only for its location, but also for its service and all the nice people there. In this week unfortunately the restaurant was closed, but we had only heard good remarks about it - we would have loved to try it, as its placement, right on the beach, would have given a wonderful surrounding for a beautiful carribean plate. On the other hand, Johnny, the owner, is very innovative with his ideas and I wish him all the best. Emma, his right and left Hand :-), and himself, have made our stay at their bar, which was open nonetheless, more then exceptional and we can only recommend Emmas Piña Coladas and Johnny's Rum Punches..I don't know how many we killed during our stay...:-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saturday night for two”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Nice and friendly but a bit pricey. Better value at our hotel Blue Waters. Fish was fresh and the views were nice but not stunning.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Declan031262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place - 15 years and it never gets old!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Need I say more than despite loving to travel to new places I am constantly drawn back to this wonderfully located restaurant - 15 years and it never gets old.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yve41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Grove Restaurant also viewed

St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 
Saint Mary's, Antigua
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Coconut Grove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing